Last Vegas (2013) Poster

(2013)

User Reviews

Add a Review
175 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
Enjoyable, philosophical, unspectacular, but full of seasoned talent.
jdesando1 November 2013
"The love of our private friends is the only preparatory exercise for the love of all men." John Henry Cardinal Newman

Last Vegas is promoted by some as a geriatric Hangover; it's not quite. It's rather a sometimes poignant if lighthearted comedy about friendship and love with a dash of philosophizing about growing old. Three sixty- something buddies have a bachelor party in Las Vegas for their equally aging buddy who is marrying a babe over half his age.

The usual bachelor party tropes are there: swimming pools, buxom girls, extravagant digs, gambling, drunken partying, and pappy love, among others. But lacing through this usually freewheeling, adolescent humored romp of a cliché are some thoughts about their 60 years of friendship and what it brings and demands.

Most importantly is the rivalry between Billy (Michael Douglas) and Paddy (Robert De Niro) over the girl who got away from Billy and married Paddy. How her death affects their friendship is touching if not overly sentimental but real as it continues to color their lives to this day. How it shapes the weekend and Billy's marriage takes the film beyond Hangover and Bridesmaids.

Absent are scatological humor or retching; those staples of current buddy comedies are not in the least missed. Each other friend has his issue as well: Sam (Kevin Kline) his true love for his wife, who gives him Viagra and a condom for the trip; and Archie (Morgan Freeman) his over solicitous son. Director John Turteltaub and writer Dan Fogelman treat the hang-ups with gentleness, never extending to slapstick the important challenge of each life brought into relief by the trip.

Last Vegas is a diverting enjoyment, most of which is watching highly successful actors as if they've worked together forever, when in fact they never did. Movie magic and friendship themes make this a comfort film among too much glitz on other screens.
79 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Surprisingly funny and awesome movie with surprising little twists that kept it fresh!
tabithazietlow00417 October 2013
I got the chance to pre-screen Last Vegas. I had to practically drag my boyfriend to the movie theater because he said he was not interested in seeing the movie but the tickets were free so he eventually caved.

The movie is what a movie should be, entertaining. Morgan, Kevin, Robert and Michael were so refreshing and funny together, they really played off of each other well and because of that the film moved along at a great pace. I hate when movies drag on and fall flat in the middle and that's when I start checking my watch to see how much longer the film is going to trudge along. Sometimes movies seem to stall in the middle and the drag on but this movie is almost two hours long and it moved along so seamlessly that the time just flew by.

This isn't a movie that's going to win any Academy Awards, it's not Shakespeare nor will it solve some huge social problem, it's just good fun that everyone in the audience enjoyed. If you are looking to just go to a movie for pure enjoyment and forget about the outside world for a moment, go see this movie, you won't be disappointed.
127 out of 170 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Attitude, not age, matters!
msims111 October 2013
Without being nasty or vulgar, LAST VEGAS is humorous and heartfelt. This movie celebrates friendship, especially among four friends who have known each other for more than 50 years. The camaraderie exhibited by these stars is enviable as well as appreciated. They have enjoyed much and suffered much in their lives, apart and together. The movie doesn't dwell on the negative, but it does unfold at a comfortable pace. The actors are perfect for their roles, and each relishes the part he plays. The supporting actors are able to enjoy their time on screen, whether it is for five or fifty minutes. This movie is about family, too, and grown children might understand their parents better seeing this film with or without them.

This is definitely a movie for mature audiences - children will not understand some of the jokes, and parents will become red faced explaining them. In fact, children will probably want to avoid this movie at all costs. Young people from 18 to 30 may not appreciate the depth of the friendships exhibited by these four friends, and they may misunderstand the difficulty of these "old folks" performing some of the day to day antics that they take for granted: dancing, drinking, picking up women. Getting old is neither easy nor fun, but it beats the alternative!

Some may refer to this as HANGOVER on Viagra. I prefer to think of it as "HOW TO ENJOY OLD AGE WITH A BANG." Or maybe it's a first - not last - hurrah to be repeated annually by anyone over 60.
83 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Very funny!
mombot24 October 2013
This is a straight up comedy and full of great one-liners. Saw Last Vegas as a free pre-screening (full house with applause at the end)this evening and originally had just planned to wait for the DVD. Thought that it would be another half baked comedy. I was wrong. It's definitely worth the price of your large drink and tub of popcorn.

There is a message to this movie: life your life to the fullest and don't be afraid to get old. Of course, it's easy when your those four great actors. Freeman, Douglas, Kline, and De Niro give one of the best ensemble performances in a movie that I've seen in a while. Everyone plays well against each other. These guys must have enjoyed working together, because it shows. Good casting and chemistry.

Decent story and writing; some predictable moments that are elevated to another level are pulled of because some things done or said that were surprising. You'll know when you see it.

Mary Steenburgen is wonderful. Still a lovely woman and her character adds a dose of "heart" when it's needed. A terrific performance from her as well. Just the right kind of singing voice for the part.

Pacing was perfect. I didn't feel like I'd been siting in a cinema for very long. Score was well done (good job, Mark Mothersbaugh!)and enjoyed the cinematography, too. Big moments were spectacular and the little moments intimate.

If I could rate this, I'd give it a solid 9/10.
86 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Douglas,De Niro,Freeman and Kline Are Simply Having Fun
Desertman842 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Last Vegas is a comedy that features an ensemble cast of four legendary actors namely:Michael Douglas, Robert De Niro, Morgan Freeman, and Kevin Kline.It is about four old men who have been friends for close to sixty years who decide to throw a bachelor party for the only one of them who has remained single that is planning to get married.Mary Streenburgen co-stars.It was directed by Jon Turteltaub.

Despite of its tag line that states "It is going to be legendary",it is definitely far from it.The Academy Award winning actors are obviously working for a paycheck and having fun being together in the set.Nothing more.The comedic scenes barely would elicit laughter to the viewer. One positive thing about it though is that they try to make do of what the material offers to make sure that it is far from being one bad movie.With regards to the performances,there is nothing really worth mentioning except the fact that the actors are definitely having fun with their characters.As for the screenplay,it was more like of a get together among old friends who celebrate their friendship of being together.As for the themes of unresolved issues,old age and friendship, it presents nothing original and it is obviously clichéd and predictable.Overall,it is basically a movie about four old men having great time together at Las Vegas.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
What A Delightful Movie!
patsworld7 November 2013
Now this is the sort of movie Hollywood should be making! All the talent in these older actors and actresses and it's being wasted by far too many tasteless, unfunny, crude movies that you either do not want to see, or if you are foolish enough to be roped into attending, you regret with every inch of your soul. In this one, each and every part was cast to perfection. A plot that made sense, fully fleshed out characters you like, and just fun, fun, fun. Tell you, there were more people in the matinée my friends and I went to see than for any movie we can remember seeing in a long time. And all of us left the show smiling. This one is a keeper. Would actually love to see a sequel to this, set a year or so ahead. I can think of several older actors/actresses to be in the film, in addition to these delightful players. I'm hoping Hollywood is paying attention. Sometimes they do it right and use the real talent. The Best Oriental Marigold Hotel was one. Quartet was one. I could name a few more, too. And this is one. Looking for a nice break in some of the bleak stuff being offered? Here it is!
47 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The Hangover pushing 70
DarkVulcan293 November 2013
Four childhood friends who where like a good old gang back in the day, now 58 years later they all(Morgan Freeman, Robert De Niro, Michael Douglas, and Kevin Kline) have grown apart and living separate lives, and all pushing 70. But get a call to go to Las Vegas, for a friends engagement. Will these four old friends have the time of there lives?

All the great actors here have great chemistry and appears to be having fun being in the film together. The Las Vegas setting is awesome, and seems to take on a life of it's own. It was also very funny seeing the adventure and misadventure these guys get themselves into. It's also quite heartwarming, an enjoyable film for men and women.
45 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
If u r too young to love this movie just wait.....
namaste-sali2 November 2013
Lost Vegas was the most uplifting movie I have seen in ages. Being of that 'certain age' I found it poignant and refreshing.

All the cast were magnificent. Mary Steenburgen was a pure delight. I know she has taken up music lately and brought it to the screen! De Niro was great as the crusty widower with a chip on his shoulder. Morgan Freeman was, as usual, bigger than life. Kevin Kline is always a joy to watch (I've never forgotten his roll in A Fish Called Wanda!). And last, but certainly not least, Michael Douglas was spot on with his depiction of a person resisting the aging process.

If you think this movie is not perfect, you are probably too young to appreciate getting older. Buy the movie and hang on to it until you are in your 60's...you will appreciate it then, for sure! All in all, if you want to feel good, really good, after seeing this movie head out the door today and enjoy the ride!
63 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Wonderful Movie. Laughed the whole way through.
thevandy3 November 2013
Wonderful Movie. Laughed the whole way through. Way better than TheHang over. A Must See. Take your wife or friend they'll Love it. Kline, Douglas ,Morgan Freeman,and De Niro -- What a crew. The 2000's Rat Pack. We are all still the quoting the movie lines. Not just for the older audiences. I saw many young college students laughing there butts off. Smooth story with frequent laughs. If a critic rated this Bad, I will not give heed to another of his or her reviews. By the way: Mary Steenburgen is beautiful. Last Vegas is an entertaining movie with a lot of truthfulness, and it gives all of its actors - all legends and Oscar winners - real moments to dig in and play something amazing .
61 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Genuinely Warm and Funny with a Dash of Morality
Snook Shop22 October 2013
While this is not just a movie for the "over 50" crowd, it definitely plays toward them. It was definitely much funnier than "The Guilt Trip," and not quite as predictable. The actors were, of course, playing the roles they were made for (and I wish Kevin Kline would do more, along with Morgan Freedman.) I will say, Michael Douglas looked awful, primarily because his skin tone was so orange. The beginning riff on Kevin Kline's life was hysterical, and his final action (or lack thereof) you saw coming a mile away. However, the secret story between DeNaro & Douglas was good, and I wasn't quite sure in the beginning which way Mary Steenburgen was going to jump. (By the way, is it a law in Hollywood that all actresses must get a face lift?) Anyway, if you want a "feel good" movie with a good moral message and many a chuckle plus a few gaffaws, go see Last Vegas.
33 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews