IMDb > The Twilight Saga: New Moon (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Twilight Saga: New Moon
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Twilight Saga: New Moon More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 93: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 923 reviews in total 

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

What is wrong with people?! So bad, so bad

3/10
Author: emmarustadlyvik from Norway
26 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Alright. I am 15. And a girl. And this doesn't work for me at all. This movie is so horrible that it's sad. I hear my friends talk about Twilight and how wonderful the books and movies are, and I had to check them out. The first film was OK, but not better than it's rated. And then I sat down and saw this one, and..well, I will actually say it's OVERrated. The only good thing about this one is when Taylor Lautner smiles and takes off his shirt. Nothing else, and that is embarrassing. They can't act, especially this..Kirsten. I mean, I had to ask my friend if she was supposed to be so..cold, and without any feelings at all. And yes, she was, because she was so shy and didn't like any attention. But I don't see her acting, really. She shows just as much acting skills and emotions like Tobey Maguire in Spider-Man. She doesn't have any passion, it looks like she's bored. And yes, Robert Pattinson is way better than her, but there's still a long way to Tom Hanks. In my opinion, the acting are one of the reasons this doesn't work out. Even though the chemistry between Robert and Kirsten is impressive.

Second of all, the film is rather boring. You (finally) get to the plot when there's left 30 minutes of the movie or so. And before the plot, it's very much "oh, my life sucks, I feel abandon, I'm just gonna sit here, being very deep and feel sorry for myself." And of course, there's a little struggle in her head. "Which one of them should I choose?". Cliché. Cliché big time. You have seen this before, with better actors and without vampires.

And yes, the plot. Saving Edward from certain death. And they fight a little, smashing each other to the walls. I usually cheer when people fight in movies, but I get bored of the fighting as well. I don't get that "Oh, this is exiting, I wanna know who's winning even though I already know it"-feeling.

So. Touching story, if you like that kind of story, great music, somewhat OK special effects. But I really don't understand why people say this is good? What is wrong with those little teenage girls? This movie is pathetic. It's boring. So please, stay away from it. Rent (500) Days of Summer on DVD if you have to watch a romantic movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Very Disappointing

1/10
Author: nej0538 from United States
30 January 2010

I can't even begin to describe how disappointed I was with this film. The acting was horrible, the storyline was pieced together, and it was just plain boring. I've read the books and enjoyed them. I was excited to see the movie. I'm so sorry I spent the money to go see it.

The only reason I think it got so much enthusiasm was because of the teenage girls gushing about Taylor Laudner's bare chest throughout the movie. If it wasn't for frequency of that, I think even they might have noticed how bad the film was.

Don't expect to see me in line to watch the next two installments of Twilight.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Overbearing

1/10
Author: seelverstreek_street28
18 February 2010

I honestly cannot fathom how a sane person can sit through this movie without swearing. And, no, it's not because you're rooting for something good to happen to the characters, you're just there hoping they'd all explode somehow.

Kristen Stewart may be a good actress, but you'll never tell from this series. She gives a very wooden, uninspired performance. It's like zombie Bella, unless that's what's intended. The writing is extremely cheesy and flows like a young child learning to write short conversations for the first time.

This movie is filled with BROODING and MOPING. It's not believable, entertaining angst, it's just annoying and sickening.

I know there are people who'll say a rating of 1 is unthinkable, when there are so many other horrendous movies out there. Granted, that's true, but a lot of those movies know they're ridiculous. New Moon pretends to be something of substance when in reality, it's plain ridiculous. It takes itself way too seriously and in so doing, bores viewers beyond measure.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Patenson...what have you done?

Author: adseccafico from United States
30 December 2009

Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff, Edgar Allen Poe, Lon Chaney (Sr. and Jr.), and Bram Stoker are all rolling in their graves at the massive s*** pile that Hollywood has produced. And it's not just New Moon, it's the original, Twilight, as well. Now, I maybe beating a dead horse. But as both a filmmaker and a film fan, I feel obligated to to voice my opinion on this (for lack of a better term) cluster f*** known as the Twilight franchise.

Let me start with the acting, or lack of. It would appear to me that this movie (didn't read the book, so I have no gripe with it) was based around sex appeal. Its as if the producers picked the best looking kids auditioning, with very little care for ACTING SKILL. (which, if your acting is very important). Robert Patenson improved very little from the first movie, still giving a very vein and self-indulging performance. Kristen Stewart also showed little signs of improvement, keeping the same expression almost through the picture. As for "Mr. 6-Pack" Taylor Lautner, again, casted on sex appeal. But was the only one to show slight improvement.

Moving on to direction/scripting. Now, I wasn't expecting a Cecil B. DeMile epic. But please, try to make something decent. An actor is only as good as the script that's written and the direction they're given. So, I can't blame it all on poor acting. So for all of those involved in both films behind the scenes, please try to make something better the 3rd time around. Follow your basic techniques and don't try to be too fancy with the camera.

In conclusion, this film grossed over $700,000,000 world wide. And it was perhaps the most idiotic, the most dull, and the biggest crap fest I have ever witnessed. This movie made its money through sex and the hormonal instincts of teenage girls and middle-aged house wives. This series gives horror films a bad name. But the question remains, how far will they go? Will that tarnish The Frankenstein Monster's legacy next? Will they continue to make money? Is it just a fad? Frankly, I don't car about any of these questions. I'm avoiding this series. Thank you for reading.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

And we all thought twilight was bad!

1/10
Author: nba_is_jakob from Australia
18 December 2009

OK, twilight was a massive success and gained popularity from 13 year old girls with a crush. Its no surprise that this installment of the twilight saga would be even bigger with a even better looking and more buff character in Jacob. If thats all it takes to make a real bad movie a massive success then we need to take a long hard look at ourselves and wonder what the world has come to.

The acting was very stiff from both Kristen Stewert and Robert Pattinison and how can one believe that there in love with acting like that which made it totally unbelievable. Do these two actors think that long awkward and uncomfortable silences and pauses with an unnecessary amount of staring will make us believe there in love, i mean please why don't you two show some emotion.

The CGI was better in this than the first which wasn't hard because they were terrible. There were a couple of scenes where you might have a chuckle but thats it from a entertainment stand point.

The story is very boring and slow and the film went way longer than it should have done.

The only half positive reviews i have heard have been from fans of the book or again girls with crushes for guys who for no reason take there shirts off non stop for no real reason. If your a fan of the book series and enjoyed the first one then i guess you might enjoy this one, but if you want a pure cinematic experience then this isn't for you. I would recommend renting out a film like Donnie Darko which has nothing to do with twilight but it is awesome.

1/10

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Bad Movie

1/10
Author: eastbergholt2002 from United States
7 December 2009

This may sound sexist, but this a movie probably best enjoyed by teenage girls. My guess is that anyone else is likely to find the film a challenge. Phillips and Scott recommended the film on their show "At The Movies" so I took my two kids who were back from college. They laughed in all the wrong places and made fun of me for taking them to see such an awful movie. The film takes itself too seriously and the male characters were always taking their shirts off which made it seem like a cheesy, exploitation film.

As you know Bella is a girl in love with a vampire. In New Moon she is dumped, becomes suicidal and then befriends a werewolf. Although, Bella is very pretty it's hard to understand why her two suitors are so attracted to her. She is constantly depressed and getting herself into life threatening situations and having to be rescued. Edward's sister Alice (Ashley Green)is smart, pretty and funny and is more my type of heroine. Some light relief was provided by Michael Sheen who hams it up outrageously as Aro, king of the vampires, he obviously needed the paycheck.

I couldn't understand why Edward at 109 was still in high school and chasing 17 year old girls. I would suggest that Bella is not a very good role model for young girls, she seems badly in need of psychological counseling. This film is so bad it's funny.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Spend your time and money elsewhere.

1/10
Author: masterchefcooker from United States
23 November 2009

As a reader of the books, I was sorely disappointed with the movie. The first movie was nothing more than glorified fan-service, and I was truly hoping they would rectify that with New Moon...unfortunately, it's even worse. Between the unnecessarily copious amounts of half-naked teenagers running around who aren't attractive at all, and the poorly delivered script, I could hardly stand New Moon. The books that Meyer crafted were passable in that they told a story - a ridiculous and unrealistic story, but a story nonetheless. These series of movies so far are all about crazy hormone-driven "teens" who can't act worth a damn. Honestly, it's porn for adolescent and teen girls who are too cowardly and so far detached from reality to get a real boyfriend. Your time and money is far better spent elsewhere, and I regret bringing along my boyfriend when we could have done far more entertaining things that night.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

I was Blackmailed into Watching this...

2/10
Author: jdat_1990
16 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Seriously. I wouldn't have gone any other way.

At the persistence of a die-hard fan girlfriend, I read the books. While cheesy and obviously not my style, I could see how it would appeal to the Prince Charming fantasy that most high-school girls like. As I got the ending I was gradually wanting more and more bathroom breaks. It's just not my thing. And having it drawn out through not one, not two, but four books just made me... irritable.

Then I watched the movie, with the same girlfriend.

I could sigh here and rub my temples, but let's get this over with. I don't think we need to harp anymore on just how horrible the acting of Kristen Stewart and Bobbie Patinson was. Taylor Lautner deserves some credit too. Obviously picked to be eye-candy, this dude cannot act. He looks sarcastic or angry through the entire film. His attempts at dialogue are pretty sad, and his hatred for vampires somehow makes you think he is a closet sparkly fan. I think he has a crush on Alice.

Speaking of... well, Alice was dainty in the books, but here, they turn her into a pretty little butterfly, flitting and flying, huffing when she doesn't get her way. Jasper was supposed to be intense and controlled, but he comes off more as bored to be here, the same for Carlisle and Esme. Rosalie is a bitch, and even though her acting makes everyone else seem like drawings, she is still irritating and grating and you hate her anyway. The only good thing about this movie is Emmett. He seems to be having so much fun that it just makes us wanna know about him.

The plot makes a sad Kristen Stewart sad, or, in her case, bland. The heartbreak would only make a three-year old cry because he/she has a dirty nappy, and well... even in the book, she seemed like she spent the entire time just... moping. And if anyone did that in real life, if a friend, I would sit her down, and have a serious 'get over him!' talk, and since she doesn't have any friends, all you can do is just pray for Laurent to kill her. Another decent casting choice, in my humble opinion.

So, she is drawn to Italy, where she flies off because Edwards is, yes, gonna kill himself because he realized he sparkles in the sunlight.... no wait, because Alice saw Bella jump into the water, and for some under explained reason she can't see what happens when the wolves are involved. I really didn't get that, in the books or in the movies. Meyer has a lot of these plot holes in her work.

And here we get to the only good side of the movie: The Vulturi. While their build-up is pretty weak, Micheal Sheen, Dakota Fanning, and whoever it is that plays Felix are incredible. Putting fear in the people's hearts, and well, during the Edward-Felix fight, I was chanting 'Felix, Felix, Felix,' In the movie theater, you kinda wished that the series was about them. They have the history, they have the background and something to build with. Hell, even as the bad guys, Meyer could have built them up a bit more.

In the end, nobody dies, and Bella and Edward are back together again even thought nobody understood why they broke up in the first place, Bella goes home to her ever-bland daddy-o played by Billy Burke, who went on to a stunning performance in 'Drive Angry' who, wouldn't you know, grounds his 17-year-old daughter for eternity. The end.

And it couldn't have come sooner.

I would have given this movie 1 star, but due to the excellent casting by the under-developed villains, as well as a couple others, I decided not to drop it down all the way. Overall, not a movie you want to waste your time with, considering the only good thing about it was a few of the side actors. Made for, by, and to honor the fans, and nobody else, which in my opinion, is a blatant lack of respect.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Why this country is going down the drain

1/10
Author: jluppek from United States
24 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The entire series is the biggest joke in the history of film making. It is a Hollywood disaster made famous by fanatical teens that clearly support the further abomination of society. The production value of New Moon is better than the original Twilight, but the two dimensional acting and dull storyline is comical at best. The only true validation with regards to this movie is any formal spoof made on it's behalf. But take this into consideration:

There is a line said by soon to be gone actor Taylor Lautner in about the third quarter of the film where he raises his voice to Ashley Greene's character and says "...or I could get very angry." I thought this was a joke. Did they not do multiple takes of this scene? This is the best they could come up with?

Not to mention, they have completely ruined all vampire allegory and novel adaptation for a solid decade if not an entire generation. A sparkly vampire that runs fast? This is so irrelevant and incoherent.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

I think my brain imploded out of boredom

1/10
Author: Doc Loc from Sweden
25 April 2010

Well..

There is no plot. It's just a two hour long pathetic teenage girl fantasy about having these strong, immortal vampire/werewolf boys protecting and running after you like whipped chiwawas doing whatever you want them to do as long as you look a little sad. Totally pointless and shallow.

This movie should be put in the "smut for old pedophilic women" section where it belongs. Or they could have let the vampire and the werewolf ravage Kirsten Stewart and won a few AVN awards.

KEEP NEW MOON AS FAR AWAY FROM YOUR KIDS AS POSSIBLE!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 93: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history