IMDb > Saving God (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Saving God
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Saving God More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

21 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Worth the Time

8/10
Author: jason-p-2 from Canada
23 December 2008

I always find it interesting to "rate" a Christian movie. Actually, i find it interesting to see how other people rate a Christian film. Somehow, the average comes in to somewhere between 4 and 6. I think it's because Christians will rate ALL Christian movies higher because it's Christian, and non-Christians will rate it low for the same reason. I don't think either of these is fair.

SAVING GOD is a fine movie. Period. There's no - it's good for a Christian film. It is just a good movie. The acting is strong, the characters are believable, the story is engaging and though provoking, and the look and feel of the movie are authentic, and certainly do NOT look like most Christian films(read: cheesy and low budget looking).

Ving Rhames poured himself into the role of Armstrong Cane, and it shows in every scene. He is instantly believable, and instantly likable in a "I can't believe he said that kind of way." All of the cast turned in stellar performances, but I was personally particularly impressed with Dwain Murphy. The sky is truly the limit for this talented young man.

It would be unfair if I didn't comment on the Christian aspect of the Christian film. As a Christian, I was encouraged by this movie. It shows another step in the maturity of Christian film. Poignant without being preachy is probably the best description I can come up with. This is truly a film that a Christian can show to a non-believing friend, and not feel embarrassed by it. That being said,there is certainly a message of redemption, and salvation in the film, but it is presented in a more natural, real and believable way.

I really can't see how anyone can knock this movie for anything other than the fact that they disagree with the Christian message. Because there is really nothing wrong with it. I recommend this movie highly to anyone who likes a good dramatic story, Christian or not.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

One of the best movies I've ever seen.

10/10
Author: moovyfellow from Kansas City
20 October 2008

Wow! what a fantastic movie. I watched 300 movies last year. This is the best one I've seen this year. It's a movie 'really' worth one's time in watching. I don't understand why, at present, the average vote is 4.6. It looks like the votes are split with a little less than half giving it a '1', and a little more than half giving it a '10'. I was not looking for a movie to glorify violence in choosing this film, the last several years I've tried to watch movies that deal more with good drama, acting skills, or message. This film has all three, as well as enough violence to get it's point across. I've always liked Ving Rhames as an actor, but I believe this is the best film I've ever seen him in.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Good idea, bad movie

3/10
Author: muteman from Slovenia
15 January 2011

So the story is about a convicted felon, rev. Armstrong who returns back to his neighborhood. A changed man now, he wants to get the old neighborhood church operating again. But some thugs there make things difficult. OK, I think, not bad, might be a good movie...

Well, the reality is that it's an interesting idea, but very poorly executed if you ask me. I maybe believed Ving Rhames's role, the character Armstrong Cane to be an ex-con reverent, obsessed with god and faith after coming out of prison, his acting was good. But all the other characters, I didn't believe them one bit. They were shallow, they suddenly had outbreaks of feelings without any reason, just because the they had to due to the story. I couldn't feel any of these feelings, shallow, shallow. The thugs looked funny, not realistic at all. Just a mix of good ideas, but very badly executed. Afraid to say so, but not worth your time...

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Movie I'd be happy to recommend to non-Christian friends.

7/10
Author: matt-3173 from United States
24 November 2008

Ving Rhames gives a wonderful performance as the criminal-turned-reverend in this Christian movie. The storyline is powerful, their are plenty of characters and sub-plots, and it is believable from beginning to end. While there is some violence, it is just enough to make the point of the movie but no more. My 11 year old son watched it with me with no problem.

This is the first Christian movie I personally have seen that has begun to make the leap toward acting like a "real" movie. It doesn't have the feel of the older Christian movies that didn't develop well the characters and suffered in the acting department. This movie is well-acted, moves along at a good pace, keeps you engrossed, and has fairly good character development. Add to that a strong twist at the end and it makes for a good movie.

You will come away with the feeling that people really can change, that there is good to be found in all of us, and that the church as the church can still be relevant. Even in a violent world where hope can seem a distant dream, God still has relevance.

Was the above review useful to you?

Great

10/10
Author: dave-thawley from Cannock, England
27 November 2016

I loved this film. The acting in it is second to none. I think its one of the few films I've watched recently where every character is believable. The story is relatively dark but this, along with the great acting makes the story real. The film doesn't pretend to represent the entire subculture in which it is set but instead is an ethnography of a few characters along with the more generic empowerment of a belief in God. I personally think the film could miss making its point with those who want to watch an overtly religious film or those who want to watch a film about gang warfare. However the film does catch the range of beauty, brutality, egocentric revenge and compassionate forgiveness that we as people can experience. Cracking film - could really do with a squeal :-)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

One of the better Christian Movies

Author: jlinkels from Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean
21 August 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In my point of view there are two types on Christian Movies: the one which breathes the message "I am the way, the truth, and the life" (John 14:6) every minute of the film, disregards any acting, storyline, or character development and attempts to push the Holy Ghost through your throat every minute. The other type is about people who have their hardships ad problems in life, and choose to fight and struggle to get out and take Jesus as their support to what they have to go through. These kind of films often have a solid storyline and are well acted.

"Saved God" is definitely of the second kind, although not everything was quite realistic.

The grandmother sitting in church and nodding in agreement in wet eyed ecstasy with the preacher's speech is common and seen often in real life. The pictured life of the street dealer and his boss is completely according to what is shown in other movies, but I am not sure how true that actually is.

--WARNING SPOILER BELOW--- What I find a bit unrealistic is the convicted effort of some of the bad types (the street dealer, his boss, Ashley's mother) to become a better person thanks to God. It is just a little bit overdone. Evil usually conquers. Nevertheless, acting was realistic and believable. If a message had to be passed to the viewers (yes, of course it had, duh!) it was done in a clever and non-pushy way.

jlinkels

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

This is the best movie I have ever watched!!!!!

10/10
Author: foxylady-2001
2 September 2012

I seen this movie on television Saturday, at first I wasn't going to watch it, but something really wanted me to watch this movie, so i did & was so glad that I did watch "Saving God"! I don't usually get into movies as I did watching "Saving God", but I couldn't even leave my chair to get a drink of water, as I didn't want to miss any of this movie. This movie, was so heart touching & emotional to me, I could feel the presence of God in this movie!! I cried at of the scenes, & at the end, when the drug lord had planned on killing the Pastor, but the end of movie turned different in what the drug lord did & asked the pastor, that was when the presence of God was so strong to me, that I asked Jesus to forgive my sins & asked Him into my life to stay forever! This movie is for everyone, not just of race, or people involved in drugs, but for anyone that hasn't invited Christ into your heart & life! I highly recommend this movie to everyone! I am going to buy the movie, if I can find it!! May God Bless everyone!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

That movie was simply one of the best I've ever seen, just awesome.

10/10
Author: alexfromhorn from Germany
30 September 2009

Two stories of two guys, running together. This movie is not some pro-Christianity stuff made by some right-wing super Christ freak. NO! This just tells about chances, helping and the good in ourselves. And damn believe me, cause I'm really not related to this religion in anyways. This movie was acted amazingly, Ving Rhames is simply one of my favorite actors. Music was well done. The character development was awesome. You can't give this movie something under 7, that's just not realistic. It blew me away. I can understand that some people don't like movies that play in black ghettos in the USA and so on but you have to just watch it and think about, it's really great.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history