IMDb > Delhi Safari (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Delhi Safari
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Delhi Safari More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 18 reviews in total 

21 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

A cute and sweet film.

8/10
Author: dineshprakash from India
21 October 2012

Hats off to director Mr. Nikhil Advani, who choose a tough path of making a meaningful film rather than following the common path of making a commercial cinema. Making an animation and meaningful film is complete risk in Bollywood but he took the challenge and proved himself right. This film is sweetly entertaining. Camera angle used in story telling keeps the pace of film on very good note. Animation is done creatively. Especially the bee animation is mind blowing. Most of the voice dubbing is done by known bollywood actors but Govinda's voice is superb. Wow, you can't stop smiling to hear him. He is brilliant. Rest Akshay Khanna, Boman Irani, Urmila Matondkar and Saurav Shukla are also fine but Govinda is outstanding. Story, screenplay is very good. Dialogues are fantastic. Great work by writers team Mr. Nikhil Advani, Girish Dhamija, Suresh Nair and Milap Zaveri. They have even touched a very sensitive issue of Tiger saving in a scene, which was heart touching. 3D impact is not up to mark but when subject and narration touch your emotions, you don't bother about other things. Music score by Shankar Ehsan Loy is very good. You would feel that you are simply watching a typical Bollywood movie. Even animated choreography justifies it. Overall, it has all ingredients of a good film, drama, emotion and entertainment. Please go and watch with your lovely kids. They will enjoy as well as you.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

meh

5/10
Author: Niko Zguri from Toronto
18 May 2014

what can i say about it? meh. it wasn't great but it wasn't atrocious either. it was just... okay. the story's about a group of animals whose home (the jungle) gets destroyed by humans with bulldozers to make way for a some-kinda resort or a hotel. so the animals set on a journey to the big city to ask the humans why are they destroying the jungle. and when i heard of that, i was like "this sounds really generic". and it was generic, but i can't deny that it did have its great moments. and some of the characters were likable and relevant so there's that. but honestly, even though i did enjoy it, "Delhi Safari" still wasn't that good. the story's nothing new, we seen it done over and over again. and it really plays on that by-the-numbers scenario in which it gets annoying. well for most of the time, it does. and even though i did admit there were likable characters, most of them felt just really bland, so you don't really care about them that much. watching "Delhi Safari", i was pretty much like "i seen better characters than these before". like in "Alpha and Omega", where the movie kept me smiling and happy, it doesn't play by-the-numbers, it had better animation, a great message and i loved every character in it. here, it's not the same thing. "Delhi Safari" obviously has weaker animation than "Alpha and Omega" (and "Alpha and Omega" was co-produced in India too, despite being almost entirely American). like the movements seemed rough, the characters designs weren't that great and the backgrounds were a big meh. and it wasn't really funny either. i mean, it had jokes that did made chuckle (there's only 2 jokes in the whole movie that made me laugh), but chuckle alone isn't enough to make your movie funny. so, with that being said: "Delhi Safari" did have good moments in it, it did have some good/relevant characters, the voice acting was good and some of the animation and cinematography looked nice and pretty, but honestly that's not enough. most of the time, the animation was stiff, the other characters were bland and forced, it was pretty predictable, the we've- seen-it-before story plays by-the-numbers which gets annoying and there wasn't much of a climax here, cause once you think it's gonna get better by the end... no, it just ends like that, abruptly. that really kinda ruined the movie. i did enjoy it and i respect the fact that India actually tried to give us something at least enjoyable (they did), but they should've worked on this movie even more.

5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Good movie for the most part

7/10
Author: wolf_stoned from United States
1 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I recently got this movie on DVD after seeing a few clips and songs on Youtube, because it looked promising. Let me start on a positive note in this review. The songs were good, the texture of the characters was good, and the settings were well-animated. The environmental message and family moments were especially good.

The only things I didn't like about this movie were the two monkeys Mharela and Bharela, as they got irritating after a couple minutes; a couple instances of editing didn't make sense or work well; the bees were unnecessary and also somewhat irritating; and the hyenas were just plain irritating. Just lifted from Lion King.

Despite the cons, I found this to be a good movie. Though it was slightly derivative, it was done in a way that worked well. Definitely worth a watch with the kids, and adults will like it too.

Was the above review useful to you?

Peta + movies + other stuff = this

1/10
Author: spatattack
29 May 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Quick note: i have nothing against peta, they want to protect animals and i'm OK with that *falls through roof* SERIOUSLY!? guess i'm gonna have an entrance gag, *sigh* oh hey! it's me! and today i'm looking at *drumroll* jungle safari, turns out a guy who inspired me to write reviews posted a review on this, if you thought Sam, you were correct, now let us see, jungle safari, still better then wolf children am i right? Oh! i forgot, i'm watching wolf children again to see if i was wrong, anyway the movie starts with a lion cub talking about something, but since i have no heart i didn't cry at all, even at the death, seriously i don't think i ever cried at a death in a movie, turns out he fought his father, then a song then the father dies, they go to Delhi to get them to stop, they also kidnap a parrot (WITH TEETH) to talk to the humans, after a long crazy trip, a crazy violent bonkers monkey almost kills the parrot and later becomes friends with it, they stop the forest from being destroyed, a park is made from their forest, and it is over, before you ask, why haven't i made a review for some time? i had to have an operation and i didn't feel like it, i also hadn't seen any movies lately so yeah, this movie stole some stuff from other movies such as the dad coming back as a ghost! (lion king?) and yeah, since the dad came back as a ghost here is my ending expansion, the lion or whatever it is gets sent back in time has a child then lion king happens! i'm sorry i'm just done. goodbye!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Wonderful Film!

10/10
Author: kittycat-55112 from United States
13 May 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Like my last review of Animals United, to make this review simple, I will weigh the pros and cons of this film.

Pros Great Quality Of Animation The Characters Are Likable The Acting Was Great The Film Had A Wonderful Message About Conserving The Environment Cute And Enjoyable Bollywood-Style Musical Numbers The Beautiful Vocal Performances

Cons In The Beginning Of The Film, The Father Leopard Is Shot On-Screen, Which May Scare Some Viewers There Is One Sexual Scene In The Movie The Movie's Rather Dark Tone May Sadden Some Viewers In The Hindi Version, The Cub's Voice May Become Slightly Annoying After A While

Those were the pros and cons of this film, and as you can see, this film is much more good then it is bad. So I highly recommend this film to all animal (Perticularly Leopard) and nature lovers, and to all kids between the ages of 7-14!

Final Rating: 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The single most unpleasant film I have ever seen

1/10
Author: Walrus Rush from United States
6 December 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

What can I even say about this film that can even begin to explain the absolutely disgusting experience that is "Delhi Safari". The animation is some of the most sub-par slop I've ever laid my eyes on; the models are grotesque and too many animals have human teeth, lips and eyes for you to not feel violated in every sense of the word. The story makes less than no sense and even as a children's movie it's dull and bizarre without the slightest substance to keep any sort of audience entertained. Even your kids will be either bored, annoyed, or uncomfortable. The plot changes at random (which is with nearly every scene), and there are so many songs so horrid that I, a music therapy major, had to take a moment to consider if I was wrong and music was instead always intended to be a method of torture.

I read one review that claimed this movie wasn't too preachy about its environmentalist message and I am legitimately worried that that person was being held at gunpoint while writing said review. Every other scene PETA makes sure to slam down your throat how evil humans are while at the same time assaulting your eyes with the most vomit-inducing imagery ever put to screen. The concept of subtlety does not exist and the message is so heavy handed I'm convinced that if you even said the word "subtle" to the director he would stab you in the stomach. Here are a few key moments, just to explain what kind of movie this is to you:

The main monkey character tries to literally murder a bird by means of chainsaw, guns and stabbing. Said monkey also zips down an invisible fly to urinate in the grass for seemingly no reason, and also gets two bear fingers unmistakably shoved into his rectum (no, I'm not embellishing, that is legitimately what happens). Two human characters at one point are without question about to act out a pornographic film, with the camera labeling the scene as "Casting Couch: Scene 69". A talking parrot speaks with the prime minister and is taken as seriously as a cancer diagnosis. And finally, near the end of the film, a man in plain view is wearing a shirt that simply says "FCUK"...I shouldn't have to help you decipher that one.

I would rather have my fingernails systematically removed with pliers than have to sit through this film again. Just when you thought that you didn't have any more reasons to hate PETA, this movie comes along demanding to be added to their ever lengthening list of atrocities. I hate this movie so much, I made this IMDb account with the sole purpose to express my disgust towards this film. Save yourself and your children.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Very funny movie... but to enjoy it fully, must see its Hindi version....

10/10
Author: Subodh Chalak from Pune, India
19 November 2015

Pros: There are superb funny dialogs of monkey character... Very funny voice given by Govinda to this monkey character... It makes overall movie too funny... It gives Eco-friendly message...Songs of movie are also good... what human has done with nature with nature showed in songs.... this movie inspires us to save environment... this movie gives a strong message about caring for the environment and wildlife preservation... As we are here only because of nature...

Cons: The movie animation is isn't that much great which can be neglected if you focus more on comedy and message of the film..... This move is extremely violent and uses inappropriate language for children...in English version sound is not properly synchronized with character lips so it looks very poor animation...

so for full enjoyment must saw this movie's Hindi language version....

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Terrible everything and definitely not for young children

1/10
Author: mjays2510 from United Kingdom
28 October 2013

The animation is very poor, the character movements are very stiff as though it's a slow frame rate. The acting is atrocious. There are scenes that are just plain wrong, like the animals getting stoned by a crowd of people. How on earth that scene got approved I'll never know, it's just just plain weird.

I can only assume that it's down to different cultures. So many things don't fit in between the parameters of what you'd call an acceptable kids film.

Do yourself a favor and re-watch anything else by Dreamworks, Pixar, Sony Animations or even Bibo Films in France (Monster in Paris) - a wonderful film.

Don't believe any of the positive feedbacks, this is a truly poor film.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

HORRIBLE movie for small children

1/10
Author: Jloffman from United States
10 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This looked like another "Madagascar" type movie, so I played it for my 2 year old.

To my horror, a scene played out that shows a monkey imagining himself killing a parrot first with a gun, then a chainsaw, and then a knife. I abruptly shut the film off following this scene, but by then, it had already played out.

This is NOT a movie that I think a 2 year old is ready for! Parents, please use caution when thinking of playing this.

SHAME on the creators, for adding violence like this in a children's movie! What were you thinking?

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Unfortunate to have a the most common "f" word scrambled in G rated movie. Kids can spell...

1/10
Author: hdasmussen from US
25 June 2015

The movie starts off so innocent- and good.

Then takes a turn in a couple clips that really do not follow the film or the "good nature" that I would assume was intended.

Most of all, I find it odd that in any culture individuals choose to include adult content, that is not needed, not humorous and provides no-value to the movie.

If you want to direct and create an adult movie, with adult humor do- rate it accordingly. If you want to create a children's film, direct the movie around that of a child.

I do not support the film and would encourage any parent to review prior to having their child watch. I did not watch it and my 8 and 10 year old let me know that the animals "are getting drunk" and the "f" word is scrambled on one of the characters T-shirts.

Awesome!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history