IMDb > Iron Man 2 (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Iron Man 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Iron Man 2 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 75: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 748 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Look! Up in the sky! It's a bird! It's a plane! It's Iron Man! No, it's Tony Stark!

8/10
Author: Boloxxxi from United States
14 September 2010

The plot: There are 2 story threads here that merge. 1. The government and military are putting pressure on Tony Stark to turn over the Iron Man Technology to them. 2. Some Russian guy blames Tony's dad for the persecution and death of his own father and seeks revenge. How he goes about it ties into the government's claims that the Iron man technology is better served by giving it to them. Analysis: Enjoyable action-filled movie; well acted and written. Worth your time. If you're not a comic book buff or nut you don't need to read further. You have all you need.

Some entertainers (actors, musicians, athletes, IMDb reviewers,etc.) use a "stage" name and the public is generally unaware of their real name or private identity. But if some find out what their real name is (as sometimes happens) it might not matter because they're more familiar with the stage name and persona and prefer it. In this instance the private identity is eclipsed or overshadowed by the familiar and public persona. However, because Tony Stark is well known in his own right as a famous inventor and head of a well known company (Stark Industries, Inc.) this would not happen. Not to mention the fact that he enjoys attention; seems to need it; thrives on it; is a bit of a ham.

So I gotta ask: when people see Iron Man flying across the sky, do they say, "There goes Iron Man", --or do they say, "There goes Tony Stark"? There are practical reasons why super heroes (and people involved in important and dangerous operations) need a secret identity; need to maintain a separation; and I'm sure you can guess them. So while I enjoyed the movie, and while I know it's just fantasy, I cannot help but wonder at the unnecessary and foolish recklessness and vanity of Tony Stark that makes him put so much at risk in order to share the limelight with his alter ego Iron Man. And this is beside the point: What is it about good-looking women in form-fitting outfits that beat people up that turns me on? Love, Boloxxxi.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

waiting for IRONMAN 3,4,5 =D

8/10
Author: wibiyana from Indonesia
14 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched IRONMAN2 about two days ago, and I kind of loved it =D, better than the first one, because here Tony Stark went crazier and more unstoppable hahah. Well,, I think here, Robert Downey Jr. didn't act at all, I meant he's definitely Tony Stark, Tony Stark is him! so, no wonder if his performance is really that cool =P, CZ its not about plays somebody Else's character but your own character, just as easy as you to be yourself, although I know that sometimes its kinda difficult to be yourself. But here I am saying that Tony Stark or Ironman is definitely Downey Jr., the genius and crazy, sexy guy hahahah. OK, its enough time to screw around, actually for me, they brought us a new, different paradigm, both Favreau and Downey, different one of a superhero in a witty way of funny and sometimes unpredictable story, and it'll makes you just like "oh my, cant wait for the next sequel" or "damn, he's cool as hell, I love Ironman, I love Tony Stark!".

hmhh..., I liked the Tony's experiment room mostly, man, I absolutely down on my jaws about three meters to the edge of the white screen on the theater 3, when I was watching this movie. often enough I, imagining myself doing something on that room, designing, filming...(if only the room exist) lol. Not just it, I was like WOW by Scarlett, the melodramatic actress acted surprisingly awesome as a secret agent, she even did some action maneuvers, hahaha, pretty magnificent, good job scar-jo! and the Ironman's enemy, Ivan vanko, has a good acting as a god damn terrible freaky smart and ambitious, Russian ...umh,well, can I say "scientist!?" and guys, I love his Russian accent, simply stunning =)

the one really makes this movie lame, is the kissing scene (tony and pepper) ugh, they should throw away that scene, moreover it was in the almost ending of this movie, oh my..., it was almost destroy the whole this beautifully funny movie, I hate pepper, Paltrow kinda overacting I think..., just easy mom -__-", she should be replaced by Cate Winslett or Julia Roberts, I think they would be more suit with Stark hehehehe...

But overall, I love and enjoy this movie, the actor (Downey), the actress (scar-jo) and the music, especially when tony and Rhodes changed the party hall on Tony's house into a battlefield! will be good to see this even as trilogy or tetra-logy, penta-logy maybe *grin*

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Iron Sequel

8/10
Author: Anup Viswanathan Thampi from India
9 May 2010

Iron Man 2 trailers were impressive but had fears.Most of the sequels lets us down........But IM2 didn't.Introduction of Don Cheadle as Rhodes,Mickey Rourke as Ivan Vanko,Scarlett Johanson as Natasha Romanoff & Samuel L jackson as Nick Fury were the best.........As in Iron Man Robert Downey Jr gave a stunning performance............The special effects,the story,the synchronisation,the direction........were at the best.......We always expect a lot from a sequel............But most of the sequels for an action packed sci-fi gives importance to action and special effects not to the story..................This movie is 1 hell of a ride..........

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Just one thing bugged me...

8/10
Author: ehohertz from United States
9 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Yeah,there were some plot holes, but who cares... you don't go to this movie to critique the plot.

Anywho, the only thing that left a bad taste in my mouth was the scene at the end when they didn't OK Tony Stark for the Avengers. Are they covering their bases in case they can't afford to pay Downey for the Avengers or what? Iron Man and/or The Avengers will NOT work without Stark/ Downey! His charisma is what made these movies the best Marvel movies ever made.

You can't have the Avengers without Iron Man... you can't have Iron Man without Tony Stark... you can't have Tony Stark without Robert Downey!

I sincerely hope Downey signs on for a prominent role in the Avengers, otherwise it will be severely diminished.

Casting makes a movie. Downey was perfectly cast and adds as much to his character as Halle Berry took away from Storm, Affleck took away from Daredevil, and Ioan Gruffudd took away from Mr. Fantastic.

Not as good as the first, but still the second best Marvel film ever made.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie, just some things need more explanation

9/10
Author: mredude411 from United States
8 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Before I went to see the movie, I looked online to see what people thought of it, and there was a lot of mixed reviews, so I didn't know what to think.

At the end of the movie, I was very impressed by the movie. It added a lot to the first one, while still moving on with its' own story. It had a good mix between comedy, dialog, and action, though I think it could have taken a small bit from the dialog and add it to the other two parts.

Something I have noticed about Iron Man 1 and 2 is that both movies were setting up something. During most of Iron Man 1, they were setting up the Iron Man story; they were giving Iron Man's back story. That makes sense, to explain where the hero came from. So when I went to see Iron Man 2, I expected it to jump right into things, but by the end of the movie, I realized it was setting up some more.

(1st of two spoilers) At the end of the first movie, after the credits their was Nick Fury, from SHIELD, wanting to talk about the Avengers. Okay reference to the avengers, that is cool and all. Then when the second movie came, Nick Fury played a bigger part, and you slowly realize that Iron Man 2 is slowly setting it's way up to the Avengers movie.

Don't get me wrong, the movie is not trying to drown us in Avengers references and scenes. There really are only two or three scenes talking about the Avengers, and a few clever references (a certain shield belonging to a certain super hero) and that is about it. The thing is that all of Tony Stark's progression as a character in this movie, is to guide him to being a part of the Avengers.

(2nd of two spoilers) And the end of the second movie, after the credits, you see a guy from SHIELD in New Mexico, and they find "something" and you see Thor's hammer, which is going to be the next movie in the series.

So though it is a good movie, and made my inner nerd freak when I saw Thor's hammer, I am starting to feel iffy about the Avengers Movie, whenever it comes out in a few years. They still need to do Thor, Captain America, and Ant Man, and then the Avengers. Will the last three movies just be set ups as well? And when we do finally reach the Avengers movie, will it be as amazing as all the sets up make it seem?

That is a question that only time will answer. I still recommend seeing this movie, if you are a comic book fan, or even just an average movie fan.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Marvel fanboys strikes again

3/10
Author: The_Danjuring from Edinbruhhh
20 November 2016

Yet another ridiculously high rated Marvel movie, we get it Marvel fanboys you just love it when a new Marvel movie comes out, so much that you forget any flaws in it and give it a 10 or a 9 anyways.

But come on seriously? Wouldn't you rather they spent a little time at actually writing a somewhat decent script and making it a bit more entertaining than to praise EVERYTHING they do to the skies just because you want a new chapter in the Marvel universe?

Cause this is NOT a good movie, 35 minutes of decent at best action and 85 minutes of nonsensical blabber.

Mickey Rourke was the only highlight in this movie, the scene at the racetrack with him was really cool but then he just became a wasted opportunity just like the rest of the movie.

A really boring turd of a film.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A great follow-up...

8/10
Author: Taylor Kingston from Australia
26 May 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I think I like this movie as much as the first one, it's not better, it's not worse. It's a pretty entertaining movie and I really enjoy it.

Now that the world knows the identity of Tony Stark and that he's really Iron Man, people have constantly been trying to recreate the Iron Man suit for their own personal gain. And the government tries to get Tony to hand over his, like that would ever happen. Tony continues to save the day until a man comes out of nowhere, with a similar suit and wreaks havoc.

Overall, I give this movie an 8 out of 10, which in my ratings book is: Awesome.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Summer entertainment at its finest

10/10
Author: Andrew Miller from United States
23 February 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After watching the first Iron Man and enjoying it, I thought that the second would be mediocre at best. Well, I can honestly say that didn't happen because I found Iron Man 2 be just as fun and action-packed as the first one.

The film starts off very nicely, with recordings from the end of the first film where Tony Stark tells the media that he is the man in the iron suit. The scene then cuts to Russia where we're introduced to our villain, Ivan Vanko watching his father dying. It appears that his father, Anton used to work with Tony's father, Howard, and somewhere down the road, Howard seized Anton's ideas and booted him to the curb and for this, Ivan swears revenge on Stark. Meanwhile, the palladium core of Tony's arc reactor that keeps him alive is slowly killing him and he can't find an alternate. He begins to become increasingly irresponsible and downhearted about his looming demise, and decides not to tell anyone about his ailment and appoints Pepper Pots as the CEO of Stark Industries and employs Natalie Rushman as his personal assistant. While racing in the Monaco Grand Prix, Tony is attacked by Vanko, but is able to fight him off. Now, Stark must get his life back together, build a new reactor and stop Vanko.

While most sequels try to up the ante, Iron Man 2 comes across as a brisk and harmless film that meanders along at an attractive clip, with emotional discomfort a distant thought which is very refreshing. In fact, Iron Man 2 is the total opposite of some other comic book films. For example, it's definitely not darker than the first Iron Man and also gives itself artistic freedom to extend on the impossible. Common sense simply does not work here and Jon Favreau and screenwriter Justin Theroux have a lot of freedom with the chines of reality. While the first Iron Man was an origins story, the sequel had no lack of possible roads to take, so it decided to go with the characterization road and instead of developing its universe, the movie merely takes it's cast of characters and tosses them into circumstances grimmer than before, upping the stakes but at the same time echoing the spirit of the first one. The characters are well written, each quick conversation decided with a mature bleakness that differentiates from the illegitimate situations that the film features and while the movie could be labeled as a comedy, but the humor flows so perfectly that you get the sense that it would be out of the question to write this film and not have these characters joke with one another. There are a number of themes in this movie, the most notable one being one's legacy, of what we pass on when we pass away; the impact on those who follow us and how the consequences of past actions can ricochet down the line long after someone passes on.

The visual effects in this film are fantastic with lots of explosions, ear-jolting sound effects, stunning camera techniques and cinematography to keep the audience focused. As for the action, there's only a few scenes, but they all bring a lot to the movie by bringing the viewer a ton of excitement and delight, especially the finale, a 30 minute visual feast for the eyes and senses of Iron Man and War Machine battling Whiplash and his drones, which left me hungry for more. The soundtrack is darker than the first film and has some outstanding tracks along with a great soundtrack with songs by Daft Punk, Queen, and AC/DC.

The acting is incredible just as it was in the first film: Gwyneth Paltrow once again proves herself as Pepper Potts, bringing a lot of sadness to the role, but is by no means a damsel in distress, not to mention she and Downey have wonderful chemistry, Jon Favreau returns as Happy Hogan and gets to have more fun in the movie rather than just staying behind the camera, Sam Jackson pops up again as S.H.I.E.L.D. agent Nick Fury sowing the seeds for later MCU films. Don Cheadle picks up right where Terrance Howard left off in the first Iron Man as Rhodey/ War Machine, stepping into the role with certainty and proves himself to be superior to Howard. Scarlett Johansson is awesome as Black Widow, proving she is more than capable of being in an action film and while she isn't on screen for much of the movie, her flight scene in the hall does leave an impact. The villains of the film as just as important as our heroes and they don't disappoint with Mickey Rourke adding a combination of a contrived show person, arrogant mastermind and an overpowering monster, while perfectly personifying Vanko's rude visage while Sam Rockwell is complete comic fodder as Tony's business rival, Justin Hammer. Rockwell kills it in this role and is a joy to watch, either when he's losing his temper with Vanko or awarding his own creations with childish enthusiasm. But the true heart and soul of Iron Man 2 comes from Robert Downey Jr. He is the mind, heart and spirit of the man in the iron suit which makes me think if the film was written especially for him. When it comes to Stark's vain personality and sarcasm, he also shines there too, providing us with a ton of great quips and laugh-out-lord moments and while Downey does portray a selfish, egotistical playboy; he is still a likable character. Much like the first one, RDJ is and will always be Iron Man.

All and all, Iron Man 2 is a worthy successor to the first film, proving us with more of what we loved with more action, humor, a killer soundtrack, stellar performances and a great story. Definitely give this film a watch, you'll have a blast.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Not as great as the first but is bashed on far too much

8/10
Author: illbebackreviews from Australia
18 May 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Often considered to be a critical disappointment that cannot match the same brilliance as the original, I was sceptical about watching this film. As one of the people who liked the original but didn't love it, I thought that maybe I wouldn't be as sorely disappointed by this film as die hard Iron Man fans were. The thing with this film is that most viewers either love it or hate it so it is truly difficult to take a side in it.

Iron Man 2 tells the story of Tony Stark who has now revealed that he is indeed Iron Man and continues to enforce peace across the world until he meets a new enemy who has his plans to get revenge on Stark, whilst at the same time discovering that he is dying. Will Stark be able to keep his legacy and ensure that the people believe in Iron Man or will he fail? To be fair, I didn't hate this movie. I actually really liked it. Surely not as great as the original but this film sure nears it in my opinion. With dazzling visual effects, a mostly outstanding script that makes way for many laughs throughout the film, Iron Man 2 is a mostly engaging film with a great story and extremely special action sequences. I love in this film how Stark is once more put to test and how the original ended with Stark revealing that he is Iron Man. That allows the film to be free of any restrictions and give more fun to the film. Some of the stuff that Stark does throughout the film are truly idiotic and hilarious, and can only be thought of as hilarious due to the performance that Robert Downrey Jr gives.

Robert Downrey Jr is truly the scene stealer and he just completely steals the film in every way. He is energetic, he is charming, he is funny yet he can also be a more dramatic person. Everyone else does a great job in the film, mainly Samuel L Jackson playing S.H.I.E.L.D director Nick Fury. His performance isn't anything special from Jackson like Pulp Fiction but his presence is always welcome throughout the film. Scarlett Johannsson is great in the role of Natasha and the final action sequences in the film with her were truly great.

Iron Man 2 is not nearly as great as its predecessor but is nevertheless, a fun and entertaining film with plenty of laughs and plenty of amazing visual effects and some absolutely fantastic action sequence. In terms of its action, it is possibly better than the original and also has a greater villain. The acting is fantastic by Robert Downrey Jr and everyone else does their part well. Iron Man 2 is nevertheless an engaging film and is honestly, either a guilty pleasure for myself or an underrated and overly criticized film.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A sequel that surpasses expectations

9/10
Author: blackberrybabe from Moline, Illinois
1 May 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Being a huge fan of Robert Downey Jr., I naturally want to see everything that he is in. When I found out that he was Iron Man, I was intrigued and excited. I loved the first movie and eagerly anticipated the second one. When it came out, I was worried it would not live up to my expectations.

I needn't have worried; the movie surpassed my expectation. To be honest, I didn't know what to expect. I just wanted the relationship between Stark and Potts to develop more. I liked that there were links to other Avenger characters, such as the mention of New Mexico and a drawing of the Tesseract. At the time, of course, I didn't make the connection because I hadn't seen any of the other Avenger movies. Now that I have, I look for the hints that are cleverly placed in all films.

Robert Downey Jr. once again shines as Tony Stark. You see his vulnerability in this one when he realizes that the palladium heart he uses to stay alive is also what is killing him. Downey, of course, makes Tony real. He makes mistakes and then tries to recover from them. He is arrogant and egotistical, humble and scared. Downey allows Tony to show all of these emotions without making him a caricature. He really is one of the greatest actors of his generation.

Returning as Pepper Potts is Gwyneth Paltrow. As in the first film, Potts does not have a lot to do but still needs to be rescued. Paltrow plays Potts well; at one point I wanted to throw something at her for the way she treats Tony. I get that she's irritated by his behavior, but the fact that he's trying to make amends should count for something yet she doesn't think so. Paltrow is perfect.

Don Cheadle takes over the role of Colonel James Rhodes from Terrance Howard. I really wanted to hate Cheadle; Howard was so perfect as Rhodey. However, Cheadle did a great job and at times, I forgot that Howard didn't return to the sequel. We get to see Cheadle suit up in this one as War Machine and I loved when both he and Stark teamed up for battle.

Academy Award winner Mickey Rourke is Ivan Vankov, a Russian determined to get revenge on Tony for what Howard Stark did to his father. Rourke is convincing as Vankov, carrying the Russian accent perfectly and makes you believe that he really is Vankov. One interesting thing to note is that the beautiful bird that was in the film was at the request of Rourke. He wanted Vankov to have a human side and have love for something, and so the bird was added into the film. This was a risky move that works. Although you know that he's up to no good, you can't help but like him when he requests that his bird is with him when he works.

The rest of the cast is rounded out with Sam Rockwell, Scarlett Johansson, Clark Gregg and Samuel L. Jackson. Of course, each is wonderful in their roles. It was nice to see Jackson and Gregg return as their characters from S.H.I.E.L.D. and introduce us to Johansson as well. There's a bit of a hint as to who she really is early in the film when she takes Happy down in a boxing move, but you have a tendency to forget that until her alter ego of Natasha Romanov is revealed.

Graphics play a huge part in this movie and rightfully so. Tony is an innovator and a step ahead of modern technology. It makes me hope that everything he uses will eventually be in every household in the world. Audi also makes a guest appearance when Tony drives a few of his cars in the film.

Many people were worried that Iron Man 2 wouldn't be as good as the first one, but those worries were quickly put to rest. For a sequel, it is everything it should be. Here's hoping the bar is raised even higher in Iron Man 3.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 75: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history