IMDb > Behind Enemy Lines: Colombia (2009) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Behind Enemy Lines: Colombia
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Behind Enemy Lines: Colombia (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 30 reviews in total 

37 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

Cheap, stereotypical, predictable, poor acting...Was it supposed to be a porn?

2/10
Author: dvpumas from United States
10 January 2009

Where do I start? When the movie first started, I wondered if there were a problem with the image quality and with the way it was filmed ! This is the same quality of a cheap porn. Did they use the same camera ?

Secondly, to reinforce this image of a cheap porn, the actors/actresses's acting skills are very poor and they all look like porn actor/actresses: male all bodybuilded on steroid, female all bimbo !

Add to that the very poor special effect (explosion made by my little brother, no real stunts (green screen), no military expertise...) ... This movie is very disappointing ! I don't mind bad acting in a "action/navy seal movie" but this is quite bad and I expect at least credible explosion !

Oh and did I mention the massive clichés...this movie is so stereotypical and predictable

Playing Ghost Squad or Rainbow 6 on your xbox is more realistic ... I put a 2 because I saw worse ..

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A Cheesy Action/War film

3/10
Author: tvmovienews from Australia
13 June 2009

This straight to DVD release is the third installment of the 2001 film staring Owen Wilson and Gene Hackman. Personally, I didn't even know there was a sequel to the original, but considering this is a WWE produced film staring Mr Kennedy, who was I not to watch this? The storyline is pretty basic, navy SEALS organize an attack on Colombian Special Forces to clear their names and rescue a hostage which is one of their own. After watching this I can see why this was a straight to DVD release, it was really bad! The acting was remarkably horrible, and the storyline was equally as bad, but I wasn't expecting anything more then a cheesy action/war film with cheesy one liners, and that is exactly what I got! My Rating: 3.5/10

For more Movie and TV News, Reviews and Rumours go to: www.facebook.com/tvmovienews

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Pretty impressive for a DTV film

7/10
Author: scorpion-52 from United States
10 January 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Wow i'm surprised no one's commented on this film yet, as it stands this is a highly compelling action film that manages to make the action scenes exciting without resorting to lots of shaky cam editing. Plus the cast gives it they're all and impress, especially Keith David. The plot twist is a little predictable side though and the film does depend on contrivance to drive the plot more then once, but undemanding viewers such as myself either won't notice or care about that too much. The film also seems a little disjointed at times as the opening has all the main characters introduced with hilarious text like in Feast, but then in the next scene in Colombia, a guy loses both his wife and child in a bombing, so the effect is pretty jarring to say the least though very effective admittedly.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

I'm Colombian and I was soldier too, If you want to bleak your vision about, see that movie.

3/10
Author: Juan Diego Lopez Medina from Colombia
30 November 2009

Well, This movie have some good details about marks in uniforms but no more... I was in Colombian Army in 1992 and still respecting the FAC, not FARC, maybe our soldiers are bravest in the world, fighting the oldest guerrilla in the world, sure we have corruption as every country, but this movie gets a lot of mistakes, as Disney movies, handle the reality for ignorant audiences who think after the movie that was a real history (Disney put El Dorado in Mexico, not in Colombia as it really is)... If you really want to know about our conflict, don't see American movies, watch our news, not European news... Colombia it's so beautiful and if you watch movies like that, could think that the whole territory it's a battlefield, a jungle. See this movie just for entertain you some weekend but don't see it as a documentary.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not Bad But Lacks 'Cinema' Potential

6/10
Author: Tejas Nair from the Entertainment Capital of India
6 December 2012

I didn't know this was the direct-to-home sequel of the original BEH, and watched it only to understand how betrayal takes place in military operations.

The direction is good but the cameo wasn't. The main characters HAVE the potential to keep the movie going but if the flaws like those stated in the goofs part are to be believed you won;t enjoy this. The soundtrack is pretty awesome!

Watch it for the adrenaline and Mr. Kennedy! The dialogs also are to be appreciated! Could've done better with the details, though!

For more - bit.ly/TEJAS

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

For COD:Modern Warfare fans only

9/10
Author: OmertaX from Hungary
18 July 2011

Well, I managed to watch this movie on HBO2 this morning, an it was totally like a COD deathmatch. I think the other reviewers are all Colombian, but hey, the Colombian army in this movie is a well organized, deadly force. Come on, the Seals marines are on the run in the whole movie. Now, there were words about bad acting, bad effects, bad filming technique, bad direction, bad dialogues. I must tell, that none of these are present. Acting: the three Seals are good. The dialogues have no problem at all. Alvaro, the enemy force leader is good as well. Effects: the explosions are not the best, but its OK. Weapons and Fight: They are all well done, All COD fans will have flashback. Highly recommended movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Not the best war movie ever made

2/10
Author: davejblair from United Kingdom
4 January 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Behind enemy lines: Colombia, is not the best war movie ever made. The premise is that the US Government, military and intelligence community work alongside the Colombian Government in it's 40-year-long war against the internal rebel/freedom-fighter/terrorist group FARC. As part of it's $1bn-a-year military assistance, the US send in a crack unit of Navy Seals to do reconnaissance on a FARC camp. It all goes horribly wrong when the "black op." is denied by the CIA, FARC are stronger than expected and the Colombian Government is a bit annoyed that the military incursion is done without their explicit knowledge or permission (get the idea?).

The storyline is weak, acting wooden and the plot very clichéd. It seems to be a rip off of a number of other movies, notably "Clear and Present Danger", "Navy Seals" and "Rambo". As a result, the was very little new in the movie and the tension was non-existent. Another annoying thing was the glorification of FARC as a fully professional national army as opposed to terrorists who kidnap and kill to protect Colombia's cocaine industry, and, the "never leave a man behind" US kick a** feel good aspect. Throw in a bit of betrayal and the needing to get evidence to clear their names and you have a war movie that is not worth spending the time to watch.

On the plus side there is plenty of action with lots of "enemy" combatants getting killed (although only two "good guys"). Some of the special effects are a bit dubious. It does raise awareness of some of the issues in South America when focus tends to be on the Middle East.

In summary, an action movie rather than a war movie which is OK if you are prepared to switch your brain off and have time to spare.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Low rent, but it could be worse

4/10
Author: Leofwine_draca from United Kingdom
1 May 2016

COLOMBIA is the third of the BEHIND ENEMY LINES film series and a definite step up from the godawful mess that was BEHIND ENEMY LINES II: AXIS OF EVIL, although that's not to say it's a good film. It's still below par for the most part, but at least veteran actor/director Tim Matheson knows how to shoot his film properly, without all of that annoying shaky camera stuff that ruined the last instalment.

The plot is a simplistic skeleton on which to hang a framework of low rent, high firepower action sequences. Expect one shootout after another here, along with some cheesy camaraderie and macho heroics. A SEAL team is sent to Colombia to sort out some FARC terrorists, only to find themselves framed and betrayed, and forced to fight their way out.

COLOMBIA benefits from a star-studded cast incorporating the likes of Keith David, Steven Bauer, Matheson himself, and Yancey Arias. The lead roles are taken by the tall and wooden Joe Manganiello and wrestler Ken Anderson, which gives you some idea of the level of acting talent here. Like many recent American B-movies set in South America, this one was filmed in Puerto Rico. I also noticed it was made made by WWE Studios, which explains the presence of the wrestler.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Pretty terrible but the non-stop action will see you through

5/10
Author: juneebuggy from Canada
22 March 2016

All round pretty terrible, plus I'm having trouble seeing how this movie has anything to do with the original 'Behind Enemy Lines' with Owen Wilson. They're not even remotely connected except maybe the tired premise. This is a WWE (World Wrestling Entertainment) film and went straight to DVD (which seems appropriate) so that should give you an idea of the quality of plot etc.

Non-stop action though which somehow makes up for the lack of script and bad acting. Tons of bullets whizzing about, explosions galore and a decent hand to hand fight scene towards the end with Joe Manganiello and Alvaro, the main bad guy who actually had a reasonable back story.

This "stars" WWE superstar "Mr Kennedy" although he doesn't get much dialogue and is mostly background as SEAL #2 despite his face on the poster. The story follows him and Joe Manganiello as two of a squad of navy seals attending South American peace talks that explode into violence and murder, leaving the soldiers framed for the bloody events. Somehow they must rescue a hostage and clear their names.

As a weird point of interest Keith David is Commander Scott in this, the guy fighting for their return back in the states -he was good, in the original David Keith played Master Chief Tom O'Malley back on the ship. Things that make you go hmmmm? 2/24/16

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Special Forces action movie to tie us over between something else comes along

5/10
Author: JohnRayPeterson from Montreal, Canada
29 October 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched the trailers and read the story line and checked who the director and cast was. There was nothing that compelled me to watch it on that basis. All I was hoping for was some reasonably believable action adventure I could watch until something better came along. I was concerned that it would be so poor I would give up before the end. This movie, when it comes to production value, is not close to "Green Zone (2010)", "The A Team (2010)", "The Losers (2010)" or even the fantastic "Strike Back" TV series, but until that next one comes along and you are in need of an action movie in the genre, you can watch this third instalment of the 'Behind Enemy Lines' franchise (not really a franchise) without the risk of giving up before the end. It is certainly better than the two previous, 'Behind Enemy Lines' movies; it has none of the actors or key operation production of those two earlier ones.

In words we can all understand: It's not bad at all. Yes I was pleasantly surprised that actors I did not know or know to be second rate only, by virtue of their past roles, managed to do a good enough job to have me watch it all the way through. It is predictable in many respect, which is not a plus for action movies, but the action scenes themselves and all the high-tech instruments of covert ground war were featured as well as split screen simultaneous action you see on screen showed a real effort to bring us quality production, not to mention darn good fighting sequences. The ratings are unfairly low and do not represent the real effort put in to the production. It is what it is, not a meal of a movie but a very good snack that will tide you over. More action seekers will like it than not and so I suggest you consider it on that basis.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history