IMDb > The Twilight Saga: New Moon (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Twilight Saga: New Moon
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Twilight Saga: New Moon More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 92:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 917 reviews in total 

443 out of 795 people found the following review useful:

Laaaame.

1/10
Author: messor-587-556944 from United States
20 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Esoteric?" Are you serious? This movie is porn for women. Period. Sparkly vampires? This "imprinting" garbage? What else could this be? All this movie does is makes teenage girls thing that abusive relationships with older men are normal, healthy, and "romantic." The man is literally a parasite. He drinks blood for heaven's sake! He's like a big, glittery mosquito. He doesn't even have any of the cool stuff that Dracula had, like the ability to turn into a bat. Go see something worth your time that won't rot your brain, and make you stupider.

Don't waste your life on this Twilight garbage.

Was the above review useful to you?

232 out of 385 people found the following review useful:

awful....just plain awful

1/10
Author: lexi0113 from United States
20 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I cut them some slack with Twilight, but not with this one. To say the book was butchered is an understatement. I was fully prepared to take a long, depressing ride with Bella into the depths of h**l, but instead took a trip down comedy lane. What was the point of all those ridiculous one-liners? And Ashley (Alice) - she was terrible. She was so much better in Twilight - at least she showed some character, but here it was like watching paint dry when she spoke. And as for the spoiler note, the only scene that gave me any enjoyment was the confrontation between Bella and Paul. It was just as "electric" as I pictured it in the book. Folks listen, don't waste the money. Wait for the DVD, or even better, just wait for Netflix....

Was the above review useful to you?

273 out of 474 people found the following review useful:

I'm sorry but...

7/10
Author: Madz Smith from United Kingdom
23 November 2009

I don't usually do these, but I think this movie needs a fair judgement as most of the comments so far have either been uneducated, or based on a personal vendetta against the saga.

Starting afresh, let's look at this movie. It is based on a book targeted primarily at females between the ages of 13-40. If you do not fall into that range, did you really expect to like it anyway? That'd be like going to see "He's Just Not That Into You" if you hate romances, or "Saw" if you hate violence - and then complaining about it. The movie has a set target audience, it's what it thrives on. If it appeals to you, great. If it doesn't, fine, either leave it be like I do with movies I do not like, or leave an educated and constructive review.

So the movie, well I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed Twilight, yet New Moon was better. The narrative was greatly improved, it had a deeper plot and it was great to see the director explore new realms of cinematography and camera angles. I took my friend who hugely disliked the first movie along with me, and she left having enjoyed the 2hrs and agreeing that New Moon was certainly worth the £6 cinema ticket. Chris Weitz has done fantastic work on only his 6th directing job. His style may not be unique, but for an emerging artist he has certainly left his mark.

The acting was again much improved. For the large part, these actors are unknowns who have jumped in at the deep end. The one criticism I would have is that it'd be nice for the character of "Bella" (Kristen Stewart) to be allowed the humour and fun loving attitude that she posses in the books, to shine through into the movie. It'd also be nice to see some of the characters back stories developed more, but on a short time scale, I understand the difficulties here.

On the whole, "Twilight - New Moon" deserves much higher respect than it is receiving. It is highly unfair that it is written off just based on peoples opinions of the saga. This is a charming and beautiful adaptation of Stephanie Meyers story and does not deserve to be slammed so unproductively. It does not give out bad messages to it's audience, if that was the case "Romeo and Juliet" should be re induced as at least a 15 to avoid 'such negative messages' being revealed to it's target audience.

Give this movie a chance, even just out of curiosity - you never know, you may become a fan. It's harmless, entertaining fun that at least demands sensible and logical reviews.

If you dislike the movies/books so much, have some self respect and don't watch it - or at least produce a worthy point.

Was the above review useful to you?

255 out of 447 people found the following review useful:

Why, oh why...

1/10
Author: Anonymous
22 November 2009

I had low expectations. After Twilight, this is now an obligation. I don't care much for the books, even though I've read them. (Because these days, you can't possibly have a rational opinion on this saga unless you've read the books. Otherwise, you're just a plain ol' hater who will be disregarded. Yeah, sounds about logical.) Anyway! I so badly wanted to see Dakota shine, even though I reprimanded her decision to get involved with this saga. Her eyes freaked me out - not because they were red, but because they didn't focus on anything. She just seemed to be staring vacantly ahead. (Though I've noticed this with the majority of the cast...I fear it may be contagious.) Which brings me to the Cullens. Call me closed-minded if you wish, but what kind of people wouldn't notice a person with yellow eyes in school? I definitely didn't see those yellow contacts in the first movie. If anything, they were less vibrant and could pass as an exotic shade of brown.

That said, I'm only glad I didn't pay for it. Avoid it. Or at least wait until you can use the "fast forward" button to spare yourself the agony.

Now if you'll excuse me, I have a Buffy collection waiting to be re-watched so that I may cleanse my head of this filth they call a modern Romeo & Juliet. I'm pretty sure Shakespeare would want no association with this whatsoever.

Was the above review useful to you?

212 out of 363 people found the following review useful:

Do not mess up a winning formula - bring back Catherine Hardwicke & Carter Burwell!!!

2/10
Author: (justjojo39@gmail.com) from Australia
19 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched Twilight before actually reading all 4 books - several times.To be fair, New Moon was the least of my favorites - I am Team Edward. So far I have seen this movie twice, hoping that by the 2nd time it might do something for me. I was disappointed. From the opening scene, I wanted - expected something to grab me - be it the scene or the soundtrack.. but it fell flat. The film's director or maybe screenwriter tried to reproduce the book faithfully, yes it's closer to the book, but in doing so, the first half just dragged on, and the music score did not help.The pace was so slow, the dialogue just fell flat, Edward's eyebrows were too bushy (they were plucked/trimmed in the 1st movie), the Cullen's contacts looked nothing like the 1st movie. Alexandre Desplat is a great music scorer- but his style does not suit this movie..there were scenes that required music, but there was none. Whoever picked the songs for the soundtrack ought to be shot.

I bought my daughter the CD a month ago, and the songs almost sound the same.Nothing grabs you like in the Twilight Soundtrack. Say when you hear "Super Massive Black Hole" you know it's from the baseball scene, or "Eyes on Fire" when Bella was imagining Edward in her bedroom. Fans still will buy it tho, no matter what.

The pace picks up on the 2nd half when Bella cliff-jumps,and Alice rushes back to see her thinking Bella tried to kill herself. From there the pace quickens, to the point where I thought they were rushed-- from Bella & Alice's trip to Italy to stop Edward from killing himself (or being killed by the Volturi),to meeting them (Volturi)at last, to the Cullens coming back to Forks, etc...it looked like the last half was heavily edited - and badly at that. The scene that Alice shows Aro (to prove to him that Bella will turn into a vampire eventually) made me cringe - that of Edward & Bella running in the woods - people actually laughed in the cinema..it looked really ridiculous and sappy.

Twilight was made on a measly $30M budget, but Catherine Hardwicke made do with what was available successfully, it was a winning formula. Hiring Chris Weitz for New Moon to "take it to the next level" unfortunately, was a disappointment considering they had more $$$ to play with. The CGI was better because they had more money, but that's about it. Weitz hired Desplat whom he worked with previously - but it just didn't work. It looked different, sounded different but for all the wrong reasons. New Moon should have been bigger & better than Twilight, but it's not.

I hope the director does not mess up the 3rd movie - my favorite book--and I hope the people behind the production wake up to their senses and hire Carter Burwell to do the music score. He did a great job with Twilight, anything less would be a crime.

Bitterly disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

199 out of 345 people found the following review useful:

Wait--what? People are upset??

8/10
Author: leaderoftheelves from Idaho
21 November 2009

Ahh, what a fickle bunch Twilight fans are. I remember the release of the first film last year, and the incredible backlash from fans of the series--can't even remember the number of comments saying "Stick to the book!" Incredible liberties were taken with the plot (or did we all forget the butchering of the much-beloved meadow scene in the first movie?), and too much of Hardwicke's own film-making style was imposed upon a story that was not hers to fiddle with.

Then New Moon comes out. Obviously, the screenwriter and director went to great lengths to painstakingly recreate the second book in film form, undoubtedly due to the response to Twilight. I am hard-pressed to think of any really pivotal plot points that were excluded from this film (and, no, the flights to and from Italy don't qualify as "pivotal"). But suddenly fans come out in droves to complain on the Internet that the dialogue is cheesy? Hello, have you READ the books? Any actor is going to choke on the ridiculous dialogue that Stephenie Meyer came up with (I doubt even Robert De Niro could sell that tripe). Her dialogue only sounds remotely reasonable on the page. At least this movie didn't include such horrendous lines as "I hated you for making me want you so much"). And people saying it's slow? Again, take a look at the book--the vast majority of the story is devoted to Bella moping over the imaginary hole in her chest. It wasn't exactly an action-packed thrill ride.

I for one thought this movie was a vast improvement over the first, primarily because it stayed so true to the book. And Weitz, unlike Hardwicke, wasn't itching to impose his own style on the story by using crazy camera angles and other weird stylistic elements that were nowhere suggested in the pages of Twilight. New Moon was fittingly glossy and stylistically neutral, appealing to a wider range of tastes. It was filmed beautifully and, to my great relief, had a much wider color palette than the first film.

As for the acting--let's face it, Kristen's never going to be an impressive performer until she realizes that scoffing doesn't qualify as "emoting." And Rob just seems flat-out wrong for this role, but I think he did tap into Edward's inner turmoil better than in Twilight. I thought the performances were, overall, a huge improvement over the first film, especially from Taylor, who fits the sunshiney role of Jacob to a T. The Cullens were, yes, sadly underutilized, but making the movie longer just to give them more screen time isn't going to appease complaints about it being boring and slow as it is.

Hopefully this film will get the credit it deserves after the initial tsunami of unreasonable outrage. It's obvious that the filmmakers are trying incredibly hard to please the fans of the book by staying closer to the text. Here's hoping they don't throw up their hands in frustration upon discovering that loyalty to the book is apparently not good enough either.

Was the above review useful to you?

113 out of 185 people found the following review useful:

Very disappointing

4/10
Author: marina0411
22 November 2009

I loved the Twilight movie, that's how I started reading the books in the first place. I've read them about ten times each and I still like them. But New Moon's big screen adaptation was a huge let down.

One thing that was improved was that many of the characters actually smiled or laughed naturally when the moment called for it, as opposed to the "I don't crack a smile cause I'm a seriously deadly vampire" routine in Twilight.

I liked the portrayal of Alice, she seemed more like what she should be according to the book, Charlie and I also liked the wolves and the rest of the special effects.

But I couldn't feel the bond between Edward and Bella. I couldn't believe that they loved each other. Hell, I couldn't believe they even liked each other. Even at the end, after their ordeal, after deciding that they would never let each other go, they were frigid. The actors just delivered their lines, they didn't feel them.

The score ranged from awful to non-existent. It seems as though it was not written specifically for New Moon. Carter Burwell's score brings to memory specific scenes in Twilight. This one is an indifferent, generic one, I guess it would fit in whatever movie you threw it in.

However, the most important flaw was that the entire movie seemed very rushed, like it was originally supposed to be much longer but somebody edited it heavily and really, really badly. For example, in an instant we are informed that Edward is going to commit suicide thinking Bella's dead, she drives off with Alice *bang* next thing you know you see a plane in the air, *bang* next thing you know Alice and Bella are already inside the stolen car on their way to Volterra and it carries on like that until the end.

No character development, no bonds between them, no space to breathe, no explanation whatsoever of how things happened or how decisions were made, nothing but a hastily chopped up summary of the book.

Is the actual movie coming out any time soon?

Was the above review useful to you?

66 out of 92 people found the following review useful:

The Twilight Saga: Teenage Porn

2/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
20 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's that time again: Twilight! Ever since last year's release of the mega-successful movie Twilight, our lives have not been the same. With a new director on our hands, Chris Weitz, I actually had hopes for New Moon. Last year with all the screaming fans, Twilight has turned many off. It also made vampires into a joke, New Moon had potential to give the series some life. Unfortunately, we got trash. Not only vampires are a joke to this story, but these movies are a joke and an embarrassment to cinema. I'm trying to not be cruel, because I honestly feel so sorry for this cast, since they don't have much material to work with. For God's sake they have lines like "Your breathing is my gift", "You don't belong in my world", and "I couldn't live in a world without you existing". How could you work with soap opera lines like that? Not to mention, more than 80% of the film is 5 buff meaty guys in jean shorts, which I'm above those jokes, but I was expecting as they walked on screen "Gonna Make You Sweat" was going to play in the background. It seems like this was teenage porn for a while because every girl in the theater kept going crazy with Jacob's 6, no, 12 pack abs exposed. It seems like every chance the director got, he had to make the little girls happy by exploiting these young actors.

The characters are another problem: Bella, Edward and Jacob. I've read the books, Bella never intrigued me. But while last film she was just flat, this film I wanted to kill her. She's 18, now granted I know that she'll probably never find another vampire boyfriend who's so creepy in love with her, but good God, does this girl need to get a gigantic grip on life. Edward leaves and even Hamlet would tell her to lighten up a bit. She goes into this coma state where she's just obsessed on why her vampire boyfriend doesn't want her. It's more sickening, a bad influence on young girls and pretty pathetic rather than sympathetic. Edward is introduced in this sequel with him walking in slow motion as if a rock star just came on the screen, more to just please the fans and give him an applause. He spends the whole movie pretty much saying how much he loves Bella, how he can't live without her, basically any pre-teen's wet dream that a guy will be that devoted when it's actually more so creepy. While Edward is Bella's boyfriend that sparkles, we have a sensitive werewolf, Jacob. I feel so sorry for him in this movie, Bella basically tags him along, starting to kiss him, but then pulling away, but then rubbing up against him, but then telling him he can't have her problems in his life, but then saying he's beautiful and she loves him.

It's Bella's birthday, fearing her aging process she's having nightmares that she will grow old as Edward will stay young and beautiful. Alice and the other Cullens throw her a surprise birthday party; while opening a gift, Bella accidentally gets a paper cut. When the blood hit's the floor, Jasper goes into a violent state and tries to attack Bella, Edward stops him and saves Bella. After months of Bella begging Edward to change her, Carlisle explains why Edward does not want to take her mortal soul. Realizing the danger he's put her in, Edward has to break up with Bella. He tells her that he doesn't want her and that he and his family will never see her again. Bella goes into a coma practically, spending months inside her home and not seeing her friends. Realizing she could see Edward through adrenaline rushes, she convinces Jacob to fix a couple of motorcycles. As the months pass, her and Jacob grow closer as she starts to fall for him, but of course being Bella, he has a "monstrous" flaw, he's a werewolf. Bella accepts it as she tries to move on with her life, but Alice Cullen comes back saying she had a vision of Bella dying. After a misunderstanding, Edward thinks she's dead too and Alice tells Bella that Edward is about to sacrifice himself for her.

To sum this review up, this movie was made for the fans, which MOSTLY consists of 12-15 year old girls and desperate housewives. I'm not looking to insult anyone here, but after reading the books and seeing these two movies, I feel like my IQ sunk a few points. They insult my intelligence and I will never understand why this story is appealing to anyone. Stephanie Meyer is a genius in some aspect: almost every girl in high school doesn't feel special or just average. How cool would it be to have someone who has lived centuries, who is gorgeous, smart, strong and kind who just thinks you're the ultimate catch? That's what sold these stories and I hate it because it makes these girls fantasize about a world that will never exist. These stories are old and over used and Twilight has overstayed it's welcome. The special effects were awful and the material was just lousy. To be kind to the film, the action sequences are a major improvement over the last film, much more exciting and intense. I could go on forever with this review, but I'm going to save some more of my rant for my friends. While I was very kind with the rating in the first Twilight, I understood it who it was meant for and took it for what it was. This is trash and could have had so much more potential. This movie was made for the fans, so if you're not one, there's a very good chance you're going to agree with everything I said in this review.

2/10

Was the above review useful to you?

106 out of 173 people found the following review useful:

What a disappointment

2/10
Author: towards-the-within from Greece
20 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'll start with saying that I'm a fan of the original Twilight movie. I'm also a guy, so as to rule out the whole 'crazed over Pattinson' sensation that'd make me go nuts over the first film just because he was in it. I'm also a big Vampire fan...

Twilight despite its many 'original' (for lack of a ruder term) ideas when it comes to Vampires and sunlight amongst other things, had feeling. Had a character development that the books themselves fail to provide with. The lady that directed the first Twilight was what made the movie become bigger than the original book. Deeper, stronger. I can't forget the sight of Bella crying in the hospital bed in thought of Edward living her. I connected with her pain at that very moment. Twilight didn't have many action scenes, in fact it only had one. But it was a means of exploring the character development of a young girl and a very old vampire. And though the reason between their spark was 'God, he's such a hunk', 'Dracula, she smells great !' the film reached out to the audience. Tried to remind audience of feelings of romance, and falling in love and love in itself. All reasons for which I liked the first film. It had feeling.

Back to New Moon. 2 1/2 hours spent in pointless, clichéd dialogs. The actors' faces appeared as if the poor souls were in pain. And I think they were, as they were giving a script written overnight or so it felt at least. Biggest mistake, is how close it kept to the book to the point of ripping out line after line. Basing a film on a book that has less soul than an ancient Egyptian mummy is not a very good idea. The book had interesting ideas, Jacob's ascension to Werewolf (Jacob and the pack being the only thing I enjoyed in that movie). Bella's pain to explore, her need for adrenaline etc etc. But to my eyes it failed, ludicrously. It was even worse than the book.

The Cullens didn't even have any part at anything. They were shallow, empty and standing around like plant pots for the sake of existing.

Bella, Bella. Remember that Twilight moment that made me cringe, seeing her cry? Well it takes a HELL of a lot of directing to have this poor girl weep and slam herself like a widow for the entire movie and the only thought coming to my head, being 'Please, someone SHUT her up'.

Edward, Robert...He didn't want to be in this film and it showed. The teenage-hormone-based craziness of his mindless zombie fans is affecting him and let us not forget the poor guy's 23. He went from having a normal life, to being popular and now he can't even sleep properly probably out of fear a crazed fan might slit her wrists in his name. Praise the star system and the mindless people we bring in our society. I wouldn't be surprised if they'd consider changing him or if he asked to leave.

Charlie was one of the BEST characters in the first movie. He brought in the comic sidekick/relief, along with Jake's father. Both having disappeared completely in this film. As for Victoria, the audience feels her as big a threat to the couple as I feel the moon crashing on earth while I'm sleeping. Typical example of a villain whose only purpose of existence is to get kicked around. Soon.

At the end of the day, New Moon was a terrible disappointment. Save for the inevitable number of 13 year old, fainting and feigning when Robert comes on the screen this movie has nothing to offer to vampire, or non- vampire fans. a waste of time.

Got to give credit to the final cliffhanger though, the 'Marry me' part. Though I knew it was coming, they still brought that one nicely. That'll help them get some of the audience back for the next sequel which, if they keep this director, will probably look like a kung-fu b-movie remake...

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 63 people found the following review useful:

Embarrassing

1/10
Author: sunsetshoegazer from Earth
27 February 2010

The first Twilight film was really terrible, and had some moments of unintentional comedy, but this was actually much worse. I spent the entire time just cringing at the poor lines, the acting, the God-awful treatment of mythology, the misogynistic, patriarchal and abusive undertones throughout the film, and the terrible special effects for such a blockbuster series.

A lot of people will dislike so much scorn directed to a film that's just a fun watch - I understand this argument but there's a difference between fun and forgettable and just being complete trash. There are incredibly entertaining movies that aren't Shakespeare but don't actually manage to offend my intelligence and my gender. This isn't one of them. Additionally, popular culture affects our world view more than we can sometimes imagine. Media should be analysed because it's influential.

And it confuses me how this could be so popular. Edward, Bella and Jacob are some of the most unpleasant and unappealing protagonists I've ever encountered in popular fiction. Bella is shallow and yet pretentious, while Edward is controlling and demeaning. These are not people that you would like if one of them wasn't a vampire and the other was snogging them.

One of the worst films I've ever seen, and it's something devoid of both artistic merit and any sort of meaning, message or thought. It really sucks that young women are enjoying this franchise and seeing Edward and Jacob as the ideal love interests.

EDIT: A lot of people giving this film positive reviews are trying to dismiss criticism by saying it's a 'film for the women/girls/ladies'... have any idea how much that furthers stereotypes? I know more than one guy who loves Twilight, and more than one girl who loves *enter generic action movie which people think only men like*. Come on people move behind this shallow 'Boys like this girls like that' already. Popular culture should be analysed, and it sucks if you think just because it's developed for one gender in mind it gets some sort of free pass for being sexist, badly written, poorly acted drivel. It sucks if you think this sort of tripe should be 'for the girls'. Another card being played is the 'Is Romeo and Juliet bad because its unrealistic?' question. Romeo and Juliet, though, is about the tragedy and immaturity of the two young lovers. The relationship fails and ends in such disaster because of the way they rushed and were consumed by lust. And it's one of Shakespeare's most heavily critiqued plays - a lot of people have criticised it. So if the Bard himself is not above disapproval then why should something like this be exempt?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 92:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history