IMDb > Cougars Inc. (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Cougars Inc.
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Cougars Inc. More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

52 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

Well, I liked it

7/10
Author: adi-cat from Romania
1 January 2011

I decided to give this one a shot after seeing James Belushi and Denise Richards on the credits. That, and the fact that there was no review for this title on IMDb; it kinda felt like a "virgin" territory to explore.

And I don't regret it, because I ended up liking it. The acting was believable without any of the forced over-the-top or wooden performances that you see in crappy movies where you are constantly reminded that some people are trying to act and the results are painful to watch.

The lead character which plays Sam was natural, the role fit him like a glove and in the end it felt like he pulled it off with style; and the other characters delivered good performances too.

I wouldn't know where to classify this but it certainly isn't a comedy. The story is somewhat original (at least I haven't seen another movie about high-school kids doing escort services for older women) but it doesn't fall into cheap clichés, not a little bit and all the little side stories are neatly weaved into the main one.

It has a sweet-sad tone all through, however, it also has a sort of light feeling of hope to it and the music helps building and keeping that up.

All in all, I didn't end up regretting the time I spent on it (as I do with a lot of movies, lately) so what I can tell you is, give it a try and make up your own mind about it. This isn't your garden-variety blockbuster but I think you'll find it a quite good way to spend one and half hours on a stormy afternoon.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Heroes aren't born, they're cornered

7/10
Author: torrentstorm from United States
27 March 2011

"Heroes aren't born, they're cornered". I didn't know Mickey Rooney said that, but according to Dean Fox (James Belushi) , he did. I couldn't agree more. It takes guts to try pull off an adventure of this nature, involving unsatisfied, lonely mature ladies, but it takes guts too to make a hero, inasmuch as the word can imply.

Lately we've seen a string of movies involving mature, horny ladies, most of them forgettable disasters. I was unsure about this one, but all things put together, it was an enjoyable movie. The theme, yes, might be risqué, but it was a well done and mature story. Several acting roles are highlights in this one. Kyle Gardner, as Sam, made some powerful scenes as the young escort service manager, too young to tackle a venture of this nature, but yet, mature enough to behave responsibly and respectfully. The scenes involving heart to heart conversations with his High School Dean were well done. James Belushi, of course, is a veteran of such, and I couldn't help smiling at his conversational quirks and facial expressions. So like Belushi.

That is another of the strengths of this movie. It never vilified or sullied women, whatever their sexual preferences, nor did it ever make them look vulgar or cheap. These women craved love, there were some nice, horny boys around willing to please, the ladies were willing to pay for a good time together, Sam needed the money to pay for his tuition, so you had a deal. There was no attempt to make things seem dirty, it was just a circumstance that happened. The nice thing about it, too, no one ended up as enemies. Everyone was mature enough to understand the situation and act accordingly, so despite the obvious scandal in the end, the story ended well for everybody. It was not a fairy tale ending either, in case you think this was another tear-jerker. Everything was plausible and very believable.

There was no stupid behavior, brainless monkeying around, boys acting stupidly like I've seen in other movies. That too was another plus in this one. The ladies were pretty and nice to them, the boys were also nice and gentlemanly with the ladies. I think the screenwriter of this plot likes women and respects them, and it shows in the story. That's so nice to see.

But like everything in life, there are consequences. The final 'showdown' talk between Sam and his friend Dean Fox was heartbreaking, but so very very true these days, where families are dysfunctional and...well. not quite families anymore. Powerful acting in this scene. Both actors show their talent.

Bottom line, then, not a ten-pin-bowling strike of a flick, but very enjoyable, intelligently done, and time well-spent. Highlights notwithstanding, when you think of it, this is a very difficult movie to film and pull off.

I think you will like the style of this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Boring, Inc.

3/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
1 January 2013

I must start out by saying that I was definitely not in the target audience for this movie, because I gave up about halfway through the movie out of sheer boredom. This movie took forever to get nowhere, and for a comedy it was frightfully devoid of laughs and funny situations.

Admittedly, then the storyline does have the ground for a great comedy, but it just came out as non-appealing and not funny at all. Plus, the core essentials of the movie have been seen in other movies that deal with the same situation.

Despite having some fairly good names to the cast list, then "Cougars Inc." was a dull experience, one that I will never pick up again and attempt to watch with the intend to finish. It should be said that I rarely give up on a movie, so for this one to cause me to get up and stop it halfway through, that pretty much says a lot about the movie. With that said, then I am not saying that the actors or actresses in the movie didn't do good enough jobs, because they did, the movie was just a boring experience.

I am sure if you are a young teen, perhaps around 15 to 18 years old or so, then you might find some amusement in this movie. But for an adult audience, "Cougars Inc." doesn't offer much in the entertainment aspect.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Not a masterpiece but above average

7/10
Author: banduw from Singapore
1 April 2011

I wasn't sure about it during first 10 minutes but, as story kept unfolding, it kept me going. Although the movie have some emotional elements and a nicely flowing storyline, it is not presented as an emotional movie. Scenes are neither too long or too short, which is a nice thing - just enough to tell the story.

There is not much character introduction with their backgrounds and motivations to do things, and I guess, it is left for us to imagine. Ending of the story was predictable within first 1/3 but it didn't hurt the movie.

This movie lacks the "scale": small and less-involved cast, short and medium camera shots giving the feeling of a budget movie (or a tele-drama).

Overall, watching it is not a waste of time, but remember to tolerate first 15 minutes until story starts appearing, because, editor hasn't done a great job.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Really Above Expectations

7/10
Author: efehuu from Turkey
19 April 2011

I have Watched this movie nearly without any expectations and i kinda liked it. all the characters are in place James Belushi was amazing at that cool dad role and Denise Richards is well what she is but i was amazed by the guy who played Sam in the movie he kinda reminded me David Duchovny in Californication. The movie has a bitter sweet taste and the music was really helping you about that. The Questions between the scenes are a nice touch i think.

Only thing that bothers me is that this isn't a comedy i mean it is a emotion filled and surely suitable for drama but i don't think that this movie is in the boundaries of a comedy.

But it is good acting, there is nothing over used even the the boys are acting stupid as they would in a real world.

At the and i really enjoyed my 85 minutes going trough and i hope you will give a chance too.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Its all in the delivery

7/10
Author: rob o'cop from japan
29 May 2011

K Asher Levin is obviously a guy who thinks about smooth natural dialog, cos this movie is full of it. It seems adlibbed almost and this is an obvious strength for him as a writer and director. He's gone for the realistic vibe on this movie with under produced sets and lighting, taking it to a gritty vibe, and it's pretty damn good for that. He's taken what could have been a terrible Hollywood sleazefest and turned it into an indie edgy piece. There are flaws, that you can overlook with some suspension of disbelief. James Belushi's character is too cool to be anyone's teacher but he delivers it convincingly. The guys are a little too everyman but maybe that's the point, but if they're everyman then the swinging older women were too hot. Ultimately this is watchable and more importantly it shows some real promise for the director/Writer.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A hidden charmer

Author: arthurlally1 from United Kingdom
3 September 2011

Like a few of the other reviewers, I thought this might have been one of those films I'd turn off in the first 5 minutes but to my surprise I really enjoyed it and if anything wanted the story to continue. It certainly stands out from the crowd and if you like strong characters then this won't disappoint.

Also interesting to see one the leads from Cold Case in another role, which Kathryn Morris excelled The film is engaging because of the way the main actor speaks to the screen and the 20 or so lead in questions posed. So if you think this is just another light weight, American comedy film, don't be fooled, it's much better than that.

So take a look at it and hope you enjoy it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Wow, didn't see that coming.

8/10
Author: Joy P
17 June 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Maybe the posters where made shallow and uninteresting on purpose. Maybe the name of the movie was intended to be just plain. I won't lie; I thought it was going to be a shallowness festival in the form of a strange spin-off of a 'Fitch trying to score Stiffler's Mom' film. I was pleased to see it wasn't.

The movie has a strange timing that's sort of uncomfortable in the first ten-fifteen minutes, but once you get used to it and you find out the reason of the strange configuration of the movie (It's just a bunch of notes of a quite too smart teen), you can go with it. I really end up liking it, it make sense to me how it was told. It's not pretentious, it is what it is.

Performances where nice: Kyle Gallner, in the skin of witty and kind of sweet Sam, fits perfect in this casually messy kid who finally finds his place in the world and will do anything to stay in his little personal paradise. In addition, his chemistry with James Belushi and Kathryn Morris is not forced at all. Belushi plays the role of cool school teacher with elegance, and accomplished some nice moments just by staying quiet and staring into others' eyes like trying to figure them out. I love Denise Richards too: She's not trying to be nice, but you end up kind of liking her.

It's classy and nice when it could be a mess, and way better that what it seems. Just like Sam learned in the movie, not everything is what it looks like, and this film certainly isn't.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Developing a growing contact list of cougars can be a risky business.

6/10
Author: tyler-and-jack from Edinburgh.
13 January 2012

Well, it certainly seems that in recent years cougars have become quite a marketable commodity. The older woman yearning to make out with the horny teen is, of course, the stuff of fantasy (way back to The Graduate and beyond) and makes it an ideal concept for teen comedy fare. So how does Cougars, Inc. measure up? It's okay. The plot is almost the same one as that used in Cougar Club. A young man (played by Kyle Gallner, in this instance) has a night with an older woman and then finds himself in a situation where he can make money by getting lots of horny teens hooked up with lots of horny, older women. Things get complicated and people look set to get hurt.

While Cougars, Inc. isn't the funniest of the teen comedy movies that I've seen, it manages to take the subject matter and use it in a way that's not as gratuitous as you might expect.

The script and direction by K. Asher Levin really helps in this regard but I think some praise deserves to go to the actors and actresses on screen. Gallner is a cool and likable presence, explaining his whole story in flashback mode. Sarah Hyland suffers slightly as her character is given a few too many sassy lines of dialogue but she's not bad. James Belushi steals most of his scenes as headmaster Dan Fox, a genuinely cool guy who wants to help kids. And then we have the cougars themselves, an interesting mix. Kathryn Morris plays Alison and her character is given some nice shading, removing her some distance from the predatory image that many many have of this particular species of cougar. Denise Richards, on the other hand, knows what she wants and aims to get it. She's a harsh, cold woman and Richards plays the part well.

There may not be enough nudity on display for the teens, there may not be enough big laughs either, but this is a decent enough movie that manages to throw a few surprises at the viewer while winding towards a predictable enough conclusion.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Lots of love for this.

9/10
Author: georgia_cushion from United Kingdom
29 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I loved this film so much. I thought it had a brilliant story-line, the idea that Sam couldn't pay for his tuition and how they came up with an escort service that helps to pay was very original. Kyle Gallner was amazing as Sam, but he wasn't the only good actor of the bunch. I am sad that this film wasn't made more well known, because I thought it was excellent. I was pleasantly surprised because I thought that mainly it would be about the women trying to find solace in the young boys, but it was the other way round. Overall I would say that Cougars, Inc. is a great film (especially if, like me, you love Kyle Gallner!) with a very good story-line. I would rate it 9.5/10 and say that it is suitable for anyone mature 13+.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history