IMDb > This Is the End (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
This Is the End
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
This Is the End More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 67: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 668 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Give Me a break

1/10
Author: Joe Day from USA
28 March 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Thank God I didn't pay money to see this exercise in narcissism. The leader notes say six friends so I was expecting fictional characters. Instead, as soon as the film opened with Rogan being himself, I was tempted to push the off button. I suppose it helps if you know who these "stars" are; I do vaguely (Franco anyway)so .....

Was the film supposed to poke fun at today's Hollywood in a satyric way? I don't know. I mean, the party scene with the coke and bathroom orgies and all. As the kids say, waaaaaaaht!

As someone else has reviewed, if this is what passes today as a money maker, it just shows how vapid the mind of the average moviegoer is. Was the movie poking fun at religion? Again, I don't know. Was it poking fun at homosexuality? You got me. Rhianna? Seriously. Emma Watson? Seriously? I came away with the feeling this is really the way these kids are and if so, how sad. I actually fell asleep on my couch only to wake up with them going to "Heaven" where of course dope is available and halos given out like Mardi Gras beads.

The film's psychology is telling in the sense that when the one character tries to convince the others that this just may be the "end" as described in Revelation (he finds a Bible and reads from it,) he is pooh poohed by the others even as the beast himself appears as well to rape one of them. It just shows how, for this generation, even seeing is not believing. Did he enjoy being raped? Again, your guess is as good as mine.

I suppose it is also instructive that all of the players are rich and have more time and money than they know what to do with and have no real life experience but attempt to be deep and extremely judgmental towards each other - again the Millennial attitude.

Like the current generation of which these guys are a part, they have created their own reality. Franco is often touted as somewhat of a torchbearer - Yale and all of that - but I think it is premature, or rather, as these "stars" illustrate, just immature.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Wasn't impressed at all

2/10
Author: Mark M from United States
7 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was surprised I didn't like this movie. Really enjoyed Pineapple Express and many of the other movies these actors have been in. I thought it started out well, but it was almost like they only had the first few scenes written and then they tried to fake the rest. I think I laughed about 4 or 5 times but that was it. My wife said it might just be the worst movie she's ever seen. Way too much with the sexual jokes and references, it even lost its shock value at some point because they went on and on about it so much. Glad we only rented this and didn't see it in the theater, ended up wasting more time than money. Was really hoping for the end about 1/2 way through.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

A Brilliant,Original,Hilarious,Funny,Over The Top Apocalyptic Comedy.

10/10
Author: jcbutthead86 from United States
22 June 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This Is The End is an brilliant,hilarious,funny and over the top Apocalyptic Comedy and one of the funniest movies in recent years. Filled with great direction,a wonderful cast(playing themselves),a fantastic screenplay and great special effects,This Is The End is an original,wild and offbeat Comedy you won't soon forget.

Set in Los Angeles,California,This Is The End tells the story of Seth Rogan(Seth Rogan)who picks up his friend Jay Baruchel(Jay Baruchel)at the airport and are about to hang together in L.A. While hanging together,Rogan and Baruchel decide to go to James Franco's(James Franco)house party and have a good time but good times turn to bad when the Apocalypse happens and destroys Los Angeles. Now Rogan,Franco and Barchel along with fellow celebrities including Jonah Hill,Craig Robinson and Danny Mcbride have to deal with the Apocalypse where laughs and mayhem ensues.

This Is The End is easily one of the best Comedies in recent years,a brilliant Comedy that deals with the Apocalypse or the end of the world but in it's own creative and unique way. Now there have been many films that have dealt with the apocalypse or the end of the world but there hasn't been a film that has dealt with the Apocalypse like This Is The End a funny,hilarious,original and wild film that has real life movie stars pretty much playing fictional versions of themselves in a film that is a that is a wonderful movie experience that you will never forget. Once the Action in This Is The End starts it just never stops and as you are watching the film you pulled into an insane and weird film where everything is pushed to the limit and goes so far over the top that you as the viewer will feel like you are in a Comedy and a surreal funny nightmare and the laughs and jokes in the film are just completely none stop almost to the point of where you are laughing so hard your stomach will hurt and tears will run down your eyes and face because the jokes and laughs are smart and witty. Directors and co-writers Seth Rogan and Evan Goldberg take the great Apocalyptic genre and flip's the genre on it's head giving us a film that is a Stoner film,a Fantasy and a Horror film all in one where the film's main characters are trying to survive by not going outside but trying survive with each other inside James Franco's house and some of the scenes with the movie's main characters are just down right hilarious because it balances out friendship as well as tension not knowing if the film's characters are going to live or die. The real life actors playing themselves in this movie is ingenious showing viewers actors in the film and how in a fictional way how they would act if the end of the world did happen and it's done in a wild and unforgettable way. The Apocalypse in the film is played with laughs but is also done in a straight forward manner thanks to the actors so the film doesn't become a Spoof or a Parody but the laughs are always there. The screenplay by Seth Rogan and Evan Goldberg is excellent and well-written with lines of memorable dialog that is very funny,profane and vulgar and with great moments of creativity and style as well writing in hilarious scenes that reference some of the main actors films which include Pineapple Express as well as funny and over the top references to Horror classics such as The Exorcist and the film Rosemary's Baby. The screenplay and film is so funny you will be asking and craving for more when the film ends. If you loved Seth Rogan and Evan Goldberg's other collaborations Superbad and Pineapple Express,you will love This Is The End. The violence and gore in the film are grisly and gruesome at times and will makes some viewers cringe but the movie's violence and gore fit with the tone of the film and are done for great laughs. The ending of the film will make you laugh your head off and will surprise you with a couple of cameos that you will not see coming. It's a wonderful ending.

The whole cast(playing themselves)including Seth Rogan,James Franco,Jonah Hill,Jay Baruchel,Danny McBride(who steals the movie)and Craig Robinson are all excellent and hilarious as fictional versions of themselves. Also lookout for funny cameos by celebrities also playing fictional versions of themselves Emma Watson,Michael Cera,Christopher Mintz-Plasse,Kevin Hart,Jason Siegal,Rianna,Paul Rudd and more.

The direction by Seth Rogan and Evan Goldberg is fantastic,with Rogan and Goldberg using great camera angles and giving the film a wonderful visual style. Great direction by Rogan and Goldberg.

The score by Henry Jackman is great,powerful and effective and matches the tone of the film. Good score by Jackman. The film also has great songs on the soundtrack by Whitney Houston(I Will Always Love You),Dr Dre(The Next Episode),Black Sabbath(War Pigs),Cypress Hill(When The S*** Goes Down),The Backstreet Boys(Everybody,(Backstreet's Back)and more. Good soundtrack.

The special make-up effects by K.N.B effects are amazing,bloody and realistic and add to the film's greatness. K.N.B does it again.

In final word,if you love Comedies,Apocalypse films,Superbad or Pineapple Express,I highly suggest you see This Is The End,an amazing, funny,hilarious and original Comedy that you won't regret watching and is well worth your time. Highly Recommended. 10/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Funniest movie of all times

10/10
Author: supermaggie
19 June 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I know that comedy is the genre where opinions differ the most. Some like political satire, some fart/hangover jokes, some want romantic comedies etc., but still I cannot imagine what is going on with people who do not laugh their a... off watching this hilarious movie. I always thought that Manitou's Shoe was the funniest movie ever, but after watching "This is the end", I have to correct myself. I myself am not at all a fan of primitive drug-related/sex-related and the like jokes, however, due to the great likable characters I already enjoyed "Pineapple Express" a lot, but This is the end tops this, as well, not only is it a delight to watch great, famous, popular actors making fun of themselves and not being ashamed to play dumb or - even more brave - be entirely unlikable and antisocial, but there are so many never-seen/unexpected crazy, hilarious situations and reactions - I couldn't believe it, I nearly exploded laughing. One example? Check out Emma Watson's rampage scene - it cannot be done any better - if you cannot laugh about this movie I truly feel for you because then you will never find anything to laugh/you must be dead/stiff inside, sorry, but it is true! Way to go Rogen/Franco/Baruchel etc.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Millenial Fare..

6/10
Author: matthew scot
30 April 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

**Warning! Spoilers Inside**

After having (sometime ago) overheard much youth chatter of this film and having had the proper timing appear (Sunday night and bored ), I decided to see what all the hype was about.

This is the end. The end of generationally targeted movies that make sense to me. Because well I am old now. However having been a fan of such film for so long it is easy to spot them. Make no mistake this is a targeted product all the sociological material and quips are aimed right at the millennials. I had mine they get theirs.

A long time friend of Seth Rogen is in town visiting when Rogen cajoles him to James Francos new house for a Hollywood "somewhat" A list party. Mindy Kaling , Christopher Mintz-Plasse , Rhianna and Emma Watson's presence alone tell you where you are headed. The End of the world descends upon the party goers and the fall out is the same generational fodder we see every ten years.

This movie is fine , there is not , and I doubt there every was anything serious intended by it. The writing I believe does a good job of reflecting the general tastes of it's target audience. the comedy is there. on a more personal note I am uncertain as to why I found Emma Watson swinging an ax oddly ..appealing. there's even a Toyota Prius joke. There is probably something here for the adult taste of everyone.

Three Stars(of 5).

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

XXX crap posing as a comedy film

3/10
Author: Marc Davis from Texas
7 July 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK, so an ensemble cast of talented actors play themselves in an apocalyptic comedy. Sounds original and intriguing. So what happened with This Is The End? Why wasn't it good? Even more disturbing is why has it received almost universal praise from critics and fans?

The film definitely has it's funny moments early on; however, it begins to drag near the middle and the tired attempts at humor onward to the end come off as downright desperate. It's painful. The loose script that allowed the actors to kind of do their own thing really begins to show just how difficult this can be for even seasoned actors.

I'd like to think I'm no square with a decent sense of humor (I was the class clown in high school after all) but was it really necessary for the comedy to turn so vulgar? ***SPOILER ALERT*** Some parts were borderline criminal, like when Jay Baruchel starts talking about which of the men might rape Emma Watson. Then there's the parts that are too XXX, like when Danny McBride spends entirely too much time talking about masturbating all over James Franco's crib or the scene where a giant devil walks through Los Angeles with his manhood swinging freely for all to see. ***END SPOILER***

I actually can't believe James Franco agreed to do this garbage. It's like a couple of steps backward for him. He's shown himself to be a pretty good actor with performances in films like 127 Hours, Oz The Great and Powerful, Milk, and Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Now he goes and does this and all of a sudden it's like Wayne's World 2013.

The concept of celebrities playing themselves in a disaster/comedy gets high marks but the horrible script, special effects, and surprisingly bad acting (even for a comedy) sinks This is the End. Don't get sucked into the Matrix. It's OK to take the red pill. This is not a good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Terrible movie

2/10
Author: marybeth_0227 from United States
1 July 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is one of the worst movies I have ever had to sit through. I thought the movie was going to hilarious since I love all the movies the actors were in previously but that was not the case. Drug and sex jokes the whole movie, which I do not mind either in a movie but I hate when the whole movie is based around those two things. The only reason I watched the whole thing is because everyone I talked to told me how great the end was. The ending is the only reason I gave the movie a 2 star rating instead of of a 1 star rating. Having the Backstreet Boys sing one of their classics at the end was the best thing ever! The Backstreet Boys saved this movie from a 1 star rating in my opinion.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Our Father Who Art In Heaven... Hallowed Be Seth Rogen's Name (?)

1/10
Author: Dalbert Pringle from New Zealand
3 August 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So, isn't it just like that despicable, self-loving, traitor, Canadian-born, Seth Rogen, to make certain that it was all of his precious, personally-selected, American, movie-star friends (f-bomb blasphemers, one & all) who were the ones who all got beamed up into Heaven (along with himself, of course) before Earth was utterly wasted?

I think that Rogen is such a two-faced, little Judas when it comes to his disloyalty to his own country of Canada. He has completely embraced America and he never lets it be known in his movies that he's got any pride about being a Canadian.

In this film, the actors in the story weren't playing fictitious characters, they were all playing their real selves. And if these actors are really like this in real life, then I think that they are all the most boring and despicable bunch of creeps imaginable. They were all so much like each other that they were sickening to watch.

It really killed me how much emphasis Rogen placed on "male-bonding" in this story. I mean, besides all of the buddy hugging that went on, Seth loved the guys (not girls) so much that he even threw in a couple of scenes where he got into bed with his little pals for some quality snuggle-time. (All purely innocent, of course)

And, speaking about diarrhoea-of-the-mouth, this film contained some of the worst dialogue that I've ever heard. I'm certain that (just like the action) they were making it all up as they went along.

There was absolutely nothing even remotely original about this film's story. It was just one big rip-off from start to finish. And all of the over-the-top disaster scenes that were hastily thrown into place were just Rogen's way of compensating for this film's complete lack of genuine humour.

This film reached its absolute nadir of contemptibility in the sordid sequence where Channing Tatum (in leather harness & bare ass) was Danny McBride's delicious, little toy-boy-on-a-leash. (Sheesh! Spare Me!)

I'll bet you that Rogen really wished that he could've been McBride's darling, homo-erotic, toy-boy. But being the flabby goof-ball that he is, he would've been a real horror-show to behold all decked-out in that gay-fantasy get-up of Tatum's.

Enough said.

I'm not going to even talk about all of the unwelcome product placement that Rogen (like a true American boy) slipped into this garbage picture.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Time to shred this film

1/10
Author: (rcastl2335@aol.com) from Houston, TX
2 March 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There is no reason for this film to exist. It's a foul, odious, cretinous waste of time. No talent was wasted in making it because there is no talent evinced in its performances. There is no reason for Seth Rogen to exist in the entertainment industry. Hollywood already has a curly haired idiot in Will Ferrell. There is no need for an unshaven, pot-addled version. If the phrase, "F--k, man" were struck from Rogen's vocabulary he would be rendered mute. James Franco should be given a show selling knives and baseball cards and forgotten for eternity. I watched 20 minutes of this movie on cable, turned it off and threw myself against my apartment walls for 90 minutes. It was a smarter use of my time than this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

End of humanity, if this is the standard

3/10
Author: jimlacy2003 from United States
15 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Obviously this was meant to be some kind of spoof on disaster movies.

What they thought was funny was mostly, actually, crude and crass. There was for example way to many direct drug scenes and references. Apparently, the makers of this movie where in a drug induced haze for the most of it's creation.

A lot of weird, supposedly straight, sexual innuendos and overt scenes that don't come off right since it's mostly dudes interacting (specifically, missing the female element to make sense). Revolting, and nausea inducing. Does everything really need to be so explicit to the last detail? Maybe for some people, but it's just not that funny, nor entertaining.

All of the baloney, lack of any real writing, and almost no story to speak off, doesn't add up to any kind of movie you'ed want to watch.

In the end the plan seems to be that you have to be majorly stoned to like this movie..

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 67: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history