IMDb > ZMD: Zombies of Mass Destruction (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
ZMD: Zombies of Mass Destruction
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 39 reviews in total 

20 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

More entertaining than I thought,

6/10
Author: victima_necessarius from Canada
23 March 2010

I must be honest first off, I love horror movies and since it is cheap to make them and usually profitable - especially with small budgets - there has always been a huge influx of direct to video horror movies, with varying results. I am familiar with "B" and "D" horror films and this movie isn't that bad. Its not amazing, in some places the production is very weak. But the dialogue is witty and sometimes just south of brilliant. In the zombie genre which is completely flooded with all kinds of trash this is the kind of movie for people who like zombie movies. What particularly stands out about this film is its tongue and cheek sense of humour, and commentary on small town prejudice in the new millennium. Its not gut busting, laugh out loud funny, but I did get a few chuckles. Its not at all frightening and anyone familiar with low budget zombie movies will not see anything new in terms of effects shots and gore. But there are worse ways to spend 90 minutes. There are a few alternatives to familiar clichés and that originality is why I enjoyed this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Don't let this zombie movie pass you by!

7/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
15 March 2010

I think with a title like this "Zombies of Mass Destruction" many people are going to pass on this movie, which would be a bad thing to do. I was doubtful about the movie, just because of the name, but I decided to watch it anyway.

Alright, well this is a marvelous zombie movie, it has everything you need in a zombie movie. Lots of zombies (usually with adequate make-up, wardrobe and effects), blood and gore (though the blood in this movie was very strangely red) and of course a story that will sink its teeth in you - no pun intended.

Right from the very beginning I had a feel that this movie was going to be interesting, despite it not being a multi-million dollar Hollywood production. And right I was, oh yes! The story is very good and have a good, constant flow to it. So you are never left with a boring and dull taste in your mouth. Sure there are some points where you wonder about stuff, like how come suddenly there were so many infected people on the island. But that doesn't really bring the movie to a halt. You look past it, because the movie is that interesting.

The characters in the movie were well portrayed and likable. Some more than others, of course. I found the dialogue to be good enough. And also, I thought most of the characters in the movie were good for the story and added flavor and color to the story. The cast was, for most of the roles, very nicely cast.

The effects of the movie weren't too shabby either. Of course, they were not on Romero's level, but still they were very nice to look at and seemed real enough most of the time.

And also, if you are the type that approach movies analytically, then this movie does have some interesting things that it deals with, such as terrorism, homosexuality, religion, racism, to name some. And these elements work well in the movie. Of course, if you just watch a movie for entertainment, these still add depth to the entire movie.

Overall, I think this is one of the better "low budget" zombie movies I have seen in awhile. It would be a shame to let this one pass you by if you are a gore hound or zombie fan. Don't let the title fool you, as it almost did me.

This movie definitely gets two thumbs up - if a zombie hadn't bitten off my left thumb. This is most definitely good entertainment.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 62 people found the following review useful:

People are seriously comparing this to Shaun of the dead ?

3/10
Author: Olivier Larouche from Canada
16 March 2010

I have a hard time understanding how people can see this movie as anything more than mildly entertaining. I decided to watch it with high hopes as I am a big fan of the zombie genre and some reviewers compared it to Shaun of the dead and Zombieland. In my opinion however, there is no comparison, even when taking into consideration the far lower production costs of ZMD. There is no depth to any of the characters and I don't see how the acting can be viewed as anything more than up to par. The humour and satirical elements consist of easy one-liners which failed to even make me grin. I mean, come on : "Don't shoot, I'm gay". Is that even a joke ? If I was to compare this movie to anything I've seen, I might consider Zombie strippers. However, Zombie strippers, at the very least, added a new original take to the genre and there was some much appreciated subtlety to the humour in the script. Furthermore, I've seen Zombie strippers twice whereas I would never consider sitting through ZMD a second time. In all honesty, I feel generous in rating this movie with a 3/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Zombies, Politics, and low budget makes for a bad combination

4/10
Author: skerman007 from Livonia Michigan
19 October 2010

First off I'd like to address the audio issue, whoever mastered this needs to learn that when something is only 20ft away is doesn't need a second worth of reverb this caused pretty much any noise off screen to sound incredibly awful. This is something that shouldn't be a problem even in a low budget film it would've been better off with no processing.

As for the zombie scenes I was actually surprised at the quality of makeup and acting during these scenes, some of the effects were noticeably low budget but overall quite impressive for what they had to work with, there was a lot of camera cuts which seemed a little over done.

In the political sense it addressed several issues touching on homosexuality, religion, mayoral office, and the middle east. it did seem to overemphasize them but perhaps that was the point. I only had a problem with how they were trying to make a point it detracted from the flow of the movie, there would be one scene where they're fighting zombies and then the entire mood changes to make political point it seemed like the writer wrote a political movie then an editor came along and said what do you think of adding zombies. The scenes didn't mesh together and felt forced.

The cast seemed a good fit for the characters they played, however the acting was definitely B-film quality I'd say the gay couple and the Iranian girl were by far the best actors/actress of the film. The Iranian father's actions and lines seemed rehearsed and forced. The zombies seemed as you would imagine from most zombie movies slow, stupid and bloodthirsty.

In conclusion a Zombies of Mass Destruction is a zombie film crashed into a political movie and didn't have any insurance to fund the collision repair, which makes for decent zombie killing action mixed with b-c class acting and interruptions of over-exaggerated political views, when I say interruptions I mean it takes on the mood of an entirely different movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A potentially great old school zombie movie with a clever twist that is squandered by shoddy production values.

5/10
Author: juiceman10712 from Canada
4 April 2010

A potentially great old school zombie movie with a clever twist that is squandered by shoddy production values.

I saw the trailer for this film and I was absolutely stoked. An old-school Romero-esquire zombie movie blended with comedy and satire sounded like a sure thing. With the success of other zomedies like Shaun of the Dead, Dead and Breakfast and ZOmbieland, there's no reason why this should have failed, but sadly it does... to some degree at least.

It's got it a decent amount of laughs and gore scenes. It's post-911 terrorism paranoia twist works excellently and is so refreshing for a genre that is getting stale.

The film just isn't any good on a technical standpoint. The editing is really bizarre and during some of the intense scenes, everything looks warped and choppy. Poor editing aside, the worst thing is the horrendously bad sound design. Everything sounds awful. Everything. When anybody raise there voices, the levels peak and the quality is distorted. this combined with the poor editing makes any sort of action scene almost unbearable to watch.

A really good idea and a good attempt but next time, more talent and experience might produce a better movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A good non-Hollywood zombie comedy

6/10
Author: Sabalon from United States
24 March 2010

I didn't know what to expect going into this other than Zombies. I was really surprised. A lot of people have compared it to Shaun of the Dead, and there is some definite homage there. No offense to the actors in this, but they just aren't Simon Pegg. There are really no scares that I remember, but the effects themselves are not that bad (remember - non Hollywood!) I really laughed a lot at this flick. Some of it was at corniness, some was some good humor. At one point I did think that this would be a good candidate for an (over the top) Americanized version of Shaun of the Dead. It really picks on so many aspects of culture.

The lead actress really did a good job, as did the two playing Lance and Tom. I think "Lance" gets some of the best lines and has some good comedic timing.

As long as you don't mind a little poking fun at yourself and are not looking for the next over-the-top, over-polished Hollywood turd, this is a very enjoyable movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Why you should and shouldn't see Zombies of Mass Destruction

Author: glenjordanspangler from United States
3 October 2011

ZMD is interesting if not scary, and amusing if not laugh-out-loud funny. Kevin Hamedani makes some valid points for the Progressive, tolerant viewpoint, while other points are made less persuasive by the cartoonish exaggeration of Conservative stupidity.

There are several shots where the side of a zombie's head is blown away, and I'm not sure how Hamedani and crew did those so well, given the obviously low budget. There's also an eye that pops out fairly well. On the other (severed) hand, each time a face, or portions thereof, is ripped off, the results look more like a face beneath layers of strawberry jam than a skull that's missing part of its cozy.

Armand, however, has screen presence and acting ability. The consensus on the message board of her IMDb page is that she is "really hot," a "babe," and has charisma, provided that "charisma is a code word for hotness."

Why you should see it You feel that any self-respecting zombie connoisseur must see all available zombie movies, in order to name, with some authority, both the "best zombie movie ever" and the "worst zombie movie ever." You're a Progressive who loves to see Conservatives made to look foolish and then devoured. You want to see a hot babe shoot zombies in the head.

Why you shouldn't see it You're a Conservative. You're more into vampires. You're sensitive on the subject of cannibalism, given the awkward events of this year's family reunion.

--from my review at www.1man365movies.com

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Shaun of the dead? No. But not a bad attempt

6/10
Author: TheAustralianPerspective from Australia
3 June 2011

This film offers no real surprises.

Thats pretty much this movie in a nut shell. Its your typical zombie fare with just a few extra political and social themes thrown in to try and give you characters that aren't the norm for this kind of flick.

The plot is kept simple, in this film, the zombie virus is used by terrorists as a biological weapon (I know, its the animated Resident Evil plot. Just go with it) Stupidly, its unleashed on a small ISLAND community... Isn't that kinda the worst possible place for this kind of thing? If you wanted to kill a lot of people, wouldn't you release it on the mainland or a major city so it can spread? Anyway, I digress.

The meat of the film is nothing special, typical zombie outbreak with a few gay jokes thrown in to give the slower members of the audience a giggle. But this film does deliver where its needed, its a true B movie, with ridiculous and one dimensional antagonists. Along with main characters who were clearly written with the thought "How can we get the most puns out of these guys?"

Really, the true and honest glory of this film comes towards the end, when one of the cardboard villains mentioned above (I won't spoil who) gets attacked by a zombie, who rips his arm off and proceeds to beat him to death with it. I kid you not, I watched that scene at least 4 times.

I wouldn't say that this is a zombie flick that you HAVE to see. But you could definitely do worse. It knows what it is, and sticks to just how corny the writing is and delivers what anyone with brain would expect from a film with this kind of budget. Go watch it, but don't expect to fall in love with it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Save your yourself the 'horror'

1/10
Author: sam_guy_sam from India
27 May 2012

One of the worst movies i have ever seen, how can they even call it a movie. not to forget one of the most racist crap out there,

Talking about the story, which didn't even existed, they don't tell you how it got started, what happened and how it ended 29 weeks later,

its a shame to the zombie genre, horror genre and the horror comedy genre.

Not even a good kill to show for all the money that went down the drain on this thing.

Even porn movies have better stories.

Those who have already seen this thing, my condolences,

those who haven't stay away,

save your money and save your time.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Showed great promise, but it was pretty lame in the end

5/10
Author: siderite from Romania
26 July 2010

A movie about a small town during a zombie outbreak is turned into a comedy when people, convinced it was a terrorist attack, start showing their ugly sides: homophobia, ignorance, blood lust, right wing politics, liberal politics, any politics, etc.

This could have been a really cool movie. It was obviously low budget, with bad acting on top, but that hasn't stopped others. The problem lies in the plot. When it's ironic, it's not funny; when it's bloody, it's not scary; when it shows the stupidity of small town folk, it's so exaggerated that it cycles between scary and gross. There were some funny ideas there: the Iranian family that is always mistaken for Iraqi, just because that's what's most on the news, or some of the gay antics of the two New Yorkers returned to come out to the mother of one of them, but now I am really trying to find more funny moments and I can't.

Bottom line: this is one of those movies that show the power of a good title. Who could resist a movie called Zombies of Mass Destruction? It's such a powerful title that a second part is in production for 2011. The movie though, it really was lame and failed in any direction worth exploring. Similar to some of those murderous inbred family movies where you get to see a lot of rednecks acting badly instead of true horror, it was just a waste of time.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history