IMDb > Get Him to the Greek (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Get Him to the Greek
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Get Him to the Greek More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 20:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 195 reviews in total 

160 out of 259 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic Spin-Off

9/10
Author: imbrokened from United States
5 June 2010

Opening up with the shooting of Aldos Snow's latest music video and then showing his downward spiral that leads to present day was the hilarious, perfect beginning for this innovative comedic spin-off. If you saw 'Forgetting Sarah Marshall' then this is exactly what you would expect a movie about Aldos Snow to be like. This movie has a heart that I did not expect to see, it's buried under lewd, vulgar and brilliant wit, but it's in there.

Russell Brand just opens his mouth and his words are comedic gold. Jonah Hill takes a step out of his comfort zone, a bit, and plays a "no confidence good guy". (Usually he's the overconfident prick, for all you naysayers). Diddy delivers a surprisingly strong performance that I'm sure shocked anyone who sees him. He's actually hilarious! His repartee with everyone he comes into contact with is spot-on. The entire cast has hilarious one-liners and the two main characters really make this movie a joy to watch.

The plot is actually a creative one, something we don't see a lot of nowadays. Albeit the humor treads into "familiar gross-out" jokes, there are clever jokes too. But it's all you have to expect when following "Rock and Roll personified". Another point I was surprised by was that a lot... a lot of the scenes from the trailers were not in the movie. I thought that was a good and bad thing. Good because it didn't show us stuff we've already seen and gave us the chance to see new stuff. But bad because a few of the scenes were real funny.

For the critics who are hating this movie: Do you like comedy? Do you like Apatow's stuff? Do you like Russell Brand or Jonah Hill? If the answer is no to any 2 of these... why are you reviewing this movie? Your opinion is pointless for the people that actually DO like these movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

51 out of 90 people found the following review useful:

Was expecting more laughs.

5/10
Author: stmaartengirl45 from United States
10 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I kept hearing Get Him to the Greek, being compared to The Hangover, which I loved and thought extremely funny. Get Him to the Greek was at times more disturbing, pathetic, and gross than funny. I should have waited for it to come out on video. Normally you can hear people laugh around you, but I do not recall hearing anyone really laughing. My son, son-in-law and daughter also saw it. They said they liked it but they usually will instantly start talking about the movie and playing out some of the scenes, but that did not happen either. So it leads me to feel, they were not very thrilled by it. My son actually said he could have done without the threesome scene. They all agreed, not near as good as The Hangover.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Great

9/10
Author: M Eridion from Heidelberg, Germany
26 August 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Unexpectedly funny, with many celebrity cameos, very grotesque on-drugs characters... Develops the same charm as "Fear and loathing in Las Vegas" while maintaining a certain message and character development.

The movie picks up issues most people (obviously - judging by other review s here on IMDb - not all) have thought or dreamed about. How would it be to go anywhere anytime you want, have any woman you want, use drugs whenever you want. Would it be a lonely life, is it destructive? What would you do or react if you were thrown into such a lifestyle, if only for a few days?

This movie made me laugh heartily while giving me things to think about. Absolutely grand and absolutely hilarious.

WARNING: Expect this movie to be an underachiever concerning ratings because of moralists all over the world though. So if you're an open minded person, easily add 20% to your average rating and enjoy!

Very fun movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

I sure did laugh, but this spin-off eventually wears a little thin, and sometimes gets kind of disturbing

6/10
Author: Electrified_Voltage from Guelph, Ontario, Canada
28 March 2011

The now very famous but widely despised Russell Brand made his breakthrough in 2008's "Forgetting Sarah Marshall", in which he played Aldous Snow, the lead singer of the fictional rock band, Infant Sorrow. In this 2010 spin-off sequel, the comedian got to reprise his role from the previous film, but this time, it was one of the two lead roles. As frightening as this may sound to a lot of people, I do think Brand is a funny comedian, and I found the 2008 Apatow Productions film he appeared in to be an overall funny and satisfying farce, so I was obviously interested in seeing this follow-up. I wasn't expecting "Get Him to the Greek" to be as good, and had noticed a lot of criticism of it, making my expectations a little lower. It turned out that I found it a LOT funnier than many others have, but it certainly doesn't stay as consistent as it could.

Infant Sorrow frontman Aldous Snow, whose current girlfriend is pop star Jackie Q, makes an album with his band called "African Child", with the title track as a single, but this turns out to be a critical and commercial disaster! The singer has now been sober for seven years, but his relationship with Jackie fails, and he relapses, abusing alcohol and illegal drugs again after all these years! This makes him spiral out of control and ruin his career! Meanwhile, Aaron Green is a lowly Los Angeles talent scout who works for Pinnacle Records, a company which is currently in a financial rut. He is also a hardcore Infant Sorrow fan, so he suggests to Pinnacle Records head Sergio Roma, who is looking for ideas to save the company, that they have Aldous perform at the Greek Theatre on the tenth anniversary of his big show at that venue. Sergio sends Aaron on a flight to London to escort the washed-up rock star to Los Angeles, and tells him he has 72 hours to get the man to the Greek Theatre. Unfortunately, several complications will make it difficult for Aaron and Aldous to make it to this major gig on time!

Aware of the criticism by the time I watched this, I thought maybe it really would turn out to be lame, and a major disappointment after "Forgetting Sarah Marshall", but that wasn't the case for me. I soon found myself laughing (sometimes lightly) as the film shows Aldous and his girlfriend and what goes wrong. More funny parts follow as we are introduced to Aaron Green and his life in L.A., and at this point, it helps that Sean "P. Diddy" Combs is funny as the short-tempered Sergio Roma. There are times when the film lags around this point, but not usually. I think it gets funnier when Aaron meets Aldous in London, and we hear what Aldous' mother thinks of his father. On the flight back to the United States, the conversation between Aaron and Aldous is another comic highlight, with Aaron admitting what he really thinks of "African Child" and the Infant Sorrow frontman's reaction to this. The big laughs continue with all the problems these two characters face as the talent scout tries to get the singer to their destination before the time is up. Sure, there are some pretty lame gags, but these are fairly rare. However, after a while, it wears a bit thin, and it sometimes gets kind of disturbing with Aldous' drug problems and what happens when he gets Aaron to smoke some of these drugs without the talent scout knowing, though I'm certainly not saying that it's all straight-faced from this point on.

Other viewers can hate this movie and look down on anyone who likes it all they want, but after watching such lousy attempts at comedy as "Ed", "My Boss's Daughter", and "The Master of Disguise" recently, I have to say that this one is a LOT funnier than those! "Get Him to the Greek" is the first comedy I've seen in a few weeks that has actually made me laugh a lot, so I have to give it credit for that! Still, even all those bad comedies didn't make this one look like a work of genius to me, as I could still see the flaws in it, which eventually get more significant as the movie progresses. Since this is another effort from Apatow Productions, you can obviously expect it to be very raunchy, and some scenes could gross you out, but even if you can take this and are prepared for it, and even if you like "Forgetting Sarah Marshall", you could find "Get Him to the Greek" disappointing. Still, while many would disagree, I certainly think it could have been MUCH worse, and it can obviously please certain audiences.

Was the above review useful to you?

51 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

Not Very Funny

4/10
Author: zardoz-13 from United States
26 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

They should have called this movie "My Favorite Rock Star" because "Forgetting Sarah Marshall" director Nicholas Stoller scenarist Jason Segel look like the Peter O'Toole comedy "My Favorite Year" inspired them. Pinnacle Record President Sergio Roma (Sean Combs) is searching for a surefire hit to keep his brood of kids in Air Jordans when an intern Aaron Green (Jonah Hill of "Super Bad") suggest that they stage a comeback concert at the Greek Theater for washed up British rocker Aldous Snow (Russell Brand of "Forgetting Sarah Marshall")whose career tanked after he produced an album called "African Child." Sergio packs Aaron off on a trans-Atlantic flight to London to pick up Snow and bring him back in 72 hours. Meanwhile, Aaron and his live-in girlfriend Daphne (Elisabeth Moss of "Did You Hear About the Morgans?") are having relationship woes. She is a hospital intern who is worked so hard that she doesn't get to spend much time with Aaron. She finds a job in Seattle that would give them more time together, but it would force Aaron to look for a new job. They decide to break up and Aaron flies off to England. Of course, the comedy here is that Aldous is a drugged-out rock & roller who cannot get enough booze and narcotics into his system while straight-laced Aaron does his best to keep him off drugs and get him onto the plane. The irony is that Aaron eventually winds up doing all of Aldous's narcotics. At one point, Aaron has to stuff a ball of heroin up his anus so that the two of them can slip past the airport checkers. Aaron discovers what it is like to be a free-wheeling, drugged out guy and gets laid once in a bathroom by a woman and later is raped by a drugged out Vegas chick called Destiny who stuffs a dildo up his butt while she straddles him in bed. Indeed, poor Aaron does virtually everything to nurse maid Aldous to the concert. The jokes are not that funny and the formulaic characters are far from sympathetic, despite the fact that Aldous redeems himself and Aaron becomes Aldous' producer. Incidentally, Aaron and Daphne hook back up and make it to Seattle. Sean Combs delivers one of the funniest performances and Colm Meaney of "Con Air" isn't far behind him as Aldous' father Jonathan Snow. Kristen Bell appears in a cameo.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Completely Ridiculous... and Awesome!

8/10
Author: BwSwim from United States
10 June 2010

This movie was great. I expected considering how much I enjoyed Forgetting Sarah Marshall, and how much I enjoy Jonah Hill in general. I was not disappointed. The only reason that I did not give this movie a higher rating was because it was so ridiculous and unbelievable. I could not stop laughing out loud in the theater and neither could the rest of the audience (which was decent sized for a mid week night time showing after release). If you do not like drinking, drugs, and sex than I would recommend that you do not even come close to this one. It is above the top in all three of those aspects. You may be offended by some things, but that is the whole point of the movie... enjoy it. See it soon, I foresee this one growing in popularity as word of mouth spreads. 8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

59 out of 111 people found the following review useful:

Very very funny

8/10
Author: cadillac20 from Culver City, California
5 June 2010

When I saw the trailers for Greek, they looked moderately funny. I hadn't seen Sarah Marshal, so I had no idea what that was all about. But, reviews were good and I thought, hey, what the heck. What I found was a very funny Apatow-filmish take on the rock n roll film. All the elements of a usual Apatow troop film are there: focus on unusual moments, sex drugs and gross out humor, friendship and some serious moments, and the breaking down of typical film trappings. Suffice to say, this is a great summer comedy.

The film, as many know, charges Allen Green with getting washed up rock star Aldous Snow to the Greek Theater in LA for a 10th anniversary concert. As one would guess, things don't go accordingly, and a whole lot of comedy ensues. The film, more than anything, is essentially a rock pic. It's about the life of this rock star who has burned out his bulb and is attempting to put in a new one. And as Aldous Snow, Russel Brand is fantastic. He truly embodies this rock star and you feel he really IS this character. He boozes it up, drugs it up, sexes it up, and whatever other manner of things a rock star might abuse. He's a mess of a guy, and like so many famous people who have gone south, he's a complicated person who has let fame get the best of him. This is translated extremely well. Despite all the comedy, this is an excellent rock and roll biopic type film. Jonah Hill is great as the lead character with baggage of his own and he does what he does best here, although he plays a more awkward kind of character versus his geek-in- charge style that we're so accustomed too.

Stealing the show, however, is Sean Combs, who plays Green's boss Sergio. Every scene he is in is hilarious and he is surprisingly funny. It was definitely pleasant to see him pull off such a funny role. The other supporting characters are great, doing a fine job of being very funny themselves. Most of the film falls into stages of comedy bits, and all are pretty damned hilarious. There's nothing here that's too ridiculous, which is nice. There is once scene that kind of makes you raise a brow, but it's just so damn funny, you forget how insane it is. And that's really the charm of the film. Everything about it is larger than life, yet believable. This is exactly why it perfectly molds both the rock star film and an Apatow comedy so perfectly. It's the kind of comedy you would expect it to be, while not knowing exactly what is going to happen. If you don't like these kinds of comedies, this one may not be for you. But if you've enjoyed other films like Sarah Marshal, Pineapple Express, and other Apatow troop films, you'll find Greek hilarious. I know I did.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

A film of two halves

5/10
Author: tomgillespie2002 from United Kingdom
3 June 2011

The comedy films of writer/producer/director Judd Apatow have somewhat dominated the last eight years or so. As well as being commercial hits, they have been lauded by critics for their sweet approach to comedy, blended with gross-out aspects and genuinely good scriptwriting. Apart from his best works - The 40-Year Old Virgin, Superbad, Knocked Up - his films can often be lazy, relying on quirky randomness to get through. The overrated Anchorman, which has somehow become a massive cult hit, was the biggest example of this, and although I could watch Will Ferrell all day, the film just felt like it was desperately trying to get through to the other side. Get Him To The Greek is another example of this.

Music producer Aaron Green (Jonah Hill) convinces his somewhat angry boss (Sean Combs) that an anniversary concert for failing rock star Aldous Snow (Russell Brand) is the way forward. Convinced, Green is sent to London to collect Snow and take him on a few promotional spots before arriving back in America for his concert. Snow would rather have endless parties, take lots of drugs, and sleep with lots of women - which is okay with Green, only he has an angry boss on his ass and a girlfriend (played by Mad Men's Elisabeth Moss) who he's not sure has broken up with him or not.

This is really a film of two halves. The first being genuinely funny - with Brand breathing likability into his somewhat loathsome character, and the exchanges between Hill and Diddy being a particular highlight. This is coming from a person that hates Russell Brand. I mean I really, really hate him. But the charm that everyone else seems to see only becomes apparent to me when on the screen. Here he reprises his role from Forgetting Sarah Marshall, where I was surprised with his comic timing. When the second half comes around, I began hating him again.

The film simply runs out of ideas, throwing in a troubled father-son relationship between Brand and his Las Vegas-based father Jonathan Snow (Colm Meaney) that is of no interest. It also throws up one of the unfunniest scenes in the film, with Hill being smashed on a 'jeffrey' (a mix up of a variety of drugs smoked like a joint) and stroking a furry wall while Brand and Meaney fight. It resorts to scenes like this because it has no more jokes to tell, and combined with Aldous Snow's increasingly crap and unfunny array of songs, it all feels like it just wants to end.

Sadly, a more interesting sub-plot that reveals Snow's serious drug habit crops up then seemingly fades out without being properly explored. It could have added another dimension to Snow's character, and stopped him becoming a whiny and annoying protagonist. That said, the first half is funny enough to make it worth a watch, and Sean Combs near enough steals the entire film.

www.the-wrath-of-blog.blogspot.com

Was the above review useful to you?

39 out of 74 people found the following review useful:

t's an acquired humor that I will never find funny._spoiler_

1/10
Author: Jessica Savage from USA
18 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After watching this movie, I am pretty sure I will never watch anything by this director or anything starring Russell Brand or Jonah Hill. The movie was quite distasteful with the idea that you should help your friends by doing anything you can even if it includes: over abuse of drugs, dropping off the wounded in front of a hospital, sticking drugs in your rectum in an airport, and ridiculous kinds of unnecessary sex (some in bathrooms - gross, suggested and almost forced threesomes, cheating). So your health means nothing as long as your friends or your work are satisfied with your loyalty? I should mention there was a quasi-rape scene that was absolutely unnecessary. Not a woman being raped, but Jonah Hill with a dildo. Wow, not something I'd ever like to see or think about. By the way, if you were "jones-ing" to see Jonah Hill's overweight bare naked bottom, then this is the movie for you! No thank you. Not only was the movie semi-musical, but the songs were treacherous and completely stupid in context.

I have seen other things with Russell Brand and Jonah Hill, two comedic actors. Two actors that I have not found the least bit funny among actors such as, Jason Segel and Seth Rogan. I always thought this was due to their roles being minor in certain movies. Instead, I was right with my own judgment that I should have not seen this movie - even though I saw it.... This movie was not worth watching, making, or filming. It's an acquired humor that I will never find funny.

Was the above review useful to you?

114 out of 224 people found the following review useful:

A Hilarious Spin-off

Author: desiplaya from United States
21 April 2010

I was lucky enough to see this movie tonight as an advanced screening at my school.

It is the funniest movie of the year so far and I think it will be a sleeper hit like The Hangover was last year. I loved Russel Brand's character in Forgetting Sarah Marshall, but I was bit hesitant to see an entire movie based around the character. If you feel the same way as I did, stop! This was an excellent spin off with a great cast. If you love movies like Superbad and The Hangover, you will not be disappointed with this. Although, don't go in expecting another Forgetting Sarah Marshall, which is more of a romantic comedy. This is just 108 minutes (approx) of pure fun and a lot of crude humor.

Russel Brand, Jonah Hill, and Diddy are flat out hilarious. I'll go far as to say that Diddy's character Sergio is to this movie as Russell Brand's Aldous Snow was to Forgetting Sarah Marshall. There are a lot of hilarious lines throughout the movie and a couple of awesome cameos.

I haven't laughed as much as I did tonight since I first saw The Hangover last year. If you love comedies, then don't miss this! I highly recommend it.

9/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 20:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history