IMDb > I Spit on Your Grave (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
I Spit on Your Grave
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
I Spit on Your Grave More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 22: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 213 reviews in total 

'Day of the Woman' Indeed

10/10
Author: abasile-149-559828 from Australia
5 March 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Recently I stumbled across the 2010 remake of 'I Spit on Your Grave' when searching for well-known horror films within the rape-revenge sub-genre. Such was the case as I had recently enjoyed the 2009 remake of Wes Craven's 'The Last House on The Left' and was searching for films similar in nature. And after having watched ISOYG, I was not disappointed. I am a large fan of horror/thrillers and this has become one of my favourites.

The film follows a basic yet clever plot (as does the last house on the left); a woman is brutally assaulted in horrendous ways with revenge then being subsequently delivered to the tormentors.

I Spit On Your Grave is largely effective in evoking feelings from the viewer as you will definitely be at least somewhat horrified in the first half of the movie. Hence logically, the second half of the movie-during the periods in which Jennifer exacts her revenge upon her abusers-are highly satisfying. I found myself almost cheering for Jennifer during these scenes. For of course, the idea of an individual dishing out justice upon those who really deserve it is a prospect that appeals to all of us.

This film also has an edge that is lacking in most horrors today. Suspense is an ever-present factor in the film and is used effectively. An example of this can be observed during the time in which Jennifer recovers from her ordeal. During this period of time, it is implied (yet not shown) that Jennifer is still living and carefully stalking her tormentors. The suspense created during these scenes assists in establishing an ominous atmosphere that sets the tone for the remainder of the film.

In conjunction with the above points, we can acknowledge that the acting is surprisingly of higher standards than one would initially expect and the film is well-made overall. Considering that the 1978 original is notorious for being poorly made and acted, it is recongnisable that one of the reasons a remake was made at all was to improve these large faults.

Overall, if you liked the last house on the left, revenge movies or horror/thrillers in general then you will enjoy this. Yet I must warn you that this is not for the squeamish and not for those with a weak stomach. But still, this is a must-see for all horror and thriller lovers (if you can handle it). One of my favourites. 10/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

Kicks ass!

6/10
Author: jaxorama-148-962882 from Bangalore
28 December 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There is something about a woman taking revenge against the people who wronged her. It hits a spot. Like Kill Bill. The more terrible the fate of the perpetrators, the more satisfying it feels. When Jennifer cuts off Johnny's dick and sticks it in his mouth, it feels so right. When she sticks a gun up Storch's butt and shoots a bullet through it, you almost feel jubilant. I guess we all have a certain amount of violence inside us that we aren't afraid to use if we think someone has rightfully earned it. A thought that is simultaneously scary and worth mulling over. The casting for the men is spot on. Each one fits his role perfectly. I am not so sure Sarah Butler fit her role though. She seems like just another white chick and doesn't exactly have a screen presence that the characters of Andrew Howard or Jeff Branson command with ease. An actress with a better emotional range could have better portrayed the three Jennifers: the Jennifer who is enjoying her stay in the resort while writing the book, the Jennifer who gets brutally raped and the Jennifer who returns to have her revenge. Sarah is about as convincing as someone who is upset that the toilet is broken. That said, this movie is a treat for revenge-flick lovers who can handle the violence.

Was the above review useful to you?

running with the hares

7/10
Author: RavenGlamDVDCollector from South Africa
15 December 2015

A girl alone against a much heavier adversary. The subject has been at the core of my life-long attempts at creating art relating to this struggle. To clarify about myself: as the title of this review reveals, the sympathies of this little old guy forever lies with the victim. And I am reminded of a favorite line which my research into this dark realm brought me, it is not a direct quote, but I've reworked it into my own style, thus: "I'd rather be the songbird. I don't know how the falcon lives with itself."

Okay, so there's the 1978 original, THE DAY OF THE WOMAN, later retitled I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE. So controversial at its time, few would dare to venture telling such a tale. Now there is a spate of them in the franchise. It's this one, with its recent sequel, I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE III - VENGEANCE IS MINE, and the one in- between, the interloper I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2. I've only seen this one. But before I discuss it, let me just say that there is an absolutely gloriously filmed 1989 Australian movie by the name of FAIR GAME (now don't get confused by the three other movies with the same title, and, for crying out loud, it is NOT the one with Naomi Watts!) that is absolutely a must-see. It is also a whole lot less explicit and bloody than this one, in fact, a wild movie, a very, very wild movie, of yesteryear (although it was just the other day, really) now suddenly looks tame like a Sunday school picnic compared to 2010's I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE.

It's unthinkable for a young girl to be alone out on her own. Even just walking to a corner café at night. I live in a dangerous crime- ridden country and the absence of locked doors in American films always feels kinda weird to me. Isn't crime just everywhere? But if you are a hot, pretty thing like Jennifer Hills, chanced are that somebody has an eye on you, and I don't mean in the flowery romantic sense. And if there is no security (hell, what sense is a padlocked door if the window doesn't have bars in front of it?) and some creep wants to get to you...

While the unlikeliness of a soft-hearted girl turning into a vengeful killing machine able to do things that would at the very least require physical strength (how did she get Andy lifted up to balance on those boards on the bath?) reveals a lack of credibility in the plot, one could but hope that at least one would-be rapist viewing this title could forever be turned off by the very idea of such a crime, not that the movie itself would, I'm sure the alpha brutes just scoff at it, but perhaps just the wilting notion striking home of intimately-executed revenge associated with it...

Thank you to Sarah Butler for having been very, very brave, and using her body to portray a victim. That particular 'bridge scene', oh, the vulnerability, the proud resolution, it is HAUNTING, and I hope it awakens sorrow and regret in the minds of the guilty out there...

Was the above review useful to you?

Surprisingly Superior

6/10
Author: chow913 from United States
7 December 2015

As I die hard exploitation fan I'm going break the rules and say, I hated 'I Spit On Your Grave.' It wasn't bold, it wasn't brutal, it isn't a classic. It's bad acting, bad film making, and a boring and unimaginative story.

So as much as I hate quick cash in remakes, which is exactly what this is, it is a far better film than the original. It's only major problem is that... it is a remake hence it has a very limited story to work with.

They do try and improve on the story as much as possible so it's more logical. After the local yokels attack her in her cabin she actually escapes and runs to the sheriff for help. However, he joins in the gang rape. And this time instead of the attackers simply leaving her alive they do actually try and cover up their brutal crime by trying to kill her. But of course she escapes and lives in the woods as a fugitive. This makes far more sense than the original which simply had her and the attackers merely returning to their normal lives like nothing ever happened!!!

It was also an improvement to cut the actual rape scene down to five minutes from THIRTY MINUTES IN THE ORIGINAL! We get the point. Rape is bad.

Weeks later she returns to town for revenge. Now, it's time for the meat of the movie, the torture porn. I'm not a fan of torture porn so the only thing I ever hope for is some imaginative torture methods. This film is far more imaginative and brutal than the original.

The most gruesome elements take place off camera which is better since we don't actually need to see them as long as we know what she's doing.

The weakest scene which everyone rightfully always complains about is the bad CGI birds pecking out the bad CGI eyes. Yes, the FX here are atrocious but that's the only bad scene.

My only other gripe is redneck annoyingly filming everything with his 8mm camcorder. Alright, I know they're poor rednecks but 8mm camcorders have been out of production for over ten years!

Overall the acting is solid and so is the production quality. Nothing fantastic but certainly above average.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I Spit on Your Grave Review

1/10
Author: Spideyfan-963-246215 from United States
7 September 2016

I Spit on Your Grave (2010) Starring:Sarah Butler,Daniel Franzese, Chad Lindberg,Jeff Branson,Rodney Eastman,Andrew Howard, Tracey Walter,Mollie Milligan,and Saxon Sharbino Directed by Steven R. Monroe Review ITS DATE NIGHT This of course is the remake of the 1970's exploitation film that for reasons I don't know has a cult following. The Film is about a young female writer who is raped in the woods by a couple of hillbillies and is left for dead. However she survives and exacts her revenge by finding sick,twisted and prevented ways in killing them. And I got to say I hated every second of this film. In this remake less time is devoted to her revenge then it is too,verbal,psychological and physical abuse.People give this film credit for having great female empowerment. News flash dummies these films are pure exploitation,why do you encourage female empowerment cause she kills them all in the end,bull.They constantly show this poor woman being raped by hillbillies. it's as stupid as it is sickening. The fact that she gets revenge later in the film does not encourage female empowerment,it just shows us that in order for this film to have a plot in motion it had to constantly show a woman being brutally raped and beaten so she could get to them in a way that's just as sick. He is just afraid of them when she kill as she was when they raped her,she kills them out of fear in what sick twisted world could you call that female empowerment. The tag-line for the film is just as tasteless,the tag-line is ITS DATE NIGHT,its date night,yeah guys I may have never had one but if you take your girlfriend to see this they will break up with you the before it's over. I think a better tag-line would have been you will never be more ashamed to have a dick. The shots are lazy and hack,the actors are not only bad but should all be ashamed of themselves as well. Every second,every inch,every frame of this GODAWFUL movie was assening and made me want to shower ten times. All the brutal and rape in the film is completely unnecessary. Why was this movie made? WHEN YOU HAVE TO SHOW A WOMAN BEING RAPED JUST TO MAKE A POINT GO SCREW YOURSELVES AND THIS MOVIE! I give this piece of ass a half out of five.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Gore Porn

3/10
Author: RReak1946 from United Kingdom
10 April 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I like my low budget films and this one, masquerading as a 'horror' of sorts seemed to start off promisingly. The idea of some young woman going out of her way to cut herself off from the world, inhabiting some dangerously isolated cabin, and then frolicking around half naked in the grounds was a bit hard to believe but I set that aside and gave it the benefit of the doubt.

Then these guys break into her house - obviously!!!! - and I am subjected to a 30 minute (or more) rape scene, during which my wife gets up and leaves the room despite my protestations about giving it the benefit of the doubt and telling her I'm sure it'll kick in with a good story soon!

...to no avail! She gets thoroughly raped in every possible way (the woman in the film, not my wife), and then escapes! Only to come back and murder each man one by one. There's no real challenge to it either, she seems to have concocted a perfect plan for each revenge torture killing, and - no matter how elaborate - they all go down perfectly.

Not enough of a story for me, but a lot of gore porn for those that like that sort of thing.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Why was this movie re-made?

3/10
Author: rstout3526 from United Kingdom
5 July 2012

In the early years of the 1980's when video was in its infancy I watched some of those sensationalist 'nasties' such as Driller Killer, Texas Chainsaw and I Spit on Your Grave. Low quality, poor acting, bad plot lines, grainy colour et al. They held a curiosity factor but were of little merit when compared to the likes of Straw Dogs. These cheap movies had a limited market and exposure. So it begs the question as to why these should be re-made? If the theory goes that you re-make a movie to make something better than the original, then that is fine. However, in most cases the re-make is nearly always inferior. That refers to both mainstream cinema and gore/horror low budget flicks. This re-make of I Spit, although it has better camera work and production values, is nevertheless a like for like piece of work with elements of the original flimsy plot excluded. If you haven't seen the original then the plot would seem weak.

The first half of the movie builds up to the violent rape scene followed by the girl throwing herself into a river, presumed drowned. Not a comfortable viewing experience. But then the second half immediately delves into the individual acts of revenge by the girl, despite a month having lapsed without her body being recovered. The original movie showed the girl having returned home to get well before she returns to exact her revenge. In this movie her acts of revenge are just standard gore. The movie ends with many questions unanswered. Above all, why did these actors agree to make this rubbish. They surely will not be invited to appear in mainstream movies of any merit when this flick is on their CV's. I would not recommend this movie to anyone, except for those who like shock horror gore. If you must see it - try the original first.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Let's Not Hate Each Other. Let's Hate This Sh!tty Movie.

1/10
Author: Nancy_Grease from Canada
19 July 2014

I spit On Your Grave is the sickening remake of the sickening rape/revenge pic Day of the Woman. The premise is as follows; "If you rape me then it's OK for me to murder you.". What follows this circle of hate is a pandering attack on a young woman where she is subjected to gang rape, psychological and physical torture and assorted degradation TWICE. Her response is to exact revenge with an emphasis on sexual mutilation and murder based on some rather unlikely slasher movie scenarios. I hate the @ssholes who made this garbage. Don't reward them for making this sh!tty movie. How low have we sunk that paying to watch simulated rape and murder rates as entertainment? I Spit on Your Grave; that's how low.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Madness

3/10
Author: manjk3
18 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Full Spoilers below!

Full Spoilers below!

Spoilers below!

Spoilers below!

I spit on your grave is a remake of the original of the same name.

The story goes girl moves to a random area has a confrontation with some guys (married guy, young guys and one socially inept), they later on plan to rape her and do so they try to kill her to cover the evidence she survives the whole ordeal and recovers, then exacts vengeance on the men one by one till no-one is left standing but her.

This leaves for some interesting slasher moments in the vengeance scenes. As the heroine stacks and lures her prey, to their ends.

I feel there are many things wrong with this type of film, but the main one is the principle.

I feel the film simply tries say if someone gets raped and they get revenge that victim WINS, it simply doesn't work that way barring the tremendous psychical damage the female character endures the psychological damage would be far greater yet this is never shown or implied.

Sadly what is shown is a supposedly empowered female getting revenge and winning as she sits on the swing having dispatched of all her tormentors.

No doubt rape and revenge flicks can make for interesting, shocking and effective movies like Irreversible. I spit on your grave was the first one I saw and its remake pays homage to that unfortunately it stays to true to the original although quality and acting has improved, the evolution from a cinematography and psychological perspective were clearly needed.

I was still never made to feel the implications of the revenge and the true lasting damage of the rape in anyway and was left walking away having been given a greatly flawed message again.

3/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

....seriously?

Author: j-kirby247 from United States
10 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Edited From Previous Review

Ugh, this movie absolutely sucked in everyway. It sucked more than....lets just get to the review. There will be time to take out my frustrations during the verdict.

Basic Story Guide:

While staying in a cabin in the middle of the woods, an aspiring writer is beaten and raped by six men. But before they can kill her off, the woman drops of the side of a bridge. After a year, the young woman, having been driven insane by Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, returns, and begins killing off the men who brutalised her.

Verdict:

Seriously? This is honestly the best that entertainment can offer? You literally have to rape a woman for an extended period of time just to strike a nerve? seriously? You know, I don't have a weak stomach. I enjoy a good amount of blood and gore in horror movies. Decapitation, mutilations, etc. But the rape scene in this was WAAAAAY! out of line.

After about the third guy, i literally threw this movie across the room.

This movie is nothing more than female empowerment to the extreme. it is nothing more than a woman saying "Rape me, and I'll do worse to you." Good for you.

And to the people of whom are saying "This is not as good as the original," all I can say is,

...seriously?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 22: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history