IMDb > How to Make Love to a Woman (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
How to Make Love to a Woman
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
How to Make Love to a Woman More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 20 reviews in total 

41 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Terrible

1/10
Author: tedujam from United States
20 July 2010

Ignore the two glowing reviews from studio plants. This movie is horrible. It isn't funny or provocative, just boring and predictable.

Josh Meyers isn't funny. Kristen Ritter is hot but not funny. Ian Somerhalder is some sort of masturbatory fantasy for the gay and cat lady community. He also isn't funny.

I've never seem Lindsay Richards in anything, but she is pretty hot, and from Texas. But not funny. So to recap, this movie is not funny or entertaining. So if you are looking to spend more than an hour not laughing at something, this is for you. If you have lost your cable or satellite feeds and are tired of watching static, this movie is for you.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Couldn't get past minute 10

1/10
Author: porter_13 from United States
13 August 2010

Oh my. This movie is so stale I felt compelled to register so I could post a warning to anyone above an 85 IQ. Cliché, another cliché, yet another cliché. The best part was the somewhat clever opening credits score. Most comedies open with something funny. This is the one cliché the movie left out! If you like watching average comedians perform below average, this is your movie. That's all to say but I cannot post without ten lines. So don't read anymore, I'm just trying to make it to ten lines because spending any more time writing about this awful and insulting movie is a waste of my time at this point. I hope that's at least ten lines.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

I was bored senseless...

2/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
3 August 2010

Oh my God! This movie was rock-bottom. I thought I was in for a comedy, but it turned out to be far from it. It didn't even manage to make me smile.

The story, to me at least, was amazingly uninteresting and empty. It moved forward at a super slow pace, and tried to be funny. But it failed on an epic level.

The actors and actresses, well they weren't bad. But there was something missing from the whole picture. And I guess the actors and actresses did their best with what they were given. It just didn't really do the trick for me.

I managed to get halfway through the movie, then I caved in and gave up. It had gotten to the point where it was starting to drag on forever and ever. And still no laughs.

It is hard to label this movie, and I am not just going to slander it in lack of better. But it seriously wasn't my cup of tea, and I doubt it that I will return to finish the second half of it.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

should be voted worst movie

2/10
Author: jean-pierre-860-672482 from South Africa
2 October 2010

Very slow, the whole movie was boring - the airport scene has been done so many times and most of the movie was like watching a boring documentary with people just talking - you'd get more fun out of watching popcorn seed popping in the microwave.

On the whole its a movie about a young guy in love with his girlfriend and he's not good in bed which he finds out much later (um! how does that happen any way - oh wait that's it, the girlfriend never tells him and let's him think he's good without showing it or making any of those sound effects) He starts asking friends etc for help - kill me now I'm bored just writing this - she sees another guy, he's upset tells her off - she goes to the airport .....he cry's etc etc

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Gets on my nerves

2/10
Author: Serafina from Spain
24 July 2010

I just finished watching the movie, but it only got on my nerves. There might have been a good plot there somewhere, but the acting just wasn't genuine and the characters not believable at all.

It doesn't have to be exaggerated to make it funny; genuine, believable characters with their quirks can make a movie very amusing, but this general helplessness and the characters' constant shifting in their decisions was neither believable nor enjoyable.

The only clever and entertaining part in my opinion were the split-screen discussions about how to please a woman, for that the movie gets a 2 from me.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Disgusting cliché!

1/10
Author: abdulaziz_zayyad
5 November 2010

This movie was too awful that i felt compelled to warn my fellow human beings to STAY AWAY from such a disaster. Let me put it this way, if you ever want to upset your partner using a movie, this is the movie for you. The cast is a D-list ensemble cast and the script honestly reminds me of my middle school creative writing class. It is completely cliché with the split screen "mokumentary" been the only mediocre aspect of the movie. The lead actor is as believable as my unborn child. Also, the movie has the tendency to keep you frowning as it went on. The characters' indecisiveness is simply annoying.In general, the only reason you should watch this movie is if your mother's life depended on it. Credit nevertheless to Ken Jeong, his style of comedy never goes wrong.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Communication is the Key of a Relationship

5/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
17 September 2012

In Los Angeles, the clumsy Andy Conners (Josh Meyers) works at the Fearless Records selecting new talents. Andy is in love and engaged to Lauren Baker (Krysten Ritter) for one year but he is unable to satisfy Lauren in bed. Further, he has never told Lauren that he loves her.

Andy tells his problem to his best friend Layne Wilson (Eugene Byrd) and they research how to satisfy Lauren with an orgasm. Meanwhile Lauren is promoted in her company but she needs to be transferred to Chicago. When her colleague Daniel Meltzer (Ian Somerhalder) comes to Los Angeles to convince Lauren to move to Chicago, they discover that they had been friends in the childhoods. Andy misunderstands the relationship between Daniel and Lauren and believes that she is cheating on him. Will Andy lose Lauren to Daniel?

"How to Make Love to a Woman" is a silly romantic comedy about lack of communication between two lovers. The predictable story entertains but Josh Meyers is not funny enough for his role. Nevertheless Krysten Ritter is hot and sexy and makes the film work reasonably. There are very harsh reviews in IMDb, but the comedy is not so bad. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "Como Conquistar Uma Mulher" ("How to Win over a Woman")

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Disappointing

3/10
Author: aybikemutluer from Netherlands
17 December 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First of all, I have to admit that I watched the movie for Ian Somerholder. But after watching the movie, I felt like I have to warn the lucky people who didn't watch this yet. The plot is interesting in itself, before it was made this movie actually. For starters, Krysten Ritter is really boring. And when I say boring, I mean it. You never see the emotions. All the ups and downs the character goes through, nothing. Second, Josh Meyers. Again, no acting at all. The only good acting, in my opinion comes from Eugene Byrd and Ian Somerholder, but to admit I am biased about Somerholder, and Byrd was not extraordinary, he was just the stereotype (at least at the beginning) And since I wasted a good amount of time watching this movie and watched Ian Somerholder for about 5 min. I am very very disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Unfunny

1/10
Author: quiet riot (www.quietriot@yahoo.com) from United Kingdom
29 October 2010

People who don't have the slightest idea of what comedy is shouldn't call what ever movie they make to be funny. "How To Make Love To a Woman" is anything but funny, its boring and awful. the story is so old and feels like the writer just copied bits from other successful comedies. The acting in this movie can be compared to actors who perform in soft-core porn movies, imitating copied dialogues, trying to be funny and instead making a complete fool out of themselves. so if one day you are having a normal day and want to know what it feels like if you slam your head in the wall for more than one hour than please go and watch this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Ouch

1/10
Author: sicyon
10 January 2011

The plot of romantic comedies are never their strong suit but this movie didn't offer a single interesting or creative approach to the tired old formula (boy-meets-girl, boy-gets-girl, happy-couple-time, trouble-in-paradise, break-up to make-up, airport scene). Most romantic comedies work because the characters can be identified with and viewers care about them enough to look past the poor plot. Throw in some funny lines and comedy and your movie "works". This movie isn't funny and the main character isn't well written. Seems to be an emotional and mental 12 year old in a grown man's body. The acting doesn't help either.

All in all the movie was so bad that I lost interest in the characters and the story. I spend my time getting frustrated over the very very poor focusing of the camera. A shallow depth of field with characters apparently moving so fast that the focus can't follow. Dialogues where the focus can't keep track with the character that is talking. Before the person who's talking is in focus, the next guy is already talking. Scenes where the focus between different takes is obviously not the same (Somerhalder in the Italian restaurant scene). One shot of the scene is sharp, the next shot is soft. When they're on the beach I spent my time looking into the reflection of Byrd's sunglasses where I could clearly see the guy holding the reflector. That is some really horrible stuff.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history