IMDb > The Twilight Saga: New Moon (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Twilight Saga: New Moon
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Twilight Saga: New Moon More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 21 of 92: [Prev][16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [Next]
Index 917 reviews in total 

11 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

new worst movie

1/10
Author: drunkandhi3 from United States
23 November 2009

Wth happened? this movie poisons the minds of young girls to go after hot guys rather then guys they can spend the rest of there life with. women need to learn to settle for less and thats the only way they are going to be happy oh wait sorry women are never happy. wow so i have to actually write 10 lines of text for a stupid movie not even worth my time!? ridiculous i swear i what is wrong with you women? idk maybe you have finally failed at life to the point were you cannot even think strait. stay in the kitchen or kill yourself is what i say... now on to important man matters that i need to attend to after i finish writing 10 lines of fluffy bull.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

This Movie Is Horrid

1/10
Author: Lizzypink from United States
22 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First of all Edward Sparkles. Not like a cool vampire who turns into a bat or cracks and burns up in the sun, No he sparkles Like A Pretty Disco Ball. Now after you finally get passed that the first 12 min is just him Breaking Up With Bella and her just standing there like oh no oh no... All Of These Kids Cannot Act. so now you've gone through the 1 hour of Bella having "Night terrors?" and screaming and being depressing and looking out the window and forgetting about her friends oh yeah And Trying To Kill Herself To "See" Edward? This is what we are teaching a 16 year old? Not to mention the only reason she wants to be "Bitten" is to Stay Young? This was 2 1/2 hours of bad acting, and horrible plot line. These books should be burned. When I think werewolves and Vampires I think underworlds blood gore and awesome fight scenes. Not An depressed Chick And Her Two Monster Pals Fighting And Crying.

Do Not Waste Your Money On This Crap.

P.S. I went with some1 who actually read these horrible books and she was disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Awful Awful Awful

1/10
Author: kasperba from Denmark
24 November 2009

I watched it in the cinema and it was like watching a bad movie where somebody pushed the fast-forward button.

There is no coherent story in this movie just a lot of short scenes with no real interconnection. I think you have to have read the book to fill in all the gaps in the movie.

The only acceptable acting was Edward but then again he is a vampire and no should!!!

Since i liked the Twilight movie, which was coherent in the story, somebody really screwed this up.

My guess is that someone was greedy and couldn't wait for the right script for the movie.

I am not watching the third movie because of this awful garbage.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Twilight... what a failure.

1/10
Author: aeon395 from United States
24 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I do not walk out of the movies until a movie is done... except for Twilight II: Cloudy with a Chance of Idiots.

From start to finish this movie never ceased to keep me in a state of perplexed awe, from the beginning scene, to the over-glorification of the entrance of Robert Pattinson, to the incessant spinning of the camera, to more and more useless one-liners such as:

"Hey Jake you're so warm, it's like you're your own sun."

This movie has proved that there was something that could possibly come close to sucking as much as "I Know Who Killed Me" (a movie which I'd rather been beaten with a lead pipe into concussion than see).

With that said, here's the story in a nutshell:

-Emotionless vampire leaves girl for no reason. -Tells her to not do dangerous things, yet only appears to her when she does dangerous things (moron) -She hits up her friend and coaxes him into building her two near-death machines -She meets a black guy in the woods. -Black guy dies -About a half hour of meaningless, emotionless, interaction between her and her friend. -More self-pity about the situation with her ex, who could care less anyhow. -Stephenie Meyer is allowed to continue her full-on mutilation of everything I've ever known of Hollywood vampires, turning them into emotionless high school-ers that transform into emotionless high school-ers with what would appear to be body glitter, much like that a stripper wears.

That was where I walked out, with 15 minutes left of the movie, I realized that these fifteen minutes may very well be way too much for me to handle, and I do not regret that decision whatsoever.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Ho-hum

1/10
Author: mattboy61992 from United States
23 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Why this movie was made? I don't know. Why these books were even written? I don't know. Why this movie made so much money at the box office? I still don't know. The point is, I don't see what the whole fuss is about.

Let me start off with the acting. Kirsten Stewart, who plays Bella, looked like she was about to fall asleep on screen. Robert Pattinson, who plays Edward, was like an emotionless alien, like in the first one. I think Taylor Lautner wasn't paid to star in this movie, and was paid to show off his muscular physique. Even though he seems like a nice guy in real life, his acting in this was bland, and during the second half of the movie, he was acting like an obsessive stalker.

The vampires in these movies don't even have sharp fangs. The ones in movies like 30 Days of Night and Bram Stoker's Dracula are real vampires, because they don't sparkle in the sun or whine about their feelings. I was unimpressed with the werewolves because they were hardly in it, and they weren't very impressive looking. The ones in movies like Ginger Snaps and the Howling are real werewolves, but these weren't very brutal or vicious as werewolves should be.

Overall, this is a pile of crud and deserves to be unwatched by everyone, and they should've had Buffy or Blade come in to slay the Cullens. It's a vampire romance film, and I would say watch "Let the Right One In" instead and it has vampires and werewolves feuding against each other, but I would say watch the Underworld movies instead.

Rating: 3/10

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

I want my money back!

1/10
Author: MACKerMD from Netherlands
22 November 2009

I thought I'd please my girlfriend by going to the cinema just before the weekend so we could cuddle up a bit and enjoyed a nice 'chick-flick'.

But WHAT a disappointment it was. Not only was I completely annoyed by the soap-acting, the cheap-sound and visual effects, the harry-potter-length of movie (what a waste of celluloid), but most of all, about all the hype around it.

I ended up with a very grumpy girlfriend next to me and had no pleasure after wards either.

Simply scrap the next 2 movies that are planned ahead and make something useful for those that want to spend their money on a good evening in the theaters.

I WANT MY MONEY BACK.

I'd rather goto a fast-food-restaurant and spend it there to later throw up from it than see this load of crap again.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

a momentary blight on good storytelling, vampires, and other things

2/10
Author: MisterWhiplash from United States
24 November 2009

Watching the sequel to Twilight, New Moon, is like looking into a dark, scary vortex. Not because the movie is scary or the director creates a compelling mood or the characters are particularly creepy (at least in the way intended). Heavens, no. It's the vortex of a cinematic nightmare of unintentional hilarity tinged with boredom, a romance movie with no touching romance, a horror movie with no horror, a love story without the love - or, rather, there is love, but it's the kind that speaks to a time before the feminist movement actually did things meaningful. And the characters have no concerns, nothing that interests them or makes them anything outside of their one-dimensional (if that) parameters, aside from the push-pull bond with Bella, and some kind of organization called the Voldroi or something. Even the aspect of 'vampires' and 'werewolves' becomes bunk. This is PG-13 non-sex nonsense porn of a high order.

The film picks up right where the first left off, a couple of months later and Bella and Edward are still together, dating and being all snug together, until at Bella's 18th birthday party she has a paper-cut and this sets off Edward's other hungry vampire relatives. So, because of this incident, he says he's leaving with the rest of the Cullen vampire family, without Bella. Why he does this entirely is made only by mild sense- mild being mumbling in the woods about "You're not good for me, I can't be near you, blah blah", and this, of course, sends Bella into a tailspin. For three months she just stares out her window doing nothing except moping and having screaming-dream fits. This changes when she reconnects with the local Indian guy with the six-pack abs (believe me, they're shown quite often), who, as it turns out, is a werewolf.

And other things happen too, like lots of "adrenaline junkie" scenes like Bella jumping off a cliff, and (badly) riding a motorcycle, and then a whole big preposterous climax in Rome where the vampire council is meeting and more things happen like fates decided and yada yada. In New Moon there's a new director for all of this, Chris Weitz, and unlike Catherine Hardwicke he doesn't put a light blue sheen over the movie but makes it look just regular-tinted... this is probably his only real positive contribution. It's not that his direction is of the completely mind-boggling or cine-vomit variety of Michael Bay. Albeit, I must note, that his skills at direction action set-pieces is atrocious (in that slow-FAST-slow-slow-FAST-slow motion makes me pine for Zack Snyder's 300) and his creative decisions with the camera like Bela's waiting for three months (the 360 camera spin with title cards saying the month in case *outside the window seasons change* didn't clarify it) or just the blurry appearances of Edward in front of Bela to give her advice when he's not there, are haphazard at best.

No, what makes this a badly directed film, most of all, is how he treats the script and his actors. This script, coming from a book by hack Stephanie Meyer, is just about the dumbest, mind-numbing and bloodless (no pun intended.. OK, some) from this year's lot of bad movies. Characters look and talk to each other without chemistry or anything that really makes them believable past their necessary stereotypes. Let's see; Bela: stuck-up and, to put it lightly, 'moody' girl with an obsession and without any direction aside from her crush; Edward: subtly (or just) psychologically abusive, without personality except for a crappy emo-kid imitation by Rob Pattinson; Jake: caring boyfriend-type whose face barely ever changes its expression, though a mullet was apparently harmed during the making of this movie. And the words given to them to speak ranges from hilariously stupid (so much so that you'll be laughing so much inside you may just cry) to painfully dull.

New Moon, unless you're already a die-hard with the books, or someone who takes in hackneyed romance seriously, is actually quite boring for much of the time. This, too, was a huge problem with the first Twilight film, and in this case it kind of sneaks up on you. Watching scenes go by, particularly in the mid-section when hairless boys aren't transforming in a nano-second into werewolves and having fights- where's Rick Baker when you need him (?) oh, wait, he got a call on the common sense train to not get anywhere near it- there isn't much going on in terms of a developing story or characters that grow at all. By the end of the film all we get is where things were at the start of the film, only with the teaser (spoiler) that Edward and Bela may get married (!) And it cuts to black just to get an audience full of helpless girls and older women clamoring for more.

The acting is stiff, the characters are depressive idiots and the craftsmanship from the cinematography to the music to everything else is bargain basement gussied up for a big-time blockbuster. There are two "teams" for this movie, and no I don't mean the "Team Jake" "Team Edward" teams, silly gooses. There's the team of people who go for this sleazy and demoralizing claptrap, and those who don't. Suffice to say, I don't. At all. Cuss this franchise!

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Easily shrunk to a half hour decent episode

2/10
Author: johnnyfive from dundee, scotland
24 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The first (Twilight) was at best, average. This one would have been better if not for too many reasons. The only positive parts I can remember are The werewolf pack (apart from when they went all gay (mush like turning the vampires into diamond necklaces instead of burning them up as in the first movie) and felt the need to protect humankind from the nasty vampires) and Victoria's chase. Edward... well Captain Boring would have been a more adequate name, then there's suicidal Bella... (Wooooaaah exciting NOT!).

Now take the film, take out the repetitive use of the word "Bella" and that must bring it down to close to half an hour, not since X-men have I felt the urge to start counting because of over-usage.

My wife and daughters are big fans and I don't see why anyone can invest so much time in these movies. I believe the fans are called Twihards.... hmmm going by the movies I think Twits would be more appropriate!

It's quite a shame really as i'm sure there is a decent story there somewhere....

At best I felt the urge to call our next daughter Bella.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Loved the first one, HATED this second one

2/10
Author: abeburnett from United States
22 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The only reason I give this film 2 stars (and not 1) is that the acting was good. I thought all the actors did a good job of portraying angsty (melodramatic, self-engrossed, intense, my-life-really-sucks-even-though-there's-nothing-really-wrong-with-it attitude) teenage attitudes.

That said, I HATED numerous aspects of this second film in the series. Bella--who reveals herself as a massive flake who won't make her own decisions and who is basically a doormat--spends the whole movie being little but a glorified doormat. She's just in the movie to sit around and preen while two guys fight over her. The thing is, as a guy myself, I couldn't understand what everyone thought was so amazing and attractive and wonderful about Bella. I simply couldn't understand everyone's infatuation with her. She's good looking, true, but she's boring, has no life or hobbies, no great personality (hardly any personality at all), nothing interesting about her, and poor character on top of it all: she's selfish, flaky, indecisive, a bad friend, a poor daughter, and a horrible girlfriend. I hope teenage girls don't take notes from Bella because they'll get the wrong message. Good guys like girls who have their own interests, who are opinionated, who can make decisions and take responsibility for their decisions, who are fun and self-empowered, who treat other people well. Bella was none of those things. I loathed her and I loathed the fact that Edward--who should have enough experience in 109 years of living to eschew such a simpering melodramatic empty husk of a girl like Bella--doted on her and indulged her. And Jacob, the really GOOD guy...I constantly wished that he'd realize that he was WAY too good for Bella and let her know that she had things to figure out and he wasn't going to just "be around" to be her surrogate emotional boyfriend, while Edward is her physical boy toy, etc.

Other than my hatred of Bella's character and how everyone pampered her and coddled her, I also thought the story was disconnected, boring, and repetitive. Indeed, when Bella first goes to hang out with Jake she alludes to how strong and "beautiful" he is. She virtually paints him as just another Edward: the next super-human boy toy to bend to her whims. Lame. The story just hops around from scene to scene with very little to connect the dots. This film just lacked a lot of the "magic" that made the first film special: from the awesome soundtrack, to the fact that she had a lot of "normal life" to deal with like parents, and friends, and stuff going on. In this movie it seemed more like a TV show where the characters don't really have to work, never really go home, and we don't even know if they sleep, eat, or crap.

I HATED this movie and highly recommend that people avoid seeing it. If you need your vamp fix, watch Twilight again.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

Makes Me Sad

3/10
Author: marista20 from Romania
21 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SMALL SPOILER

Alright, I'm gonna start by saying that I AM die-hard Twilight fan. I have been to Forks, WA (I know, pathetic), I have read the books countless times, I have dressed up in a fancy prom dress for the 'Breaking Dawn' Release Party. I have done it all, and I am not ashamed!

But THESE movies... MY GOD... THESE movies just kill them. I tried to love them I really did. I kept going to see the first movie a couple of times in the vain hope that I might in fact realize I love it. I convinced myself the second one would be different and that I would adore it, but I JUST CAN'T. The books just get butchered in their transition on screen, and it's weird cause I usually like movie adaptations just as much as much as the books they go with, but in this case it's impossible.

The acting is horrible, the dialogue is cheesy, and the whole thing is just awkward and painful. Kristen and Rob make the whole relationship between Bella and Edward seem so serious and like it's such a job. I mean it is serious, but not 24/7. Even when their kidding around w/ each other it sounds like their in the middle of a major business deal, and the jokes are just there to be polite. I mean THERE ARE light moments between Edaward and Bella in the book, but none in the movie. It's all just doom and gloom w/ them. And their so awkward and feeling-less. Even when Rob's reciting Romeo's dying lines (which by themselves are tender and passionate) it sounds like he's reciting the Nutrition Facts off the back of a bag of cookies. It hurts me. Kristen, also looks like she's attempting REALLY hard to get her feelings across, but she just can't.

The other characters are alright, but if you don't have Edward and Bella down perfectly than the entire thing automatically becomes a disaster, because I'm not there to see the 2 scenes Emmett or Carlisle have (who are both pretty good). The only principal character I did like was actually Jake, and not because I'm a Team Jacob fan, in fact I hate it when Jake tries to be more than just friends w/ Bella in the books. I think I like him more in the movie because Taylor just seems like a likable guy in real life, and he's not a half bad actor. In fact he has a lot of potential, but even he can't make up for Kirstin and Rob's bad acting. And it is bad acting, because I actually kind of like both of them in real life (they seem like decent people), and they only bug me when their on screen.

Also, unlike the first movie, the soundtrack wasn't even that good this time. That was pretty much the best thing about the first movie, and now it's gone. The action is pretty cool, and I am a girl who enjoys action movies so I can appreciate that.

However, the book is lost, even if New Moon does manage to keep to the plot of the book better than Twilight. It's the feelings that the book inspired that are lost, and what remains is a dry, poorly acted, melodramatic, movie about vampire love. AREN'T THERE ENOUGH OF THOSE ALREADY?

I suppose I'll just have to resign myself to the idea that I will never muster up anything more than a love for the books when it comes to the Twilight franchise.

If you're a 10-14 year old girl who wants to go swoon over the whole thing, than by all means go.

If you're a true romantic at heart who wants to see a deep and interesting love story mixed with some fantasy here and there, go but don't expect it to be anything special cause you'll be VERY disappointed.

If you're someone who just wants to see what the fuss is about, then go but don't expect to understand why everyone is in such a craze over Twilight (if you really want to understand I say:Read the books.)

If you just want to see a random yet entertaining (and maybe even good) movie on a Saturday night, then don't go. There are plenty of better options that will actually stimulate you as a viewer both intellectually and emotionally.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 21 of 92: [Prev][16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history