IMDb > Your Highness (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Your Highness
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Your Highness More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 28:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 277 reviews in total 

295 out of 463 people found the following review useful:

This movie rocks!! Those critics are idiots!

9/10
Author: jennmicah28
9 April 2011

Your Highness is a goofy movie from the Pineapple Express guys. My husband and I loved this movie, we didn't stop laughing, and neither did anyone else in the theater. Danny McBride is hilarious. James Franco and Zooey Deschanel have an infectious sweetness that makes you want to run home and proclaim your undying love! Natalie Portman gave an amazing performance as always and it was nice to see her in a comedic role. Of course Your Highness is no Black Swan, but if you're looking for a good laid back, feel good movie to keep you rolling, this is the one for you, I have NO idea why this movie is being bashed, it must be from people with no sense of humor or spirit of fun! Go see it today,you won't regret it!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

111 out of 156 people found the following review useful:

Hawk the Stoner.

8/10
Author: janus-20 from United Kingdom
28 August 2011

I watched this on DVD last night, shamefully because of what i had heard around the time of its cinema release. Well that taught me a lesson.

The only accountable reason i can arrive at for all the negative feedback i heard from critics and the public is that i feel they were expecting something a little more Holy Grail, because of the setting and the English accents and instead i felt this is more Blazing Saddles, very un-pc, whilst gently goosing (oo-er) its chosen genre.

It is immature and crude, but the laughs were consistent enough, its a comedy notion which would usually have a B grade budget, but has somehow been made with an A grade budget and for me that was part of its charm. Its like the slackers broke into the set of Lord of the Rings and mucked about all weekend and managed to film it.

Maybe i did the right thing in retrospect, sometimes its better to watch something after the dust has settled, just watch this cold and i'll bet you'd enjoy it. In years to come i think this film will have quite a loyal following, across a certain demographic, including me.

Was the above review useful to you?

127 out of 192 people found the following review useful:

Funny and uncommon

8/10
Author: Rubens Junior from Brazil
30 July 2011

Your Highness is so underrated but it's totally comprehensible. The movie is a satire about medieval action and dungeons tales movies, but it's not cheesy as ordinary satires like Scary Movie series (among others), it has its own story, with its own characters and originality and plays with clichés all the time, making the characters look pathetic when acting like heroes that needs to complete quests as in a RPG game, a satire that seems much more like Mel Brooks classic titles.

People are claiming it offensive and aggressive for the extensive use of sexual language and also for some explicit nude scenes. For sure it is, and this negative response from these people is just a reflexion of the puritan hypocrite society we live in, because if you laugh about Eddie Murphy's Nutty Professor farting with his family for about 10 minutes, you aren't able to say that You Highness is offensive or aggressive for its verbal content, first of all because I'm talking about a movie that seems silly and a waste of time, but in reality it is a very intelligent and interesting one, and for sure, one of the funniest movies and the best in its satire genre that I've seen since... once upon a time.

It's pure entertainment, the dialogs are sometimes taken from a porn movie. The acting is great. James Franco, as Fabious, the charming prince, is fantastic, always happy, empowering and in love, making his character seems that was taken from a fairytale, even his movements and expressions are totally inspired by everything a charming prince means and does. Danny McBride, as Thadeous, is completely the opposite, the real anti-hero image, full of envy, anger, hate and jealousy, searching and making everything just to satisfy his very own ego. And every character is ridiculous as it should be.

Also the movie is full of action and special effects. Screenwriters Danny McBride and Ben Best did an excellent job together creating an uncommon tale based on mythologies and sex into a medieval and puritan world, that's why is so funny, because you never expect so serious characters talking about sex and genitals like something simple and ordinary. Like another one said, it's not a movie for those who are easily offended, but for the ones who might get its tone, will love it.

Was the above review useful to you?

133 out of 217 people found the following review useful:

Filthy, stupid yet charmingly funny fantasy adventure

7/10
Author: theycallmemrglass from United Kingdom
10 April 2011

I have just seen this at a preview screening in London.

I'm not actually a fan of low brow humour but I found myself laughing and chuckling throughout this filthy mouthed, very gory, medieval sword and sorcery fantasy comedy. Its mainly because the cast is very likable with its main leads resonating off each other in this pool of silliness which makes the film highly entertaining. While James Franco and Danny McBride provides the laughter and brotherly banter, Natalie Portman strides in with stunning gravitas as a deceptive sexy swashbuckling heroine.

The storyline is a simple action adventure journey to save a damsel in distress from a warlord. But this not a naked gun style comedy, rather a humorous homage to classic fantasy movies such as Dark Crystal, Conan the Barbarian, Princess Bride etc. What's surprising is that the adventure is rather genuine and exciting with a huge dose of special effects that a comedy shouldn't really be allowed to have. I believe the film was given a normal comedy level budget but they certainly seem to have made clever use of it with some impressive special effects.

Yes there is much sexual jokes and innuendos and a heavy reliance on uncharacteristic medieval expletive adjectives to force a laugh but the charm of the characters makes them get away with it.

Having said all of the above, there were clearly some pacing issues and missed opportunities for this to be an even funnier and smarter movie but as it is, it offers plenty of entertainment, fun and laughs for a Friday/Saturday evening at the cinema.

Was the above review useful to you?

116 out of 206 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious, future cult classic!

10/10
Author: chris_holt8 from London, UK
3 March 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In the immortal words of Sidney Deane as played by Wesley Snipes in White Men Can't Jump; 'The sun even shines on a dogs ass some days…'. There I was minding my own business going to watch a man fire darts from his butt hole and in 3D no less, when a kindly lady with a clipboard asks me if I wanted free tickets to a screening on Wednesday. Being the sort that never looks a gift horse in the mouth and seeing the title of said movie on the clipboard I said 'of course my good lady, I will relieve you of the burden of your tickets'. My details were taken and I was all set to see Your Highness on Wednesday. You see this is the latest film from David Gordon Green, the art-house director who turned his hand to comedy with Pineapple Express and stars Danny McBride, James Franco, Natalie Portman and Zooey Deschanel. I knew the premise and I couldn't wait to see what they did with it.

The film begins with Prince Thadeus (McBride) in a dwarf village with his servant/sidekick Courtney, he has clearly upset the little people as he is about to be hanged. Due to a miscalculation about the length of the rope Thadeus and Courtney escape back to the kingdom where Thadeus's brother Fabious (Franco) has returned from another successful quest after defeating the evil Leezar (Justin Theroux) and won the hand of his new bride to be Belladonna (Deschanel). The kingdom revels in Fabious's success and once again the oafish Thadeus is pushed to the side, preferring instead to womanize and smoke wizard weed. At the happy couple's wedding Leezar returns and kidnaps the virgin Belladonna with the intention of impregnating her with a dragon when the twin moons are aligned (or as Leezar politely refers to it 'The Fuckening'). Fabious must once again go on a quest to rescue his beloved with his trusty band of knights. Thaddeus is given a choice; go on the quest with his brother and man up or get out of the kingdom. So Fabious and Thadeus set off on the quest where they will encounter a village of nude savage women, A wizard puppet who is also a possible pederast,huge mythical snake beasts, a horny minotaur and vengeful vixen Isabel (Portman). Thadeus must learn to be a hero, handle a sword and woo the fiery Isabel who is on a quest of her own.

Your Highness could have so easily become just another spoof along the lines of Epic Movie or Meet the Spartans but surprisingly just as the action was treated seriously in Pineapple Express, the fantasy elements here are just as important as the comedy. The special effects and production design are very impressive and the film certainly looks epic using the country of Ireland as its backdrop. There are evil witches firing lightning all over the place, there are mechanical beasts right out of the original Clash of the Titans and there is a weird hand/pit/monster thing that is cool as hell. Its also mega gory, limbs are hacked off and there is plenty of blood. Of course there is silly humor, very silly. If you didn't get Green's last comedy you may struggle here although Your Highness is probably the better film. This could well be the film that breaks Danny McBride into super stardom as he is the main star here. He delivers his lines in a pretty flawless English accent and the character is a classic spoiled loser who must learn to be a man. Just wait until you see the scene where he takes a trophy from a kill, its hilarious and gross. James Franco is being himself but also gets plenty of laughs jabbing away at the image of the handsome prince who writes poetry while also being handy with a sword. Portman is her usual brilliant self and for all her male fans there is a bathing scene that will get your temperature up. The main cast are supported by some more traditional thespian types. Toby Jones plays a creepy town crier type, Charles Dance is the king, Damian Lewis plays a treacherous knight and Justin Theroux nearly steals the whole thing as Leezar. Previously best known for smaller roles in David Lynch films and writing Tropic Thunder, Theroux is a comic revelation here delivering many of the films best lines with prosthetic teeth and a hideous wig. I laughed a lot and loudly and so did the packed audience. The script is written by McBride with his frequent collaborator Ben Best and clearly they have a lot of affection for the 1980's fantasy movies they (and I) grew up with. Films like Krull, Clash of The Titans, Hawk the Slayer, Willow, Conan and Beastmaster are all wonderfully homaged and never poked fun at. It really could have died on its ass for being so ambitious but in the hands of a craftsman like David Gordon Green it works wonders.

Was the above review useful to you?

69 out of 113 people found the following review useful:

Critics are idiots

Author: masondixonkid from United States
16 August 2011

This movie was made to make you laugh and that is exactly what it does. No real depth or signifigant underlying message to speak of, just a lot of raunchy humor to split your sides. I laughed the whole way through the movie and you will too if you have at least one funny bone in your body. There is so much filthy humor in this movie that is in no way suitable for children, but hey we adults need some idiocracy of our own every now and then and that is exactly what this movie brings to the table. Purely brilliant idiocracy. The best kind there is. It has a great cast and Danny McBride is hilarious as usual. Definitely worth watching. Be forewarned, it is DIRTY!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

under rated!

9/10
Author: oyvind1980 from Norway
25 February 2012

I guess this movie isn't for everyone. we were 3 people, two guys and one girl. she fell asleep.. but we loved it, so maybe its a guy movie..? if you think blood, unnecessary violence, fine women, and explicit language is a good thing in a comedy, then maybe you will also enjoy this one. I think its one of he ,most enjoyable and funny action comedies for a while. the characters are good, great actors and Portman is as talented as she is candy for the eye. the story is hilarious, lots of funny moments and absurdities. a non stop pace. I am really surprised it hasn't got a higher rating, I think that in time this will be considered a classic, I mean, whats not to like?! an awesome movie.(the only reason I don't give it 10 is because I'm stingy, it certainly deserves a 10:)

I totally recommend it:)

Was the above review useful to you?

58 out of 97 people found the following review useful:

stupid...and FUN!

7/10
Author: Dainius8888 (Dainius8888@gmail.com) from Lithuania
31 July 2011

So this is one of those movies you get to enjoy no matter how stupid they are. "You Highness" mocks everything about medieval time movies, kings and knights, etc. by applying exaggeratively sarcastic and cynical humor. The humor is so superficially dull, that it really is funny due to the way it is applied to a movie about the middle ages. It's almost like a porno version of "Shreck", harshly speaking. Making jokes about genitals, sex, masculinity an such. It absolutely is nothing more than a movie to get some laughs out of, since the plot is definitely NOT on of the most superb stories you've ever seen in a movie, and the acting is rather fake, for the exception of Natalie Portman and maybe James Franco. Which is actually quite funny how two A list actors put a lot of effort into a movie so dumb. And another good thing about this film is that it actually looks really cool sometimes, especially at the end during the climax. So there you have it. It definitely isn't meant to be praised as a masterpiece of a movie. Just sit back and enjoy the stupidity of it.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 97 people found the following review useful:

I did laugh out loud quite a few times!

7/10
Author: Everycloudhasa from United Kingdom
19 April 2011

I liked this film. It is not going to win any Oscars, and is pretty rude at times, but anyone who is a fan of Eastbound and Down will like this. It is cheesy at times, knowingly so, but does entertain all the way through. It is not trying to be ground breaking and original, it is a comedy and does what is says on the tin. Maybe do not watch the trailer though as the best bits are in there! Do not go to see it if you are easily offended, it is full of bad language, crude sex references and is quite in your face. I was heartily amused, and would recommend this for a light hearted, entertaining romp. The cast is strong. Too often, critics pan films which Jo public actually really enjoy, so judge for yourself based on what actual people say, not according to reviewers, who often are quite wrong about what people enjoy watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

A cross between 'Krull' & 'The Inbetweeners'!

Author: CRGLancashireUK from United Kingdom
5 August 2011

An interesting, comedic twist on the 'Fantasy Quest' genre! Lot's of 'schoolboy' humour and a large number of expletives, kept me entertained anyway!

It's a sort of 'Krull' meets 'The Inbetweeners' and I found myself laughing occasionally and smiling throughout! How they managed to get a pretty impressive cast, I don't know but, it all worked well, in my humble opinion.

It was Danny MacBride's previous incarnations which enticed me to watch the movie and he didn't disappoint! Almost as politically incorrect as many of his other roles albeit with a slightly anglicised accent, added to the fun.

It's likely to be panned by the critics but, if you want a light hearted romp for 105 minutes, don't mind gratuitous references to unnatural sexual acts, unexpected 21st Century expletives in a Medieval environment and Natalie Portman saying the odd 'F' word, then you may well enjoy this.

I have only written one previous review, for a film which had good reviews and I thought was crap! 'Your Highness' is the complete opposite, in my opinion and, as such has prompted my second review.

I will watch it again, not with my youngest daughter who is an ordained minister but with my eldest who is an A & E Nurse. Say no more.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 28:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history