IMDb > Inhale (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Inhale
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Inhale More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 29 reviews in total 

44 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely worth watching!

10/10
Author: dimitris_mo from Greece
12 September 2010

When I started watching this movie I had my doubts,due to lack of reviews and even rating...so I expected just another "below average" movie just to kill my time.

But from the very beginning I got the feeling it wouldn't be an indifferent film!This is a movie about ethics in its actual sense.Not just about religious or political debates. It should stimulate every user who likes to think.

It has action,drama and even politics,all given to you in a way that not only won't bore you,but will actually make you want it to last a little bit longer...At least that's what happened in my case and to all 4 persons I watched it with!

Acting was good as well.If this movie had a bigger budget and well-known cast would definitely have been a movie everyone would talk about!

If you like movies with both interesting plot and good direction,take my word and watch it.It won't let you down!

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Not for the squeamish or faint of heart, the viewer will experience a hidden world . . .

9/10
Author: charles000 from United States
5 September 2010

Somewhat in the same genre' as the film "Traffic" which takes the viewer into the extremely dark world of human trafficking of kidnapped children sold to pedophile clients, "Inhale" takes the viewer into the dark world of "no questions asked" human organ trafficking, sold into the medical black market.

There's no fooling around, fluff or frills in this film.

Right from the start, the viewer is plunged into a contorted realm of existence, faced with horrific choices that have to be made under the worst of imaginable circumstances.

Desperate parents, hoping against hope for a donor lung transplant, while their daughter is inching ever closer to death, faced with a seemingly illogical and unfair organ recipient listing system, realize that they have to resort to other "outside the box" options, immediately.

In the real world, this is a scenario that is all too familiar for countless thousands of parents, who, regardless of expense or effort needed, will travel to various clinics outside the USA, to save their children from otherwise certain death. To cater to this need, there are many parts of the world where, for the right price, the desperately needed organ(s) in question magically appear on demand to the highest bidder.

All things considered, this film does deliver a bone chilling dose of drama under duress, and then some.

The only part that I felt seemed to be a bit weak was the ending, which was tailored more to suit a politically correct message, rather than deliver a realistic rendering of what would actually happen in such circumstances.

Having said that, however, the casting and acting in this piece fit into this story like a hand to a glove. I had no trouble in suspending disbelief while viewing this film, as I personally have traveled around a bit and have seen first hand what this sort of scenario looks like.

I give the director a lot of credit for trying to deliver this view into a world mostly hidden from the general public, via this dramatic platform.

As previously suggested, this film is not for the squeamish or faint of heart.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Suspense, drama and just the right amount of action

10/10
Author: Jon Death from United States
28 August 2010

Put simply this is a very good movie. At first you might think wow, made for TV but no, it just starts with a simmer and gradually begins to boil. Before you know it the protagonist has departed from everything he so clearly believed in with his attempt to save his child, only to be forced to reconcile with who he is at heart when the ultimate tests are placed upon him.

This is the type of film that 10 years ago would have owned the box office but today, they're a gamble. Unless you stick a product name like Russel Crowe or Tom Cruise in it, it's hard to say which way it will go. It also reminds me of how the grading curve has changed due to the collage of genres we know get in a single film which is probably one of many reasons films are now so often struggling at the box office.

It is kindred to films such as 8mm, Man On Fire, Patriot Games etc. If you enjoyed those, I'm pretty certain you'll enjoy this movie equally as much.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Good movie

6/10
Author: somersetboy from United Kingdom
16 August 2010

The movie is generally good. I don't know why some reviewers have focused on the incredulity of the story. I think this movie makes a good rental. It is a bit of a hard viewing, not just because of some violence or sex but because of the overall subject matter itself. I thought that the director kept the focus on the story.

When I checked for the reviews I was surprised that it did not have very many reviews. I think the producers and director should be given some positive feedback because this movie did appear to deliver as a movie.

There are some intensely annoying loose ends. So ignore the first ten minutes. If it was not for this I would have given this movie 7 or even 8. Since the story was not cleaned up in the beginning it gets only 6 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Could Have Been Utterly Silly If Not For Baltasar Kormákur

7/10
Author: chicagopoetry from United States
13 August 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The premise of Inhale is quite ridiculous. A notable prosecuting attorney puts everything on the line because he's heard rumor of a "Doctor Navarro" who can obtain illegal organs. In search for a new pair of lungs for his dying daughter, said attorney completely abandons the subplot of defending a sex offender (never to resolve that issue) and he leaps across the border into Mexico on a journey into the underworld to find a new pair of lungs. Do you remember that old movie Hardcore with George C. Scott? It's basically that, except instead of plunging into the seedy pornography industry to find his kidnapped daughter, our hero dives head first into some mythical Mexican organ dealing crime syndicate that is every bit as sleazy. Some very violent and sexually explicit events result, giving this one a strong R rating if not an NC17. The implausibilities pile up but somehow, with the tense direction of Baltasar Kormákur and some fine bad ass acting from Dermot Mulroney, what could have been a laugh fest turns out to be a very engaging, edge of your seat thriller. Smart subtle touches like a few seconds of our man clipping the stitches on his forehead with toenail clippers gives Inhale the feel of a real big screen blockbuster. And an extremely disturbing moral debate develops as we have to wonder why this man's daughter's life is more important than those who are getting killed in his pursuit to save her. The moral of the story is be careful what you wish for because you just might get it. Will he do the right thing at the last moment? You'll have to watch to find out. This is a very gripping film. I enjoyed it.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

The Truths and Choices in Parenting

8/10
Author: gradyharp from United States
15 November 2010

INHALE is a fine little gripping drama from writers Walter Doty and John Clafin who based this timely tale on a story by Christian Escario about the extremes to which people will go to when terminal illness takes the mains stage of their lives. It is a very dark story but survives becoming morbidly dreary by the sensitive direction from Baltasar Kormákur and a strong cast.

Paul Stanton (Dermot Mulroney) is a successful attorney married to Diane (Diane Kruger) and they have one child Chloe (Mia Stallard) who suffers form a terminal pulmonary disease. The family's life is driven by love but also by the fact that Chloe needs frequent emergency trips to the hospital because of her tenuous hold on life. Paul and Diane are finally told Dr. Rubin (Roseanna Arquette) that the only choice they have for saving Chole is a lung transplant. Paul searches the methods for finding an entry into this overcrowded demand for organ transplant and when he discovers that a powerful man James Harrison (Sam Shepard) received an illegal heart transplant in Mexico, Paul sets out to find the source. In Mexico he discovers just how crime-ridden is this area of 'sales' and persists until he uncovers a doctor Navarro - a code name - in the person of Dr. Martinez (Vincent Perez). The hideaway compound where the illegal transplants are performed is surrounded by poor people and gangs and the one person that helps the desperate Paul find the source of illegal organs is a kid who befriends him. When a 'donor' becomes available, there is a decision that Paul must make, one based on human kindness and compassion balancing with his won desires to deliver lungs to his daughter.

Mulroney is particularly excellent in this tough role and the gamut of emotions is staggering. And the remainder of the cast, including the gifted Jordi Mollà in an important cameo, is superb. The film is intense and disturbing but successfully explores the little known world of illegal organ transplantation. Another fine feather in the cap of Icelandic director Baltasar Kormákur!

Grady Harp

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

exceptional true - unbelievable heartbreaking

8/10
Author: joefuzzy
31 October 2010

What would you do? Your daughter is about to die, your family is breaking apart and your wallet is big enough to afford a human life.

This is basically what this movie is about. As boring that this story starts it really changes fast to an affecting one for everybody who watches this movie. When life saving decisions all of the sudden fall into the hands of a father and a mother of an seriously ill child you should expect to see heartbreaking drama. If then heartless people get involved you should even expect some fireworks. This is basically what you get here.

I seriously recommend this movie to everybody who doesn't wanna see another softened Hollywood ballyhoo and instead likes to ask themselves questions about life and how they would react to certain decisions.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly good.

7/10
Author: JWJanneck from United States
20 February 2011

The basic premise of this film does not give reason for very high expectations --- dedicated parents with child in distress, how far are they willing to go, and what do they need to do in order to save their child. In this case, the child needs an organ transplant, and as the usual channels do not seem to be able to save her, the parents need to get creative about procuring a suitable organ in some other way.

This is fertile breeding ground for loads of cheese, contrived story lines, and emotional vignettes. And even though you can see the end coming from quite a bit away, and even the movie isn't entirely free of cheese, it's a dark and gritty movie that explores its subject without too much sentimentality and isn't afraid to look where standard Hollywood fare might not.

The solid story is helped along by a strong cast led by a great Mulroney (who seems to be expanding his range with every work I see him in), and it pains me to say that even Diane Kruger (whom I otherwise enjoy to slam) turns in an excellent performance, as does the interesting supporting cast (Arquette appears somewhat underused, it wouldn't be surprising if a good deal of her material ended up on the cutting room floor).

At some point in the film you realize that no matter which way things go, the ending won't be a very happy one. To me, that is where I see the true strength of this movie, and I find it much more important than the particular road the story ends up taking (and which seems to have made many viewers rather unhappy judging from the discussion boards). To be sure, I like the ending, and much prefer it over its conceivable alternatives, but the real point remains that our protagonist had arrived at a situation that no longer admitted a 'happy' resolution.

Definitely worth seeing.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Worth watching.

7/10
Author: rishadar_176 from india
23 October 2010

Fast paced movie with a good plot.The movie talks about the illegal part of heart transplantation and how they do it. the casts fit the role exactly and the movie doesn't lose its objective or story anywhere. The emotional part in the movie is touching. the movie enters the story in the very first scene itself. The scenes are properly edited and there is no confusion in any of the scenes. The movie catches its speed once the hero enters the Mexico. From there on the furious story of illegal heart transplantation begins. The hero too goes there to find a heart for his daughter who ails from serious asthma problems.She needs an immediate transplantation. But the hero faces a great piece of challenge, Ethics. In the last scene , he faces his own moral values against saving his daughter. Watch it. Its worth watching.Its actually good!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

This is a GREAT movie

10/10
Author: writeryou from United States
28 November 2010

This film got no press but it is well-written, has a great cast/performances, and an ending that's a knock-out. Dermout Mulroney gives a dynamic performance as a father who is pushed to the brink to help his dying child. Diane Kruger is equally as good as a mother squeezed to the breaking point. The film is intense and fast-paced. The direction is FANTASTIC. The Music is well-done and the art direction sets the tone. Rent it. You won't be sorry.

The story is about a young couple who's daughter need a lung transplant. Everything seems hopeless until their Doctor gives them a lead that takes the desperate father into Mexico, to buy his way onto their donor list. But what he finds both surprises and shocks him. And he is faced with an impossible choice. IT IS A GREAT MOVIE!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history