Bitch Slap (2009) Poster


User Reviews

Review this title
53 Reviews
Sort by:
Its all in the title really
scored27 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I'm surprised this has scored so low, now its not Oscar material, but really what sort of movie do you expect? Its a slick, tongue in cheek, entertaining romp which surprised me and left me with a "better than I expected" kinda feeling. Looks like the crew took some risks and in my opinion I reckon paid off. Been a couple of years since I saw it and I may need to escape for nearly 2 hours I'm going to give it a whirl again.

The problem is its not the deer hunter, harry potter, mission impossible, kill bill, schindlers list or hamlet. Hmm! is a movie called bitch slap going to appeal to my guardian reading, yoghurt weaving, bleeding hart liberal mind??? The promo poster clearly represented exactly what kind of movie is was going to be and with those expectations I'm voting a 10.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
If you like boobs and blood, this one is a good one.
king_of_queens198718 December 2009
Starts off like a cheap porn movie, but turns out as quite a good action movie, Tarantino style. Lots of blood and violence. A lot of nice (mean but also in a good way) and nude girls. A story that rather falls in the background by what you get to see. Funny special effects that are not all that bad and fit the movie quite well. Lots of nice girls. Cat fights among hot girls. More girls, and yeah well, naked girls. This movie lives up to its title "bitch slap" rules this movie. And it has got Hercules, Kevin Sorbo in it. All in all if you are bored and got 1 1/2 hours to kill, give this movie a go but don't expect an A movie, more of a good B movie.
62 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bitch Slap (2009)
SnakesOnAnAfricanPlain13 September 2012
Bitch Slap sees a gang of scantily clad ladies journey into the desert in an attempt to steal 200 million dollars worth of diamonds. If you're a fan of trashy exploitation flicks and love guns, cleavage, and women getting out of cars in slow-motion, then Bitch Slap was made with you in mind. It's fun, it's hyperactive, and it's a film that does not disappoint. Never promising to be more than it is, it succeeds in being more fun and funnier than one would expect. It's the kind of film where they take a break from the plot in order for the women to just pour water over each other. Many memorable scenes take place as a ridiculous but engaging plot unravels. I hope we can see more films like Bitch Slap over the next decade.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Fun Russ Meyer Tribute
locohombre8013 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
The name says it all. I'm not sure why this movie ended up at the Fangoria Festival. It's not a horror movie. Not even close. The catalog advertised it as a Russ Meyer tribute which tells you what to expect.

There's a group of attractive young women with ridiculous names like Camero. They're bad girls who go after a crime boss in the desert. That's the extent of it. The plot is secondary to the sex and mayhem.

This was definitely a fun movie. I've read that a lot of green screen was used but it wasn't as distracting as some have claimed. I have no idea why Jamesbond would have compared it to Rocky Horror. Maybe it was the only cult movie he had ever seen. Rocky Horror it's not, but it's a great looking time waster.
27 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Stupid, boring, and no nudity as others would have you believe
Bob Bitching3 March 2010
Warning: Spoilers
This is another very low budget piece of mindless idiotic movie.

I've seen some previous post on here stating that it has lots of nude scenes. Well that's not true at all. There is maybe one quick scene where you get a boob shot, but that's about it. So if that's what you are looking for, don't bother.

If it's a Quentin Tarantino type of movie you are looking for, again pass up on this one.

I've seen better plots and acting in middle school plays. If you are a 12 year old boy, then this might do it for you. If your brain dead, this might do it for you. If you love Steven Seagal movies, this might do it for you. If you have an IQ above 75, then this not for you.
26 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Weak satire/homage of material that was already a spoof and satire of itself to start with.
dbborroughs10 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
It begins with one of our heroines sitting bruised and broken in the middle of carnage and looking up and wondering aloud how it all came to this.

I was wondering the same thing.

This is a send up/homage/satire of the bad girls gone worse genre that Russ Meyer did so well (for some tastes anyway). It has three well endowed girls going after a fortune held by a crime lord and chronicles the death and destruction that follows. Its very tongue in cheek with an over abundance of close ups of the female form, pithy dialog and lots of violence.

The trouble is that the film is essentially sending up material that was sending itself up to start. Meyer was a very knowing filmmaker and its kind of hard to be any more knowing then he was. The other trouble is that in order to send up the material the filmmakers here have tried to take an intentionally "bad" take on some things. the bump up and inflate things to the point of silliness. The trouble was that the type of film that they are sending up were more often then not played painfully straight which is what made them so much fun. If you play the material with any sort of real knowing the films become unbearable (Russ Meyer was one of the very few people who ever managed to make the knowingness work).

I found the film to be a waste of my time. I get the jokes, I get the idea behind it (I could probably quote you the films this is riffing on) but I don't think it works at all. No thats not true, this is a five minute SNL sketch stretched to 100 minutes. This is one of the couple dozen recent and semi recent films that have been made in the wake of Quentin Tarantino's re-purposing exploitation classics as mainstream films (think Grindhouse, Kill Bill or Inglorious Basterds). Everyone seems to think that they can do what Tarantino does, but its clear that few people understand that he's not just sending up the schlock masterpieces but taking the good parts and making something more out of them (And as much as I complain about Tarantino I must insist that I do so because I think he is wasting his talent).

Frankly there are better ways to spend your time, like watching a Russ Meyer film or one of the real exploitation films this film tries to emulate and send up (Better yet, go find one of the films by the late great Claudia Jennings and you'll see how unnecessary this film was).
22 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Modest, unpretentious, and very likable
ph-681 August 2010
Bitchslap is a young unpretentious movie, no big names, no big budget. It has a story to tell, which involves six lovely breasts, and it tells its story with tightly focused exuberance, excitement, and a certain sense of wonder. There's none of that old Hollywood cynicism, no gratuitous manipulation of the viewer, no wandering, no missteps.

We're promised three lovely ladies who alternately fondle or beat the daylight out of each other and every passing male, and we get that. In loving slow motion, with dramatic explosions, bullets, and music, gallons of water, blood, and gasoline, and dialog that takes cinematic intellectualism out into the back yard and beats it to a pulp with a heavy shovel.

You can watch any movie on many levels. Don't go into this one expecting a complex plot, deep characterization, or philosophical questions. It's a cartoon based around breasts that does not demean women. This by itself should satisfy many of us. However, it is an intellectual movie in some ways, especially in its treatment of gender.

The tight focus and almost perfect presentation makes me think the team behind this really enjoyed making the movie and will give us more of the same, probably more sophisticated and ambitious, in the future.
23 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Ultimate Feminist Action Movie
chicagopoetry9 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
In the vein of Quentin Tarantino's Planet Terror, Bitch Slap is a salute to feminist cult classics such as Faster Pussycat! Kill! Kill! Produced in a colorful, visually stunning graphic novel style, there is never a dull moment or a wasted scene in this hilariously overly dramatic shocker. Even the most absurd bits are performed with a straight face and overall this outrageously entertaining over the edge superhero epic comes off as completely sincere. This is not a parody of a B-movie, this is the real deal, long drawn out scenes of lesbianism, cat fights, abuse to any male unfortunate enough to come across our three gorgeous, big breasted anti-heroes, 007 gadgets as well as flashbacks reminiscent of Pulp Fiction. The horribly campy dialog is so well written that you won't be able to get the word "kooterlicious" out of your mind for a long time. Bitch Slap is as fun as a barrel of monkeys tossed into a pit of jello. If you like action and hot chicks: this is a MUST SEE!
43 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Russ Meyer inspired throwback is high on creative grindhouse style but falls short on earning cult status...
jmaruyama13 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Rick Jacobson's "Bitch Slap" is not for everyone. With it's off-the-wall violent action, campy humor, emphasis on "Sexploitation" and "grindhouse" styled look it seems to want to cater to the film school/B-Movie fanatics and Tarantino devotees but unfortunately with its loopy story and in-your-face attitude may not win over an increasingly jaded audience already having already seen "Sin City", "Crank" and "Smokin' Aces".

Clearly, "Bitch Slap" is Jacobson's tribute to Russ Meyer, whose raunchy but fun trash cinema of the 60's and 70's films such as "Beyond The Valley of the Dolls" and "Super Vixens" inspired a generation of cult movie directors and films. "Bitch Slap" is a homage in particular to Meyer's cult classic "Faster Pussycat! Kill! Kill! Kill! (a personal favorite) and even has scenes from "Pussycat..." in the fun opening visual montage which also references other sexploitation films and icons of the 60s and 70s like Betty Page, "Bonnie & Clyde", "They Call Her One Eye", Pam Grier and others. It definitely sets the viewer up for what to expect - beautiful women,saucy dialog, teasing sex and mindless fun.

The story seems simple enough - three gorgeous, buxom but desperate women attempt to retrieve a cache of stolen diamonds worth millions from a corrupt cop but soon find themselves involved with more they bargained for when they find out it now belongs to a legendary, faceless and ruthless criminal mastermind known only as "Pinky". The three lead characters have pretty interesting pasts to be sure: Hel (Erin Cummings) is a classy con artist and thief who in actuality is Foxy 69, a secret agent in the style of James Bond (or more appropriately Raquel Welch's Fathom Harvill from "Fanthom"); her partners in crime are "Camerro"(America Olivio) an out-of-control bad-ass blondie who becomes increasingly unhinged throughout the course of the film; and sweet-faced Trixie (the stunning Julia Voth), who has a body to die for and whose naive and innocent personality seems too good to be true. As movie clichés go, not only are these girls well-versed in guns and martial arts but they are also horny lesbians (any male movie goers dream).

Eric Gruendemann and Rick Jacobson's story borrows a lot from Bryan Singer/Christopher McQuarrie's brilliant "The Usual Suspects" but unfortunately the "Keyser Soze" type reveal seems a bit too much and as the movie unfolds the details of the whole story (told in annoying flashbacks) the story becomes increasingly outlandish and unbelievable. Even the ending which goes for a M. Night Shyamalan "Unbreakable" shock seems contrived and forced.

I must admit however that Jacobson's inventive, stylish and hyperactive directive style is pretty enjoyable. Jacobson (who TV fans may know from his work on such campy shows like "Cleaopatra 2525", "She Spies", "Xena: Warrior Princess" and "Hercules: The Legendary Journeys") brings a very Japanese anime, geek culture vibe to the film. It's nothing new considering all the legions of Tarantino-wannabe directors trying to cash in on the MTV video method of movie making but it definitely works here. The dialog tries to replicate the edgy style of a Diablo Cody and Tarantino but also misses the mark.

The three lead actresses are definitely hot and really entice the audience with their beauty. Erin Cummings is great as the cool and classy babe Hel AKA Foxy 69. She has a certain look similar to Desperate Housewive's Marsha Cross and her character is the most likable of the trio. America Olivio is a bit too over-the-top as hellcat "Camerro". As the name suggests she is just out of control with all engines going throughout the film. She's like Tura Satana in "Pussycat..." but a lot more prettier and much more sinister. Her fight scenes with Hel are utterly brutal and even in slow motion are very raw. Those expecting an atypical "catfight" will be pleasantly surprised by the mano-a-mano, no holds barred fight expertly choreographed by in demand stunt woman Zoe Bell.

Julia Voth, looks like a Victoria Secret's model and is absolutely ravishingly in the film. Unfortunately like similar beauty, Megan Fox, her acting leaves much to be desired and hopefully with more films she'll get better.

The supporting cast does try their best to add to the mayhem with varying degrees of success. Michael Hurst (Power Rangers Ninja Storm) makes for an effective atypical Aussie/English bad guy. Ron Melendez (General Hospital) is your standard nice guy in the wrong place at the wrong time. William Gregory Lee (Dante's Cove) is absolutely annoying as a crazed, wacko gangster called Hot Wire. I liked cute Minae Noji (General Hospital) as sailor-suited Japanese "Harajiku Girl" assassin Nicki, who seems like "Kill Bill Vol. 1's Go-Go Yubari, and who wields a yo-yo weapon in homage to the Japanese TV Drama "Sukeban Deka". She could be a member of Japanese girl group AKB48 with her Akihaba inspired costume. Even "Hercules" star Kevin Sorbo makes an appearance as Hel's handler Mr. Phoenix.

"Bitch Slap" is definitely a fun film and despite its many flaws is entertaining in a campy way. Some may find the frequent use of CGI backgrounds a bit distracting (similar to "Sin City" and "Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow") but I found it bearable. While I don't think it will be either a box office hit or a cult movie candidate in years to come, it is still worth watching if you are a fan of Russ Meyer and the sexploitation films of the 70s. It may not be no better than a Vivid Porn release but I think its style is still pretty good.
21 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Possibly the best B-movie ever!!
markhaazen3 March 2012
Bitchslap is a preposterously over-the-top homage to decades old B-movie exploitation, a man's dream-world chock full of slender, tanned women with double-D's. Naturally, when a group of these voluptuous women get together their actions eventually fall back into lesbian sex scenes, homoerotic groping, playful wrestling, and nonstop pillow fights. Or, in this case, a desert scene in which three hot, sweaty women douse each other with buckets of cold water. Extra cold water.

Somewhere in there is a plot involving millions in diamonds hidden like pirate booty, a shady gangster in a banana-hammock, a sexy female spy from the James Bond mold, doesn't really matter does it? This movie doesn't take itself too seriously or deviate from what it actually is. When each woman initially appears on film, it's all long legs, flowing wind-blown hair, and slow-mo cleavage shots. There were times when the ratio of jiggling flesh to shredded fabric was mind-boggling. In addition, the amount of foul language, guns, explosions, and fighting is nearly a parody of a male fantasy. Nearly. The pinnacle is perhaps the most epic of all cat-fights, a seemingly endless battle to the death between two supermodels in skimpy clothing, a war that makes the classic backstreet brawl in They Live look like patty-cakes.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Like Rocky Horror on Steroids....
Jamesbond197417 September 2009
I came into the theatre of the Premier of this film not expecting much, and came out with a smile on my face, and some new one liners in my mind. The Director and Stars of the film were at the premier at the Toronto International Film Festival, the film was shot about 75% on Green Screen, which made it cheesy and fun. I love the fact that this film was made to be a B-Movie, nothing more, nothing less. The soundtrack was great, and the actors were great as well. This film is so much fun, and is going to attracked a cult following. I am so glad that there wasn't any comments before going into the film, and that is why I am just typing and not commenting on what took place, because to go into a film not expecting something and come out with this pleasure of seeing a film that was so well done, is the best feeling in the world. I hope this one comes out, and people start watching it.....
73 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bitchslap Fun
Alonso Mendizabal17 December 2009
This movie is fantastic. I caught this movie with a bunch of other friends and have to say that getting Bitch-slapped has never been so much fun. We didn't really know what to expect when the movie started, and yes there was the concern about all the green screen that was being used. However the difference here is that all the special effects are used very tastefully. The 3 lead actresses did a wonderful job on this film and they are very very very very hot and do keep you waiting for the next scene, the next twist, or the next fight scene....very entertaining, specially the role of Camaro. Gotta love psycho bitches and America rocked it!

Have to also give great Koodos to the music in the film, I am actually looking forward for the soundtrack, it definitely complimented the ambiance and overall mood of the film.

Don't go in expecting a top notch tear jerker...if that's what you want, than obviously you need to do your research. If you are looking for a good time with three beautiful girls, get Bitch-slapped. Great movie to watch when every other movie released is some doom's day, man eating supernatural movie.

Now, go on , make a sequel and tell me when I can buy my ticket.

48 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This film is about the best I've seen in months.
DreamHopeReality18 December 2009
You may wonder how could a film that's received more 1 than 10 on IMDb be so agreeable; I'll tell you why: there's no big name, no huge budget, and above all, it's a B-movie.

If you're willing to ignore these like me, it won't be difficult to find that the acting is rather interesting, in a good way, the bodies are pretty hot, and the way the story is told adds highlight to everything. You definitely won't be so thrilled by Hollywood 'getcha' kind of film, with which you're feeling being tolling around like a brainless puppy.

Erin Cummings, Hel, has delivered, in my judgement, the best performance among the three leading femmes; nonetheless, this film is neither about stars nor acting, it's about that particular feeling of action and erotica and trust and everything normally played by those known, male faces finally grabbed by three gorgeous, unknown actresses.

Thanks to CGI, many low budget films nowadays can be much, MUCH better than Hollywood shts. Personally, I recommend it 100%.
42 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
So cliché it was worth it
Paul Magne Haakonsen1 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Wow, this movie was bad in a good way. It was so full of clichés and stereotypical stuff that it all came together in a wholesome entertaining way. I wore a grin throughout the entire movie because of the extreme clichés and downright "in-your-face-over-the-top" rowdiness.

This movie has it all; scantily clad women, explosions, big cars, guns, Japanese schoolgirl, punk with a foul mouth, strippers, small people, cheesy effects, and of course Kevin 'Hercules' Sorbo! The lady cast (Voth, Cummings and Olivo) performed well in this movie.

Of course, there wasn't any high expectations to the movie, and with that in mind the movie delivered good entertainment. Brainless actions and clichés en masse.

You might sort of say this movie was "Kill Bill" on crack, in a way. So extreme in every way. It was hilarious to see Kevin Sorbo in a movie like this. This is one of those movies you might end up watching another time when you lay on the couch, nursing a hang-over. Fun, brainless entertainment...
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
More than boobs and blood, more than the ultimate in catfights
thesiouxfallskid21 July 2012
An entertaining film. I about gave up on it a time or two, but I hung in there and it redeemed itself. Better than any Russ Meyer film I have seen, and maybe even a notch above Tarantino. Much effort went into this film especially by the three female leads, well chosen for their role. There were the boobs and blood and all-out raucous catfights. If Tarantino style turns you off, you may not like it, but if not I suggest you watch this one and watch it to the end. The plot twists and ending are worth it. And a worthwhile and revealing view of women which one of the female trio expressed as "We are all just bitches in the end". I like that and late in the film a quote from a several hundred B.C. Chinese text which begins "All warfare is based on deception . . .", a thoughtful commentary giving a certain meaning to the film and raising it above the usual grindhouse fare for those paying attention to more than just the action.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Late night flicking...
mark-818-75855527 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I found this film by accident; flicking through the satellite channels late at night wanting to watch something that I haven't seen. You know what it is like; you've seen all the movies on the various channels at least three times in the last week and you're desperate for something new.

It sets out to be a B movie...seems to follow the Russ Meyer style of films and doesn't try to be anything more than a fun film. I can imagine that women would hate this film and teenage boys love it...

It does help that the three main characters are attractive and the action gets going straight away. No real involved storyline...just flashbacks to the appropriate back story when needed. This film is never going to win awards! The special effects are, to be honest, poor...but then again they fit in with the style of film.

I must admit, I did enjoy this film and I think of it as a guilty pleasure...a bit like the Conan films...they are bad...but maybe so bad as to be actually good!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Silly and fun direct-to-video junk featuring some hot babes
zetes6 June 2010
Direct-to-video crap that is surprisingly fun and entertaining. It's heavily influenced by the Grindhouse movies (which, like them or not, have begun to influence a new generation of B movies). Not nearly as good as those, but good. Julia Voth, Erin Cummings and America Olivo star as three big-tittied babes who show up outside a deserted trailer in the middle of the desert with a sleazy Russian gangster in their trunk who has apparently buried two hundred million dollars worth of diamonds (amongst other treasures) there. The three chicks dig for the treasure and begin to distrust each other. Frequent flashbacks fill us in on who these women are and how they met and joined up. It's all very silly and deliberately campy, but not in an annoying way. The women are extremely hot and are pretty much constantly either making out, having water fights or beating the snot out of each other. It also has a delightfully inventive profanity ("Ram this in your clam bake, bitch cake!"). Major bonus points for featuring cameos from Kevin Sorbo, Lucy Lawless and Renee O'Connor (who played Gabriel on Xena: Warrior Princess). Zoe Bell, who starred in Tarantino's Death Proof but began her career as Lawless' stuntwoman, did the stunts here. A lot of IMDb users seem to think it's trying to hard, but I thought it hit the notes it wanted to hit.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Modern Day Faster Pussycat!
tysonholtkamp18 February 2010
For any fans of Bmovies, exploitation films and all around badassery, this is for you. Drawing themes, style and content from classics like Faster Pussycat Kill! Kill! and more modern Kill Bill. This film has it all, strong lead women, sexuality, brutality, passion, excitement, danger, witty dialog...and a midget with a machine gun. Contains just the right amount of camp to keep it from trying to be a A-lister and with just enough tongue in cheek to keep fans of the genre checking their trivia. It maintains a wonderful balance between sexiness, action and humor. Of course if you're a prude, steer clear because these psycho rug-munchers are too much for you.

The only thing missing is a cameo from Bruce Campbell
18 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bullits, boobs and bad dialog
Field7823 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Given the low average rating, you might think this is a bad movie. Well, it is. Thank God it is Bad. This is actually one of the best Bad Movies I have seen in years. Hell, this is one fine example of exploitation B-movie as it should be, and it is the movie that Deathproof should have been (the first half of Deathproof, at least).

Tarantino's Grindhouse contribution desperately wanted to be a Bad Movie too, but a) Tarantino is too much in love with his own screenplays to notice where his endless conversations start to get pretentiously annoying, and b) he just can't be intentionally bad, being too much of a quality director (I'll give him that). Rick Jacobsen fortunately understood that exploitation movies should LACK quality and abound in cheap tricks to score effect. Lots of directors have tried to give their version of the so-bad-it's-good movie, but it all depends on careful dosage to make it quality bad and fun without feeling artificial (Mars Attacks is a rare example). Bitch Slap, however, strikes exactly the right tone.

Just grab your checklists: Beautiful babes with big breasts and lots of cleavage shot in slow-mo? Check. Pretentiously artistic cinematography (i.e. royal use of split-screen and funky scene transitions)? Double check. Cheesy dialog and superfluous profanity? Present! Bad acting? Yup (at least, I hope it was Julia Voth's best attempt at INTENTIONAL bad acting. But hey, she did a voice on the Resident Evil Remake video game, so she knows her material)! Hilarious continuity errors? Oh yes. Gratuitous violence and excessive gore? Thank God yes! Bad special FX? Oh my, it's like an Uwe Boll-directed Sin City in some scenes. There is lots of questionable stuff in this movie to go a long way, but Jacobsen adds some extra layers of bad taste, assuring this movie never runs out of fuel for the entire 109 minute run. There's a series of very obvious homages to Tarantino's magnum opus of cult B-movies (Asian school girl with lethal chain contraption, Samurai sword; need I say more?). Another is a flashback structure that keeps adding hilariously contrived and increasingly illogical plot twists to the story, making excellent use of the audience's general inability to take a movie seriously after a surplus of twists. This movie isn't just Bad, it is Bad on whole new levels of ingenuity!

The low rating for this movie versus the relatively high number of positive reviews here on IMDb suggest that this movie has serious cult potential. I wouldn't be surprised if it finds its audience in the end, just like Office Space and Showgirls once did.

Yes, this is a bad movie. 109 minutes of sheer enjoyment! And I wouldn't even call it guilty pleasure; that's when someone makes something bad in the supposition that he was actually making something qualitatively good, and we enjoy it for this obvious lack of self-consciousness. The makers of Bitch Slap clearly used every bit of talent and every trick in the book to make something qualitatively bad, but Bad in its most artistic way possible. Like a carpenter deliberately looking for flotsam and scrap wood in order to make a very kitschy cabinet, that you would actually pay for since it is so deliberately ugly. A rare treat.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A perfect example of how to fail at the exploitation genre
bssux0117 March 2010
It just goes to show no matter how low you set the bar, incompetence can still make you come up short. This film is so bad I actually had to start an IMDb account to let people know just how terrible it really is.

The reality is, it wouldn't have taken much for this to be a decent film. The box cover promises sex and violence and delivers far too little on both. The cheesy direction, bad acting, bad dialogue and low- budget effects are laughable...and that would normally be okay! It's exactly what's expected. All the film had to do was deliver on the action and skin. The film gets a 3 out of 10 for the action and a big 0 for the skin. Was this film made for the Spike channel? There's NO NUDITY in this film to speak of despite the fact that it's exactly what the box promises. Yes, three, hot vixens in an exploitation movie and none of them get naked. There are hotter sex scenes in the 10 pm network TV slot. How does a director fail this badly? And the "unrated" label was just another ploy to let the viewer think they're getting something edgy. Either that or the money man saw how bad the film is and wouldn't pony up a few grand more for an MPAA rating.

If there was a filmmaker jail, Jacobson would be on death row. Shameful.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A reasonable diversion.
Scott LeBrun13 February 2012
Since ratings and reviews of "Bitch Slap" are apparently dependent on just how much or how little one enjoys this sort of thing, what this viewer must say right up front is that he tends towards the former camp. The problem there is that while it is enjoyable enough, it's not entirely satisfying. Yeah, it does come across as a wish fulfilment fantasy for horny guys everywhere, and is basically silly, over the top, attitude driven, highly stylized (perhaps TOO stylized), violent, leering exploitation fare meant to be an ode to the kind of tough movie gals whom we see in clips during the opening credits. But, unfortunately, it doesn't really go far enough; it's likely not depraved enough or just not exploitative enough to suit some of its audience (For one thing, while there is sex, there just ain't that much nudity, folks.). The story, such as it is, features three stunning young ladies united in their scheme to get their hands on some jewels being held by an underworld figure. They often spend as much time fighting with each other as they do working towards their goal. The review written by one of my associates at this web site is right on the money when describing this movie as an almost 110 minute long cat fight. The ladies are also, commendably enough, shot from lots of fetishistic angles and it does indeed seem as if the filmmakers would rather focus exclusively on the breasts of the actresses instead of their faces. The dialogue is often hilarious yet has an obvious self-conscious air about it; the writers are trying too hard to come up with what they clearly believe to be instantly quotable raunchy lines. It also takes a cue from "Pulp Fiction" as it constantly moves back and forth in time in order to create a series of events that the viewer has to put in the right order to understand just where all of these characters are coming from. The soundtrack is loud, and so is the volume on a lot of the performers. One of the big twists in the end is probably something most people could figure out. The actors, while not necessarily all "good", are fun. Erin Cummings is Hel, the "smart" one / mastermind, America Olivo (chewing the scenery and then throwing it up again) the pill popping wildcat Camero, and Julia Voth is Trixie, the "nice" one. Cameos include TV stars Kevin Sorbo, Lucy Lawless, Renee O'Connor, and Michael Hurst, as well as stunt coordinator Zoe Bell who'd shot to fame in Tarantino's "Death Proof". At the least, "Bitch Slap" does have enough crazy energy to keep it from ever getting what I would consider boring. It does have its moments. Six out of 10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Totally awesome flick!!!
Janet Moviebugg6 March 2010
For all fans of action oriented films. May find its home in the hearts of horror buffs as well. This movie is fast paced, action packed with just the right amount of blood (at least for me, i'm a woman) and it left me sitting on the edge of my seat the whole time. The cars in the film are a great addition to the film too.

I wouldn't recommend this movies to anyone under 16, my kids will not get to watch this. The language and violence is just too much. There is some sexuality as well. Its tastefully done with no nudity but the language will cause some too squirm. Surprisingly enough, its got some very attractive men that could upset your significant other depending on their insecurities.

If your not easilly offended by an f-bomb, blood, action and fast cars are your thing, then check this out.
16 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I've had more entertainment doing homework
lisa7-934-70015430 December 2010
I will rate this movie a two. One star given because the audio works, and one allocated because the screen footage operates alright. Apart from that, there really isn't much else to this movie. There is no clever plot, I think the complete bad storyline of this movie must have been thought up within a whole 5 minutes. This movie is solid evidence that it doesn't take much to be a successful movie scriptwriter. There are no lovable or dynamic characters whom the viewer is able to connect with, instead just boring airhead characters who provide little more than a mere chuckle. You can toss away any expectations of a deep and meaningful message, as this movie lacks that completely. Any belief of strong female characters which appear in this movie is completely fictional. If a female stripper is one you consider "strong" I believe that is very wrong. For female main characters which are considered strong I recommend watching something good like Kill Bill or Million Dollar Baby. It is a much more better way to spend time then painstakingly sitting through this film. If you have a decent IQ and will want to see a movie which actually requires some brain power, you'll want to give this one a miss.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
speranzadaniel27 December 2010
Bitch Slap!!! was the worst movie ever, the storyline was pointless, I throw the movie into the bin how bad it was!!! the movie was based on THREE women in the desert looking for a sword that meant nothing. Only to Trixie. I hope they will not make a second one as the ending was terrible. Trixie plays the worst part being innocent so she can just have the sword, that was buried in the desert. The only funny scene in the whole movie was when they have the biggest fight at the end to see who was the strongest one. Bitch Slap wouldn't be appropriate to watch with family. Maybe with friends but if they like pointless movies. The movie did have some funny lines that did make you laugh at times, it had a lot of action in the movie which was good because of that it keep you entertaining though out the movie.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A real love it or hate it action film from the Grindhouse staple
davideo-219 June 2010
STAR RATING: ***** Saturday Night **** Friday Night *** Friday Morning ** Sunday Night * Monday Morning

Whatever Tarantino and Rodriguez do turns into instant 'cool', and whatever's cool many want to imitate. Grindhouse, really cheap, trashy films made in the 70s, are as low budget as they come anyway, so even cheaper no name straight to DVD entries like this are even more game for slating. What I'm basically saying is, if you're a fan of Grindhouse, this should just about pass for you. If not, you can only pick it apart for what it is, the ultimate in cheap, trashy exploitation, with the threadbare, almost none existent plot, only there to serve as an excuse for the amply chested lead babes to get their chests sprayed wet at any given moment, or for another act of gratuitous violence to occur, or whatever. Grindhouse is in style at the moment, so if you're for it you're for it, or if you're not you should avoid this. **
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews