IMDb > The Rebound (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Rebound
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Rebound More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 79 reviews in total 

163 out of 233 people found the following review useful:

One of the best romantic comedies in years!

10/10
Author: yoghurtgirl from Los Angeles, California
12 March 2009

This is one of the best romantic comedies I have seen in years. I went to see this with a friend of mine who's in his upper thirties and I'm in my mid twenties and we both laughed so hard. There's none of the commercial, fake feel some romantic comedies have, or the ones that try to be funny and are not, this is a daring romantic comedy, really in tune with our times that breaks with some stereotypes.

Great acting, both by the adults and the kids (you can't help falling in love with Justin Bartha and this is some of the best performances I've seen from Catherine Zeta Jones, like a million times better than Intolerable Cruelty), interesting storyline, nice imagery of New York City and a movie I want to see again!

I hope it gets a wide release soon.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Slow start, but way above expectations.

7/10
Author: spectrelives from Melbourne, Australia
30 March 2010

I went into the movie with low expectations. Wasn't hard, given it has been slammed by most critics and the pretentious on RottonTomatoes. This was not helped by a rushed, detached start which made me feel doubtful that the movie would pick up from there.

However, The Rebound quickly takes a swift turn for the feel-good drama and I was very impressed as it became not only a light romantic comedy but more a well-thought, rounded character drama with all sorts of little sub-plots, rich character development, great performances, and a genuine likability to every part of the movie. It was just very well done and the rest did not feel rushed at all. If only it had been about 10 minutes longer at the start to get us to really feel that too, instead of brushing aside the seriousness of it as if it were a slapstick laugh-job, it would've scored another star or two.

Definitely go see it if you liked "500 Days Of Summer". And go see "500 Days of Summer" if you haven't already. Are you kidding me?!

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

Moderately entertaining, but bland and mediocre

6/10
Author: Argemaluco from Argentina
25 March 2010

The movies which are most difficult for me to write a review about are not those which provoke nausea because of their horrible technical and creative quality; neither are those which renew my faith in cinema with an unusual display of greatness.The most difficult movies to write a review about are the simply mediocre ones, which provide the minimum quantity of entertainment in order not to get us bored, but without any ambition of transcending that basic function and say something more, or make us feel something.The Rebound is one of those movies.

Bart Freundlich's direction is too bland and impersonal, because he does not bring too much passion to his work.On the positive side from The Rebound, we have the naturalness in the characters and their attitudes.I was very grateful not to see "meet cute" (the casual and funny first encounter between the main characters), or ridiculous public humiliations to show the love between the couple, or artificial obstacles in the romance to create suspense about the invariable reconciliation.Well, there are obstacles, but they feel more honest and realistic for being based on the age difference between the two main characters.And even though Catherine Zeta-Jones and Justin Bartha are not a precisely blistering couple, their affinity and attraction feel credible.

It is definitely a paradox, but I think those positive elements also are fails from the movie.I did not feel too much interest in the future from the couple, or in their evolution.Zeta-Jones and Bartha make a decent work, but the screenplay does not give them too much to do.Talking about Zeta-Jones, the only specific moment which endures in my memory is a scene in which her character goes to a class of self-defense, and she fights against a "criminal" disguised as a Sumo wrestler.That scene was obviously designed for provoking laughs, but there is a moment in which we see intense emotion and frustration because of her recent divorce in the main character's eyes.It was on that moment when I remembered that Zeta-Jones can be a very competent actress when she works with the right material, so it was a bit of a pity to see her relatively wasted during the rest of the film, because her talent goes further.

In summary, I think I can give a slight recommendation to The Rebound, mainly because it is never boring.But at the same time it is moderately entertaining, it is also bland and absolutely forgettable.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Decent Dramedy

8/10
Author: sree-howlett from Hertfordshire, England
23 July 2010

Justin Bartha finally bags a lead role and what's better than teaming up with the ever green Catherine Zeta Jones Douglas. A decent drama comedy and romance with unexpected dialogs - reflection of reality is a bit scary. You don't get a lot of movies like this one these days. Every time you see something close to reality, you get grossed out or end up calling it "weird" and the romantic parts from this movie is nicely done as well. With a wide range of cast including ART GARFUNKEL have all done a great job. Highly recommended! I'm very happy for talented Justin Bartha as I've been waiting to see him in movies that offer him good roles and more screen time.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

another great romantic comedy

8/10
Author: eanthon from Los Angeles, CA
21 February 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I went to see this at a screening this week and took a friend, I'm 33, he's 23... perfect "couple" for this film. We both enjoyed the film and found it in the same vein as some of the great romantic comedies. I love that older women can still be attractive and younger men can "step up" to the responsibility of being with a woman with kids. Some guy friends said that was a deal breaker for them. I am certain that with this film you will see more relationships with older women/younger men out in the open. Best part of the film was when Aram & Sandy were going at it on the couch while her kids were asleep. They are caught in the act when Frank Jr. comes out and asks "Did you just pee on my mom?" I think our entire theatre died of laughter. Oh the trials of dating when you have kids!

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Fun & Frantic 95 minutes of comedy

10/10
Author: gazzalere from United Kingdom
24 July 2010

Okay well as a guy who for many years now has dated and been with older women I just had to go and watch this film. Not only does it star two great actors, Catharine Zeta Zones and Justin Barber but there are also two amazing young kids that add to the humour and inspiration behind the story. As you can tell from the films trailer it's about a lad who is in his early 20's and becomes attracted to a newly separated woman in her late 40's. There are many websites and viewers that have tried slating this film but personally I think that's just down to the way the public look at older younger relationships. For a comedy film based around the term older younger relationship it was very funny and reminded me a lot of the 80's comedy films from John Hughes, go watch this film if you're after a fun and frantic 95mins of comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Sometimes you need to travel the world - to discover what you really needed all along was right here at home …

7/10
Author: colin_coyne from London
20 July 2010

The REBOUND is a romantic comedy, that follows the story of Sandy (Oscar winner Catherine Zeta-Jones – Chicago, The Mask of Zorro series, Entrapment, Traffic) as a happily contented wife and mother – that one day comes across a revealing video on her computer of her husband having an affair with another woman. She leaves the family home and takes her two children to start afresh in New York – looking for work within her favourite pastime (sports statistics) – and living in an apartment above a coffee shop.

At the same time, Aram (Justin Bartha) – who works in the coffee shop, is just getting over his new french bride dumping him - as soon as she's achieved her "green card" status.

Sandy and Aram lives get more and more interwoven when she needs a baby sitter and they gradually get closer and closer.

Her friends want Sandy to start dating again – and Aram's parents want him to make more of himself – all claiming that they are both on the rebound … but, there is much more going on ...

Adequately directed by Bart Freundlich, and very well acted by the Main leads – this story moves along well and is one of the better chick flicks out there – and, as always, it stands or falls on the chemistry of the main actors (which works in this case) – and as usual all the best one-liners come from the two children

"Sometimes you need to travel the world - to discover what you really needed all along was right here at home …"

I would say that for it class and genre, that this would be a successful movie and is recommended as a romantic comedy

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

just what you need to warm up your heart

9/10
Author: csutherwood from United Kingdom
7 January 2010

I just watched this movie and thought go on Chris get on IMDb (for the first time) and review this movie. Where do I start......far too many times do you watch a movie because of tonnes of media and press, but this ain't even had a UK release yet. It was so cool, I love films filmed in New York always feels xmasy to me. Zeta Jones is so good on screen hard to think she came from Swansea (down the road from where i live) The dude from National Treasure is a bit wet but that sort of fits in with todays modern man I think. He sweeps Zeta off her feet with the love and emotion that she craves after a suburban hellish marriage. The kids are well funny and from someone who is on the brink of having kids this movie gave me the confidence to believe in my family to come soon. Catch this movie I am 33 and cant wait for my g/f to watch it, I hope she enjoys it as much as I did.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A great romantic comedy!

9/10
Author: Smeesmeesmee from United States
11 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this movie on a whim and was extremely impressed. It quickly became a new favorite of mine. I have seen several reviews that are giving this movie completely unfair reviews. I mean seriously, you're going to grade a comedy based on the camera work? A comedy has one job - To make you laugh. With that said this movie will do that, a lot. I also see a lot of people giving this a lower review because of a slow start but I don't see it. If you really can't handle a movie taking ten minutes to introduce the characters and set up the story then just go watch stupid videos on youtube and leave the movie community alone. The final gripe I see is that the characters are unlikable, which I also don't see. The characters in this movie are great depictions of two people who have just been through a bad break-up. Aram is a very likable young man who is slightly adrift in life because he is recently divorced and has a lot of trouble relating to people his age most likely because the one friend he does seem to have commits 90% of his dialogue to sex for example at one point Aram asks "Do you ever think about kids?" and he replies "I think about making them all the time" and proceeds to hump a nearby counter. Sandy is also slightly adrift because of a recent breakup with her husband of several years so she now finds herself single, forced to move, and find a job all pretty much immediately. The two meet when Sandy moves into an apartment above a coffee shop where Aram works and he is eventually talked into babysitting for the family as well. Romance ensues if you couldn't guess. Overall the story is pretty solid. So all that there is left to discuss is the comedy so here is what i will say, If you think it is funny to see people in those giant sumo suits getting the crap kicked out of them, or someone being so bad at bowling they can't hit a single pin, or someone using a port-a-potty in the middle of a date and still talking to the girl amidst several farts, then you will like it. (Don't worry that's not all the funny stuff in the movie) The final thing I wanted to talk about was the ending so SPOILERS! Yes of course they break-up the point of this movie is that this is a rebound. What that relationship did for both of them was get them out of their rut, it really saved both of their lives. Sandy got a career of the ground, and Aram finally took some time to figure his life out and basically got his crap together. Once the two of them got everything else taken care of then they could get together but before then it wouldn't have worked. The movie is much more realistic than most and I applaud it for that.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

all because of great cast to make it works

6/10
Author: Moobee from London
20 March 2011

for a person who never have special feeling toward Catherine Zeta-Jones, this piece of work of her playing a middle aged mother is truly the best one from her career as far as I believe. Justin Bartha is also the main reason makes this story believable. one of the great example of how right casts can push a B level of the production, script and its director to even possibly work. there are some good moments but most of the time one just so much hope the director can go deeper and build on characters in a much more personal angles, sadly he did't. without these two main actors, the movie would be a 4-5 out of 10 piece of work.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history