IMDb > No Greater Love (2009/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
No Greater Love
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
No Greater Love More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

19 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

A Pleasant Surprise

7/10
Author: vilj-1 from United States
7 May 2010

I ordered this film online from my public library, without knowing too much about it. Once I got it and I read the DVD jacket, and saw that it was a Christian film, I was hesitant about watching it. I decided to do so and I was pleasantly surprised. The film was very entertaining with a good plot line and good acting all-around. It has a wholesome message about faith, marriage, friendship, forgiveness and life in general. To me, the film was a little "preachy" but I learned something from it and I enjoyed watching it. To tell you the truth, I have no idea why I ordered this film, since I had not heard anything about it and it was not reviewed in my hometown newspapers. Maybe it was meant to be.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Excellent independent romance that used mainly internet and word of mouth and surprised the movie making world

Author: HobbitHole from Czech Republic
17 February 2010

Straight to DVD is usually done for films studios don't think will make it in the theater and so they dump it off (like some of Disney's animated sequels).

However, in this case, the strategy was to involve people who already were searching for a good romance story (not the usual sex comedy that gets called a romance story these days) and also people of faith who would like to show it in groups as well as own a copy themselves and used outlets such as people connector websites, etc. to get buzz going and then released it so people could get it via retailers (like Wal- Mart, Target, etc )and online providers (Amazon.com,etc. which had it as number 1 in both family films and Christian films in terms of sales).

It's not the typical 'hit you over the head' type 'message' film that we've seen so many of or the ones where the actors could barely pass for low budget TV actors.

This was a well thought out and directed story.

In the opinion of a friend who repaired film projectors both military and private for a living and thus has also gotten to watch a lot of films, quite possibly the best made film by Christians that even non- believers will see and not be turned off in the first 10 minutes.

Give it a watch.

I rated it maybe higher than I would just because the early voting (if you can call 15 votes voting) seemed to only be the pessimistic.

Those that watched it and enjoyed it have families with kids and have more to do that write reviews for online sites. I hope many will get to it soon so that even more will seek it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Awesome Movie!!

Author: asbarratt-181-666602 from United States
8 October 2011

This movie was a very well done movie and the acting was superb. It was just as well done as some larger budget films and had a great message of the power of love and forgiveness. The actors did an awesome job. The whole picture from the acting to the script was very well done. Another great family film that you will enjoy having in your own personal library and church library. Also a great movie to use as an outreach tool for unsaved family and friends. A great love story as well and how the power of God can totally transform a family. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes a good feel good movie and a enjoys a good love story. If you enjoyed any of the Sherwood Baptist films you will enjoy this movie as well. Excellent film.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

It's OK, but the story needs some work!

Author: prairiestar from United States
4 August 2012

I normally love Christian films, and overall, I liked the plot in this - but the script does have some faults.

First, Jeff KNEW he had never signed the divorce papers, so legally he was still married... yet he is getting ready to PROPOSE to another lady?! Seriously??

Next, the reasoning behind Heather not wanting to move back in with Jeff is a bit twisted. She should've just expressed concern about the fact that she is now a Christian and he is not. Instead they use the excuse that she shouldn't marry a non-believer, according to the Bible.

However, the reason most Christians don't believe in divorce and remarriage is because when we marry, we make our vows before God, so even if we divorce, in the eyes of God, we are STILL married. Since they were previously married, they were technically STILL married, divorce papers or not. I can't imagine ANY Christian pastor not encouraging a couple to restore their marriage. It wasn't like she was wanting to marry someone ELSE. Even if Jeff HAD signed the divorce papers, he was STILL her husband in God's eyes. The movie has this part of the plot completely twisted and perverted, in my opinion!!

Lastly, throughout the movie, it shows Jeff's faults, of always putting work before family. But there is nothing at the end to show he really changes from this behavior. He does tell her, "I want what you have," but if I'd written the story, I would've had Jeff eventually coming to church with her, and finally make an open profession to accept Jesus.

The acting was good, and I'm giving it an 8 simply because I was glad for a story about a restored marriage, instead of the usual "forget the ex, find someone new" story line we usually see.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Its about time we see a movie with a deeper meaning !!!

10/10
Author: evarvaras from United States
20 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I absolutely loved this movie. I stayed up till 3:00 am to finish watching it. I though the ending was great. This is a great family movie that reminds us how we can all overcome our mistakes and tough times in life by believing in something bigger than ourselves. I wish more movies were like this. A movie with lots of emotion and suspense and unconditional love and kindness. Love that is based on faith, respect, and compassion for one another lasts forever. This movie teaches us that nothing is coincidence and that everything happens for a reason. I could see why an atheist or a non-Christian would not rent this movie. But if they do, they may find that it has meaning to them. That something bigger than ourselves always looks after us no matter what struggles and challenges we endure. Please rent it. It is a bit of a tear jerker at times which is what makes it feel so real.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Very Satisfying

8/10
Author: gsellars-1 from United States
11 November 2012

I have to echo asbarratt's review, yet without quite as much praise for the acting. Not that there was anything wrong with it--there isn't, but, I didn't think it really deserved a "superb" because there wasn't anything really outstanding about it. The characters are handled well, the dialog is pretty standard for a Christian movie, and I really like movies where "the good guys win" and likewise, where evil doesn't triumph.

That's the problem I have with so many movies--they simply don't represent reality when they pretend to be doing so.

I have nothing against fantasy movies and like very many of them, but injecting false paradigms in "reality" movies is very annoying to me and that's where most Hollywood movies fail and this one succeeds.

That's why I rated it so highly. Because I like movies that represent things well, and this is superb in that regard.

It is a "feel good" movie and the title is well chosen. If you love chick flicks, have a tender heart, or like happy endings, this movie is better than the current "5.6" rating it's received.

Was the above review useful to you?

My Favorite Wife

5/10
Author: bkoganbing from Buffalo, New York
21 February 2016

Among the previous reviewers of No Greater Love there must not have been any classic movie fans. If so they would have immediately recognized the plot My Favorite Wife here. The only difference is that in the period of separation of wife Danielle Bisutti instead of her spending time with someone like Randolph Scott on a desert island Bisutti descends into the depths of degradation before finding religion.

Bisutti is the Irene Dunne character and the Cary Grant character is Anthony Tyler Quinn. He's a workaholic husband with little time for wife and kid who grows up to be Aaron Sanders. She's been gone for ten years and he's thinking his son needs a mom. Work associate Alexis Boozer Sterling might fill the bill and he proposes.

But in those mysterious ways Sanders finds Bisutti at some church youth group, her act all cleaned up and soon enough Quinn does as well. The problem now is that Quinn is not a believer.

Cary Grant and Irene Dunne seemed to work it out without reference to religion. But as this is a Christian film it has to follow certain parameters.

Nevertheless this one is not overtly preachy and it's entertaining and I love happy endings.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Excellent film for Christians and those wanting to understand Christians better

9/10
Author: avocadess from United States
19 May 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I found the first "introductory" part of the film (if that is what it was) a bit off-putting. I started to wonder if I was watching a Christian tutorial rather than a movie. I have only watched it once, (just got it), so I'm not sure what that was, but I think it would have been better put after the film or as some separate category.

I'm glad I watched past those confusing first minutes. This movie was very well made, well scripted and very well acted, especially by the lead and supporting actors.

I have not seen a LOT of Christian movies, but at least half a dozen or more, and I thought this was the most amazing, by far.

The way the storyline is written on IMDb is not exactly correct, it gives of a good gist of what is going on in the movie.

Something fascinating is going on in this movie. A woman who was not a Christian when she fell into a life of alcohol and whatever else, became a Christian during the ten years after she left her former life (and baby) behind. And, as is the true case, when a person becomes born again in Christ s/he becomes a new creation. Same body, same memories, same basic personality -- but new, and with a new priority and perspective in life. It is both subtle to "see" as well as enigmatic to experience, whether in one's own self or seeing it in another.

This film went to depths I cannot honestly say I have ever seen in any other film, Christian or non. As to the person who called it "preachy," I beg to disagree. Explaining the Christian perspective is not preachy; it is simply a communication. I found this movie to be very non-preachy. I also found it interesting how no one actually seemed to "push" for the lead male character to consider becoming a Christian. Had that happened, then I would have agreed it was preachy. But that did NOT happen.

The film also covered the worries and doubts of a newer Christian finding herself/himself in the "same" situation but with new parameters. Heather did not expect her "ex" to want her back. She was more ready for him to marry his "new" girlfriend. When the tables turned back to her and he wanted to be married to her, she remembered some of his bad habits in their former life together and worried about being married to him again as a Christian who would feel she had to "submit" to him. This is just one of many angles explored in the film.

Another reviewer criticized Heather for not just coming out and saying that she didn't feel she could remarry him because of her Christian walk. But it's not that simple. There are many layers to the situation and she was trying to make her way through, at times her faith faltering. She was so very grateful that she had been forgiven; but really was not prepared for the possibility of reuniting to the family as wife and mother. That is a big deal -- and the film treated it as such.

I'm lucky. I bought the DVD at the library not really knowing what to expect, and this is a film I know I will enjoy again and again.

One last note: I found it strange that Lionsgate, at the beginning of the DVD, felt a need to basically say, "Lionsgate does not agree with the opinions in this film" or some such. Was that really necessary? (No, it was not!)

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history