IMDb > Singh Is Kinng (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Singh Is Kinng
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Singh Is Kinng More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 59 reviews in total 

17 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Akki Singh is the real King!

8/10
Author: himaank from India
21 September 2008

'Balle balle te shava shava!' 'Oye! Chak De Phatte!' This is what you will hear loud and clear while watching this movie through out. 'Singh is Kinng' is a true example of how you package the ordinary idea with loads of no-logic but damn funny humor, jazzed up with some peppy nos, put a big tag of superstar and wrap it up with oodles of hype. This movie has created history in breaking all time box office records specially. The mass hysteria of Akshay Kumar is unstoppable. He is the next big thing and currently, Indian movie industry is betting more than Rs 150 crores on him.

The story of 'Singh is Kinng' is simple. Akki is a panic button for his village. People are so bugged with his non-sense that they decided to send him out of the village. They some how emotionally convinced him to go abroad and bring back another son of soil who is now an underworld don. Om Puri also got tagged along with Akki in this journey. In between, he meets his love interest Katrina and what follows is a no sense roller coaster ride where not only he has to bring the village son back to his roots but also, win his girl's heart.

It might sound nothing great then how come its such a big hit breaking all overseas records? The answer lies in two powerful words- Akki and the music. Akki aka Akhay Kumar is the current king of Bollywood. He is power packed and Singh is Kinng is a true example to prove it. He'd hold the front all alone with his witty performance. Katrina too has her moments but just moments. Kiran Kher is a sheer waste of talent. Om Puri is just fine and Ranvir Shorey is something i don't even want to talk about it. What a waste of talent. Javed Jaffery is funny and played an interesting character. This movie is not focused on building characters because it can only happen with a good script. But here it's not about script but Akki and only Akki.

Music is really nice and has lots of variety. Pritam has done it again and has given another super hit soundtrack. 'Teri Or' is a surprise delight with beautiful vocals, music and video. The reason why I like this song is not just the melody but an add on of some Rajasthani folk song playing in the background. Another interesting song is 'Jee Karda'. Solid Punjabi beats forcing you to break free and just dance. It's extremely catchy. The title track could've been better if they've got some other singer than Mika. He did a horrible job. Snoop Dogg did his first act in Bollywood singing the remix version of title song which is way better than the original. Another very interesting song is 'Bhutani Ke' which is very funny. It's a leg pulling song for the groom at his marriage. I can imagine this song getting played at every marriage and grooms just getting embarrassed.

It's an interesting movie and I advise every one to go with their group of friends and you'll be coming out laughing from the movie halls. Akshay has reached a status where he should take movies where he gets a support from a good script and some less silly things to be seen in the movie. Apart from this, i don't thing any other reason why you should not and go watch this full time pass movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Just a slapstick comedy, Akshay ensures that it doesn’t bore you!

5/10
Author: Vikas SS from Mumbai, India
14 August 2008

Akshay Kumar has steadily established himself well as a bankable comedy star. Most of his recent movies; be it Welcome, Bhool Bhulaiyaa or its likes have less to with brains and more with goofy stuff. Not to say that I’m against no-brainers; note, flicks like these are tailor made for box-office performance! Who, except for hapless multiplex audience paying 200 bucks to watch it, would really care whether it makes sane sense!

Singh is King is one such movie off the comic assembly line! Akshay plays his usual Machismo, this time a Punjabi Munda, Happy Singh. The villagers love his innocence but are irritated by the damage he causes uncannily. Soon, they find a pretext to get him out of the village, to bring back a crime boss ‘King’ Lucky Singh (Sonu Sood) who the villagers feel has tarnished the repute of their village and their ethnic group.

A comedy of errors lands Happy and his buddy (Om Puri) in Egypt instead of Australia, where he bumps into a damsel Sonia (Katrina Kaif) and is instantly smitten. The story moves to Australia where the duo discover that the ‘King’ is in no mood to return to his village. A series of events leads to the king getting injured and going into Coma. As he passes out, he points at Happy. The gang takes it that Lucky has chosen his successor.

Just as happy sets out to do good to a world of evil Lucky controlled, Sonia returns engaged, our hero is heartbroken. But he’s still at his comic best with full scale Sardar bravado! Then, there are the usual dream sequences, bhangda dance numbers and goofy humor that may hardly tickle you. But, what does this movie have that makes it tick? Akshay! As much as you find the script stupid, you’ll adore Happy Singh!

Although this flick is one of those run of the mill movies which you may never remember later, you may still find it worthwhile to watch it on cheap tickets. Reasons, the lead star rocks, the dance number Jee Karda in Egypt is neat. Katrina is the usual eye candy. As for the rest, Javed Jaffery, Kirron Kher, Om Puri, Neha Dhupia and Ranvir Shorey are nothing awesome, but they don’t bore you. My bet, try it out, albeit with low expectations!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Same old anees bazmee entertainer with a sikh twist....

5/10
Author: pushpargha from India
16 August 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A typical anees bazmee film, nothing special, yeah entertaining but still you can make out the touches of welcome and no entry when it comes to the comedy and entertainment. Good entertainment for the typical Indian b-grade comedy lovers.Watch it for time pass..Nothing extraordinary.Akshay Kumar again seen in a comedy film has done well but he is kind of getting stereotypic.Om Puri did well but then again the story line doesn't contain anything unpredictable with the same romantic and action sequences mixed and the same old happy ending with akshay and katrina finally meeting each other. Katrina is nothing but an extra addition to the movie.All in all, Not very special...I will only recommend it for good time pass but nothing more than that.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

Someone Kill Me!

1/10
Author: rahulthewall3000 from Germany
9 August 2008

If I met Taran Adarsh right now, I would beg him never to review a movie again. He went ahead and gave this 4/5 on IndiaFM. He said, leave your brain at home and enjoy this exhilarating ride. I should have left my ears and eyes at home as well. This has to be the worst movie that I have ever watched, it is even worse that Welcome (which was written by the same guy and was a very big blockbuster, but as far as I am concerned was completely nonsensical). I do not what were the makers thinking when they made this movie. The writer must have been on drugs when he wrote this piece of crap. The story is paper thin, the plot is stupidly predictable. There is not even one moment in the film where something you do not expect happens. Hell, we have seen this all before. You do not even have to listen to the dialogues because they are insanely predictable. And to top it all, it is supposed to be a comedy, I could not manage a single laugh in two and a half hours. By the end of it, I just wanted to bang my head against a wall, it was unbearable. Where was the fun that you promised, Mr. Adarsh. The acting, quite bearable. Music, quite good actually. But a couple of songs are too forced to be acceptable. On the whole, it as a total no no. If you really want to see this and think you have nothing better to do for three hours, trust me you have. Get some sleep if you have really nothing else to do, I am sure that your bed is more comfortable than the cinema hall for a quite nap. Please do yourself a favour and do not watch this nonsense.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Stupid Entertainer

7/10
Author: Ganesh Salian from Bahrain
5 April 2011

Singh is Kinng,directed by Anees Bazmee has no story basically.But this one could be called a Kinng sized entertainer. It offers loads of big laughs,some action sequences,a little drama and lots of romance and last but not the least it has the biggest entertainer of Bollywood-Akshay Kumar. Direction by Anees Bazmee is excellent. The music is chart buster with all songs topping. The Cinematagropher has done a excellent job.The scenic beauty of Australia has been captured very well. Special mention to the dialogs writer who does an amazing job. Performance wise-Akshay Kumar is the Daddy of Entertainment.He simply rocks!Katrina Kaif adds glamor value to the film.Om Puri and Kirron Kher are superb in their respective roles.Sonu Sood is very good.Neha Dhupia looks gorgeous.Javed Jaffery is excellent.Ranvir Shorey is okay in a brief role.Yashpal Sharma,Sudhanshu Pandey,Kamal Chopra and Manoj Pahwa are good.

Overall Singh is Kinng is an entertainer.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

another remake of a Hollywood film!

5/10
Author: legend_killer0123 from Pakistan
10 February 2010

This movie is a good entertainer but once again its a remake of a Hollywood film. The storyline resembles Jackie chan's miracles. Akshay kumar's performance was good which i think made the film a hit. The songs are fine but i think its time that bollywood directors use their own brains. Vipul shah should have tried to change the storyline. The ending was stupid. I guess "too much cooks spoil the broth". i heard that they r now planning to make a sequel. I don't see how the story will move further but i hope that this time the story will not be copied. i would recommend this film to everyone because its a family entertainer but don't expect something extraordinary because its a light hearted comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Everyone except Akshay disappoints. Nice songs but a complete mess

Author: long-ford from India
25 February 2009

Akshay Kumar tries his best and occasionally breathes life into 'Singh Is Kinng'. The film is a complete mess. It has such a horrendous beginning that I almost felt I had entered the wrong theater. Akshay then enters and despite the corny jokes, manages to hold our attention. There are some catchy musical numbers. However, the plot is simply too weak and everybody else looks bored. Om Puri and Ranvir Shorey are both VERY disappointing. Katrina Kaif tries to act but doesn't succeed. The ending descends into mawkish melodrama and becomes preachy. The film is best seen at home with ample use of the FF button.

Overall 3/10

Was the above review useful to you?

Alain Grootaers playing the role of his life

8/10
Author: Koen Strobbe from Belgium
10 February 2013

The wait for this highly entertaining comedy masala flick is finally over. And does the film live up to the hype and expectations it created? You bet, it does; Singh Is Kinng has all the ingredients which make it a great entertainer: generous dose of laughter; drama; emotions and of course two hot heroines. All these will surely keep you glued to the silver screen. The medium paced film starts off the usual way. Our hero, Happy Singh (Akshay Kumar) is a simpleton who wants to help people but somehow ends up creating problems than helping. His attempts to help which turn into disasters are portrayed in a sublime manner which will leave you laughing out of your seat. The people of the village get frustrated with his antics and ask him to leave. Left with no alternative Happy and his best friend Rangeela (Om Puri) set out on an aimless sojourn.

Was the above review useful to you?

A complete waste of time!

3/10
Author: Atl Mit from United States
26 January 2012

Watched this movie last night for the first time 4 years after it was released. In my opinion, the plot, the acting and the entire flow of the movie was completely pointless. I can't believe actors like Akshay Kumar would act in a movie like this.

On top of that, this movie did really good and Akshay Kumar was nominated for a Best Actor Award for this movie! Unbelievable! Akshay Kumar has really degraded himself by acting in such movies. Is it simply because Indian directors and story writers don't have the potential to make good movies or Indian movie watches don't demand certain quality from Indian movies?

Save yourself from this movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Audience clap when they see the movie ...but they clap their hands over their eyes

Author: Avinash Patalay from Middle Earth
30 September 2008

Story/ Screenplay/ Script:: Long story short - its gone to dogs. End result, the movie is "all form - no beer".

This movie is an another example to prove that star-power coupled with marketing can set the cash register on fire (mini-me of Om Shanti Om?). Overseas I am sure, it has raked moolah in loads. Akki proves that he is second to none when it comes to punching above one's weight.

Akki-Katrina:: Undoubtedly, they share a sizzling chemistry.

Om Puri/ Kiron Kher/ Ranvir Shorey:: These names are synonymous with "powerhouse of talent". It would be an "understatement" to mention that they were grossly under-utilised.

Javed Jaffery:: Why Javed why?

Vipul:: You were fantastic as a director in "Namaste London", why on earth did you hand over the reigns?

Anees Bazmi:: Suggest you go back to writing or follow Priyan's footsteps (of remaking South movies viz. "No Entry"). Needless to say, it would be blessing to the audience.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history