IMDb > I Spit on Your Grave (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
I Spit on Your Grave
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
I Spit on Your Grave More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 13 of 22: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [Next]
Index 213 reviews in total 

5 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

More brutal, less shocking

6/10
Author: jecomans from Australia
21 March 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm going to assume that most people have watched the 1978 version before they wanted to see this one, or maybe some of you haven't seen either? This film looks clean and professional, some of the acting is quite good. Ms. Butler and Mr. Branson especially. Effects are very good. What made the original so effectual was the sunshine, the playful music, and the way the men talking about Jennifer started so much more innocently than it ended. They seemed like they hadn't done this before. Here the film is dark from the get go. The atmosphere, the music, the boys, are all screaming, 'bad things happens here'. These boys torture here methodically (psychologically) before touching her, and they look very well practiced. For me that detracted. Then Jennifer gets her own back. She is creepy, yes. Violent fulfillment, yes. But it's unrealistic for such a realistic film. It becomes exploitative in a way the original didn't. Any way around it. Highly recommend for those with nerve, but the original is altogether a darker, more meaningful piece.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Uncomfortable material but worthy to the horror faithful.

7/10
Author: Spikeopath from United Kingdom
23 February 2011

I Spit on Your Grave is directed by Steven R. Monroe and written by Jeffrey Reddick. It stars Sarah Butler, Chad Lindberg, Daniel Franzese , Rodney Eastman, Jeff Branson & Andrew Howard. It is a remake of the 1978 film of the same name. Plot finds Butler as Jennifer, a writer who retreats to an idyllic beauty spot known as Mockingbird Trail to write her second novel. But her life is shattered when she is brutally gang raped and left for dead by a group of locals. But the men may just rue the day they set about this particular woman.

OK, there are some fans of the original film out there, where it has enough support to have it listed as a horror cult classic of sorts. It isn't remotely a good film, whether it's judged as feminist wish fulfillment or a grimy gorno exercise in censor baiting, fact remains it's badly acted, badly directed and just leaves a nasty taste in the mouth. Monroe's remake, and lets face it in this day and age of gorno and torture porn excess the film was ripe for a re-imaging, is a film of two tonally differing halves. Two halves that while not making a satisfactory whole, do make for an attention grabbing-squirm inducing-viewing. The unease remains, I mean how can it not with gang rape and revenge fuelled torture as its centre pieces? But it's competently acted, especially by Butler who gives a bold show in a challenging role, and for those who like blood letting grue; the film in its last third delivers by the bucket load. Directing wise, Monroe is guilty of letting the build up drag too long, and even tho the pay off is worth the wait (you go girl), taking its lead from the Saw/Cube movies lacks invention and almost steals what freshness the film had to offer.

It will find an audience for sure, while it's equally going to find enemies in critical and PC correctional quarters. But for a horror movie of this time it does its job well, and as remakes of older horrors go it's one of the better ones: surpassing the original by some margin too. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Excellent film ruined by bad writing and acting!

2/10
Author: mortiis33-969-390769 from Melbourne, Australia
5 February 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is going to be a hard one for me... I've not written a review for a film on IMDb before, and I just finished watching the Unrated version of I Spit On Your Grave (2010).

Right, here's the few good things that I found in this (another) remake of a classic film:

1. The Pr-vengeance scenes were excellent, the torture and the build up to the eventual rape. They were among some of the best scenes that I have seen recently, and the acting by the male parties was excellent.

2. The overall 'gore' (if you can call it that) was cool, and CGI was kept to quite a minimum, which is always nice to see

3. The atmosphere of the film was quite foreboding and dark, keeping in check with the original's values.

Now... nobody is going to like me here, but this is what I found bad...

1. The acting of Sarah Butler (all throughout the film) was atrocious. Her attempt at trying to sound and act scared was a complete failure, and her vengeance acting later on was even worse.

2. What the HELL was up with the terrible script in this film? More-so after the rape scenes, during all of the killing scenes, they've written in ridiculous one-liner quirks which are meant to be 'funny' in some way, shape or form - it just doesn't work!!

3. The character of the Sherri f?? Where the hell was HE in the original, and why did he need to be in this? Why did the director feel the need to add yet another rapist into the mix, was four not enough to satisfy? And come ON - Andrew Howard's acting as "Storch" (WHAT A NAME!) was atrocious at best - when he was angry he looked like he was happy, and when he was pleading for his life he sounded like he was going to crack up laughing!

4. And now...this is what everyone's going to slam me for - America, STOP MAKING GODDAMN RE-MAKES OF GREAT FILMS. I could leave it at that, but I don't think I will. America has ruined some fine foreign films by remaking them into worse products (think Let Me In, the Ring trilogy, The Eye etc), and now they're even ruining classics of their OWN making! How screwed up is that? NO other country is making remakes, only America - why do they see the need to 'cash in' on films that have made themselves popular and devoted a following?

All in all - a bad remake.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Avoid This Movie

2/10
Author: armyaviationproud from United States
1 February 2011

Normally, I like revenge movies like The Punisher, Memento, Taken, and even that one with Kevin Bacon that I can't recall right now without googling it, but this one is garbage and in a way kind of ticks me off. Not only is this just some gruesome and pointless movie, but completely unrealistic.

I think people who commit serious crimes should get the death penalty and preferably without some long delay in between sentencing and just get it over with. Do it right after sentencing with a shotgun to the face. Save so much money that way.

Anyway, the whole woman getting revenge deal is what has me hating this movie. Completely unrealistic how a woman who just got raped...twice...would just try and get revenge and somehow be some badass and overcome multiple men.

I didn't even try watching the whole movie. I skimmed through parts along the way and hated every second of it. Sure, I guess if you like pointless and gruesome movies like Saw, then this might be for you. If you have a brain and like to use it to watch decent movies, then avoid this one at all costs.

Truly a garbage movie. Even "Irreversible" is a rather horrifying movie with it's long rape scene, but it at least feels like a movie instead of whatever this is.

I gave it a 2 just for it's creativity with the torturing.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Superior remake in every way!!!

9/10
Author: Mike Foxx from United Kingdom
30 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This 2010 remake of 'I Spit On Your Grave (Unrated)' is no longer on at the cinema as far as I'm aware, but if you didn't see the movie and you're reading this review contemplating whether or not to buy the DVD, then here's a review for you....(and yes, you should buy it!!):

I'll review this movie in comparison to the original as you will probably only be reading this if you're a horror fan and so consequently would more than likely have seen (or have) the 1978 version. The original is of course an undoubted classic and a shocking horror movie and I have every respect for it, but I have to say that this remake is far superior and here's why:

It has much better production values; it's beautifully filmed, it had a small but decent budget and it looks slick and very atmospheric with wonderful lighting throughout. The male actors are totally superb and scarily believable; serious kudos to each and every one of them (especially Jeff Branson and Andrew Howard); they are far, far more convincing than the cartoony, generic red-necks of the original. As for the female lead, I could never take anything away from Camille Keatons brave and gut-wrenching performance in the 1978 version, so let's just say that Sarah Butler is a wonderful find and without a doubt this actress does absolute justice to the role!!

The storyline is basically faithful to the original but rightly so has been updated to include modern technology. I've read a few moans about the lead character Jennifer Hill accidentally dropping her mobile phone down the toilet thereby rendering her cut off from help, but come on!! something like that had to happen or else there wouldn't be much of a story now would there??!!! The addition of a new character in the form of the Sheriff is very welcome, providing a nice (if a tad predictable) twist. For what it is, his character is so well constructed that it's a genuine treat to watch every scene with him in it.

The rape scene is mercifully shorter and more compact than the original and I think that's probably a good thing. Perhaps by shortening this scene it lacks a little of the impact of the original, but it still works extremely well and the utter horror of what the poor girl endures is more than satisfactorily conveyed. If anything the humiliating lead-up to the rape is almost more powerful and horrifying to watch than the rape itself which again I feel betters the original.

Finally, the revenge....I've read several reviews bemoaning the fact that in this version the victim does not seduce her attackers as she did in the original but instead just steams in and 'captures' them. Well excuse me, but after what that character endured I just don't think that she or any other woman could then sexually offer themselves up to a foul monster of a man who has robbed them of all their humanity and who has defiled, broken and violated them in such a brutal and horrendous way. The two female friends that I watched the movie with are in total agreement with me on that point too.

Some have sneeringly described what happens next as 'torture porn'... Well SO FRICKIN' WHAT??!! Those characters deserved everything they got and as far as I'm concerned the worse the better!! It's a horror film for goodness sake, people do actually want to see some gore and horror when they watch a 'horror' film!!! As the type of guy who lives to see 'baddies' get what they deserve in a movie (and LOATHES it when they don't!!), the fate of the rapists was personally my fave part of the film and if anything I would have like to have seen even more, especially the scene where Johnny get's his just deserts! I'm guessing that budgetary constraints prevented us from actually seeing ole Johnny get the snip, but I would have liked to have seen something similar to the ending of 'Hostel 2' where that nasty piece of work get's de-junked, but you can't have everything I guess!!! The other killings are imaginative and brilliant and are executed (if you'll excuse the pun) in a far more thought-out, well crafted and visually exciting way than in the original.

Some people think I'm weird cuz I tend always to prefer re-makes over the originals (The Hills Have Eyes, The Last House On The Left, Dawn Of The Dead, etc)...Well DUH!!! It's because they're loads better!!!! and believe me, great as the original is, this remake of 'I Spit On Your Grave' is truly loads better. Whether you've seen the original or you haven't, if you love great horror films and if you love great re-makes, then this is a Grade A movie - see it, buy it, then add it with pride to your DVD horror collection!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Finally a good horror movie with guts!

8/10
Author: Stalfos Conner from Hell
22 January 2012

These days any form of alleged "sexuality" is portrayed as good and acceptance of promiscuity and perversity is considered "open mindedness". Just think of Paul (2011), Mysterious Skin (2004) or I Love You Phillip Morris (2009). Bashing Christianity is "trendy" in Hollywood movies. Bashing Rednecks is also "trendy" in Hollywood movies. It's no wonder why the movie industry (and it's even worse in case of the music industry) is loosing so much money these days. Who wants to watch the same thing over and over again? Most movies we see in the theater today are predictable. If it's about aliens, the aliens are portrayed as superior to us. If it's about rednecks or Christians, Christianity is bashed and rednecks are portrayed as inbred retards. If it's about gays, you are most likely in for some gay porn (or something that will border gay porn). If the movie features drug addicts, drug abuse is portrayed as normal. If it's a horror movie, it's most likely going to focus on gore, cheap CGI, a (mostly deformed) serial killer or anything along those lines. American movies have become so predictable, there is no point anymore in going to the theater. Hollywood has developed a habit of remaking movies in the last decade, I guess as a last resort because coming up with anything new seems to be impossible for them. Unfortunately, their remakes are downgraded to the level that Hollywood has sunk today. So there you can skip them as well. I Spit on Your Grave is an exception. The movie is a breath of fresh air, as compared to all the other (horror) remakes.

Jennifer Hills (portrayed by Sarah Butler) is a writer who goes to a cabin to do some writing. As the description of the movie states, when she is attacked she begins to seek revenge. That's when the movie begins to differentiate itself from the typical "serial killers/rapists/sexual perverts/anyone abnormal are (completely/somewhat/totally) innocent victims" movies. Since such movies are so rare, the R rating of the movie feels very welcome. There is finally a good reason for a movie to be rated "R" (and not just for shock value). You can identify with the protagonist. You see a story that is normally trashed and "spit" on - not surprising when you look at how the Western world treats criminals today (complete with a TV, video game console, porn collection, etc in their prison cells). That is what makes watching the movie also feel very liberating. You finally get to see a realistic movie - without the Hollywood clichés.

Excellent movie, totally recommended!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Debacle of a film.

1/10
Author: andrew_clayton from Blackpool
8 February 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

What shocked me most about this debacle of a film was the sheer lack of credibility. A broken woman singlehandedly and systematically breaks and murders five rednecks, including a Sheriff, without a shred of remorse. Not taking into account the physical impossibility of her actions, the question is where had she been hiding for a month? Narnia? Boot camp with Rambo? This film is terrible, so bad that it actually made me write my first film review. I enjoy films that break taboos and push boundaries and test your limits of taste but this film had no class. Implausible script, no empathy with the main actors. Absolutely awful film.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant

8/10
Author: Luke Oliver from Regina, SK, Canada
28 January 2011

Jennifer Hill (Sarah Butler) is one of the greatest characters I've seen in a movie in such a long time. At first, she's just an innocent young woman minding her own business, working on writing at the cabin where she plans on staying for a few months. After being brutally raped by a number of men however, she becomes a monster.

.....

I Spit On Your Grave delivered some of the most realistic looking gore I have seen in a very long time, it was not overdone, not underdone, it was perfect!

.....

READ THE FULL REVIEW @ http://gravesidestudios.ca/movies/movie- reviews/i-spit-on-your-grave-2010-review/

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A tough film to watch at times but has a certain raw power & intensity.

6/10
Author: Paul Andrews (poolandrews@hotmail.com) from UK
27 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I Spit on Your Grave starts as author Jennifer Hills (Sarah Butler) leaves the big city for a relaxing break in a luxury cabin deep within some woods just outside a small town, there Jennifer plans to take it easy & continue writing her latest book. While on her way to the cabin Jennifer stops off for gas & meets station attendant Johnny (Jeff Branson) & two of his friends Stanley (Daniel Franzese) & Andy (Rodney Eastman), Johnny tries it on with Jennifer but she knocks back his advances much to his bemusement. The pipes block at Jennifer's cabin & out comes local retard Matthew (Chad Lindberg) to fix the problem, later that day Matthew tells Johnny & his mates which annoys him even more & together they decide to get even & have some fun. Trapping Jennifer inside her cabin Johnny & his mates abuse, threaten & beat Jennifer but much worse is still to come as Jennifer suffers a gang rape & attempted murder as she is left for dead. Naturally upset by the incident Jennifer seeks a brutal revenge that fits the crime...

Directed by Steven R. Monroe this is a remake of the notorious rape revenge exploitation flick I Spit on Your Grave (1978) as filmmakers continue to be obsessed with remaking old (I won't use the term 'claasic' in the case of I Spit on Your Grave) horror films but more often than not coming up well short, having said that I actually think the new I Spit on Your Garve is a better film than the original in almost every aspect. I have seen the original I Spit on Your Grave quite a few times over the years & I don't really want to compare the two that closely & every single little difference, basically the two films run a very similar path in which an author hires a cabin in the sticks & get gang raped & left for dead before embarking on some brutal revenge. The original I Spit on Your Grave is a straight forward film, it's fairly simple with a very long & protracted rape sequence although the revenge part of the film is rather tame while the I Spit on Your Grave remake is far more fleshed out with little incidents to shape the story better. The video tape, the rapists going back to Jennifer's cabin to burn her clothes, the murder of Earl, one of Jennifer's friends trying to phone her, the search for her body, the rapist Sheriff's family & the ways in which Jennifer tortures & kills her attackers are all themed & relevant (the video-camera guy has his eyes pecked out, the ass rapist gets a shotgun shoved up his). With a bit more story comes a bit more depth but not much & there are a few issues with the script (like how Jennifer survives drowning, how she manages to set all the traps up, why would a rapist film the crime & why did the other's let him?), the character's & events are still minimalist & abrupt, at an hour & three quarters long the time flew by while I was watching it actually & overall while not a pleasant film to watch I did like it. I liked it's brutality, I liked it uncompromising nature, I liked it's twisted morals, I liked the bleak downbeat tone & I liked it's nastiness. Don't go into I Sopit on Your Grave looking for morals or an emotional drama of a woman's recovery after being raped, this is hard & often difficult to watch with some disturbing moments of sexual abuse & graphic torture so anyone wanting an uplifting film or anyone even slightly easily offended should give this a miss. However, if you do like to have your limits tested, can take I Spit on Your Grave for what it is & have a twisted taste in films then I do actually recommend I Spit on Your Grave quite highly.

While the emphasis of the original I Spit on Your Grave was a forty odd minute gang rape here it's definitely toned down, while the men humiliate & dehumanise Jennifer more before the rape begins the rape itself is much shorter & only two of the men are shown raping her. There's nudity & the rape is as brutal as the original while it's on screen but it's just that it's much shorter. On the other hand the revenge part of the film is far more effective & brutal than the original, there are some really nasty torture & gore scenes here from eyes being pecked out, fishing hooks put into eyelids in a truly painful looking sequence, a face is burned off with acid, teeth are pulled out, there's an off screen castration & the severed penis is shoved into it's former owner's mouth while there's also a fair bit of blood splatter & the torture scenes also go on for quite a while as the terror, pain & panic of the victims are dwelt upon. Shot in full 2:35:1 widescreen I Spit on Your Grave looks far better than it has any right too, it is very polished actually & very well shot.

With a supposed budget of about $1,500,000 this had a limited theatrical run both here & in the US although I don't think it did great business which is understandable. Filmed in Louisiana. I thought the acting was very good actually, Sarah Butler was really hot in this & puts in a good performance that goes from scared victim to cold blooded killer.

I Spit on Your Grave is maybe the most unlikely remake so far, to be honest I liked it, I liked it's brutality & it's polished good looks & actually think it's a better film than the original other than the sleazy 70's feel is obviously absent & a few minor lapses in the plot. Not bad, not bad at all.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

It Is What It Is! A Great Revenge Flick!

8/10
Author: CinemaDan from Pennsylvania, United States
16 April 2011

Wow! What do I say about this movie? It's a retelling/remake of the original cult classic from 1978. This movie (as did the original) deals with rape, torture and murder. Both movies have been highly criticized. Even Roger Ebert (Who I usually agree with) has given both movies a zero star rating and has called the original a "vile bag of garbage". Now there have been an equal number of supporters (of the original movie) that have defended the movie as well, a lot who call it a misunderstood masterpiece. People who are against this movie say that it's man hating (and there are reports of some men walking out of the theater in disgust at both of the movies) and some also say the movie glorifies violence against women (I do not see any glorification at all, as a matter of fact... CinemaDan (sorry... first person reference) wanted to jump through the screen and kill these guys himself.) Now there is the opposite side of this discussion who defend the movie and say it is all about women and empowerment! This has been debated for like thirty-two years now... whatever!! If a movie causes this much discussion .. then fantastic! This is what art is all about. Discussion is good. Not discussing.. That's where the problem's come into this world. I understand the subject matter in this movie is sensitive to some viewer's. Hence... this is not for those viewers. My goal and review of this movie is as a genre fan of the original and how the remake played out.

Here ya go:

I put this right up there with the remake of "Last House On The Left". I really enjoyed it! It's a popcorn flick. I myself still find the 6'o'clock news more horrifying then anything "Hollywood" glorifies. We live by our stories and are entertained by them. And.. I am sorry... but right now if there was a car crash outside your window you know you are running to see what happened and maybe even get a camera to take pictures and show people.. "Hey I was there man.. look" So anyway, this movie was great! The first hour you are horrified, the brutality, the way it is shot, it's uneasy, uncomfortable.. kind of like.. why am I watching this?... But then...

The second half!!! Oh Yeah!! This is why!!! BAD ASS!!!!!

Also, Some great iconic lines that you will repeat!!!!

Again... this is not for everyone.. But... for those who know me AND.... listen to me when I say this... AND.... CAN handle.... the first half... will cheer at the second.. I Promise you!

Also.. I highly recommend the making of documentary and behind the scenes feature that is on the DVD. Some of these actors will impress you with how different they are in real life as opposed to their character portrayals. Oh and Sarah Butler..... if you ever read this... Great job! Amazing performance on such a grueling subject yet great revenge flick!

Here is a quote I totally agree with and could not say any better. This is from Paul McCannibal from dreadcentral.com

"From my standpoint, ISOYG 2010 sits squarely on the good side of remakes. Very good, in fact. I should clarify that by "good" I mean well executed, punishing, and viciously rewarding. If you've got the stomach for this kind of thing, and you can endure the horribly unpleasant and drawn-out rape/degradation scene, you'll be ratcheted into a headspace that is screaming for retribution. The bad guys in this movie are so despicable that you will have absolutely no qualms with seeing them get what is coming to them."

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 13 of 22: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history