IMDb > Pet (2016/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Pet
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Pet More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 16 reviews in total 

23 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Interesting Premise But Fairly Boring Movie Overall

4/10
Author: HorrorOverEverything from United States
2 December 2016

Seth (Dominic Monaghan) is a lonely mild mannered guy who doesn't have a lot going for him, he has no girlfriend, no friends, and a job at a pet shelter that barely bring in enough cash to pay the bills. One day on the bus he spots Holly (Ksenia Solo), a pretty girl that he recognizes from high school. Seth is desperate to ask Holly out but he simply doesn't have the looks or skills to impress her and ends up getting shut down, after a few more failed attempts at asking Holly out Seth starts to becomes obsessed. Eventually Seth's obsession drives him to kidnap Holly, but things don't go exactly the way he planned. I'll refrain from saying more about the plot since one of the few things that this film has going for is that it puts an interesting spin on the whole "Captive" premise.

The film starts off pretty dry, the set up is bland and none of the characters really caught my interest at all. I started becoming a little eager for Seth to just Kidnap Holly already because I just wasn't interested in watching him sulk around obsessing over her and stalking her. Once Seth Kidnaps Holly things do get slightly better, but not much. As I said before the film throws a little curve ball here that mixes things up a bit, it was definitely interesting but they just don't do a whole lot with it, the majority of the film is still just a run of the mill captive flick. There is a little bit of gore, but aside from that and the little twist there just wasn't that much content here. It was basically just enough to keep me from turning it off.

Another thing that becomes clear right away with this film is that even though the cast features a lot of familiar faces, the acting is actually pretty sub par. Lots of mono toned deliveries and many lines that you can tell were supposed to be delivered with a lot of emotion but just come off forced. The majority of the actors featured in the film have given much better performances in previous works that they have been in, so it was weird to see them all just fall flat. It's definitely not the worst acting ever, but it does take away from the tone of the film and makes it a lot less captivating, since this is a pretty dialogue heavy film that was a pretty big blow.

Despite the OK premise, this just wasn't a good film. It had some potential but overall it just fails to do anything worthwhile.

4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

It's a love story, alright.

8/10
Author: darryrmurphy
6 December 2016

Simply put, the majority of the world is not ready for this film. The themes portrayed in this are of a different sort horror lovers are used to and what regular folks will shrivel in disgust at. For the horror/psych thriller buff that has a knack for twisted love stories this is made for you. The buildup may be slow and you think you know what you're getting, but you don't. Trust me, you don't. Every twist I thought I saw coming...gave me another twist I wouldn't have expected. Acting wise I think Monaghan and Solo portray the characters as they're supposed to be. Downplayed, not glamorized. The twists do lack some sort of oomph factor, which sadly doesn't make it a perfect movie, but there's some strange satisfaction at the end because you understand what they mean by 'a love story'. This is certainly a new take if I've ever seen one. Just for jokes: The nice guy doesn't finish last, technically...but the nice guy surely isn't the one who gets laid.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Twists and turns galore

8/10
Author: jtindahouse from Nelson, New Zealand
5 December 2016

I wasn't too sure what to expect going into 'Pet'. A lot of films like this sound promising in their synopsis and then turn out to be bland, cliché-ridden, run-of-the-mill tripe. The sad fact is that there is a lack of creativity in Hollywood these days and seemingly any old thing will pass their standards and be green lit. Early on though I could tell 'Pet' was different. Nothing I hadn't seen before had occurred, but there was a sense that the director was in complete control of his story and wasn't going to let this be just any old movie. Sure enough, about half way through the twists in the story kick in and the film never looks back from there.

There's nothing better than a film where a lot more is going on than originally meets the eye. It's the most basic, but also most effective, formula for a successful and entertaining thriller. And while it sounds so simple in concept, a lot of thrillers today fail to achieve this. If your movie doesn't have a "Wow, didn't see that coming" moment, then you either didn't have a strong enough concept to begin with, or you've been lazy and haven't made the most of your idea for a script. 'Pet' has multiple "Wow" moments.

I fear that some may be a little put off based on the synopsis of the film, fearing it will be too gory or gruesome. The vibe I got from reading it was a little bit along the lines of 'Saw' (they actually filmed this in the same room as that excellent film). To me that was a positive thing, but I can imagine for many it would be off putting. I can assure you it's not overly gruesome. There is the odd moment of "look-away" violence, but for the most part it's more about the characters interacting with one and other.

It all leads up to a very well done final scene. I honestly had no idea how they were going to finish the film, but the way they chose to do it was just perfect in my opinion. 'Pet' is a very fine movie that will please thriller lovers endlessly.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Intriguing Movie, but lacked a little something

7/10
Author: WildWombatt from California
4 December 2016

I've seen the trailer for this movie a while ago and it captivated my attention, so I was interested in seeing this film, but held no high expectations for it.

From the trailer and the poster of this movie, I had an idea of what this movie might be, but I was a little surprised when it started developing into something I didn't quite expect. Not to say it's bad, the storyline was very interesting.

The start of the movie had a great creepy-stalker vibe to it, and as the movie progresses, it really grabbed my attention and I was curious to see how it would further develop. The two leads, Ksenia Solo (Holly) and Dominic Monaghan (Seth) both gave great performances; I also really like the concept of this story. The only issue I have for Pet, was that it didn't feel like it fully developed into anything. Sure, the story and characters were entertaining to watch, but I couldn't help but feel like the movie could have gotten more interesting or added more "events" that took place.

Overall, it's a solid psychological movie. I liked the idea of it, but wish there was more done to it. Around midway through the film, it just felt like things were at a standstill and nothing more was going to happen.

I'd recommend watching it if you have the time, it didn't feel like a waste of time at all. I only wished that there was more done that could have made this movie much more entertaining of a watch, as half the movie didn't feel like much happened.

Was the above review useful to you?

Wannabe human centipede

5/10
Author: OneEightNine Media from United States
14 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Gross little horror film that takes a different direction then you would expect at first. I thought this was going to be about the guy being all creepy but in fact the girl is the creeper and we learn about it early enough in the film to keep us invested in it. Make no mistake about it, this film is about twisted sh!t that just keeps getting more twisted. If you like the Saw films and torture stuff. I would say it is slightly smarter than your average torture horror film. But let us be honest with ourselves, this isn't going to win any awards or be remembered in the years to come. The main problem is acting. The dude from LOTRs is good enough but the lady in the cage is uninspired. She is average at best. And whoever playing her best friend is frankly terrible. It is a small and forgetful film.

Was the above review useful to you?

Gives a new meaning to heavy petting........

6/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
12 December 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's not a very new premise, the loner who kidnaps a girl hoping that Stockholm syndrome will set in quickly and they live happily ever after...

A Hobbit bumps into an old crush and subsequently becomes obsessed with her, leading him to hold her captive underneath the animal shelter where he works.

But the captive isn't at all what she seems, and her past comes back with a vengeance.....

Much like last years 'Shut In' (not the tepid Naomi Watts film), Pet turns the tables on the antagonist and makes them sub-protagonist by the end of the second act. Plus having Monaghan as the captor instantly makes him a character you almost immediately show empathy for, because he has one of those faces.

His character is the archetype loner, appears weak toward work colleagues, gets embarrassed around women, and rarely makes eye contact, but there is something odd about him, uncomfortably odd.

It's quite a kooky film, given the subject matter, and the fact that the writers make no character innocent is a bonus for the narrative, as you rarely root for the same person during the film.

The cast are good, there are some pretty gruesome effects, and the final scene, though it's a fitting end to the film, reminds one of Kevin Smiths Tusk.

A decent thriller.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A must see for those who like their psychological horror peppered with gore and twists to traditional genre tropes

7/10
Author: E. L. from United States
11 December 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This really took me by surprise. I read the description, and I thought I had it figured out, with a clear idea of what kind of film I was in for. I couldn't have been more wrong.

It starts out typical enough, with a loner pro/antagonist. Pretty girl is stalked and abducted, blah blah blah. I thought I knew exactly where it was going, and this does a brilliant job at setting up the clever yet clichéd in their own way twist.

It is a real cat and mouse themed film, with cat becoming mouse, and mouse becoming cat, and back again, vice versa, ad infinitum. There is some fun and well utilized gore effects here, but a gross out throwaway horror flick this is not. It is all quite psychological, with emphasis placed heavily on dialogue more than anything, and plenty of perversions and subversions of the roles captive and captor play. A lot of people might find this very boring due to the dialogue heavy and shockingly unexploitative nature of this film, but that is precisely what I loved about it.

It elevates itself from a film that leaves you asking the typical questions of, will she make it out alive, to making you ask just who the hell are these people and what are their intentions? What is real, and what's not?

I can't help but feel this was missing something though. A certain element to the relationship dynamic at play that could have made this even more shocking. And I don't know, despite how brilliant I feel like the twists were, at the same time it can feel a little on the nose, like it's escaped from falling into one genre trap, only to get stuck in another. And to top that off, the ending left much to be desired, kind of just plopped down in front of you just for the sake of getting just a bit more disturbing, and coming full circle in a sense.

It was extremely hard to believe that Holly was indeed some vicious killer. Which is brilliant in some ways, as it makes the reveals of the twists all the more shocking, as well as adding to the horror of it, making you think about how deceiving looks can be. But still, maybe it's just Ksenia Solo's portrayal that I wasn't digging too much, but something much better could have been done for her character.

If you have the patience and the guts, this is a nice twisted little film that I highly recommend to those who enjoy exploring the psychology of prey and predator in horror films as much as they love flat out horror and gore.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Interesting premise but falls apart

5/10
Author: just_in_case from America
26 December 2016

The movie starts off with a beta male stalker type trying to get this girl to go out with him, then it switches gears with kidnapping. Then things get really interesting, but then things kind of still reach the same destination you kind of see coming early on. Beta male.

It's a shame because the Act II idea was really good, but instead of seeing it through or down a rabbit hole I feel like they ran out of gas and went with a lazy ending. Part of the problem is that the main character's direction flipflops a couple times without any Segue.

I noticed the films only about an hour and a half. I think with a few more drafts and 20 more minutes this couple have been a real shocker but if anything the ending is reminiscent of a tales of the crypt short story. Now that story would have worked better if the main character hadn't done a 180 in Act II.

All in all I gotta say skip it on this one. There's better captor role reversal type films.

Actually if you're looking for a good captive movie I recommend "Chained (2012)" which stars Vincent D'Onofrio who as you know is in the spotlight at the moment. This is by far my favorite in this sub-genre.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Holy crap it's bad

4/10
Author: kevsilverr2000 from United States
19 December 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie got 4 stars for Dominic Monaghan. Not because his performance in this movie was stellar....because it was not....but because I loved him in Lost and Lord of the Rings. That being said this is a big, steaming pile of crap of a movie. It's horribly acted, cliché, predictable, etc. I got about forty minutes in and just couldn't bring myself to finish. When it gets to the part where he kills a guy and feeds him to the dogs in the animal shelter I was done. The movie tries to have a clever twist by making the girl in the cage the actual crazy one. Wasn't executed well at all. Don't waste your time or money.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Sorta maybe gets better as you watch...

6/10
Author: paradux from United States
6 December 2016

To be honest I am not sure I am even qualified to review this film. I think that "girl in a cage" films are a sub-genre of "torture porn" which itself is a sub-genre of .... I don't really know.

Nor have I seen a lot of these, but I will hazard a guess and say that this one is slightly above average for more or less these reasons:

1. Better than average script, you can tell someone put a lot of thought into this and at least convinced themselves they were being profound. However, in spite of such strong self-esteem, this probably shouldn't be your first stop if you really want to know what LOVE is...

2. Casting Canadian TV fave ex-ballerina Ksenia Solo, who brings some interesting qualities to the party. First, she is a solid actress and, as the saying goes, can deliver dialog with her eyes. Second, and this helps, she is drop-dead gorgeous. I hope am I not being politically incorrect when I say that is possibly a useful quality in a film like this. I image that the millions of women who worry that they may not possibly look their best first thing in the morning would be a little jealous of how Ms. Solo looks ... after several days in a cage.

3. Buried in the script are themes of redemption, punishment, and self-discovery. This also takes the film up a notch.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history