IMDb > The Cabin in the Woods (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Cabin in the Woods
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Cabin in the Woods More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 19 of 101: [Prev][14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [Next]
Index 1002 reviews in total 

19 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Don't believe the ratings for this film... this film is a waste...

1/10
Author: volatileacid_at_gmail_dot_com from United Kingdom
30 April 2012

This film is a joke. I think it's too far fetched on a number of levels. The CGI is good, as are the characters who form the horror element, however, they would have been better utilised with another script.

You are left hanging, pondering.... thinking... how could that; was is occurring by those who sanction it - be so acceptable? (you'll know what I mean when you see the film)..

And by the end of the film, the storyline comes together - and I think the reason this film has been rated so highly is due to the element of originality given to any revelations/explanations offered to tie it all together.

That's all well and good, but really, I think the system devised to deliver the goods in the film was too complicated for mankind to realise, manage or control on any level whatsoever and what was delivered was so under par considering the script that you'r e left thinking... man, with the what was available (especially in the lifts) could have been so much better utilised!

Additionally: *I didn't get the feeling that I was gripped by this film. *I felt no connection with the characters. *You didn't really have to think too much. You just sat there and consumed information...

..and before you knew it, there was 10 minutes of absolute madness! (which was somewhat satisfying!) and then it was over with more a puff, than a bang!

I just left the cinema a bit miffed by it all for the reasons:

a) Was it really deserving of these high ratings? (I think not)

b) Just because the idea has not been used before in any other film that I know of, doesn't mean, it's a great idea and this film is amazing. Different != wonderful.

c) Such a let down with characters shown but not utilised.

Try again Lionsgate.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Scooby Doo where are you?

4/10
Author: darren-153-890810
17 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A very, very brave attempt to do something different, but the film fails in that it's a total parody of every other horror film ever made, yes, I know it's meat to be. But the characters are so dumb it beggars belief. Why not have a horror film with intelligent characters for a change.

The plot is so stupid that you're actually thinking are they making this up as they go along, they probably are.

The scene near the end with the rooms is superb though, think of a ghost, they had it. I just wished they explored that more rather than the pathetically stupid saving the world one.

If you want an escape though, this is perfect, i'd rather something a bit more intelligent.

Yikes, Scooooby, Scooooby, Dooooooooooooooooooo

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

If you are excited please read first.

2/10
Author: ernestas2 from United Kingdom
15 April 2012

OK so I saw the ad for this movie on TV, and got all excited I also saw that it's rated 7.9 here!!! and thought yes 100% this is gonna be off the hook. Took my whole family to see it, thinking oh yeah I've got something real good lined up for you...

REALITY...

The movie is an absolute joke, people get stabbed in the back with hooks and knives n stuff and literally feel no pain (NORMAL PEOPLE) not to mention there are zombies in the movie: when I saw the zombies for the first time I thought OMG what have I done... But I let that slip thinking OK this is gonna get better...I didn't jump or get scared or get that scared feeling NOT ONCE! no fear factor whatsoever.

The only part I thought was interesting in the slightest is the ending idea which was probably the last 10 minutes of it...No engaging storyline, it also fools you; a black guy in the movie is a little concerned about the kids in the cabin talking about free will etc, which kinda makes you think oh he may be a good guy...wrong - turned out he was useless and just there to fill a gap that wasn't there in the first place - if you know what i mean ;)

My whole family thought I was a retarded to take them to this movie...I'm not even joking, they thought I was the dumbest guy ever, they literally hated me for it, because it's pretty much my fault they sat there for what...2 hours looking at ****.

What gets me is, how on earth people in this world gave this movie a 7.9 I will never understand, are you all that thick and messed up? Cabin Fever is better than this ******* piece of **** movie and Cabin Fever weren't that good (I gave it a 6/10)

TRUST ME WHEN I SAY THIS - THIS MOVIE IS FOR PEOPLE THAT FIND "THE KINGS SPEECH" AMAZING.

In other words people that pretend to like the movie just to satisfy their other half that it weren't a waste of money.

This movie is not worth watching on the toilet, it's that boring.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

By far the worst movie I have ever seen.

1/10
Author: Joseph Williamson from United States
13 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Since I saw the first preview I had been anticipating this movie. The idea of mixing a traditional horror concept with a modern scifi was just intriguing beyond belief.

My girlfriend and I went to see this movie and were just dumbfounded by how disappointing it was. The acting was beyond bad, the story was somewhat original but poorly portrayed, and there is a degree of drug use in it that is simply unacceptable.

Now there is drug use in a majority of modern movies, but rarely is it portrayed as being an okay thing to do. In this movie, it is not only okay, it is actually portrayed as helpful! Ultimately this movie was nothing more than a few ideas strung together by bad acting, poor plot choices, and a lot of drug use without any real purpose or message.

Strongly advice anyone who values their morals to stay away from this movie, it is closer to a pot-heads comedy than a horror film by leaps and bounds.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Who reviews this garbage?

1/10
Author: naoverland-402-286674 from United States
20 June 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

What a 90 minute load of baloney! Stylish horror film--NOT!! This was more like a choose your own adventure horror-ible film. Pick your own killer? Betting on death? The only good part was the pervert guys looking for boobs. Okay, that was a cute scene, but really?

Who reviews these films? Did they get a kickback to say something nice? DO NOT waste your money seeing this piece of garbage film. Once you realize what's going on, the horror factor goes right out the window. If I could give this a negative star rating, I would. I saw it at the dollar theater and I want my money back--thank goodness I didn't pay full price.

The only reason this piece of crap was released was to capitalize on Chris Hemsworth and Joss Wheldon and the Avengers and Thor.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

a giant poop stain on the horror genre

1/10
Author: Neuenschwander9 from Leipzig
19 April 2012

There seems to have been a trend in Hollywood recently to make 'serious movies' i.e. movies with class and logic (ok, let's not stretch it _that_ far either). But Josh Wheadon has ensured that, that shall not come to pass. A movie that starts with a promising premise and treatment, but ends with such a farce that it gladdened my heart. I can now rest assured that I'm not missing anything of value next time I skip an American movie.

The director could have done a better job. The Set is a complete fake, and there was a deliberate failed attempt to mimic the feel of better, more worthy contributions to the beloved genre. Avoid as you would any diseased livestock.

Yoinks, Scooooby, Dooooby, Doooooooooooooooooooo!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

Just when you thought it was safe to leave your grave...

8/10
Author: HiPalmetto from Spain
19 August 2012

A Joss Whedon co-script credit state-of-the-genre teen horror/comedy, with just a hint of conspiracy theory, delivers on the laughs and a few thrills, but not the chills – unless you're of such a nervous disposition that you shouldn't be watching horror in the first place. A very acceptable alternative to the occasional pretension and over seriousness of even such self-conscious ventures as Blair Witch, Paranormal Activity and Insidious. The title gives the game away – this is horror as cliché, parodying itself, but thankfully at a much higher than Not-Just-Another-Teen-Movie level, scaling the same heights of postmodern genre-bending meta-horror as Scream and Jason X, in this case, a pleasant buzz and head-high blend of The Truman show, Bruce Campbell ... and Scooby Doo.

***MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS*** Keeping Earth's ancient evil giant gods happy has gone super hi-tech (with modern high priests not unlike movie moguls and control-freak directors using the stock-in-trade devices of the horror genre as its tools, including in this case the ghosts, ghouls and monsters ). It's a secret global industry, with rules/rituals not dissimilar to the postmodern horror guideline laid down in Scream, the number of victims, the order in which they die, the role of the virgin, etc., etc.. The gods are getting angry and they must be appeased. Various appeasement projects around the world fail and it's up to the US to save the day (which for some reason I'm sure intentionally reminded me of the Fox network's view of the global economic crisis). For a moment it looks as if they've pulled it off, but they suddenly realise in the middle of something like a wrap-party that it's going wrong and they are in serious trouble... the "sacrifice" industry appears to have become too tech-sophisticated for its own good, and finally appears to have succumbed to that scariest of all scenarios, human error. No wonder the hi-tech priests talk about simpler times when all they had to do was throw virgin's into volcanoes...

At this point we are in a strange dilemma, do we want the "bad" guys to win and safeguard humanity, or do we want the dumb youngsters (so dumb they almost make dumb-as-they-come inbred redneck zombies look clever) to survive and secure the horrific destruction of mankind?

All this happens in the first half of the film, and while the execution of the idea is interesting and entertaining, the telescoping of the normal 90 or 120 min horror narrative into this much shorter time, coupled with the fact that every clichéd move is intentionally telegraphed, tends to rob it of any jump-out-of-your-seat moments that were potentially there. But that's hardly what the movie is about, and in the second half it really comes into its own in a roller-coaster of subtle, not-so-subtle and over-the-head-with-a-baseball-bat referencing of too many genre favourites to mention. After I've watched it a few times more for the laughs, I might watch it once more to see just how many I can identify, they come too fast and furious to get in just one or two sittings, but if you don't get at least a dozen the first time, you are something of a tourist in this territory.

OK, so there are as many plot holes as there are clichés and if you don't buy into it or want something genuinely frightening (why?) it will come across as horror 101. But with some friends, some beer and pizza, it's hard to go wrong with this.

Was the above review useful to you?

61 out of 121 people found the following review useful:

Horrible Movie

1/10
Author: fashionvictim-822-558965 from United States
19 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spoiler alert.... . . . This was one of the worst movies I've seen in a while. I didn't know what to expect when watching it. I thought it was just going to be about a murderer in a cabin or something like that. The characters were your stereotypical horror movie characters with no depth and nothing likable about them. The pothead guy was kinda funny just because he kept reminding me of Shaggy from Scooby Doo. I am completely shocked that everyone loves this movie. When the zombies came out I was like OK this is getting really stupid now. And at the end, what was with that giant hand coming out? I don't really like the whole idea of gods or whatever, it just seemed really cheesy and unrealistic. I kind of like the concept how people control the environment that the teens are in, but I don't really get why they wanted those two teens to have sex. Was this all on a TV show or something or just something for the control people to watch? I don't really get why they showed those Japanese girls in the classroom either. I just found the whole movie to be really stupid. And then who was the girl at the very end? I know sigourney weaver was the actress and the director but I don't really get who she was in the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

73 out of 145 people found the following review useful:

One for the horror fans

10/10
Author: darkraven_109 from Manila, Philippines
4 May 2012

It has literally been years since the horror genre had something nice to offer, with crap security camera footage "films" dominating the landscape (crap like PARANORMAL ACTIVITY) after the demise of the once mighty torture porn (SAW and the rest). Just when horror fans like me began to lose hope, along comes THE CABIN IN THE WOODS which plays as both a tribute and a subtle parody of the horror genre.

The basic plot is basically a copy-paste version of EVIL DEAD; some teens go to a cabin in the woods to party and then cue the ancient unspeakable horror. If you think that's bland, remember that the trailers made it obvious that there was something more to this bare bones plot and by god, there IS a lot more than just a bunch of teens getting high and drunk in some run down shack. If you haven't seen the trailers prior to the film, well let's just say you're in for a lot of twists and turns. To say anymore about this could end up spoiling more than one detail so I'll just say that the plot is a lot smarter than you could expect.

While it does pay tribute and homage to an old, tried and tested genre, the movie doesn't fail to be both funny and horrifying. It does more than just play out the genre conventions straight. The script is dotted with moments of random dark humor that work in the story's context. The dialogue points out some flaws and stereotypes of the genre but it never does it in an "In your FACE!!" way similar to say, SCREAM (not to say it's bad); it's really subtle so if you know the conventions, you'll get the jokes. The characters may act in their stereotypical ways but for once this is actually justified. Every little bit of the genre that made it more of a joke as the decades went by is given justification and it works.

The horror is old school; kill shots, decapitations, nightmarish creatures, etc... none of that kill shot cutting seen a lot in PG-13 garbage or the shaky camera crap seen way too many times. This is a HORROR movie so people die on screen, not off screen like today's "horror" which are too scared to show even a drop of blood. Visually it may not be the most impressive collection of on-screen kills ever imagined but in a time when almost everything is being marketed to children, this is more than a refresher.

THE CABIN IN THE WOODS is really for the horror fans; it's for people who've grown up with the likes of Freddy Kruger and have grown weary of today's "horror." It's not only a fright-fest, it's a lot smarter than one could expect and it works. If you're new to the genre or you don't really like it, you'll either get it or not. Otherwise if you like horror movies with some sort of passion, you'll like this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

Alternate reality meets generic horror story-line

8/10
Author: Mike
19 March 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I went into this movie knowing one thing, it's a run-of-the-mill teen horror with ZOMBIES. I must admit, I was quite mistaken. The deliberately formulaic description hides a very strange and entertaining movie.

You'll be missing out if you haven't seen it yet. I suggest you do so before reading up on any spoilers, including this review.

The plot goes off-centre almost immediately and will certainly polarise audiences. I like twists, and I'm all in favour of the off-beat, quirky and different takes on the Horror genre (especially zombies). But the plot certainly isn't all about the Zombies.

I thought the gore, violence, acting/actors, and the strangeness of switching from the cabin to the control room all combined to make this riveting viewing. It's rare that I resent having to take a toilet break in case I miss something.

The scenes of slaughter in the maintenance tunnels are unforgettable.

You can tell the writers, producers and directors had a common goal here to have a lot of fun with this film.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 19 of 101: [Prev][14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history