IMDb > "Privileged" (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
"Privileged" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 13 reviews in total 

26 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Wonderful!

10/10
Author: musicedv from United States
6 October 2008

I love this show. Best new show of the year. Joanna is like that of Amy Adams. The show is a light and funny comedy full of romance and life lessons for all. Wonderful acting , writing and a chance to see the beach from Florida (nice to mix it up from all the LA shows). It is refreshing to see something so entertaining with some where to go. I feel all characters have a change coming. I for one am thrilled we get to watch it unfold. We can not compare this to anything we have seen before.

Watch it ...you shall be entertained to the fullest. I always like to watch and judge a show for myself ....do not let the name or material make you feel foolish for enjoying a delicious hour of suspension of disbelief. Oh, and P.S. this world does exist and most people don't know it. It is unfair to judge the beautiful, smart,wealthy and funny because all 4 of these things make it possible for us to visit their world.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

One of the Best New SeriesThis Fall!

9/10
Author: john907 from Jakarta
21 October 2008

At first glance, I assumed many people, including myself, thought this series was just one of "super rich girls do anything they want" stories. Fortunately, after watching 5 episodes now, this is certainly not the case. There were actually motives and backgrounds to the characters which I thought was one of the most forgotten aspects on creating this type of series.

It is true that this series is more close to Gilmore Girls than 90210 or Gossip Girl. I thought the dialog are witty and the characters are interesting, especially our main girl, Megan (played effortlessly by JoAnna Garcia). She is quite wise for her age, but that doesn't mean she doesn't have any flaws, in particular regarding her relationship with her sister.

Overall, I hope CW will pick up this series for a whole season, just because the story potential are endless and the characters are interesting. And for those reasons, I think Privileged is one of the best new series this fall.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Gilmore meets the Gossip Girls

10/10
Author: wowastyle-2 from United States
11 February 2009

This is the best new CW show of this season and I LOVE it. I am a fan of Gossip Girl so when I saw the preview for a story of 2 rich girls, I immediately thought of that. I thought, "great, another show about rich kids" as if reality TV isn't enough. I decided to watch the first episode because I love Joanna since watching her on Reba. This is a show that I could easily watch with my parents or whoever and I don't have to worry about someone having sex in the next minute or so. It's more than the lives of the rich, rather it deals with real-life issues that any high school student faces. I wish there was more shows like this that had substance. Every episode of the show has a theme, a moral to the story. The other great thing about this TV show is the music! This is the only show that I actually dig around trying to find out what music played during the episode. Here's hoping for another fantastic season.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Not so sure about this one yet...

6/10
Author: Zen416 from United States
27 September 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I've tuned in since the pilot episode on this but I can't say whether or not I'll stay with this show. Joanna Garcia is charming and mercurial in the protagonist's role of Megan Smith (kind of like a brunette Meg Ryan) and Anne Archer does her role as the icy, aloof queen of a cosmetics empire and grandmother to 2 spoiled grand-daughters justice. The only problem is that the rest of the characters are little cartoon-ish and 2 dimensional, which is a shame considering the talent they have on board. Megan's sister Lily (Kristin Apgar, a Gwyneth Paltrow-ish looking gal) is portrayed as being way too coarse and common so even if there is sympathy to be had for her character, you just don't like her enough to care. The spoiled "twins", Rose and Sage (Ashley Newborough and Lucy Hale) are another story; Rose is so naive and dippy you wonder if she can tie her own shoes. Sage, her twin, on the other hand, is just plain mean and manipulative. Someone else mentioned that it's hard to like the characters and I sort of get that. The men in the show are wasted because they have very little to do. Maybe the show just needs a chance to get going to find it's way. I hope so.

Was the above review useful to you?

Good mean girls golden heart standard fare

7/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
9 September 2013

Megan Smith (JoAnna Garcia) is a Yale-educated journalism major who was hoping for much more when she had a chance to see Palm Beach cosmetics business magnate Laurel Limoges (Anne Archer). Instead, she is offered a live-in tutoring job for her two spoiled grand-daughters Rose Baker (Lucy Hale) and Sage Baker (Ashley Newbrough).

The girls start off as spoiled, but it's obvious where this is going. Megan is going to teach them lessons, and they're going to grow on her. So any bickering or mean girl act is all simply just on the surface. I think everybody did a good job playing these standard characters.

The series lasted only 1 season. It was probably good for 2 but not much more.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Apart from Joanna Garcia, everything else is awful in this show

1/10
Author: Angelus2 from United Kingdom
22 October 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Megan Smith is given the responsibility of tutoring two spoilt brats, by their rich Grandmother. And course she has to deal with matters of the heart.

I was first pulled in by the beautiful Miss Garcia, and was smitten by her bubble nature, her caring character, but soon as the twins entered...I decided to stop watching. The show is nothing but dribble, some crying here...some crying there...some fame hunting there...and then some crying again. The whole romance thing can only hold a show for so long, interesting characters need to be created to hold it together, something this show ignores.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Harmless but brainless

Author: liquidcelluloid-1 from www.liquidcelluloid.blog.com
28 June 2009

Network: CW; Genre: Teen Drama; Content Rating: TV-PG (some language and suggested sex); Perspective: Contemporary (star range: 1 – 4);

Seasons Reviewed: Series (1 season)

Part a star vehicle for the adorable Joanna Garcia ("Reba") and part an adaptation of Zoey Dean's book "How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls", "Privileged" as a bubbly, agreeable even addicting guilty pleasure. The show starts promising and then does all it can to let the air out of all the fun.

Garcia stars as highly-educated and seemingly unemployable college grad Megan who is presented with an opportunity of a lifetime. In exchange for tutoring Ann Archer's spoiled daughters, Sage (Ashley Newbrough) and Rose (Lucy Hale), she gets to live in a gorgeous Malibu mansion, drive a sports car, hang out with her best friend Charlie (Michael Cassidy) and get advice from the mansion's chef Marco (Allan Louis), who serves as the show's all-knowing advice-giver for Megan.

Starting with what I like about "Privileged", the greatness of casting Garcia in the role cannot be underplayed. Her personality and buoyancy floats in and carries the show. Megan is cute and intellectual, but also thick-headed, judgmental and self-absorbed. She is not a good person, but she sure thinks she is. It's a more complex character balance than you'd expect from a show like this. But the rest of the cast doesn't quite stack up. Sage and Rose are the Legally Brunette figures who like their designer labels and boy toys and use those things to craft their own success – and naturally Megan succeeds in making them look a little bit deeper into what they want to be and do with their life. Archer is the usual hardass boss.

If this all sounds familiar to you, it felt that way to me too. "Privileged" can't just be a light guilty pleasure finding humor in girls and their toys in the lap of luxury. It can't just have fun in the sun with Megan, her romance with the neighbor stud Will (Brian Hallisay) who, of course, is in love with her and her BFF Charlie (Michael Cassidy), also in love with her, as I think "Privileged" would have played out best. Instead it settles into the type of relationship angst and familial melodrama you'd find in any old high school series or prime time soap. Megan's's backstabbing sister, her alcoholic father, her absentee mother who returns so Megan can give the "you can't just waltz back into my life and be my mother" speech. Rose and Sage date guys who aren't part of the societal uppercrust. One by one by one these story lines squeeze the fun out of the show, turning it into an empty melodrama where Meg does a lot of wining and crying about how "screwed up" her family is to anyone who will listen – all based on a past we haven't seen and have no point of reference.

Had it had the commitment to go for the guilty pleasure brass ring "Privileged" could have filled a television void for light-weight, glassy-eyed guilty pleasure. Instead it's worse - a drama with the empty head of a guilty pleasure (the last thing I want is a show like this lecturing me about gay marriage). It can't think of any other way to fill the time than with anything but the most familiar family drama clichés and self-aggrandizing comedy that isn't at all funny.

* ½ / 4

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

light hearted humour

Author: brizza14 from Nigeria
28 October 2008

the pilot is not very mind blowing and might not make you want to come back for more.. but anyone watching this series or Gilmore girls or gossip girl is not watching it because of the lessons you can learn but because its light hearted and easy flowing... after 5 episodes, i think i want to see at least a full season..of this... it might not last as long as 5 seasons.. but am guessing its going to grow into its own..

the story lacks depth now, but considering its still in its infancy stages, i hope to see it become deeper, if it doesn't, i should stop watching it then.. until then.. its quite OK.. i gave it a six because i would love to see what happens after... it probably would have made a better movie.. not enough story for a series!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Annoying yet addictive

6/10
Author: sarah-1460 from Sweden
14 December 2008

The best part about this show are the delicious men.

Sure, the Baker sisters are fairly entertaining albeit inconsistently so, as is Anne Archer in her posh, business Grandma role (she's the senior poster girl for lip gloss). We like Marco (Allan Louis) the in-house gourmet chef for his wit and irony, but Joanna Garcia (Megan) in the lead is just hands down - annoying.

Can she please stop twitching her head every time she says something (which is literally all the time)? Someone else commented on "Privileged" comparing it to "Gilmore Girls". Perhaps I should have read that before I started watching this show. There is no show on this planet more annoying than "Gilmore Girls". Joanna Garcia is not quite as annoying as those Gilmore girls, but she's quickly becoming my pet peeve of this show. Who knows, a few more episodes and she might be running for the gold medal of Most Annoying Protagonist.

So why watch it? Really. Three reasons, plain and simple.

*Charlie (Michael Cassidy) *Jacob (David Giuntoli) *Will (Brian Hallisay)

Yum, yum and yum. I want to marry Charlie.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Book is better

5/10
Author: lisek16 from United States
13 September 2008

"Privileged" is based on the book by Zoey Dean by the name "How to teach filthy rich girls" and though the premise is the same, the characters don't have the same depth. What's alluring about the book is not just Megan's struggles to teach the girls but bond with them. After watching the pilot just days after finishing the book I was let down. I won't spoil the book for those who are thinking of reading it, but the back stories it provides are far more interesting then what the pilot provided us with. Yes, its ultimately a story of the wealthy and their drama... but the book is something more... If you were less then impressed with the series I still recommend the book. Seeing the promos prompted me to read it, and it was one of my favorite reads of the year.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history