Quick Gun Murugun: Misadventures of an Indian Cowboy
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

A Nutshell Review: Quick Gun Murugun

10/10
Author: DICK STEEL from Singapore
6 December 2009

His name is Quick Gun Murugun, mind it! And I think the passengers around me would have thought I was mad enough to watch an Indian film, and an Indian cowboy one at that, laughing out loud in almost every scene which I can't help to because it's just so funny.

I mean, face it, here's probably the only Indian vegetarian Cowboy hero whose main objective in life is to take care of the cows (well, at least that's what cowboys do he believes), as well as being the guardian of the sacred animal of course. Armed with no more than two 6-shooters and a fancy gunplay technique, Quick Gun Murugun (Dr Rajandra Prasad) protects the meek from meat-eating gangsters such as Rice Plate Reddy (Nasser) who has megalomaniac plans to rid the world of vegetarianism!

Sounds dastardly, but not if our hero can help it, while juggling with his relationship woes with Locket Lover (Anu Menon) who resides in, well, his locket! For all the garish colours in his outfit of choice, the villains he goes up against is just as colourful, with names such as Gun Powder (Shanmughraja) and Rowdy MBA (Raju Sundaram), each with their own comical quirks that fans of Indian cinema would come to appreciate, and chuckle at. And despite our hero possessing some great skill with his pistols (head shots only, no less), he comes with an inherent weakness, and that's the number of bullets his pistols can store, before getting soundly beaten.

It's actually two films in one, with a time travelling and supernatural elements brought in for good measure, and more laughter. In present day Mumbai, he continues to seek out his arch enemy Rice Plate, who has gone on to start McDosa, a fast food chain bent on making Dosa from meat thanks to the recipe of Dr Django (Ashwin Mushran). And while waiting for more gunslinging action, there's another romantic subplot thrown in which involved Rice Plate's current moll Mango Dolly (Rambha), and how Quick Gun's now a fish out of water,

If you find the plot quite ridiculous, it actually is! And everything is just so hammed up, from the saturated colours, acting and dialogue, that it's actually incredibly smart in knowing when to hit the right notes, making you do double takes at just about every scene. Sight gags are galore too, and I reckon with every re-watch you'll find something new to laugh at, either from signages in some corner, or by the dialogue which come in healthy doses of Inglish.

If you're game for some irreverent comedy and one that has plenty of gags, then watch Quick Gun Murugun, which I endorse, I say!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Quickgun Murugun, I say!!

4/10
Author: Moksh Juneja from Mumbai, India
19 September 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Pay Attention, I say! After a long drought in the film industry, finally the movie lovers have some entertainment lined up for them. Quickgun Murugun played by the veteran actor Dr. Rajendra Prasad (don't be mistaken with the name, he is not the President of India!) is a cowboy who sets out to save the planet. The movie displays an age old fight between the good, the bad and the ugly, but with a lot of humour, action, romance and in a nutshell total entertainment.

The movie opens with a scene of the protagonist, Quickgun Murugun being killed by baddie Rice Plate Reddy, played by yet another south superstar Nasser. The movie begins. Quickgun is escorted by the Yamaraj to Yamalok. Well these days Yamalok has also become 'dead' busy. With tones of people waiting in queues, some to register for Moksha while others awaited punishment for their sins. Quickgun requests C.Gupta (that is an abbreviation for Chitragupta, I say!) to send him back to Earth as he had some unfinished business. Chitragupta played decently well by apna Vinay Pathak finds his reasoning strong enough to be sent back. A new Quickgun with supernatural powers reappears like Terminator at Gateway of India.

Now his search begins for Rice plate Reddy. Guess how he finds him. Well Google has answers to all life's questions. Yes, you guessed it right by now that he googles it and learns about the evil plans of Rice Plate Reddy. And of course Quickgun's guiding light is his dead girlfriend played by Lola Kutty. I wish her role was more elaborate. Nonetheless she was at her best in the brief appearances that she made. Watch out for the song sequence between Quick Gun Murugun and Lola Kutty. It is hilarious! Reddy's character is par excellence. You must have not seen a villain with that degree of professionalism. He displays a unique style of firing his employees (which you must watch in the movie). He dreams of opening a chain of hotels which is a dosa served with beef and convert all vegetarians into non-vegetarians. All his attempts fail for finding a perfect recipe for dosa. Finally a MBA graduate does it. Rowdy MBA with his wit and 'rowdy' MBA lessons finds a solution to Reddy's grave problem.

The action begins once Quickgun meets the most important aid of Reddy, Mango Dolly played by Rambha. Of course, a little predictable, that she falls in love with the naïve, chivalrous Quickgun Murugun. She decides to help Quickgun in his fight against Reddy.

The action scenes between Quickgun Murugun and Rowdy MBA are worth watching. The backdrop of the sequence is our Mumbai traffic. The one liners by Rowdy MBA and Quickgun are rib tickling. Also the climax is quite witty with Quick Gun taking an avatar of a God with eight hands to kill wicked Reddy. You need to see it, to believe it.

Quite an entertaining movie with amusing dialogues, loads of creativity and masala. It is certainly not one of those clichéd spoofs. So watch out for this riot of laughter!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Jokes Fantastico

7/10
Author: bisprad from India
31 August 2009

Quick Gun Murugun is a little more than what you expect – and yet falls short of your expectations. It is the wacky tale of a 'vegetarian-cowboy' who takes on Rice Plate Reddy and his gang of villains. It is also a spoof of too many things to count – South-Indian-movies, standard bollywood masala movies, cowboy movies and even McDonalds !! Filled with smart jokes – they will have you howling with laughter at the one liners. But believe it or not, the movie is somewhat of a drag ….

Telegu star Dr. Rajendra Prasad plays gunslinger Quick Gun Murugan with élan – bright orange pants and all. He is an avowed protector of cows and vegetarianism – and soon runs into Rice Plate Reddy, who is on a quest to convert every Udipi restaurant into non-veg. Reddy gets the better of him in the first encounter and our hero is thirsty for revenge.

This time, he gets a little help from Mango Dolly (Rambha) – Reddy's blonde moll – who falls for our Murugun's simple charms. On Rice Plate Reddy's side there is Dr Django and Rowdy MBA – who are implementing his plan of taking over the world with his dosas. And of course, there is our very own Lola Kutty with Murugun as well.

While hilarious, the story is actually very simple and sometimes it feels like the movie is too long for such a story. And the jokes are not spaced out enough to catch the slack in screenplay. But all the same, it is impossible to control the laughter that erupts when, for example, you see Murugan's love song picturisation. But be ready to be surprised with the violence as well – the violence is NOT picturised like a Tom and Jerry cartoon … All in all, a lot of very clever jokes interspersed with some not so interesting parts. Even though its overall rating is average, I would recommend a watch – because you are going to recall the jokes for days after the movie and chuckle thinking about it.

I write about movies regularly at http://bisprad.blogspot.com

Was the above review useful to you?

*Recommended* Fun Without Logic !

7/10
Author: Bobish Mp (bobishmp@rediffmail.com) from India
7 July 2014

Of Course Its One Of The Most Hilarious Movie Of Recent Times..! Quick Gun Murugan Is Actually A Spoof Of Old Indian Movies And It Really Won What The Directors Intended With It.

For Example We Have McDosa..! A terrific Name for a Dosa Company..like That the movie is filled with real fun ideas and we'll have a smile on our face until the end of movie.

Rajendra Prasad And Nasser Lead the Show along with Sandya Mridul And Rambha.A Special mention needed for Rambha for Her gorgeous appearance as Heroin in colorful Out fits..! Final Word : Go For It.. Its A Fun Ride!

Was the above review useful to you?

"The name's Murgun,Quick Gun Murgun.".

10/10
Author: morrison-dylan-fan from United Kingdom
9 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Recently reading about McDonald's being about to open their first all- vegetarian takeaway in India,I remembered hearing about a Bollywood "Curry" Western,which sounded like one of the strangest movies made in the last 5 years.

The plot:

Killed by the evil Rice Plate Reddy,cowboy Quick Gun Murugun gets out of his body and gets upon a carriage to be taken to the afterlife.Feeling that he has to defeat Reddy before he can enter the afterlife,Murgun appeals the decision for him to be sent to the afterlife,by telling the official that Rice Plate is using his bandits to stop any vegetarian meals from being sold in the area,with the only choice that Reddy plans to force upon the largely vegetarian residents to eat being his self- labelled Rice Plate Reddy Beef Dosa.Accepting his request,the official warns Murgun that things may have changed quite a bit on earth,due to each minute he spent in the afterlife being one earth year.

25 years later:

Planning to jump straight into a shoot-out with Reddy and his bandits,Quick Gun is shocked to find out that Rice Plate has greatly expanded on his original plans,and is now preparing to wipe out any vegetarian food from being severed in the entire country,by building a ruling food empire called McDosa.Feeling uneasy about the changed environment and some of the new people who are acting a little too helpful, (the main one being a woman called Mango Dolly) Murugun begins to get set for the shootout which he has been waiting 25 earth years to reach.

View on the film:

Opaing with the ghost of Quick Gun Murgun, (played with a terrific flair by Dr.Gadde Rajendra Prasad) getting upon a carriage headed for the afterlife,director Shashanka Ghosh and cinematography R.A. Krishnaa make the world (and afterlife) of Murgun a wondrous Pop-Art world bursting with primary colours,from Quick Gun's leaped skin top,to Mango Dolly's (played by the beautiful Rambha) eye catching entrance.For the brilliantly stylised shoot-outs,Krishnaa and Ghosh give each of the scenes a style which looks to have been peeled straight from the pages of a comic book,from Quick Gun facing off against Rice Plate Reddy's (played with a Dick Dastardly twitch by Nassar) bandits in coconut trees,to a cleverly done,bursting bullet in the head one shot.Making the Western side to the story always be a predominant feature,from Murgun meeting Mango in a salon,to him realising that he is the only person who can save the village (and the country) from being overrun by Reddy's Mcdosa,screenwriter Rajesh Devraj also includes some unexpected commentary about fast-food,with Reddy desperately trying to find a way to give his mass-produced product a "mother's touch",which leads to this great movie being one that you can watch again and again with a rice plate reedy and a side order of mango dolly.

Was the above review useful to you?

Happy to know that sense of humour is not dead in India!

7/10
Author: zorgato
14 April 2011

This movie is great fun. Most people who didn't like the movie probably didn't get it. This was like Kill Bill, an homage in the form of a spoof. The director probably paid homage to the south Indian / Rajnikanth genre, where over- the- top is considered normal. Even over- the- top Hollywood is not spared (the bullet time references, although it was done in southern Indian movies much before Matrix!)

Possibly the movie was a labour of love for the director. We all fall in love with characters we create, then go on to do a hash job with the story. The director in this case has probably given a lot of liberty to the writer, and allowed him to take the character and own it. The writing is therefore good, the plot suitable. The jokes are really funny, you have to see them in context and really get into the movie. Every comedy movie needs a conflict. The conflict generated is not as strong, and starts late into the film, granted, but within this story world, it is adequate. And believe me, it does suck you in. Few other issues that you can ignore is that the set pieces and climax had pacing problems. I am watching this on TV, and even with the distractions of the commercial breaks, i am hooked. Trust me, if you were having some beer while watching this with some buddies who also get the humour, it is THE time pass movie to watch. I am definitely getting the DVD.

After this movie, there were some other good comedies that i can recall, "tere bin Laden", "Phas Gaye Obama", but this one is in its "wown league i say". The lead guy needs to get some kind of an award. He has played himself, spoofing actors like himself. Dr. Rajendra Prasad (as credited) must have really understood the concept and was perfectly cast.

Some of the jokes and the stylization could have been tweaked to make it funnier and more involving. Having said that, most writers couldn't have been able to create the no. of references to clichés and write these jokes. Even the obvious/ anticipated jokes make you laugh. "You are a Cowboy, do your job and protect the cows." In fact, if you change the tone of the movie, it could be a real movie released few decades ago by Tollywood/ Mollywood and later remade in Bollywood. ITs not a perfect comedy, none of them are. This one is better than most.

Please to note: for bonus only purposes: that Mango Dolly looks like Sridevi.. hot, not?!

My vote: 7/10 (needs more "elaichi in payasam")

---------------------- The END I say -------------------------------

<<.. the stories that are easiest to write are the hardest to read ..>>

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

QGM, a movie with a difference in all aspects

9/10
Author: coolstuffmaster from Bangalore, India
16 September 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

QGM is 0% Logic and 100% Magic movie. Rajendra Prasad is simply superb though out and surpasses the expectations in many a scenes. What I really liked here in QGM is its complete difference from a conventional movie. Be it comedy or Nasser's villainy. I think its better to create a new genre "QGM" just like Horror, Thriller, Drama etc. Such a fantastic entertaining movie is this one. There are scenes unimaginable & unthinkable but seriously worth watching coz its made so. I enjoyed all BULLET action sequences, particularly the 10 Step Western Spoof walk on Mumbai street where QGM's 2 bullets push back the already fired Rajasundaram's bullets back into his GUN !! What a scene.. A must watch in theater if u a fan of comedy movies coz u will miss the feel in DVD Version.

9/10 - In my opinion for this completely different genre movie....

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Close to being a cult classic, but not there

6/10
Author: yenthaw from India
30 August 2009

I normally avoid watching movies in a cinema hall unless it is filled with special effects or something which demands a large screen and loud sounds. So here I was, entering a cinema hall to watch Quick Gun Murugun (QGM).

The problem with all comedies is that it has to grab you within the first 3 minutes. Attention is easy to grab, but difficult to retain. In action movies, you can step down the tempo with relief scenes or other movie making tricks, but with comedies, you cannot lose the tempo and you cannot rehash the same thing over and over again.

There is a simple plot of evil villain wanting to take over the world with a perfect dosa to keep the movie going, but it is not the soul.

From a viewer perspective, I felt that QGM lacked a vista. It is obviously noticeably that it is not a big budget movie, otherwise I suppose the film would have been panoramic and given me a more fulfilling cinema hall experience. It is a movie made for the sake of making movies and not money making. If the movie carries by word of mouth and does a Blair Witch Project and a sequel / prequel is approved, I would like to see film making passion increased exponentially - along with special effects, action and drama. But the special effects in the film is surprisingly good.

My overall impression of QGM was that an opportunity for making cult classic may be lost. The film showcases a director's love for making films and not money generating love. The script was brilliant in places but dragged in equal number of other instances. The acting was adequate, but did not make me love or hate the personalities. In some of the action sequences, the editing faults were a little too obvious to me.

The film focuses too much on the central characters, which is actually a good thing since you can devote more time and space with them, but I would have preferred a John Woo or a Wong Kar Wai or even the Sergio Leone treatment of the main characters. You need to be under the skin of these characters and empathise with them. I would also have personally preferred a more national flavour rather than limiting it to the south of India using the Bengali, Punjabi, Bihari and other fine Indian nuances.

The film was a light experience and as an after thought, made me want to watch more. These are the kind of carbon elements that the big producers should be focusing on. Not producing loud movies or having characters hamming in the name of comedy.

Somehow, the only line that remains imprinted in my mind and brings a wistful smile is "Lizzen no ..."

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A Tribute to Clint Eastwood

9/10
Author: dearketan from India
31 August 2009

Worth every second.

The movie revolves around our hero and his enemy Mr. Rice Plate Reddy (Wow what a name). Our hero is a real hero who is very egoistic and humble at the same time.

He is a strict veggie. ( Which is really the need of the hour ) As i Myself is also pure Veggie. He tries to stop the villain to promote non-veg. He even argues with the Chitragupta and convinces him to send him back to the earth. So that he can promote vegetarianism.

The film is purely about gun shots as done by Clint Eastwood. The hero and his elder brother both are die=hard fans of Clint Eastwood.

The heroine name Mango Dolly. wow again what a creative name. She also is very sexy at the same time very homely. All that She does in the film is to seduce the hero until the end.

What is unsure is what happened after he killed Mr. Rice Plate Reddy. The music of the film is very good and catchy. I know that I don't write good reviews.

An honest Tribute to Clint Eastwood.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

An avoidable flavorless Dosa.

2/10
Author: bobbysing from India
7 September 2009

Buying the ticket for this unusual kind of attempt, I had two thoughts in my mind. One that it may be a complete entertainer served with a different South Indian humor and two, it may turn out to be a sincerely attempted unsuccessful experiment by its makers. Unfortunately, it fitted well into the second category of my thoughts and was a big disappointment.

Moving around the revenge saga of a South Indian Cowboy called "Quick Gun Murugun", the movie is full of animated action sequences with bullets being shot in slow motion. The supreme hero never gets hurt seriously, as seen in the cinema of 70s and keeps on fighting with a miraculous touch. He can see the bullet coming towards him clearly, can hold it in his bare fist and can even catch it with his teeth. Senseless shots like these keep on repeating throughout the movie with characters speaking in heavy South Indian accent which also becomes unbearable after a while. Symbolically, there is a fight between the Vegetarian Hero and the Non Vegetarian villain who has plans to introduce his own Non-Veg Dosa. And another angle reveals how "Murugun" has also been to "Swarg" and even struck a deal with "Chitragupt" managing the life-accounts there.

The movie is quite strange and bizarre in its unreal treatment with no storyline heading towards any particular direction. It seems like the director just had the idea of this "South Indian Cowboy Character" and then he simply started shooting sequences of his fight with the villain and the project was ready. It makes you feel like watching a children comic strip running on the screen full of childish action sequences. It is even hard to believe that how the director not only managed to find big producers for this project but also successfully released it in the theaters with a fine promotional campaign. That was indeed a Great Job done! There is nothing much to write about the different technical departments of the project as I really found everything done lavishly but without any specific direction. Right from the sincere acting of Dr. Rajendra Prasad (QGM) to the stylishly done graphics, the efforts are barely visible due to the uninteresting and lifeless narration. Surprisingly the movie is just around 90 minutes of duration which serves as a boon for its viewers. May be they were not able to squeeze in more actions scenes towards its climax as it was already overdone.

In short, I can only describe this movie as purely made out of director Shashank Ghosh's passion and love towards the character "Quick Gun Murugun". The idea was pretty good and the project could have been the platform for another cult character of our movies. But sadly it could not materialize perfectly and the end result was just like an avoidable flavorless Dosa.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history