IMDb > The Twilight Saga: New Moon (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Twilight Saga: New Moon
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Twilight Saga: New Moon More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 93: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 922 reviews in total 

12 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

And we all thought twilight was bad!

1/10
Author: nba_is_jakob from Australia
18 December 2009

OK, twilight was a massive success and gained popularity from 13 year old girls with a crush. Its no surprise that this installment of the twilight saga would be even bigger with a even better looking and more buff character in Jacob. If thats all it takes to make a real bad movie a massive success then we need to take a long hard look at ourselves and wonder what the world has come to.

The acting was very stiff from both Kristen Stewert and Robert Pattinison and how can one believe that there in love with acting like that which made it totally unbelievable. Do these two actors think that long awkward and uncomfortable silences and pauses with an unnecessary amount of staring will make us believe there in love, i mean please why don't you two show some emotion.

The CGI was better in this than the first which wasn't hard because they were terrible. There were a couple of scenes where you might have a chuckle but thats it from a entertainment stand point.

The story is very boring and slow and the film went way longer than it should have done.

The only half positive reviews i have heard have been from fans of the book or again girls with crushes for guys who for no reason take there shirts off non stop for no real reason. If your a fan of the book series and enjoyed the first one then i guess you might enjoy this one, but if you want a pure cinematic experience then this isn't for you. I would recommend renting out a film like Donnie Darko which has nothing to do with twilight but it is awesome.

1/10

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Bad Movie

1/10
Author: eastbergholt2002 from United States
7 December 2009

This may sound sexist, but this a movie probably best enjoyed by teenage girls. My guess is that anyone else is likely to find the film a challenge. Phillips and Scott recommended the film on their show "At The Movies" so I took my two kids who were back from college. They laughed in all the wrong places and made fun of me for taking them to see such an awful movie. The film takes itself too seriously and the male characters were always taking their shirts off which made it seem like a cheesy, exploitation film.

As you know Bella is a girl in love with a vampire. In New Moon she is dumped, becomes suicidal and then befriends a werewolf. Although, Bella is very pretty it's hard to understand why her two suitors are so attracted to her. She is constantly depressed and getting herself into life threatening situations and having to be rescued. Edward's sister Alice (Ashley Green)is smart, pretty and funny and is more my type of heroine. Some light relief was provided by Michael Sheen who hams it up outrageously as Aro, king of the vampires, he obviously needed the paycheck.

I couldn't understand why Edward at 109 was still in high school and chasing 17 year old girls. I would suggest that Bella is not a very good role model for young girls, she seems badly in need of psychological counseling. This film is so bad it's funny.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Spend your time and money elsewhere.

1/10
Author: masterchefcooker from United States
23 November 2009

As a reader of the books, I was sorely disappointed with the movie. The first movie was nothing more than glorified fan-service, and I was truly hoping they would rectify that with New Moon...unfortunately, it's even worse. Between the unnecessarily copious amounts of half-naked teenagers running around who aren't attractive at all, and the poorly delivered script, I could hardly stand New Moon. The books that Meyer crafted were passable in that they told a story - a ridiculous and unrealistic story, but a story nonetheless. These series of movies so far are all about crazy hormone-driven "teens" who can't act worth a damn. Honestly, it's porn for adolescent and teen girls who are too cowardly and so far detached from reality to get a real boyfriend. Your time and money is far better spent elsewhere, and I regret bringing along my boyfriend when we could have done far more entertaining things that night.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Why this country is going down the drain

1/10
Author: jluppek from United States
24 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The entire series is the biggest joke in the history of film making. It is a Hollywood disaster made famous by fanatical teens that clearly support the further abomination of society. The production value of New Moon is better than the original Twilight, but the two dimensional acting and dull storyline is comical at best. The only true validation with regards to this movie is any formal spoof made on it's behalf. But take this into consideration:

There is a line said by soon to be gone actor Taylor Lautner in about the third quarter of the film where he raises his voice to Ashley Greene's character and says "...or I could get very angry." I thought this was a joke. Did they not do multiple takes of this scene? This is the best they could come up with?

Not to mention, they have completely ruined all vampire allegory and novel adaptation for a solid decade if not an entire generation. A sparkly vampire that runs fast? This is so irrelevant and incoherent.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

I think my brain imploded out of boredom

1/10
Author: Doc Loc from Sweden
25 April 2010

Well..

There is no plot. It's just a two hour long pathetic teenage girl fantasy about having these strong, immortal vampire/werewolf boys protecting and running after you like whipped chiwawas doing whatever you want them to do as long as you look a little sad. Totally pointless and shallow.

This movie should be put in the "smut for old pedophilic women" section where it belongs. Or they could have let the vampire and the werewolf ravage Kirsten Stewart and won a few AVN awards.

KEEP NEW MOON AS FAR AWAY FROM YOUR KIDS AS POSSIBLE!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Didn't know something so awful could be possible

1/10
Author: musings-morsels from Australia
13 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK, so I knew this movie was going to be bad you knew it was going to be bad but I honestly didn't think any film could consist of no positive notes whatsoever. Some films don't have a great plot or require some character development but have great CGI to show for. 'New Moon' lacked substance, quality, artistry, the plot layout; soundtrack and actors were terrible and didn't deliver any flare whatsoever to an already long winding and dull basic story telling ploy.

The movie began with Bella waking up next to a giant 'Romeo & Juliet' novel on her pillow immediately got me thinking this director is 'highly' skilled in the art of subtlety. The fact that they're even trying to draw any parallels to a classic love story is, in my opinion slightly offensive as there was no development of love between the Twilight characters other than the superficial physical attraction. The whole 2hour 'New Moon' intensely follows Bella (Stewart) as she morosely goes about her day since Edward Cullen (Pattinson) left her. Which goes to show Bella is a whining, dependant, selfish and frankly stupid character as she disregards her family's and friends' feelings to become an adrenaline seeking suicidal tool to induce her hallucinations of Cullen. This is not someone who can be classified as a heroin in today's empowering and independent society and if the youth can't relate to this character, what is the point of dedicating an entire film on an uninteresting, miserable and superficial teenage girl!?! If I wanted to observe an emotionally insane teenage girl, I would've tailed my cousin's ass for two hours.

The cheesy dialogue and absolutely appalling acting gave me a skin-crawling-eye-rolling-dry-heaving uncomfortable experience. Pattinson's inappropriately painful expression for the whole 20minutes he was featured in the movie was confusing to watch, he had the same constipated stricken look for every situation. Lautner did nothing but act cool and expressionless for the first half of the movie, then prance around shirtless (with the same expression) for the rest and Stewart's performance was atrocious! Batting eyelashes and stuttering in a monotone bored voice does not denote fear! (Yes, I'm talking about the scene when she announce "please don't" after a hungry red-eyed vampire just called her 'mouth watering') I don't know whether it's their acting or the director's request but someone should tell those kids to learn new expressions for different scenes! Let's not kid ourselves here ladies; we all went to see this horrid movie for the abs, it was all about the abs! The wolves pack were only in jean shorts for the entire duration of the movie and Pattinson even flashed his nipples and airbrushed six pack for the last half hour. It was hilarious to see women swoon over baby-faced Jacob's (Lautner) ripped muscles like he was on the cover of a Mills & Boons novel when he unnecessarily took off his shirt and flexed his muscles because Bella bumped her head. I actually recommend this film for its superficiality if abs is the only thing you're after in a film. Otherwise strictly Twilight crazed fans only.

I'll end by mentioning my favourite scene. You know how comedies have characters run through a serene and peaceful setting in slow motion to poke fun at certain situations as seen in Shrek and 40 Yr old Virgin? Well, New Moon manged to incorporate this classically amusing scene into a serious segment of the film. This left me in stitches and made me wonder if Stephanie Meyer really wrote these cheesy scenes or the director has once again made matters much worse by turning a adolescent fantasy into a childish comedy.

http://musingsandmorsels.weebly.com/

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

So... What the heck is this ?

1/10
Author: krityx from Here
6 March 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I wonder... have I seen the actual movie or some "behind the scenes" footage ? Everything seems like a joke, like they didn't even try and they failed every time. The story ? What story ? Is there a story ? things just happen and happen, transitions are as abrupt as they can possibly be. The only constant is Bella and her terrible terrible acting and whining and screaming throughout the movie and edward who thankfully isn't on the screen as much. Pattinson seems like he's some drug addict who was just waken up early after a heavy night to do some scenes. The same for Kirsten who can't act for crap.

The movie begins with some slow-mo pictorial of Pattinson, things are going fairly well between the characters and then out of nowhere he has to go. Then there is this subplot or something that takes up like half or more of the movie, about bella's depression, that jacob kid and that redheaded vampire that wants to kill Bella. Then magically she disappears and some other things start to happen. There is no continuity whatsoever. Most of what I think is the main plot happens briefly over the last 10 minutes of the film. It's like they said, OK let's take a 2 hr pictorial of bella,jacob and edward and then just throw in some kind of a plot in the last 10 minutes. I really can't describe how bad this "movie" is. But I can't blame them for making it though, teenage girls would pay to see it even if the movie would show edward and jacob sleeping for the entire runtime.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Bad acting can indeed seem funny...

3/10
Author: Joaopedroas from Portugal
10 December 2009

First of all: I did not read the books. When I thought about seeing this movie I was aware about the possibility of a piece of pure bad acting, so I went to the cinema with a really and truthful feeling of detachment...nothing would ever surprise me! Indeed, the things went as I have predicted: it was one good show of bad acting! Although the movie was bad, my low expectations turn it kind of bearable, even entertaining...I found myself laughing during the "dramatic scenes" as Robert put his forced expressions to the limit! In the other way, Kristen have turned better then I've expected! She has done a near good work (forgetting the frequent blinking). At least she seemed sad when it was suppose to! By the way: is there anything more ridiculous then seeing guys on steroids without shirt during a movie about love overcoming all the obstacles? I would tolerate a scene or two, but that much time of abs and what else? I don't know!!!! Just disgusting! So, generally it was bad, but some things went kind of well: like the fact of Robert being away most of the time! The thing is: see the movie, but be aware of what you might find!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

An In-excusable mockery of Cinema. Just Awful!

1/10
Author: DVDreview2010 (gas911@hotmail.co.uk) from United Kingdom
19 February 2010

There are times when critics do exaggerate their love (or in this case) their hate for movies. I can honestly say Twilight New Moon is one of the most awful and boring movies I have ever seen. It's like Meet The Spartans or Disaster Movie, I don't care if it has a 'target audience', if you actually enjoy this movie, then there's obviously something very wrong. Where to start? The acting is just horrendous, Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson are just the most untalented turds on screen in cinema at the moment. Every bit of dialogue is provided with soap opera un-enthusiasm, almost like watching a very bad play.

This is a great movie to ridicule and mock with a bunch of friends. The screen play is in-excusable direction is flat in is just so dark and hard to follow I actually had a migraine brewing. Hunks with the t- shirts off parading, surrounded by crap CGI and just a concept that is just an utter waste. Stop this franchise here!

Overall: An in-excusable mockery of cinema. Easily one of the worst movies to appear in one of the worst franchisees of all time. Eye candy for 9 year old girls, and a cash in for corporate pigs. This Ends Now!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Vampire and Wolf Wreck

2/10
Author: cl777 from Switzerland
12 January 2010

I don't even know where to begin for this review as I was so extremely disappointed by New Moon, the latest Twilight chapter. I saw the first episode of the Saga recently because everywhere I turned there was an article or pictures of Robert Pattinson and I wanted to see what all the hype was about. I enjoyed it, thought it was original and saw how it could appeal to a younger generation. I wasn't hooked and didn't necessarily feel the "twilight mania" but nevertheless wanted to see what would happen next and decided to watch the second installment. I even had some slight anticipation, and Fabio had lots (but shhhh that's a secret).

What an enormous letdown for both of us. Instead of building off of some of the tension and interesting elements of the first film, the sequel's plot is quasi non existent and the acting has managed to get worse. You hardly see Edward (Robert Pattinson), Bella's vampire love, as he leaves her early on in the film. He decides it is best for Bella if he and his family move out of Forks to spare her the danger of their presence. Bella is heartbroken and goes through a major teenage lovesick depression. The film then focuses on her childhood Indian friend Jacob Black in whom she tries to find comfort while still longing for Edward. But without wanting to give too much away, Jacob has some pretty bizarre secrets of his own...

The special effects are decent, the wolves quite cool, but the action sequences seem fake, there are no explanations for anything, no character development. The movie jumps from one scene to the next, particularly at the end, and I don't have other words and will not sugercoat it- this movie is stupid. I was hoping to feel some love and passion between Bella and Edward and the result was zero. This movie is a big, huge flop. Let's hope the next one is better and that people will still want to see it after this vampire and wolf wreck.

My rating: 2/10 Fabio's: 2/10 Total score: 4/20 For more movie reviews please check out and become a follower at: http://paulinasmovies.blogspot.com

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 93: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history