7 user 5 critic

Diary of a Serial Killer (2008)

R | | Thriller | Video 9 July 2009
Tormented by the serial killer who took her mother's life, journalist LAURA NELSON investigates the only clue he ever leaves behind at his crime scenes: his diary pages.




On Disc

at Amazon

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Rough Draft (1998)
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.1/10 X  

A struggling freelance writer, while investigating the transvestite night life, stumbles across a serial killer in action. The two then strike up a bizarre partnership to document the ... See full summary »

Director: Joshua Wallace
Stars: Gary Busey, Michael Madsen, Arnold Vosloo
Kemper (Video 2008)
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.5/10 X  

A film based on the true story of Ed Kemper, a serial killer who murdered ten in Santa Cruz, CA during the late sixties and early seventies.

Director: Rick Bitzelberger
Stars: Christopher Stapleton, Robert Sisko, Sean Thomas
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.7/10 X  

Unable to satisfy his sexual desires with his wife, Bill regularly visits prostitutes. Afterwards, he ties up and tortures them in various ways before killing them. Bill believes that if ... See full summary »

Director: Otto Chan
Stars: Kwok-Pong Chan, Farini Cheung, Ka-Kui Ho
Copycat (1995)
Crime | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.6/10 X  

An agoraphobic psychologist and a female detective must work together to take down a serial killer who copies serial killers from the past.

Director: Jon Amiel
Stars: Sigourney Weaver, Holly Hunter, Dermot Mulroney
Murder One: Diary of a Serial Killer (TV Mini-Series 1997)
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 8.3/10 X  
Stars: Mary McCormack, D.B. Woodside, Barbara Bosson
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.6/10 X  

In 1989, the schizophrenic son of a serial killer is remanded to house arrest after attacking a man, but when his allegedly-slain father reappears to him and threatens to resume killing, he... See full summary »

Director: Marc-Andre Samson
Stars: Walter Peña, Scott Anthony Leet, Alexis Raben
Biography | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.1/10 X  

Based on the true story of the serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer, the events within the family behind, and leading up to his capture.

Director: Rich Ambler
Stars: Bo Svenson, Scott Cordes, Cathy Barnett
Action | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

In the tradition of Friday the 13th and My Bloody Valentine comes the House of Blood. The sweltering laid back summers nights of Miami Beach usually full of dancers and nightlife turns ... See full summary »

Director: John Rusnak
Stars: Peter Hooten, Brian Kahrs, Mike Kradlak
Comedy | Crime | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.6/10 X  

A serial killer decides to teach the secrets of his satisfying career to a video store clerk.

Director: Luke Ricci
Stars: Dameon Clarke, Matthew Gray Gubler, Laura Regan
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  

There are forces at work steering the world in different directions, but there can only be one destination. The world controllers think they run world affairs, but there are forces in high ... See full summary »

Director: Russ Miller
Stars: Evan George Vourazeris, Annette Eberly, Megan Few
Crime | Horror | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.5/10 X  

The Seamstress was brought into being by the desperate curse of an innocent woman being tortured to death by a vigilante mob. Voracious for blood, the hideously-mutilated specter hunts a ... See full summary »

Director: Jesse James Miller
Stars: Kailin See, David Kopp, James Kirk
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Director: June Daguiso
Stars: J. Mika Ackerman, Christian Amy, Matthew Aninzo


Cast overview, first billed only:
Chloe Snyder ...
Anthony Dresdon ...
Kara Revel ...
Red Head
Selena (as Victoria Demare)
Zak Rubenstein ...
Sam Dobbinn ...
Bradley J. Thornton ...
Uniformed Officer (as Bradley Thornton)
Adrian Vatsky ...
Jiminez (as Adrian Gorovatsky)


Tormented by the serial killer who took her mother's life, journalist LAURA NELSON investigates the only clue he ever leaves behind at his crime scenes: his diary pages.

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

serial killer | copycat | fiction | See All (3) »


He learned from the masters.



Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for strong sadistic violence and torture, language, nudity, some sexual and drug content | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:





Release Date:

9 July 2009 (Germany)  »

Also Known As:

Copycat  »

Filming Locations:

Company Credits

Production Co:

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs



See  »

Did You Know?


Ed Gein's house was not in a forested area, it was out in the middle of the field on rolling plains. The house was two stories and was far, far, messier. The mother's room was just as she left it when she died. In fact, it was the only room in the house to be neat. See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

Copycat basically copycats other movies in the Cop/Serial Killer/Thriller sub-genre.
5 October 2008 | by See all my reviews

A young journalist is out for revenge against the serial killer who killed her mother; the serial killer's niche, is that he is/was inspired by the hilariously talented trio of Gein, Ramirez, and Dahmer.

Copycat for some reason wants to be some sort of intelligent, analytical thesis on what makes a killer, but, it fails miserably. For starters, the ending is idiotic; heavily placed so that the message the movie is providing tries to be truthful and convincing. The rest of the movie basically revolves around vignettes (or flashbacks) from the lives of Gein, Dahmer, and Ramirez, and the "relationship" between the journalist with the cop who helps her, and the serial killer who she wants to kill. Everything is kept at a nice pace, but the clichéd, redundant script and weak acting f*ck everything up to the extent that you don't care for any nice pace; you just want the damn movie to end.

The cinematography and editing are adequately done, the main score is effective, and the gore is bland for the most part.

Either way you look at this movie, be it from a critical or gore-fix (?) point of view, you should skip it. Hell, you shouldn't even read the plot synopsis on the back of the DVD box. Ignore this crap fest.


19 of 25 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
WORST MOVIE EVER. privateye-1
Wrong Listing imgetaway
The ending? timbhart
this movie really really bad NapoleonMindstate
Discuss Diary of a Serial Killer (2008) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for: