IMDb > The Cabin in the Woods (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Cabin in the Woods
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Cabin in the Woods More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 101:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 1006 reviews in total 

68 out of 115 people found the following review useful:

An insult to the horror genre

1/10
Author: Damien Thomas from Austria
13 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Cabin In The Woods starts off as, what seemed to be a horror comedy - the cliché college students (a jock, a blonde girl, a stoner, a nerd and a virgin) meet up to spend the weekend in a cabin together. 'Fair enough', I thought. But that thought didn't last long. Here is a list of things that bugged me about this film:

1) The acting ranged from bad right down to laughable.

2) The characters were annoying and 2 dimensional. I could not wait for them to be killed and was actually rooting for the zombie family, which had more of a background story than any of the main characters.

3) The big red button that releases every monster. WHY WOULD YOU INVENT THIS BUTTON?! In what possible scenario would you need this button?! The mere existence of this button was the best plot twist in the movie.

4) During the entire time of me watching this movie, I was not sure whether the movie was parodying the horror genre or actually wanted to be taken seriously. Either way it failed.

A brainless movie with no good storyline whatsoever. I want my money back.

Was the above review useful to you?

179 out of 339 people found the following review useful:

The stupidest movie I've ever seen

1/10
Author: nysalesman100-1 from United States
14 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Give me a break. This movie was awful. Full of clichés and the most ridiculous twist that, quite frankly, ruins anything good that happened in this train-wreck of a movie in the first place. Is this really what passes for good horror today?

SPOILER TO FOLLOW Are you ready? This is all a high-tech way to sacrifice humans for Gods that live underground on an earth that is obviously not ours. Once you know the big "secret" you really don't give a damn. Of course the victims that live in this alternate earth don't even have a clue that they may be part of the high-tech sacrifices that have been going on forever. Put that together with a bunch of overused horror and slasher clichés (and some awful comedy that was done far better in truly original movies like "Scream") and you have this garbage.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 78 people found the following review useful:

I don't get it. Most disappointed I've been in awhile.

1/10
Author: letzgostate
2 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have not been this disappointed in a long time. Had I known I was coming to watch a movie that was making fun of horror movies, I wouldn't have wasted my time or money.

Original as it was, it lacked three major things I expected: 1. Horror (which was replaced with comedy) 2. Good Acting (I was sorely disappointed, the characters didn't seem that into their roles) 3. some sort of intelligent story (based on hype and previews)

I felt bad for none of the characters that died. None of the characters really developed throughout the movie. The story was just terrible with too many unanswered questions and the film makers chastised the review groups prior to releasing the film for asking about a sequel.

Some more about the reason that they needed a virgin, jock, whore, fool and scholar would have been nice to know. Why they were sacrificing to the gods could have been more clear. Why they were involving all the other countries would have been nice, but mostly, explain this to me:

Which one of the Asian children in the classroom was the whore? the jock? the fool? I'm assuming at that stage in their lives they were virgins and scholars...

I never found myself startled during the movie, not one jump. I feel cheated that I went to a horror movie to realize it was a poorly done comedy.

I don't get it. I must be wrong. Everybody else seems to disagree with me.

Was the above review useful to you?

175 out of 332 people found the following review useful:

Joss Wheddon dared to be different...and different he gave us.

10/10
Author: fishlips2020 from Australia
20 August 2012

After the opening title, we are thrown into the social standard of the guts and glory horror we all know and love. Five friends decide to drive their van out to an abandoned cabin in the woods and along the way they come across a creepy old man at a run down petrol station; nothing could go wrong right? And what would a stereotypical horror scenario be without with out it's cliché's characters; the stoner; the jock; the nerd; the popular girl and the virgin - well, sort of. Much to the hilarity of the film the group do just about everything you shouldn't do when in a creepy cabin; which results in them fighting for there lives when suddenly under attack from bombarding creatures of the night.

As for the rest of the plot, it's pleasantly far from what you would normally expect; and balances out stunningly between a well mixed cocktail of classic horror and laugh out loud humor. Seeing how I'm still traumatised from when people told me the ending from The Sixth Sense, don't expect me to tell you what happens in the rest of the movie - of course, aside from the killer unicorn.

If you look around on the internet really closely, you will notice it's the highest rated Horror Movie for the past 7 years since The Descent. You will never see another Horror Movie like this...EVER...PERIOD! In the large array of god-awful horror films to be recently brought out onto the big screen and direct to DVD/Blu Ray, The Cabin In The Woods is a refreshingly needed milestone to the long drying out horror genre. Aside from the somewhat awkward and pretentious cameo from Sigourney Weaver, The Cabin In The Woods is a deliciously bloody, funny, well acted, all round brilliantly written and directed satire of the horror genre. This is the Casablanca of movie spoofs and whether you are a fan of horror or not, this is not to be missed.

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

356 out of 694 people found the following review useful:

Pedestrian, lackluster presentation of moderately interesting ideas.

1/10
Author: Pornography_and_Satori from Interzone
17 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This latest critical darling comes from Drew Goddard and Josh Whedon. A writer/director team with an extensive background in…television. This review is now sufficient enough to end right here, but I'll soldier on anyway.

With about a jillion comparisons to Wes Cravens criminally overrated Scream, there was no reason to have high expectations for The Cabin in the Woods. Still, I at least expected a mindlessly entertaining carnival ride of gruesomeness a la Demon Knight or Planet Terror. My expectations were too high. The reason for the Scream comparison stems from the fact that both films exhibit a self awareness of the clichés and conventions of the horror genre. This comparison however is not entirely accurate. As lame a film to ever masquerade as a horror film as Scream is, The Cabin in the Woods' brand of stupidity has more in common with tripe such as Mars Attacks or even The Brady Bunch Movie.

This is a film that looks and feels like a slightly sinister entry to the abysmal Scary Movie franchise. Another horror comedy that's never scary, and never really funny. To call it convoluted or contrived would be a massive understatement. It's flimsy excuse for a premise is like a house of urine soaked cards. The 1st act set up plays every bit as clichéd and predictable as any cut rate teen slasher movie of the past 30+ years. The only difference is the inclusion of a vast network of "puppeteers," two of which offer constant explanations (excuses) for said predictability. Basically it's all a charade. The kids are being lured into the cabin as part of some laughable ritual of human sacrifice to appease some angry ancient gods. This charade of trite horror genre mediocrity is the only thing that keeps them from rising up and destroying the world. In other words, the story is rotten because the "Ancient Ones" have wretched taste.

For reasons far too ridiculous to bother getting into, things don't quite go as planned. Two of the kids figure everything out, and to make a very dumb, bloated story short, the world ends. There's a bloody finale involving about 20 or more simultaneous references to horror icons of the past several decades, but don't think for a second that any of it's worthwhile. "Lord Fornicus," the obvious reference to Hellraiser's Pinhead, looks like something out of a SNL sketch.

Come to think of it the whole thing feels like some cut-rate comedy sketch show rather than a horror film or even a horror comedy. Watching this thing one get's the impression that everyone involved was striving for mediocrity. The acting is soap opera level. The direction uninspired. The writing an avalanche of sloppy expository dialog and dumb forced humor (people still think stoners are funny?). The camera work typical "lets film each scene from every conceivable angle and hope it all cuts together well. The Special effects barely a step above what you'd see in an Uwe Boll film.

The self-referential conceit is just an excuse to unleash a torrent of awkward, distracting exposition through each and every character's dialog. You half expect someone to look directly into the camera at any moment, throw up the sign of the horns and proclaim "Dude! It's a freakin horror movie!" This brand of lazy storytelling is no different from what the storytellers proclaim to be ridiculing. The people who defend this technique by saying "that was the point" are simply defending mediocrity. Clichés, ineptitude and lack of imagination cannot negate clichés, ineptitude and lack of imagination. Nor can they be excused. Consider films like Kill Bill and Grindhouse, which manage to pay homage to trash cinema yet still be incredibly entertaining, and original. The Cabin in the Woods is still the same boring same old same old, even with the reality-TV-show-of-the-gods slant.

All in all, the whole thing is about as clever, funny and scary as a fart joke. Some have surmised that the story is actually a kind of metaphor for the horror film industry, or horror fans expectations or whatever. If that's the case then The Cabin in the Woods isn't just lame, it's insufferably pretentious.

Merman, this single star is for you and only you.

Was the above review useful to you?

204 out of 391 people found the following review useful:

A New Horror Camp

8/10
Author: Mek Torres from Los Banos, Laguna, Philippines
5 May 2012

The writers of this film stated that they didn't like how the horror genre has become. Full of unlikable characters that we don't care if they live or die. Cabin in the Woods sounds like a generic horror film with a generic premise and generic horror characters. When you see it closely, it's an intriguing high concept satirical horror film. It may look absurd but it's actually brilliant and smart. It has campy scares and some good laughs. Cabin in the Woods is an enjoyable horror film with an unlikely twist.

Horror movies have lost its suspense because we don't care about the characters and the characters are particularly dumb to make decisions to survive. It make sense in this film. The actors did a great portraying these clichéd characters. Chris Hemsworth and his body already makes a good jock character. Kristen Connolly is pretty likable. Fran Kranz steals the show as the pot headed dude.

Some will say it's generic but it's actually intriguing. I'm not gonna give everything away but I'm gonna say it's a bit absurd but it's smart and inspired. It's also a bit scary, though some of the jump scares didn't work but it's much better when the scares goes campy. I'm not gonna reveal the monsters either. There are ridiculously hilarious moments which lightens the grimness. The thrills and suspense are always there.

At first, you thought it's just another horror film but when you pass through the rest of the film, you will realize that this would be a remarkable experience. I have to agree with one of the critics, "The less you know about Cabin in the Woods, the better". It looks absurd but it's smart and creative. It gave substance to all generic horror movie nonsense. It's Campy, Hilarious, and Fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

Really?

1/10
Author: joesloper from England
13 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Literally a waste of time, if the movie has any redeeming qualities it would be the slight humour in the film. It's advertised as having a crazy twist and 'you think you know the story' etc... Basically if you've seen the advert you'll know what's going on.

They are in a cabin in the woods, their actions are influenced by some government people. But everyone got that from the advert when the two guys in shirts said "Target acquired" right?

(spoilers) The 'twist' which has nothing to do with the entire movie until the very end and is shamelessly explained by a new character in the last 5 minutes is that they're doing the whole thing to stop Gods from destroying the whole world.

Would never suggest this film to anyone (however it does have slight elements of humour). Was embarrassed walking out of the cinema after suggesting it.

Was the above review useful to you?

59 out of 102 people found the following review useful:

IMDb should introduce a new genre for worst movies and place it on top

1/10
Author: newimdbuser
28 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

One of the most disgusting movies i've ever seen in my life

these are the things which are "not" present in this movie -horror (no it's way off it's even insulting to include this in a horror category) -thriller -story -action

it's a total waste of time , a complete senseless crap

only little kids can like this movie who have never seen any good horror movie in their entire life and they'll feel happy on blood shedding and watching zombies coming out of the ground

this movie is also a consecutive proof that IMDb rating mechanism is very poor and you can't depend on it, IMDb rated it 7.5 ,it don't even deserve 1/10

to conclude don't watch it!

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 99 people found the following review useful:

worst movie i have ever seen

1/10
Author: ashhattack from United States
21 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is the absolute worst movie that I have ever seen in my life. The acting and the plot were absolutely awful. The people who gave it an 8.1 rating out of 10 are completely insane. Don't waste your time and money on this outrageously stupid and awful movie. The movie is basically about a bunch of stupid teenagers who decide to go on a camping trip to a friends cousins camp when randomly a bunch of zombies begin to attack everyone. The only thing that is truly keeping my attention while watching this movie was the fact that Chris Hemsworth was in it. This movie is the most pointless thing I have ever seen in my entire life. Snakes On A Plane was a much better movie than this.SERIOUSLY DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 80 people found the following review useful:

Either you love it or you hate it!

8/10
Author: champjohnson29 from Hollywood
15 October 2012

I'm not a horror fan. Although, films pertaining to demonic possession scare me into a four year old, it's just not my taste. I'm also pretty late in watching this movie. I found it online and decided to watch since I had nothing else to do. I was kind of intrigued after seeing Joss Whedon's name in the credits for producing and writing.

Overall, I loved this movie. It started off as your typical horror film, but turn into something much bigger and more authentic. Every horror in the past twenty years has been predictable. You know who is going to die, you know who the killer is, you know if the dumb blonde runs off screaming into a dark hallway she's more than likely going to have her head get cut off. But this movie was the exact opposite because I had absolutely no clue what was going to happen next. I'm sure a high percentage of people will not appreciate the sci-fi twist to the movie but I loved and thought it was an awesome idea. All horror movies are kind of science fiction anyways. It seems like all the killers are super human anyway because they don't seem to ever die no matter how many times you shoot them, stab them or hit them with a truck. This movie just did it on a larger scale.

The script was solid as well. Joss Whedon writes the best dialogue and knows how to play off of cliché's and those corny predictable monologues and speeches.

To everyone saying they hated this movie, it's obvious that they don't like change and are probably upset because the originality of this film pretty much slays all their favorite horror movies to dust. It's not Oscar worthy but it's a great Friday night movie with your friends that will keep everyone on the edge of their seat, anticipating what's going to happen next.

I have to hand it to the filmmakers. They definitely made a film that no one would have ever thought it. Just like my title says, you either love it or you hate it. You can't please everyone but this customer was satisfied from beginning.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 101:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history