IMDb > Your Highness (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Your Highness
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Your Highness More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 9 of 28: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]
Index 278 reviews in total 

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Think of the power...the women...the sticky icky

9/10
Author: jfgibson73 from United States
1 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

People seem to really hate this movie. It can't be because of the visuals--the movie looks great. If it were written as a straightforward fantasy, it would be one of the most visually striking in the genre. The costumes and effects don't look cheap at all. But the movie takes a silly approach to the material, along with some very filthy dialog. Maybe I just like Danny McBride enough that the script becomes less important, but I enjoy the humor in this movie. I don't have a problem with any of the performances--I like Natalie, I like the dude that plays Lezar and his mothers, I like Marteetee--I like it all. It feels like a fully formed adventure. Some might categorize it as stoner humor, and the pot jokes are pretty pervasive, but that didn't bother me either. So it's become one of my favorites, and all I can say is that humor is subjective. I found a movie that is almost universally hated for its stupidity, and somehow it ended up working for me.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

The Non-Stop Barrage Of Crudest Sex Language Ever Heard In A Film

1/10
Author: rainey-3
19 April 2012

The movie is photographed beautifully. The actors are some of my favorites. But the vile, vile, unbelievably vile and repugnant language, innumerable and loathsome, horribly pornographic sight-gags (some of which to my everlasting dismay I will never be able to un-see), uncountable, unconscionable jokes about rape and molestation, one-hundred-and-one different ways to say "semen", and more, more, yes, and still more, disgusting non-stop gross-out CRAP, finally made my stomach so literally turn that I actually felt ill during this movie. This, folks, may be the first time a movie has actually made me sick. Is there somebody I can sue? Is there any stopping the hellish "one-upmanship" that I've been seeing in man-gag (and I do mean "gag") comedies, where each successive movie gets more shocking, more foul, more misogynistic than the one before? And woe be unto any woman that dares to complain!! If the women complain, then they are seen as "not being good sports". 'Cause hey! it's all in good fun, you stuck-up prudes! Right?? There's a reason, guys, why using such incredibly sexually explicit language is considered a crime. It's called "sexual harassment" and every unsuspecting person that's exposed to this poisonous dose of prettily-wrapped excrement is a victim of it. And to think, with the expulsion of the more obscene parts, it might have been good... but no one seems to know how keep from going too far. It's as though the writers took that stupid dirty joke film "The Aristocrats" and thought they'd really be funny and hang a sword and sorcery theme on it. Just sad.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Not a Good Movie But No Where Near as Bad As Its Reputation

Author: Michael_Elliott from Louisville, KY
19 March 2012

Your Highness (2011)

** (out of 4)

When the great warrior Fabious (James Franco) has his fiancé (Zooey Deschanel) stolen by an evil warlock, his dimwitted and lazy brother Thadeous (Danny McBride) joins him on the journey to try and rescue her. Along the way they meet up with a rebel (Natalie Portman) who is after the same person. YOUR HIGHNESS and its reputation as one of the worst movies of the year is highly exaggerated because while the film isn't a good one I think it's far from being horrid and certainly no where near one of the worst of the year. With that said, considering the cast you really can't help but be somewhat disappointed that the movie doesn't offer more in terms of laughs. I think the majority of the first hour is very hit and miss in regards to the laughs. Yes, the comedy is very silly and juvenile and the only think really lacking are fart jokes. I mean what can you really say about a film when it starts off with the loser brother about to be executed for "loving" a dwarf too much? There's quite a bit of sexual humor from start to finish and the best and funniest moment of the film deals with a perverted wise man who wants extra favors for his advice. I won't ruin how the scene plays out but it was pretty funny. The rest of the laughs just don't happen fast enough to make the film worth sitting through. For every joke that works there are probably five or more that don't. The most shocking thing about this movie is that they were able to bring so many well-known actors to the project. I'm not sure if everyone was friends but I have a hard time seeing what someone like Portman would see in a movie like this and especially since her role doesn't come into play until around the 45-minute mark and there's really not too much here for her to do. She, Franco and Deschanel are all game for the jokes but they still can't save the thing. I really wasn't overly impressed with McBride as his dry humor just didn't reach my funny bone. With that said, I'm sure those who enjoy the types of movies this thing is spoofing might find more in the humor.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

On the verge of a waste of time

Author: laffnj from Australia
6 October 2011

Your Highness, the story of two princes who quest to save one of their stolen wives, was a laughable movie. I was expecting this film to be mildly funny and as well mildly boring. The major theme behind the film was a to portray the classic fifteenth century, adding swear words and themes from the twentieth century. I was very excited to see the duo back in action (James Franco and Danny McBride) since pineapple express in which I enjoyed very much, they definitely forced some laughs out of me, but not enough worth watching this film. Danny McBride is the one who really carries this film, his southern American accent, made English is actually a treat to listen to, McBride always manages to bring something unique too the characters he plays. Your Highness is a film I would only recommend to 'stoners', it has its moments, but while watching it, it bring all the aspects of a stoner film. Not the worst movie, it is definitely watchable but its not a hit in my eyes.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A lack of comedy that was too far below the belt...

4/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
30 September 2011

"Your Highness" was somewhat of a mixture between classical sword-wielding tales, fantasy and comedy. But wait haven't this been done before? Can you say "Robin Hood: Men in Tights"? If you are familiar with that movie, then you will know what kind of a movie you are in for here, except that it is nowhere near as fun as "Robin Hood: Men in Tights".

The production of "Your Highness" was good, lots of really nice details in everything, especially the costumes and outfits. I loved that about the movie, they had really captured that medieval-romantic feel and brought it alive on the screen. And the effects of the movie were great as well, both actual effects and CGI effects. And there was a good amount of interesting characters and villains in the movie.

Now, what didn't work for the movie, was the lack of comedy. I didn't laugh a single time throughout the entire movie, which is odd when it is a labeled as a comedy. And one thing that really brought the movie down in the soil was the excessive use of foul language and jokes below the belt. I was so annoyed and fed up with the usage of the F-word and other inappropriate language. I am not a prude, nor am I easily offended, but in a movie set in the medieval times, get your act together and use proper language. The movie could have been much more enjoyable had they toned down on the foul language. So be warned, this movie has a lot of words and sentences that may not be suitable for all viewers.

The cast in "Your Highness" was good as well, although I can't claim to be a fan of anyone in the movie, I must say that they actually did the job well. However, I wasn't overly impressed with Danny McBride's performance, something about him just annoys me. The ones that did it the best were Damian Lewis (playing Boremont) and Charles Dance (playing King Tallious).

All in all, the movie wasn't a bore, it was just brought down by foul language and too many sex jokes. Seems that whomever was behind the writers desk hadn't gotten over puberty just yet. It was way too immature. Sure the movie is good for a single evening when you are bored or if nurturing a hang-over, but other than that, don't get your hopes up.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Ah, the choices Natalie Portman makes.

3/10
Author: Christian_Dimartino from United States
7 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When I heard about the stoner comedy Your Highness a year ago, I thought it sounded promising. I realize that I am behind everybody else(or, hopefully, not many people) but I just watched it a few nights ago. And to be honest, I don't know where to even begin.

Set in the meddle ages, the film revolves around a dumb prince(Danny Mcbride) who is asked by his popular brother(James Franco) to accompany him on a quest to save his fiancé(Zooey Deschanel) and kill the czar(Justin Theroux) that kidnapped her. Along the way, they encounter a woman(Natalie Portman) who is also set out for revenge on the same guy.

The film is from director David Gordon Green, who's career has gone in an odd direction(his first film was the indie drama Snow Angels). Following Snow angels, he directed Pineapple express, which was a freshly funny action comedy. And now he's concocted this.

I heard that Your highness was terrible, but I really had a hard time believing it. It sounded promising. But I think that the real horror is experiencing the film for yourself, to see that letdown. Your highness is a complete disaster.

I expected to laugh a little bit, but I don't think I ever laughed, at all. The jokes fall flat, and they are repetitive and obvious. When Mcbride says to Portman,"Do you feel a prick on your back?", I rolled my eyes, and you will too.

The whole film is a bloodbath. Its not like that was even funny. Portman's character is really quite pointless, and the relationship between her and McBride is stupid. After she did Black swan(her best performance), did she feel that she had to jump on board to every movie she could? I love her, she's hot, and a great actress, but she needs to stop taking swings at piles of crap(not that Thor, No strings attached, and The Other woman were crap, they just weren't Black swan; Thor was good though).

Anyways, back to topic. The air flies out of the balloon way too fast. What should've been stoner-fied fun just turns out to be a bad trip you don't want to take. If I was to find one pro, it would be Justin Theroux. Theroux, who wrote Tropic thunder, is slowly making a name for himself, and he should. But trust me, Your highness was the wrong choice.

D

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Most foul and not very funny, could've been worse, but still lame

5/10
Author: Samiam3 from Canada
22 August 2011

You'd think Hollywood would have given up on swords and sorcery by now judging from all the failures outside of Lord of the Rings. Your Highness, is pretty much a film for the lobotomized. Rather than being a movie with jokes, this is a movie that IS a joke. A few half hearted laughs are scattered across a hundred minutes of false acting, failed quirks, obnoxious bathroom humour, and special effects which look like something from twenty years ago. At times, Your Highness feels like Epic Movie without the parodies of other movies.

Danny McBride is a huge burden on the project. He is quite defective as a screenwriter and an actor. His approach to his character is way too sour spirited and his delivery is lame. Second billing goes to James Franco, playing Bing Crosy to McBride's Bob Hope (the strait man). I felt he was too strait, and his English accent is barely passable (to be generous). Natalie Portman is a more enjoyable addition to the show, although she's not very funny either.

Most of the jokes not only fall flat, but almost insult intelligence. Your Highness is the kind of movie that might be funnier if watched while drunk, as it is overstuffed with misplaced sex jokes and contemporary uses of the f-word. Curiously the only area where the movie works is during the fight sequences, they are adequately choreographed and are the least juvenile parts of the movie.

What Your Highness needs more than anything else is brains. The makers weren't really thinking very hard about anything. In the end, it's another film that looks more fun to make than to watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Unfunny and so boring I think I fell asleep

Author: andymcc_80 from United Kingdom
20 August 2011

After seeing the trailer for this film a few months ago I was really looking forward to the films release, I enjoyed Pineapple Express and was hoping for more of the same from Your Highness. There are plenty of good actors in the film and the premise and setting all had potential, setting it during the medieval period inevitably makes you think of Monty Python and the Holy Grail and unfortunately this film never comes remotely close to the brilliance of Python's medieval comic masterpiece. Danny McBride plays the same character he always plays, only this time with a bad English accent, the character doesn't work in this film at all and for me McBride has worn the character out, he brings nothing new and didn't once make me laugh during the film. James Franco isn't bad but he isn't great either and Natalie Portman's role could have been played by any actress, she add nothing to the role other than a nice backside in her very brief semi nude scene. I can't recall the last time I fell asleep during a film but around the 60 minute mark I think I dropped off for a couple of minutes, not a good sign when watching any film let alone a comedy. The bulk of the jokes weren't so much jokes as merely swear words, in medieval epics of years gone by swearing doesn't really feature and so the the screenwriters(McBride) seem to think that by simply swearing the audience will find it funny, the first time they do this it raises a smile but after 10mins it becomes more annoying than funny and just feels lazy. I wouldn't recommend this film to anyone, if anyone asks I'll tell them to re-watch The Holy Grail, at least they'll get a laugh out of that.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

It was such an inappropriate movie . awful !

Author: independent-girl-d
17 August 2011

It was such an inappropriate movie for kids, its all about sex , and nothing funny at all ! It should be 18+ and for people who see "funny" from a different kind of view ! it should be Sexual Comedy ! such a stupid disgusting movie ! I don't understand how could such successful actors , who have acted in good movies accept to act in this movie ! I watched the beginning of the movie with my mom and we closed it after 10 minutes ! I have watched movies that have some inappropriate scenes , but it was for like 10 seconds not the freaking whole 90 minutes ! like OMG don't you get sick from watching these scenes ?!! (although some of you don't) but i really think you should prevent your kids from watching it ..

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Sucks

Author: jpr888 from United States
1 August 2011

Can't comment on the entire film since I stopped watching after about 15 min. That first 15 just sucked. Like the second season of East Bound and Down. Just dumb and obvious. Only excrement, sex, and curse jokes. Loved the first season EBaD BTW. Apparently I need to add more lines to this review in order to make it valid. I may not add another review since these four lines of review required more thought than the entire script of this awful movie. Who at IMDb decide that 10 lines are necessary for a meaningful review? I don't know about them, but when I read a review I want a quick a and concise opinion of the quality of the film. Not a thesis. Do people really read those huge reviews?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 9 of 28: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history