IMDb > I Spit on Your Grave (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
I Spit on Your Grave
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
I Spit on Your Grave More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 13 of 19: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]
Index 190 reviews in total 

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

aversive but not scary

5/10
Author: lashawill from Amsterdam, Netherlands
16 December 2012

This is an exemplary movie of contemporary trend in horror movies. The trend changed horror movies from 'scary' movies into 'disgusting' movies. Disgusting not in the sense that movies themselves became disgusting (although one might also argue just that) but rather that their main 'trick' became provocation of disgust in viewers instead of provoking fear. But maybe that's not so much a 'trend' in the sense of 'fashion' but rather a desperate attempt to save the genre of horror by somehow provoking aversion in viewers.

In fact though, a 'disgusting' movie is as different from a properly 'scary' movie as an erotic movie movie is different from a pornographic movie. This is not to say that 'disgusting' movies are bad in any way. It's just that they're not horror movies, in the sense of "The Shining" or "The Thing".

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Revenge is a bitch

6/10
Author: Raul Faust from Joinville, Brazil
25 February 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Copying many ideas from other movies sometimes works and sometimes irritates. In my particularly opinion, this time it irritates. I say that because the sheriff thing is COMPLETELY the same as in "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning"; a completely insane sheriff that likes to torture people. Also, at many times we can relate this film with the famous "Hostel", which although being very hated by the critics, enjoyed the main public a lot. Sometimes it's comprehensive why the girl did that horrifying things to the rapists, but I can't believe there's no such thing as criminal expertise in small regions in the USA. In Brazil, even in the most remote cities we have this kind of police investigation. "I Spit On Your Grave" may not be a very original movie, but has the unfailing formula to entertain and appeal the spectator. Revenge movies usually have good endings and leave the spectator happy, but I have to snitch that "Double Jeopardy" is a better film of this subject-- albeit not being that gory and agonizing to see. All in all, it's a good movie to watch but brings nothing new to the world of cinema or to the human kind.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Never stopped reflecting on the nature of forgiveness while watching

Author: rzajac from Dongshih, Taiwan
1 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Not bad, not bad. People pooh-pooh the acting, but I felt only one of the actors was sub-par. And even he might have fared better if the director had tried another approach with him. The fellow who plays the mentally challenged fellow was fantastic: ((Spoiler coming)) The scene where he grieves and apologizes for what he'd done was genuinely moving. It's actually a good movie to showcase casting a flick on a low budget, yet getting impressive performances.

It left me pondering the nature of forgiveness. It was sort of a commentary on the possibilities of the warping of personality under pressure. Perhaps it says something to all people under pressure from injustices big and small, and/or the depredations of privilege. Eventually, we all have to choose. The movie would, if it could, dangle you over a precipice and give you 5 seconds to choose between forgiveness and revenge: If you don't choose in time, you drop. The choice to jamb your rage back into your soul, like a nice little quietly desperate denizen of our civil society, is no longer an option.

I loved ((here comes another)) the last image. A kind of Mona Lisa moment where we try to divine whether the lady has found peace or not. This is part of the genius of the exposition: Because we can't truly determine this with any certainty, we have to look inward. This is what great movies should do. I'm not saying "Spit" is a *great* movie; I'm just saying it copped this bit of greatness by being conscious of the aesthetic benefits of choosing the right moment or moments to dump things back into our laps: This is when pop entertainment goes that extra bit of distance, and dallies with artfulness.

Well, I guess you can see that, since I haven't talked much about the technique of the film, I was reasonably taken in by its craft so that I could mull over the message. Well, that's good, I think! Thinking of watching it? Just remember that its depictions are graphic and harrowing. Good luck!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Awesome!

Author: bennyhagen from Hungary
21 May 2011

Known exclusively for the cheapest kind of C Movie trash Steven R. Monroe surprisingly outdoes himself and this one time creates a high quality movie for no obvious reason.

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this, if you love modern indie style horror, this is what you are looking for. The setup is very long, intense and exhausting, exactly what you need to enjoy the second part, say the vendetta sequence. The gore is all-round great, the cast is just fine to pull this off and who ever Sarah Buttler is, I couldn't imagine a better heroine for this flick. I forgive the CGI crows too.

Good job, unfortunately Mr. Monroe immediately returns to Mongolian Death Worm and alike.

7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

It was Jennifer's fault

1/10
Author: Aurobindo Ghosh from India
11 May 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Jennifer is responsible for what happened to her. She kissed Matthew, who was a complete stranger. That was irrational and unprofessional. If she had not kissed him, then he would not have informed about it to his friends and they would never go to rape her. The only reason why they came to do it because they thought if Jennifer can kiss Matthew for no reason then she will probably or definitely entertain them for free also.

Jennifer Hills goes to a cabin in the woods to write her second novel. Lost, she pulls into a gas station where there are three men loitering. They make small talk until she accidentally hits the panic button on her car, causing employee Johnny to stumble backward into a bucket of water. Jennifer finds the cabin. Later, Matthew , who has a social interaction disability, is contracted to fix the cabins bathroom sink and toilet, which he successfully does. Jennifer kisses him on the cheek in gratitude, stating that he saved her from having to bathe in the swampy lake. He later boasts to the three men, revealed to be brash and reckless and only socialize with Matthew because he's their childhood friend, that "she likes me".

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Really?

6/10
Author: virindra from Netherlands
29 October 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is about a girl who gets raped by a couple of men and yes, she has to take her revenge. Now this should be a feel good movie. Get those bastards who raped you girl! But it is not very realistic. A more realistic rape movie is Disgrace (2008).

As a Friday night movie this movie works. The dialogs are predictable. The way this girl gets back at those men is at one hand great but at the other hand I'm asking myself; "Where did she get these ideas to kill them that way?" She did not learn that from the men, so she had to be sick in the first place.

A lesson for all women in the world; if you want to write in a quiet surrounding, just go to the library. Never go into the woods alone.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

"I turn around in my grave."

3/10
Author: carry-92
11 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I rented this movie and it was definitely not worth the money I paid for it, even though renting movies isn't that expensive. Not worth a cent! The story sounds interesting and actually is but the implementation is abysmal. Not sure where the good critics come from.

They wasted most of the time with unimportant things. The beginning was waaaay to long and detailed while the ending with the actual revenge and happening of events seemed rushed and short. Some parts are way too detailed like when they search for the body.

The acting and story ARE good and this movie could've been so much better with all the potential but it turned out so bad! 3/10 for good acting and story.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Lacks the human impact of the original

5/10
Author: mr-tobias-jansson from Sweden
17 June 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Like one previous reviewer scribed - this is a film about exacting revenge in it's purest form without any remorse or compassion for the people you target; about deliberately putting aside all of your humanity in order to do what you feel is justified. I can relate to it, so can just about anyone who is NOT Mother Teresa. That said this movie is nothing more than another violent fair cashing in on an already established classic without ever trying to say or make anything new out of it. It's not a re-interpretation. It's not a re-imagining. It's just violence for the sake of blood mongering. I love horror, and detailed acts of sadistic violence can be put to good use if the movie has a deeper meaning and purposeful intent. Since Meir Zarchi was actually involved in the process of making this film I'm starting to believe that his 1978 classic was nothing but a fluke. That movie became an emotional and thought provoking journey into the darkest corners of the human soul because it depicted what people, mostly good ones, are actually capable of doing in a given situation. And I'm talking, of course, about BOTH sides of the crime. The antagonists of the original were pretty ordinary guys who saw a chance and actually did what some (not all though) might have fantasized about but never did. Failed group dynamics, you might say. That same movie also got you thinking: Why would I never do that? Is it because I'm afraid of hurting another person... or is because I'm afraid of getting caught? Scary thoughts, huh?! The only one ever getting a touch of real life personality in this movie is sheriff Storch. He has a family and has probably never done anything like this before, even though he might have fantasized about it and maybe even became a cop purely for the sake of social credibility, and made a terrible detour to a cost greater than he could ever imagine. Johnny though, is an uncleaned psycho from the very beginning and I'm very surprised he managed to stay out of prison for so long. And the sheriff would never be able to protect such a person for that long without losing his public support. Besides, Johnny has way to much charisma for the type of sociopath he's supposed to be. It's not believable and it's not scary. And Sarah Butler's Ms. Hill isn't portrayed as much of a human being either. She rather quickly becomes a cute victim of a rather cleaned up ordeal compared to the original and soon becomes an almost supernatural killing machine with hissing voice and glaring eyes and smirking psychotic intellect. Wheres in the original she used her femininity, that very same femininity that jolted and confused her perpetrators, as a weapon to bring her them about their demise. These days the world really could have used a movie making us ask questions about our own sexual nature. There is so much confusion about the connection between sex, the power of control, affection and love. I obviously looked in the wrong direction on this one. I really didn't have much hope for this movie and unfortunately my predictions were rather correct. But I'm sure a lot of people will find this enjoyable in a sense.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

a lady gets her revenge from her treatment by some lowlife men

9/10
Author: ruth beckey from Australia
17 May 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I hated the first spit on your grave. i know it was made awhile back,but it just disgusted me,it went overboard on the rape scenes. this movie has been criticized as such, but this movie is stylish.it is violent, but no more than those SAW film franchise. the film starts off with the young lady trying to find the cabin in the woods.in fact the film kept you guessing when it was all gonna start.that's very tricky and deliberately done. i was scared to see this film by the way because of the rape in the movie, but the brutality had to be shown.it was not excessive or exploitation.the revenge part was enjoyable. this film women would enjoy more, especially women who have been treated bad by men and never had any justice.yes this is the revenge movie for women. i been reading reviews and i think the men got what they deserved. i think she did to them what they did to her.she based the torture on what they did to her. one exception is the simple fella in the movie, but still he did not suffer as bad in the revenge.this is a horror movie based on women's revenge. i think its not excessive and i think some women will enjoy the revenge parts in it.this is a well made horror revenge film. i applaud this remake...very well done. some will whinge on spots of the story not filled in, but i think it was purposely done. i recommend this movie to other women horror fans...you'll love it.I'm not sure i have spoilers but i ticked it.thanks

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Good movie but one problem

8/10
Author: Kristy Callaway from United States
24 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie was better than I expected. I've only heard of the original film. Now I'm compelled to see the original. Regarding this film, Sarah Butler portrayed the victim pretty well but I wasn't impressed with her performance as a cold blooded killer out for revenge. Over all I liked this movie, the story line and affects were really good. It was a little slow at first but that was OK. It builds up to what happens in the end. I guess my only problem with this movie was Sarah Butlers' performance as a vengeful killer. However, it is well worth watching. All the males did a great job acting. I think the rape scene in this movie isn't as graphic as the one in the original. I expected it to be worse but I'm glad it wasn't.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 13 of 19: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history