3.1/10
351
7 user 6 critic

Diary of a Serial Killer (2008)

R | | Thriller | Video 9 July 2009
Tormented by the serial killer who took her mother's life, journalist LAURA NELSON investigates the only clue he ever leaves behind at his crime scenes: his diary pages.

Director:

Writer:

Reviews

On Disc

at Amazon

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Rough Draft (1998)
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.1/10 X  

A struggling freelance writer, while investigating the transvestite night life, stumbles across a serial killer in action. The two then strike up a bizarre partnership to document the ... See full summary »

Director: Joshua Wallace
Stars: Gary Busey, Michael Madsen, Arnold Vosloo
Anamorph (2007)
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.5/10 X  

A psychological thriller based on the concept of anamorphosis, a painting technique that manipulates the laws of perspective to create two competing images on a single canvas.

Director: Henry Miller
Stars: Willem Dafoe, Scott Speedman, Don Harvey
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.7/10 X  

Unable to satisfy his sexual desires with his wife, Bill regularly visits prostitutes. Afterwards, he ties up and tortures them in various ways before killing them. Bill believes that if ... See full summary »

Director: Otto Chan
Stars: Kwok-Pong Chan, Farini Cheung, Ka-Kui Ho
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

Antonio Frau is a formerly convicted killer who, while having an active sex life with his buxom wife Francisca who also cheats on him with her older doctor, becomes a serial killer/rapist of women.

Director: Martín Garrido Barón
Stars: Fernando Acaso, María José Bausá, Raquel Arenas
Silent Scream (2005)
Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 2.9/10 X  

Set in the deep freeze of a northern Michigan winter, when a group of college students volunteer to assist their psychology professor with his research, their weekend retreat turns into a nightmare.

Directors: Matt Cantu, Lance Kawas
Stars: Melissa Schuman, Scott Vickaryous, Shanti Lowry
Action | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

In the tradition of Friday the 13th and My Bloody Valentine comes the House of Blood. The sweltering laid back summers nights of Miami Beach usually full of dancers and nightlife turns ... See full summary »

Director: John Rusnak
Stars: Peter Hooten, Brian Kahrs, Mike Kradlak
Biography | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

Based on the life of notorious serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer, who murdered 17 men and ate many of them before he was caught in 1991.

Director: David R. Bowen
Stars: Carl Crew, Cassidy Phillips, Donna Stewart Bowen
Biography | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.1/10 X  

Based on the true story of the serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer, the events within the family behind, and leading up to his capture.

Director: Rich Ambler
Stars: Bo Svenson, Scott Cordes, Cathy Barnett
Action | Comedy | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 2.5/10 X  

A secret government has been trying to create the ultimate killer using the DNA of infamous killers Jeffrey Dahmer and John Wayne Gacy, but there's one big problem: they've escaped! Bloody ... See full summary »

Director: Ford Austin
Stars: Ford Austin, Art LaFleur, Randal Malone
Documentary | Biography | Crime
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

An experimental documentary that uses archival footage, interviews, and fictionalized scenarios to tell the story of the people around Jeffrey Dahmer, during the summer of his arrest in 1991.

Director: Chris James Thompson
Stars: Andrew Swant, Pamela Bass, Jeffrey Jentzen
Chain Reaction (Video 2006)
Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.6/10 X  

A group of convicts and a doctor seek refuge from the authorities in a lodge deep in the wood, but the weird inhabitants are not friendly.

Director: Olaf Ittenbach
Stars: Christopher Kriesa, Martina Ittenbach, Simon Newby
Action
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Director: June Daguiso
Stars: J. Mika Ackerman, Christian Amy, Matthew Aninzo
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
Chloe Snyder ...
Laura
...
Robert
...
Killer
...
Ed
...
Anthony Dresdon ...
Ramirez
Kara Revel ...
Red Head
...
Selena (as Victoria Demare)
...
Konerak
...
Jim
Zak Rubenstein ...
Cynthia
...
Sharon
Sam Dobbinn ...
Harry
Bradley J. Thornton ...
Uniformed Officer (as Bradley Thornton)
Adrian Vatsky ...
Jiminez (as Adrian Gorovatsky)
Edit

Storyline

Tormented by the serial killer who took her mother's life, journalist LAURA NELSON investigates the only clue he ever leaves behind at his crime scenes: his diary pages.

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

serial killer | copycat | fiction | See All (3) »

Taglines:

He learned from the masters.

Genres:

Thriller

Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for strong sadistic violence and torture, language, nudity, some sexual and drug content | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

9 July 2009 (Germany)  »

Also Known As:

Copycat  »

Filming Locations:


Company Credits

Production Co:

 »
Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Color:

See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Goofs

Ed Gein's house was not in a forested area, it was out in the middle of the field on rolling plains. The house was two stories and was far, far, messier. The mother's room was just as she left it when she died. In fact, it was the only room in the house to be neat. See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Copycat basically copycats other movies in the Cop/Serial Killer/Thriller sub-genre.
5 October 2008 | by See all my reviews

A young journalist is out for revenge against the serial killer who killed her mother; the serial killer's niche, is that he is/was inspired by the hilariously talented trio of Gein, Ramirez, and Dahmer.

Copycat for some reason wants to be some sort of intelligent, analytical thesis on what makes a killer, but, it fails miserably. For starters, the ending is idiotic; heavily placed so that the message the movie is providing tries to be truthful and convincing. The rest of the movie basically revolves around vignettes (or flashbacks) from the lives of Gein, Dahmer, and Ramirez, and the "relationship" between the journalist with the cop who helps her, and the serial killer who she wants to kill. Everything is kept at a nice pace, but the clichéd, redundant script and weak acting f*ck everything up to the extent that you don't care for any nice pace; you just want the damn movie to end.

The cinematography and editing are adequately done, the main score is effective, and the gore is bland for the most part.

Either way you look at this movie, be it from a critical or gore-fix (?) point of view, you should skip it. Hell, you shouldn't even read the plot synopsis on the back of the DVD box. Ignore this crap fest.

3.0/10


19 of 25 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
WORST MOVIE EVER. privateye-1
Wrong Listing imgetaway
The ending? timbhart
this movie really really bad NapoleonMindstate
Discuss Diary of a Serial Killer (2008) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?