IMDb > This Is the End (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
This Is the End
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
This Is the End More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 69: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 682 reviews in total 

10 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Sad Copy of The Worlds End

1/10
Author: swarthylad from United States
24 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was looking forward to seeing this movie.... I cannot express how disappointed I am. With such an all star cast, you would think they would be able to come up with more than dick jokes every 30 seconds. I am amazed this movie grossed $100 million+. I found the drug use found throughout the movie to be very inappropriate and very stereo-typing of Hollywood! It was aimed at being funny, but in the end it was very lame. There are all kinds of opportunities for the cast to be VERY FUNNY... but the script being so poorly written robs both the actors and the audience of any. I realize this was made quickly trying to capitalize on the success of the Worlds End... but as they say... the copy is usually poor quality and never as good as the original. If given the choice, skip this movie... it is a waste.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A case study in narcissism and the destruction of art.

1/10
Author: maxjohnson from antarctica
19 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have officially lost faith in humanity (for real this time) after seeing the rating this film. The only reason I watched through this pile of 100% proof bovine fecal matter was due to the free beer over a friend place and I didn't wanted to be an arse and walked out midway.

Imagine juvenile jokes with poor taste, but performed by adults and repeated over for 5minutes per scene, this is the core entertainment value of this film. I felt violated. The part where the devil raped one of the character is a good metaphor for how the filmmaker wish to treat the audience since they have no respect for them. There are no scripts, just self indulgence and narcissism by the 'actors' who rather entertain themselves. One could easily find similar asinine behaviors but with much more entertainment value from an episode of Jackass. The idea of humor seems to be to make scenes distasteful as possible while lasting far longer than necessary and with as much vulgarity as possible for added effects. I may sound senile at this point, but I don't mind obscenity with style, such as from more worthwhile flicks like Dogma or Big Lebowski.

The only half redeemable factor was Jay Baruchel's performance, which almost make it seems he isn't enough of a jackass to belong in this film.

I personally demand a public apology by Danny McBride (because he managed to make me hate him) and a payment by Seth Rogan to be used toward my psychiatry care or better yet an exorcism to remove any memory traces of this film.

After the film ended, I muttered, "That was the most horrible thing I've ever experienced." My friend looked at me seriously and said, "Now I truly know you have no taste in movies". I'm still mystified by that statement, being that a guy that enjoy works from the likes of Fellini, Leone and Kurosawa. At least his taste in beer was good so I thanked him.

I will make sure to never watch anything that will include Seth Rogan and Danny McBride in the future. I implore you to not watch this film and I assure you will not miss anything worthwhile by dismissing it.

It's amazing the fact that I am an atheist and still managed to be offended by the fact that these pretentious and arrogant Hollywood 'actors' think they are allowed to go to heaven which is absurd, especially after the pains they caused me and undoubtedly to other viewers after watching this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 55 people found the following review useful:

Damn ad libs

1/10
Author: memo333 caca from Mexico
16 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This whole movie is just a big big ad, period. I want your milky way. Here is our supplies, ad, ad ,ad, fruit, etc. The jokes were a joke. No originality. The harry potter jokes were predictable, over the top and plain stupid. Emma Watson here? They needed a female hot girl for these bunch of idiots and they ruined it by their dumb macho predictable staple cliché rape joke crap. I knew she wouldn't last long with these bunch of idiots.

Backstreet boy dance in the end? wow, what a good advertisement, really, new album or new meeting anniversary? The CGI was laughable, an 8 old with paint in windows95 can make better effects.

I knew this movie would suck, the good cast of actors couldn't save this time agony. Movies are sucking really hard these days.

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

'This Is The End' thank God it is.

2/10
Author: tashalou96 from United Kingdom
8 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As a fan of spoof movies, I couldn't wait to get into this film, but the first 10 minutes almost bored me to death. If it wasn't for Michael Cera and Craig Robinson, I think the opening would have done me in. Then Cera was killed, along with many other potentially hilarious actors. And where did Paul Rudd go?! He crushed a girl's skull and then vanished, and I would have loved to have seen him in the movie.

The only bits that created a bit of a giggle from me included Robinson and possessed Jonah Hill. My boyfriend loved it, but then again he's a child at heart. Penis, weed and sex jokes are aplenty. Too many, in fact. I was actually angry I paid for this movie, and was so happy that it had ended that I sang 'Everybody' with the Backstreet Boys. Do not watch this film if you have two brain cells to rub together.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

The fun of the rapture

8/10
Author: freemantle_uk from United Kingdom
29 April 2014

Many of Hollywood's biggest comedy stars united for This is the End for one of two comedies about the end of the week. Whilst Edgar Wright's The World's End is the superior film that is consistently funny and action packed flick, This is the End does offer many laugh out loud moments, using more crass and crude humour, having jokes ranging from masturbation, stoner jokes and violent slapstick. Some of the best moments include a trailer for 'Pineapple Express 2', Emma Watson's cameo and discussion between James Franco and Danny McBride over a porn mag. Other jokes are more miss or crude for the such as the demon's man parts. The main stars have excellent chemistry together and had a strong dramatic with Seth Rogan balancing his old friendship with Jay Baruchel who hates LA and his newer friends in the city.

If all else fails at least Kevin Hart dies a nasty death.

If you enjoy this film then Zombieland and Dogma are worth checking out.

7.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

A fresh original movie that exceeded my expectations

8/10
Author: mitch menghi from Australia
25 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I do not often give reviews. However in this case i will, the current ratings in IMDb 7.3 is just about right, the movie is an original and will become a classic in time.

There is not much to not like about this film, Seth rogan and his clan (you will instantly be familiar with from other films) play themselves which i found exciting. Its not usual that you will see an actors play themselves this in itself was refreshing.

What starts off as a light comedy turns into a full on movie on what Armageddon would be like through the eyes of Seth rogan. The best i can describe this movie is similar effect to From Dusk Till Dawn....

The special effects were surprisingly great, almost felt like Diablo (the game) in real life....

I really did enjoy this film to the point im going to watch it again, if your looking for a fresh comedy / horror / sci-fi then give this a go.

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

2 Laughs the ENTIRE film...

2/10
Author: HippieMoon94 from United States
9 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie, for me, was the biggest disappointment I've witnessed in a while. I seriously had big problems with falling asleep towards the end.

Now, I want to start off by saying that my bad review isn't due to a lack of appreciation for the more raunchy comedies because I , personally, love the Hangover and pretty much any Will Ferrell flick, but this movie was just altogether bad.

It started off on a good note. There were a few funny parts that led me to chuckle a bit, however after a the James Franco party got started the movie came to a screeching halt.

First of all, Michael Cera was so annoying that I was almost tempted to fast forward in hopes of his promised demise!

Jay's attitude towards everything was quite annoying, but I'll give that lack of enthusiasm about everything to the script. I'm sure it was just written so that we would hate that character's guts even though he's supposed to be their "spirit" guide??

The candid-cam type diary videos held minimal humor, but enough to slide the viewer into the next sequence which I found to be even more downhill than the last.

The entire plot of the movie turned out to center around the biblical Rapture (when God takes CHRISTIANS up to Heaven while the devil is allowed to roam the earth for 7 YEARS until Jesus comes back, defeats him, does the final judgement of everyone that was left behind, and sends all the bad -who took the mark of the beast- people and the evil beings and casts them into the lake of fire for eternity while God's kingdom resides on a new earth). However, they base their movie off of this religious for telling in a way where they essentially insult everyone who dare watch this picture as well as tell people that if (when) this does happen as long as you do one good deed you'll have an express pass up to the pearly gates. No, you don't have to repent for any previous wrongs or even evaluate previous life decisions in hopes for possibly making yourself into a better person. No change whatsoever...

The characters were not easy to like or relate to. The CGI devils were scary (I'll give them that), but not well placed. Their vision of Heaven was just a brighter version of the "Hell on Earth" they just left. The story line was a bit jumpy and at times left me sitting with a blank "WHHHAATTT??" on my face.

The commercial seemed to advertise a completely different movie if I do say so myself. I don't recommend it.

P.S.- you don't have to insert a cuss word every other word in order too add humor. Raunchy humor is funny, but when you overdo the profanity it just comes off as desperate for an "R" rating in order to make it seem more outrageous than it actually is...

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Garbage (spoliers)

2/10
Author: Danilo Ribeiro from Brazil
13 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Im justing voting 2 because I liked the Rihana part when she gets slammed in the butt. The rest was totally nonsensically stupid. Smoking weed in heaven was definitely stupid!! This director really likes to spend money for nothing, because this movie the one of the worst American garbages I've ever seen. The apocalyptic theme was not creative. It could have been more satirical like clever Monthy Python style. The end of the film is surely the worst of all. I just cant believe I wasted my time watching this trash. If I knew this movie was that bad would would have watched porn instead and jerked off. Just don't waste your precious time with it.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Not that funny mostly shock value and trashy

2/10
Author: CC Smith from United States
8 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I wish I wouldn't have watched it but its my fault for having any expectations. It made me think less of the actors. There were parts of the movie that were just gross. After watching ( and I did make it through the whole thing) I felt yucky. It is garbage because it's trashy due to it's sexual content. How about all you actors choose to put yourselves in some better rolls without such violence and raw shock value sexual content?

Spoiler alert about cameo appearances:

On the up side there were a lot of appearances from celebrities that were mildly entertaining. I was disappointed in Channing Tatum. I'm never going to get that burned out of my mind. Made you go down on the hotness scale permanently if you registrar at all now.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

good title for a bad movie

2/10
Author: khalid_chaotic
3 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

seriously, i don't think that this movie deserve 7 stars. Really i have watched it twice and i didn't laugh , it s not funny that's at all .

Also the trailer of the movie is what pushed to watch it, and the title is much better then movie it self, because when i read it i have Thought that it gonna be a good movie with a good sins of humor but none was in it.

The story line is boring,predictable. and i skipped some scenes because they some HOMOSEXUAL content.

so as conclusion the is quit bad the actors aren't acting at all,the story is horrible, its a stupid movie and SORRY

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 69: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history