IMDb > Ninja Assassin (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Ninja Assassin
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Ninja Assassin More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 20:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 194 reviews in total 

252 out of 370 people found the following review useful:

only 1 ninja was harmed during the making of this film, the rest of them were killed

8/10
Author: The-Arbiter from United States
25 November 2009

First off I would like to say that anyone who thinks this movie sucks because it has very little plot is an idiot.

Now let me tell you what Ninja Assassin isn't.

Its not a serious thinking movie, it's not a Gandhi, it's not a Saw type movie.

And it isn't a Twilight that's for sure.

The reason why Ninja Assassin is so friggin cool is because you know that the people making this movie had one thing in mind... Have a ton of Ninjas kill each other. Ninja Assassin is a fun guys night out type movie, at least that's how I saw this movie. Though some people walked out booing I walked out cheering because I came in and honestly just wanted a huge body count and a ton of blood and boy did they deliver.

My only major critique was the CGI blood... Though there were gallons of it coming out they could have stepped it up some more...

In a way this movie was like Rambo...Equal budget of 50 million, unbelievable carnage and pure fun... But the difference is that its acrobatic, its hacking slashing, gallons of blood and Ninjas with blades on chains = )...

So all in all a solid 8/10 for me.

PS. Watch out for the opening scene and the police station scene because those scenes are epic awesome.

Was the above review useful to you?

146 out of 201 people found the following review useful:

awesome

7/10
Author: rivertam26 from United States
25 November 2009

Who knew that the most insanely violent, ridiculously brutal and psychotically gory film of the year would be Ninja Assassin. Look there's not much to it think 300 with Ninjas or Braveheart with less emotional involvement and ninjas. It's quite obvious that the people responsible for this film set out to make the most ass kicking Ninja movie ad they even one uped themselves. i remember when I was younger Ninjas were kinda cool but since than they've lost their flair and so has the martial arts genre in general this one brings all that back with a hellacious gut punch. Visually the film is incredible. It's unlike anything you've ever seen. The fighting is quick, furious and the story although not completely involving is involving enough so that we kinda like the characters. What the film does explosively well is decapitate, disembowel and explode it's victims across it's blood soaked screen. Imagine slow motion shots of a man diving out of the way of 100's of ninja stars, slicing people in half with samurai swords and being born out of shadows literally. It's an exciting piece of cinematic brilliance. i can't speak for the actual quality of this film despite the visual flair but I don't think anyone seeing Ninja assassin will be going in with a too critical eye. It delivers on its title and the trailer's promises and more. It's just freaking crazy as hell.

Was the above review useful to you?

167 out of 270 people found the following review useful:

really good movie

10/10
Author: dusouljah from United States
20 November 2009

Great movie, A lot of good action, and fun all around. I was really worried about them messing the genre up by being too modern..but i think it was a really good effort...

i'm really into a lot of old school samurai, king fu, and martial art movies, and this one was about as good as a modern day ninja film could be...

lot's of gore and violence, which is great to me, simply because too many movie water down the violence in an attempt to draw in younger audiences, but this film knew exactly who their target audience was...and received a standing ovation as a result...

if u are expecting something fun, definitely check it out.....

Was the above review useful to you?

94 out of 125 people found the following review useful:

Liked it

9/10
Author: valexander69 from United States
5 December 2009

Lots of blood and guts (you know it's going to be bad when the first scene involves decapitation and blood spurting everywhere) but all around I enjoyed the movie. I went in with an open mind, after only seeing one movie trailer I didn't know what to expect and was pleasantly surprised I liked it as much as I did. If you're not into very violent movies, this isn't for you. It was action packed and pretty intense, squeezing in an actual storyline with all the gore was pretty seamless. The fight Choreography was fantastic and the cinematography was beautiful (reminiscent of the Kill Bill series as far as blood and choreography). The last fight scenes have to be my favorite out of any action/martial arts film and had me in awe. The lead actor (Rain) does a good job and the overall storyline was fairly well written. I read that the screenplay was rewritten in 50some hours, I'm not sure what it was before but the outcome was decent. All in all, a good flick and I recommend it highly.

Was the above review useful to you?

86 out of 128 people found the following review useful:

Wicked weapons, killer moves and Bloody battles at its all-time Best.

7/10
Author: xamtaro from http://thexamtaroshowvault.blogspot.sg
26 November 2009

If the Wachowski brothers' Speed Racer was the ultimate tribute to family friendly classic cartoons, Ninja Assassin is the ultimate tribute to 80s martial arts B movies like "Enter the Ninja", video games like "Ninja Gaiden" and the Ultra-violent anime genre titles like Ninja Scroll.(Already noticed the name "ninja" in all the titles mentioned? well, what a coincidence!). It is violent, it is bloody and packed to the gills with action. Every thing else ends up playing second fiddle to the fights.

Unfortunately, "every else" also includes the story which is, a hodgepodge of very familiar elements. Raizo (played by Korean star Rain) is an orphan raised by a cruel master Lord Ozunu(played by Sho Kosugi, famous for his starring roles in, what else, 80s ninja movies like "Enter the ninja".) to be part of a secret clan of ninjas that have been responsible for countless assassinations over the centuries. Through a series of flashbacks (intercut with scenes of a half naked hunky Rain training with some vicious looking weapons), Raizo's tragic story is fleshed out. We see his tormented childhood days as a ninja trainee; his only emotional refuge, an orphan girl who, like Raizo, is part of the clan. One day, his friend tries to escape from the harsh ninja way of life and is executed, prompting a change of heart in Raizo who eventually betrays his clan after a narrowly botched mission. Now on the run, hunted by both his former comrades and a special international task force, Raizo finds an unlikely ally in the form of Mika Coretti, a Europol agent who is close to exposing the secret existence of the Ninjas and hence targeted for assassination.

Simply put, the unoriginal storyline is highly predictable and filled with B movie clichés from stem to stern. It is a definite step down from the philosophical Matrix trilogy or the sophisticated and political V for Vendetta.

Characters are, at best, cardboard cut outs and at worse painfully bland. None of them come across as emotionally engaging. Raizo is especially underdeveloped despite being the main character. His internal motives for his betrayal are never fully explored and the cheesy romance bit, not to mention the whole big about "the heart' feels like a tacked-on afterthought. The acting is passable; nothing better than the level of a TV series, but the script manages to have a couple of witty lines of dialog.

Though Ninja Assassin is no work of storytelling perfection, it delivers what it promises: lots of fights and lots of violence. Limbs are lobbed off, stomachs are split open and heads are busted as the movie slashes its way from one fight scene to the next, delivering scenes of wicked weapons and bloody carnage that make even Friday the 13th and Texas Chainsaw Massacre look like a tame PG film. The fight choreography is well executed with a good mix of slow motion and frantic close-ups. Special effects and CGI are used to effectively give the movie a very comic book-like feel (not surprising since the Wachowski brothers are avid comic fans and one of the screenplay writers is also a comic book writer). Thankfully some erratic camera work (especially during the scene where Raizo is being chased through a busy street) does not feel distracting but enhances the frantic and lightning fast pace of the fights. Blood flows like rivers as Raizo proceeds to disembowel enemies en masse; definitely not for the squeamish.

On a whole, Ninja Assassin feels like a hack-and-slash video game come to life from the first skirmish to the climatic showdown involving modern day special forces taking on an army of ninja warriors . Some cheesy bits here and there require a certain suspension of disbelief but the film's portrayal of ninjas in general is gritty and realistic yet preserves their mysterious and legendary status. It is refreshing too to see that Raizo is not some invincible killing machine as he does tire and he does take his fair share of hits, even going down a couple of times.

Forget Naruto and all those brightly dressed, magic power spewing ninjas of recent anime. Ninja Assassin is the butt-kicking, face slashing answer to all that. A respectable re-imaging of a dated genre and 99 minutes of non-stop violent escapism once you look past its narrative flaws.

Was the above review useful to you?

68 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

Awesome

9/10
Author: T_h_e_Punisher from United Kingdom
27 January 2010

After reading a couple of reviews, i was prepared to come out of the theatre disappointed, but what i saw on screen was a fantastic homage to a a genre that has become a bit of a joke... the Ninja is back! I cannot understand why this movie could get a negative review. You are paying money to watch a film about violent assassins and this is exactly what you get. Blood by the bucket load, dismemberment, decapitation, all the things you would expect from a Ninja movie. I would pay to watch this again, and can only hope that 18 rated movies are not a thing of the past, and that this one does well at the box office so a sequel can be made.

A must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 75 people found the following review useful:

Bloody good entertainment

8/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
16 February 2010

This is by far the best ninja movie I have seen.

Right from the very beginning this movie is up in fast pace, action-filled and soaking in blood. There is a lot of bloodshed in this martial arts fest.

The story of the movie is good and keeps going at a good pace, so you never feel bored. Of course the story is straight forward and have no surprise twists to the plot - but an action movie of this caliber doesn't need plot twists.

The martial arts choreography and fighting scenes are brilliant, fast and hard punching. There are lots of really cool weapons being used in the movie as well.

There is just one bad thing to the movie, and that is why would an ancient clan of Japanese ninjas speak English? It makes no sense, as Japanese people are bound to traditions. But of course, I suppose this is kept in English to reach a wider audience. But had they actually done it in Japanese, there would be a much more wholesome feel to the movie. And also, again why would a Japanese clan take in non-Japanese children and train as ninjas?

Anyway, the cast of the movie is good, and it is refreshing to see new faces to the martial arts scene. The dialogue is straight to the point, no clumsy, half-hearted dialogue going on here, which also helps the movie to keep going.

So if you like ninja movies and action movies, this is definitely a movie you cannot allow to miss out on. Top notch action from beginning till end. But do take notice that there is a lot of blood in this movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

59 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

Amazing action sequences, enough blood to keep fans satisfied

8/10
Author: NorrisBadLand from Canada
1 December 2009

This movie is as cool as ninja can get ! The action sequences are jaw dropping, the choreographies are stunning, the chases are pulse accelerating.

The story begins in a building where a yakuza henchmen is getting himself a tattoo. As they argue about trivial things, the clan receives a letter with black sand inside. The tattoo master warns them about their imminent death, but they laugh at him. The next scene is one of the goriest one I've ever seen. The ninja hired to assassinate them makes salsa out of their body. Ninja Assassin.

The plot is centered around two federal agents who are on their way to reveal the secret ninja society. Their lives are in great danger as this secret must be preserve at all cost by the clan. Raizo (Rain) just escaped from his clan and wants to protect Mika, one of the two agents, as a way to redeem himself from all the sins he's done.

As this story spins and runs, we get to see a young orphan (Raizo) grow up in a Ninja clan lead by his sadistic master who brutalizes his students to prepare them for the path that a ninja have to walk.

All in all this movie was hands down an awesome Ninjitsu experience, with enough blood to keep fans satisfied.

8/10 !

For information on all martial arts visit my website: MartialArtScene

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

Escapist and Bloody "Ninja Assassin"

8/10
Author: jon.h.ochiai (jochiai@socal.rr.com) from Los Angeles, CA
27 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Teen ninja protégé Raizo (Joon Lee) confesses to the love of his life, fellow student Kiriko (Anna Sawai), "I have no heart…" in "Ninja Assassin". Raizo has sacrificed all to transform himself into the perfect weapon. His Sensei Ozunu (the great Sho Kosugi) reminds the grown Raizo (charismatic Rain), the orphan he trained as a son, "Never forget who you are." The Way of the Ninja is merciless and unforgiving, and Kiriko's life is forfeit. Raizo, now renegade, seeks only vengeance upon the Ozunu Clan. The perfect assassin must now become benevolent protector and avenging angel? Raizo discovers who he really is.

This is the paradox of Director James McTeigue's bloody and stylish "Ninja Assassin". Although the story by Matthew Sand and J. Michael Straczynski glosses upon this internal conflict in a standard issue vengeance tale, the spectacular bloody mayhem, and Rain's cool presence overcome much of the routine narrative exercise. "Ninja Assassin" does not always make sense, but it is captivating to watch. Whether it is blindfolded Raizo wielding his chain and blade against sword wielding rival Takeshi or Raizo fighting to the death in a burning clan compound, the movie is engrossing.

Rain as Raizo has a commanding screen presence. I don't think Rain is a trained martial artist. However, he is a trained dancer, handsome with a shredded body. Working with martial arts choreographer Chad Stahelski (student of Dan Inosanto), Rain generates a graceful deadly fighting style. McTeigue's quick cut editing may mask some of the martial arts precision, or may be this is just his kinetic visual style. The sword fighting is more kung fu than bushido, but the effect is slick and powerful. Martial arts master Kosugi as Ozunu displays the more traditional katana technique in the climactic duel with Raizo. "Ninja Assassin" has visually stunning and bloody martial arts fighting scenes.

Set in Berlin, Europol Agent Mika Coretti (intrepid and spirited Naomie Harris) believes that the recent series of brutal political assassinations are the work of a mythical Ninja Clan. Her boss Maslow (solid Ben Miles) is reluctant to engage Mika's theory; however, he too discerns a shadowy conspiracy. When Mika get too close to uncovering the Ozunu Clan, Takeshi (strong and malevolent Rick Yune) and his ninja seek to kill her. Raizo (Rain) is forced to protect Mika, who inadvertently interferes in Raizo's revenge and his deadly score to settle with Takeshi.

Raizo is now compelled to protect Mika with his life. During the Ninja attack at Europol Headquarters, he tells Mika, "They won't stop until you're dead." Mika finally gets that Raizo is the only one who can save her. Aside from some trite attempts at skewed martial arts wisdom about pain and vanquishing weakness, "Ninja Assassin" is a decent hero story. Raizo is sympathetic in his transformation. Trained to be the perfect shadowy assassin, one must know that he is not really a good guy. Rain as Raizo is compelling in this paradox. Raizo's vengeance is very human, but as noble protector he becomes hero.

"Ninja Assassin" ultimately works despite itself. Director McTeigue brilliantly avoids tripping over himself by allowing the visceral action to morph and evolve. And Raizo is not some invincible cartoon—he is brutally bloodied in his horrendous battles. "Ninja Assassin" is thoroughly engrossing escapist fare.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

5 points just for having Ninjas

6/10
Author: kemicon from United States
5 April 2010

This is a movie about Ninjas doing Ninja things, being stealthy, practicing bad-ass moves, and killing lots of other Ninjas.

If you don't mind a plot that comes straight out of a not very good video game there is enjoyment to be had here. Sho Kosugi is excellent as the master ninja, and a great choice for throwback fans of much better Ninja films like Revenge of the Ninja (last time I saw it I was 8 years old so...) . Rain (the hero ninja) barely says a word through the movie and when he does he sounds a lot like another immortal swordsman, Christopher Lambert.

Unfortunately the Wachowski siblings seem to be getting much worse at special effects. Some of the scenes look absolutely unbelievable and the Ninja training ground almost looks like a student work for a 3D class. It must be noted that the extremely graphic decapitations look great though. Each decapitation is enhanced with buckets of blood that will make any Tarantino fan giddy with dark and kind of disturbing joy.

If you're looking for a realistic Ninja movie (I know I am) I guess you'll have to Watch Leon again and pretend he's Asian. There are a billion plot holes here, Ninjas are un-killable until the movie decides they should be cannon fodder. Your suspension of disbelief will be pushed into overdrive but in the end, a movie about Ninjas doing Ninja things is always going to be at least decent. Well if you're into low art anyway.

Oh and the movie gets an extra point for playing Being Boiled by Human League during the end credits.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 20:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history