IMDb > Laid to Rest (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Laid to Rest
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Laid to Rest More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 80 reviews in total 

An Effective Shocker

8/10
Author: bababear from United States
23 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

LAID TO REST is way bloodier than what I really care for, but it was so well made that I couldn't stop watching and too interesting for me to fast forward through.

It's about an unnamed young woman who wakes up in a coffin in a funeral home, very much alive. She manages to get out of it, and in her struggle to stay alive meets a variety of characters who get involved in her plight, willingly or unwillingly.

Many have found leading lady Bobbie Sue Luther's performance lacking. Since her character has amnesia and doesn't find out who she is until late in the third act, she's having to portray a blank canvas. Whatever her dramatic skills may actually be, she's a beautiful young lady who reminds me of the young Jean Simmons.

I never did figure out just what the deal was with Chrome Skull: was he just a very determined maniac, or is there a supernatural angle in play here? I guess that will be answered in the sequel.

The supporting cast has some strong performers. Kevin Gage and Lena Headley are a sympathetic rural couple who try to render aid, and Sean Whalen is a young man trying to deal with grief issues (his mother's funeral is scheduled for the next morning) who tries to help out.

Of course, a lot of the plot mechanics lean heavily on coincidence and on smart people doing stupid things. Whalen's character lives in a very nice house and has a computer, but neither a cell phone nor a land line. Of course, if characters had been able to dial 911 successfully this would have been a much shorter movie.

Director/writer Robert Hall (a major special effects guru) is smart in keeping the cast small and restricting the action on one Saturday night/Sunday morning. And the special effects in this are tremendous.

I'm looking forward to the sequel.

Was the above review useful to you?

Quality Mainstream Splatter Horror

7/10
Author: Rathko from Los Angeles
20 January 2010

'Laid to Rest' occupies definite B-Movie territory and carries all the low budget hallmarks - second-tier actors, an unimaginably dumb lead character, dodgy continuity, a bad synth score, back-lit smoke machines, and vaguely nonsensical plotting. Director Robert Hall is, of all things, a well-respected and successful special effects make-up artist and the movie features a series of increasingly spectacular and visceral scenes of gore and splatter. From beheading to disemboweling, the special effects are well above what is usually found at this level. As the movie progresses and you get a feel for its quirky vibe - the killer is nothing if not original - and the whole thing turns out to be very entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

A bloody & wild ride!

Author: Prolox from Canada
21 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A young woman wakes up in a coffin with no recollection as to how she got there, when she escapes, she finds that those she comes in contact with are being brutally slaughtered by a serial killer with a camera mounted on his shoulder, a skull mask & two wicked knives who doesn't mind getting loads of blood on himself or inflicting punishment on those he sees. LAID TO REST is a film I heard a lot of hype about on horror movie websites & even high praise from fright fans, so I decided to see it myself to see if I would share the same reaction & thankfully the film is well deserving of it's praise. Now that's not to say the film is the greatest slasher picture ever made, but in an age of pointless remakes, SAW/Texas CHAINSAW MASSACRE rip-offs, or just plain 1970's style gore for gore sake horror outings, LAID TO REST is a breath of fresh air that attempts to inject some life in the horror genre. The villain is terrifying, the kills are really gross & inventive & the acting & directing are really good. The film also has several familiar TV & B movie faces turning up in cameo's (my favorite being RICHARD LYNCH) true, the film is extremely bloody like the 1970's style horror outings that seem to be the only thing getting made these days, but the film at least is fun & a true love for the genre is displayed here, which is more than I can say for most of these other horror outings supposedly done 1970's style (i.e. films that are made to just gross the audiences out & not terrify them). As a whole it's not the king of slasher films, but it is a horror film made by horror fans for horror fans, in short, see it!

***1/2 stars

Was the above review useful to you?

Balls Out Bloody Good Fun!

7/10
Author: matt_frisby from United States
15 May 2009

Wow! A recent horror film that lives up to the DVD box cover and plot summary! There's a lot of garbage out there but this is definitely worth renting or even buying. I am not a big fan of torture-porn movies, but "Laid to Rest" is actually a hybrid of a few different horror genres. It's not your run of the mill horror/slasher film either. Interesting plot, unique killings, lots of splatter, and a kicka$$ killer.

It's like "Cube", "Friday the 13th", and (insert generic torture-porn movie here) all rolled up into one. If your a true horror/gore fan this movie will not disappoint! -MF

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Oh, so nasty!

5/10
Author: Coventry from the Draconian Swamp of Unholy Souls
7 May 2012

"Laid to Rest" is perhaps a bit of an unfortunate title for a movie like this, as it makes me think of a subtle, sophisticated serial killer who eliminates his victims with a lethal poisonous injection in their necks, or something. Since the maniac in this particular piece of art uses a sharply serrated cold steel knife and savagely massacres a wide variety of people, I would have opted for a title like "Cut to Pieces" or "Hacked up for Barbecue". The film is anything but subtle; in fact, it's one of the most gruesome and nastiest slashers there is to find. It's also one of the most unoriginal and derivative slashers ever made, but horror movies in the trend of "Laid to Rest" will always find their way to the release market and there will always be producers that are willing to invest good money into projects like this. Why? Three simple reasons: 1) the lead actress is a hot scream queen with an enormous rack. 2) The killer is a silent and seemingly motiveless butcher with a creepy disguise and terrifying weapons. 3) As stated already, the murders are extremely graphic, sickening and exploitative. "Laid to Rest" tells the rudimentary story of a girl who wakes up in a casket in an unknown location with a severe head injury. She can't remember who she is or how she ended up in this uncomfortable situation, but quickly finds out she's the plaything of a cruel serial killer that already made three dozen of victims in the Southern states area. The girl manages to escape from the morgue and flees into the dark night looking for help. Her assailant doesn't really seem to mind, as he has all the time in the world and gets offered plenty of more innocent victims this way. The complete lack of background of the killer is rather frustrating (especially because really nobody can possibly be as sadistic as this guy) and there are some extremely unacceptable gaps in logic. For instance, the main trio has numerous opportunities to just step into a car and drive as far away as humanly possible, but for some strange reason, they remain dawdling in the danger zone. It's also another one of those slashers where the maniac has the ability to travel at the speed of light and pop up in places before his victims have even decided to hide there. He – referred to as Chromeskull because of his (admittedly very awesome) mask – has a camera attached to his shoulder and works with the most advanced and hi-tech equipment, yet we never come to know anything about his persona and/or motivations. Writer/director Robert Hall could have at least tried to put a bit of effort into the plot, but he clearly opted for straightforward stalk-n-slash action and gore. Being primarily a make-up expert himself, it has to be said that the effects are terrific. "Laid to Rest" features a lot of vile killings that are illustrated into the tiniest bloody detail; hence it's not a movie recommendable for people with a weak stomach. However, if you're an admirer of sawed off faces, disemboweled corpses and sliced throats you'll have one hell of an enjoyable ride. As indicated briefly already, the main trumps of lead actress Bobbi Sue Luther (at the time married to the director) are located around the chest. She doesn't show as much cleavage and nipple as she did in "Night of the Demons", but there's a lot of running away from Chromeskull and hence a lot of blouse-bouncing! The film also stars the peculiar looking Sean Whalen, familiar to horror fans thanks to "The People under the Stairs".

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Today is not that day...

8/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
6 October 2011

Laid to Rest is a gruesome slasher devoid of logic and bursting at the seams with nasty editing gimmicks of the kind that will one day push me over the edge and send me on a killing spree of my own. Today is not that day, however, because despite all of its horrible grungy visual trickery, I couldn't help but like this film for its sheer energy and no-nonsense approach to graphic violence.

Director Robert Hall isn't interested in such trifling matters as plot exposition or logic—he doesn't waste time filling us in on unnecessary back-story for his killer and the little info we learn about the film's protagonist, sexy amnesiac The Girl (Bobbi Sue Luther), is completely superfluous to proceedings. No... Hall's intention, it seems, is simply to pack in as much outrageous splatter as possible (while sneaking in a few shots of lovely star Luther's impressive cleavage). For that, I salute him.

In Chromeskull, Hall has created an impressive horror icon for the 21st century who hearkens back to the good old days when all a killer needed was a memorable mask and an impressive array of sharp implements with which to hack up his victims (Chromie has no time for torture or convoluted mechanical traps; all this sicko wants to do is get busy with his knife!). This results in lots of impressively gory nastiness, with body parts and blood all over the place, and sometimes that's all I need for a good time.

7.5 out of 10, rounded up to 8 for IMDb.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Idiotic

3/10
Author: Matador07 from United States
23 June 2010

The special effects guys in this movie should be taken out and bought a few drinks for their work.

The writers should be taken out and shot. My lord, is it really that hard to write a slasher flick where the people act even remotely rationally and yet the killer still is a step ahead? How dumb do you have to be as a writer that the only way you can keep your victims in danger is by having them act like a pack of complete morons at all times. This takes the "I'll wander off alone into the dark by myself to investigate that strange noise" and trumps it badly.

Made it extremely hard to take even remotely seriously, and had me wishing I had rented it rather than caught it on cable so I could have just fast forwarded through the stupidity. Kevin Gage has presence BTW. Now please get the man a real script. This one was embarrassing.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Awful film

1/10
Author: maraa-570-241218 from Bulgaria
31 October 2009

I am very sorry , but I think the film is awful , especially the main actress. Such BED act ...sorry but the film was failed because of her act! And this is not only my Opinion !It is a shame that today there are still so many bad actors and so many weak scenarios. The people are expecting better films and this film is a waste of money and time - for the people who make it and for the people who are watching it ! 95% of the people I know tells me that they even didn't watch the film to the end ! Sorry but this actress have to find another job , not everybody can be an actor - she overact most of the time and this turns the film into a parody , regardless there were some good scene of horror. Thanks

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Gets the heart pounding and the tongue sticking out

7/10
Author: Sam Morrison (skullballmovies) from United States
2 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was in the mood for a slasher and decided to check out Laid to Rest. The only place I saw it was at stores; I've never heard of it otherwise. Be sure to read the MPAA rating, or you will be in for a big surprise..There's so much blood and gore. I'm all for big amounts of blood, but this kinda went a little crazy. If I may say, it has more than Saw movies. I can't really say this is more brutal though. Just knives, guns, and super super glue. The part at the end where he pulls off the mask was insane..that super super glue made it stick to his face and he just yanked it off and there was a glorified gore bath..it wasn't only disgusting but in a way, impressive. There was some original thought put into that. There isn't too much of a storyline, just a girl (a hot, big breasted one; the typical horror movie main character) that gets amnesia or something and is running away from this serial killer. There's a few things put in there that she remembers, but it doesn't help the story. But it's a slasher you can't expect too much story. I can say it's pretty suspenseful, and I wasn't expecting that. That was satisfying to me. All in all, it satisfies the blood and gore lovers.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Could have been so much better !

6/10
Author: RJLigon from United States
30 June 2009

I picked up Laid To Rest up at Best Buy for $6.99 over the weekend. I have to say I was a little disappointed. It had so much potential to be a really good film. I agree with some of the other posts that the gore and kills were really inventive and didn't hold much back. The acting was really bad, especially the lead actress and the writers didn't do a very good job. The positives were that Chromeskull as the slasher was very eerie and original and the movie had a creepy atmosphere and some pretty good music. It was worth the price I paid and I will probably keep it in my library of horror movies. If you are really into cool kills and lots of gore you will probably like this movie. I give it a 6 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history