Saw V (2008) Poster

(2008)

User Reviews

Add a Review
274 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
6/10
Not enough for anyone else, but fans should enjoy it for the most part.
Jamie Ward24 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
In what is only the fifth film of the Saw series released over its five year Halloween run at the box office, this latest installation suffers from the same detrimental qualities that made number four slightly disappointing for fans and casual audiences alike. Making his directorial debut here, all eyes are cast upon David Hackl to see if he can either bring something new, or at least keep the momentum going for the popular franchise. The good news for some is that Saw V feels natural and consistent to its recent predecessors helmed by Bousman, yet for many others this won't be something to get excited about. Insofar as the movie itself goes; this is mostly typical Saw material throughout, going through the motions almost. This of course will please those looking for a continuation of the previous instalments, but it will undoubtedly feel too stagnant and jaded to interest anyone else. Nevertheless, for his first feature film at the reins, Hackl proves he can live up to Bousman's style that has been engrained in the series thus far, creating yet another engaging and loyal sequel that will be sure to cater to those craving more twisted games.

For many fans and casual watchers of the series, Saw figuratively died when lead character and focus for the film Jigsaw (Tobin Bell) eventually succumbed to his cancer in film number three. Yet just as instalment IV managed to incorporate the mastermind into its story, as does V in the same manner; through flashbacks. Playing a game of two sides and narratives that eventually collide, Saw V first and foremost continues on where we left from IV, detailing the continuation of Jigsaw's work through forensics expert Hoffman and how he eventually has to tie up all loose ends regarding the deaths of those in III and IV. This narrative, although a little tiresome in its approach of filling in every detail and hole in previous features, nevertheless provides as the real meat of the script. Characters are again rather shallow, and motives are less than clear, yet much of this goes out the window when Mr. Bell graces the screen with his presence. As he has proved time and time again, it is within the character of Jigsaw that Saw's real heart lays, and with plenty of reminiscing going on here in regards to numbers I-IV, there's enough material and characterisation work here to satisfy hardcore fans of the series.

On the other side of the pitch however is a much less character/dialogue driven narrative which focuses solely on another unlucky five as they work their way through the latest of Jigsaws traps, this time set up by successor Hoffman. For those who attend screenings of the latest Saw movies only to watch people get their comeuppance through a series of bloody and grisly tests, then this will be where your thirst is quenched. Taking on a tone that is strikingly similar to instalment two, the challenges presented here are graphic and extremely cerebral, shot in the same berserk ways so far explored in the series (although, the blending scene segment style incorporated in IV is gone) which add to the movie's intense ability to draw you in.

A consistently forceful element of the series, cinematographer David A. Armstrong here follows the movie's mantra of "don't fix what isn't broke", and the film's sense of coherency and embodiment of the script's themes works just as well here as it did in previous features. Sure enough, Saw wouldn't be Saw without its morally challenging undercurrent squirming underneath all the corpses and violence, and in this regard V does well to incorporate the same subtext. Of course as has been the case with all the sequels thus far, the message isn't quite as clear here as it was in the original, and the ideas always seem to be justifying the gore rather than the other -more appropriate- way around, but there's enough here to stop the whole ordeal boiling down to a silly slasher flick with no fibre to it at all.

Needless to say there are many audiences out there who outwardly oppose everything the Saw series stands for, be it involving the gore, the message, or just the tacky horror-movie-sequel feel in general. Yet as I have been witness to many the genre has to offer so far this year I can safely say that while Saw V is by no means a masterpiece nor as significant as its first production, it still beats out most of the competition by quite some distance.

In the end, the entire ordeal feels more like an add-on; a tid-bit of flavour designed to tie up the loose ends left dangling from all the other features, and in this respect V will feel a little underwhelming; even to rabid fans of the series. And yet, it's the fans that will make up most of Saw V's audience. I recommend V, but only to fans, and only because there's hope that VI (which the door is left wide open to here) might get the ball rolling again and begin to tell a new story. So by all means, if you can appreciate the series' unmatched ability to make you squirm, to have you question your moral code, and to fascinate you with its lurid, engrossing world made of cogs, puzzle pieces and of course, saws, then you can't go wrong here. Saw V is everything that fans of the series as a whole will want, but a lack of progression in narrative and its disregard for relevancy to anyone outside of its core audience inevitably cuts it short; not enough for anyone else, but fans should enjoy it for the most part.

  • A review by Jamie Robert Ward (http://www.invocus.net)
93 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A stumble, but still on mission.
Bloomer23 October 2008
I watched Saw V with a good opening night crowd here in Sydney. I've enjoyed all of the Saw films, predictably liking some episodes a lot more than others, and Saw V is, again, very watchable, with some intense moments and no shortage of grisliness. But I'd still say it's the weakest entry in the series to date. The trouble is that the main narrative addition for this episode, which has to sustain half the running time, turns out to be a dramatically weak one. I don't think a Saw film ever previously failed to create excitement or new meaning via one of its big twisty revelations, but Saw V's add next to nothing. The knowledge gained doesn't force any re-evaluation of the past events it concerns; you just see and know a bit more about them, and to no great effect, except for the fact that Tobin Bell's performance is always compelling, maybe even more so when he's talking to people who aren't stuck in Jigsaw's deathtraps.

The Saw films have demonstrated an unfeasibly high success rate over time in terms of pulling off twist after twist and having them nearly all hit home. With this track record, it seems inevitable that there'd be a significant stumble at some point. They've never been bulletproof films (and thrillers are the genre that are hardest to bulletproof), but I'd say Saw V is definitely the stumble. In spite of this, it still keeps in enough with the series in general for me to be ready for Saw VI in 2009 - which I hope will be better work.
87 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
I Definitely Can't Believe How It Ended
mmmmcrayons25 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Okay i'm a very big Saw fan, and in my opinion, the directors should have just stopped making Saw movies after the third one. I could rave on about the fourth installment, but considering I'm writing a comment about the fifth, I won't. There were so many things wrong with this movie, especially the horrible ending. There was no twist mid-movie because they couldn't think of a clever enough ending.

I'm also extremely disappointed about the lack of relevance the main Saw trap had to the movie. They all had something to do with a fire where eight people died...so what. But they'll probably reveal why they were all chosen in the sixth one, which I'm seriously considering not seeing.

Yet another flaw, the crappy traps which could have easily been escaped by the seemingly mentally handicapped victims. At least in the final trap the two left had a moment of clarity realizing what they should have done to get out. But they ruined it by sawing half of their arm in half, when they could have just sawed off a finger and let the blood drain out.

Alas, even more is wrong with this awful sequel. Detective Hoffman, in my opinion, seemed to be randomly thrown in to the entire storyline because the writers weren't clever enough to come up with a real twist. The story has become way to complex and I found myself, an avid film watcher, bewildered at points. Good thing Agent Strahm was there to reveal the plot line aloud and to himself.

Now there's a series of questions that have been built up and Jigsaw and all of his accomplices are dead. So i guess the writers are going to have to come up with another random plot line, random character, take random scenes from the other movies, put the random character in them, and add a random trap that kills a bunch of moronic random people. Again.

I hate to say this, but I actually caught myself laughing at the lame traps, stupid people, and a lot of Jigsaw's lines. (i.e. "Killing is distasteful.").

All in all, this movie was a disaster, an atrocity not even comparable with the rest of the Saw movies. I gave a 2/10 sheerly because it gave me something to whine about to my friends for the next couple of days.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
You won't believe how it ends? yeah right!
tom_lewis8625 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Of all the SAW films so far this has to be the worst! Where all the others had twists you could never see coming or endings that nearly everyone was shocked by this film was a massive letdown.

There was no imagination going into the traps in this film. They were nearly all as gruesome as possible with no real thought going into making them all seem different. They just seemed like nothing made any of them different or original.

The size of some of the contraptions were ridiculous and totally unrealistic to have been made by any less than a team of probably half a dozen engineers. The SAW films have gone from being shocking but realistic situations like two men handcuffed to radiators in a room to completely far fetched unrealistic situations.

As a huge fan of the series of films I was bitterly disappointed when the credits started to role and I just sat there thinking "was that it?!" Honestly this will ruin everything you love about the SAW films, if you love the rest then go and see it just to say you've seen it and so you can just get the tiny little bit of the story this film adds to. If you've never seen any SAW films before go and see ANYTHING but this film.

I know this just sounds like a rant about how much I hated this film but if you've seen the rest, go and see it and I really think you'll agree with what I'm saying. Shockingly bad is my final thought! a real letdown in every way!

-tom_lewis86-
41 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Very Acceptable
zegrosowl24 October 2008
To say the least, I was NOT disappointed. I enjoyed the film as much as I thought I would. Going in, I had some doubts, what with a new director and this being a fifth installment in a horror series (they usually start sucking by the 3rd).

As soon as the opening credits start, you can already tell that a different director had his hands on the project. Acceptence doesn't take long to sink in though. As expected, the film meets the typical Saw requirements. Multiple traps and more revealing back-story.

Simply put, Saw V should not disappoint the loyal Saw fan. I know I'll be back for the next installment with bells on.

Seeing that this is the fifth film, you simply MUST see 1-4 in order to truly understand all the flashbacks. I don't want to give anything away, so all I will say is this: The very last trap in this film is one of my new favorites. . .
94 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Saw 5 - One pointless prologue to Saw 6.
ruddaga23 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
**Review Written With Possible Spoilers** So i just saw Saw 5. And how to sum it up.. I think my brother summed it up best as "One long ass prologue for Saw 6."

Now i remember the first saw being one of the best films I've ever seen. Saw 2 was a major let down to me.. it was just too random and didn't have the calculated brilliance of Saw 1. Saw 3, i actually didn't mind, just because i found it more interesting then Saw 2. Saw 4 was pushing it but i kept on watching just cause all the little questions that had built up over the series had to be answered otherwise i couldn't sleep at night..

So we come to Saw 5... And what HUGE revelation do we get in this movie? ...... Well... actually we don't get one. Oh sure there is the back story of how Hoffman became the new saw killer.. But its so cheesy that a 6th grader could've strung it all together. And the story isn't...well...Good... There is no twist (none... NONE..).. And the entire movie we just see an agent going from scene to scene of the old Jigsaw crimes.. and somehow imagining how they all happened... by just standing there (and self narrating the past events..). There is a sub plot involving a bunch of 5 other subjects.. but if you don't pick how that ends after jigsaws "i wanna play a game rant" Then you've obviously never watched a saw movie. (**major spoiler** -also the 5 people in that subplot game didn't seem to mind killing each other at any given chance as well.. Not to mention it was random as.. the literally just turn on each other without giving reason.. then at the end instead of killing each other they decide to work together... it didn't really fit with the characters that we had been shown through the movie... Im surprised that the guy didn't shove the girls arm into the trap after finding out she was the one who set him up for the murder of the 8 people.. He just goes "Its your fault I'm here... But hey.. lets work together... Umm... OK...).

OK.. So lets ignore the terrible story that doesn't go anywhere (not to mention the B grade acting..) So we come to the traps... Saw 3 + 4 mainly rode on the fact that the traps got more and more gore filled then the original first movies.. And that helped carry them a bit since the story was semi lacking... So I'm confused why every trap in this movie... Is... Well lame.. We see a guy get sliced in half lamely.. A girl lose her head.. Some dude blown away without seeing anything.. Girl stabbed in the neck.. and a couple of people bleed a little out of their arms (probably the most violent scene in the movie..) Maybe the other titles have desensitized me to gore and violence.. But it was all quite tame in comparison.

Plus the lame attempt to fill half the movie with Flashbacks just to have jigsaw in the movie (while its nice to see Mr Tobin again..) just seemed like a massive time filler... Which sums this movie up nicely. Its just a filler. No questions are answered in this one... Apparently there is some huge underlining plot that we still aren't privvy to because the producers want to milk it for all its worth for at least another sequel. And you know what.. I'll see the damn sequel just cos i want to see how the series ends.. Which we all know is going to end with Hoffman getting killed by Gordan who will be the final new Jigsaw. We all know thats where its heading.... ;)
35 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A review of mixed feelings...
The_Amazing_Spy_Rises23 October 2008
The Saw series has always been a standard of sorts. After what I felt was an iconic debut, the series has always remained consistently interesting, with one of the most compelling and ever expanding plots in film history. People may complain that the series is in decline, but what people need to realize is that each part is astronomically better than the corresponding parts of other horror series (for example, Saw IV is better than Halloween IV, or the 4th Nightmare on Elm Street film). The same holds true for Saw V, though the film definitely shows that the series is in decline and needs to end soon before it descends into pure absurdity.

A universal truth of the Saw series is that every entry, no matter who does it, will always be well written and contain a plot twist or two at the end. Again, Saw V continues the tradition of revealing the 'huge' (if you could call it that) twist whilst "Hello Zepp" by Charlie Clouser plays in the background. The film answers as many questions as it raises, and serves as more of an origin movie, like Saw IV did. Only this time, the origin doesn't focus on John Kramer/Jigsaw, and therein lies the problem.

Why does Saw V fail to impress me? Simple. Not enough Jigsaw. Tobin Bell, who has managed to create an iconic villain over the last 5 years, delivers another sublime performance that is not to missed in the world of horror as perhaps the greatest villain of the decade. It really amazed me how Saw IV had the best acting of the series, but just one movie later, pretty much every performer falls flat on their face. This is especially sad considering most of the cast are returning characters, except your typical "why is this happening to me! AHHH!" type characters (which got unbearably annoying, considering they killed off the two least annoying ones first). Meagan Good and Costas Mandylor are acceptable in their roles, however.

Back to the lack of Jigsaw. Tobin Bell really doesn't physically appear that much in the movie, and that is far and away its biggest flaw. The film is similar to Saw II more than the others. To get my drift a little better, imagine the second film, except reduce Jigsaw's screen time by about half. Yeah. This is the only weakness of the screenplay for me, which appears to have matured from the over the top torture porn in Saw III and the ridiculous attempt to run Saw IV concurrently with its predecessor. The film's biggest flaw is in the acting and lack of Jigsaw. Besides this, I really felt that it fit the mold as a worthy entry to the series.

After watching this, however, I no longer feel that Saw is the standard of excellence in horror as it once was. That said, the film has the advantage of being short and never dragging. It's well paced and will more than deliver the thrills. Another thing I feel obligated to mention is that this is the least scariest film in the series, which is okay, because unlike every other cheap horror film, Saw V doesn't try to be scary. It's more of a thriller with some gruesome images (like the first film) than a full blown horror movie (like parts II & III).

In the end, what it comes down to as far as your ability to enjoy the movie, you have to ask yourself this question: "why do I watch the Saw series?". If you watch it for the story and plot twists, you should be at least satisfied, if not entertained. If you watch the series for pure shock and awe and disgust, you'll be disappointed, because Saw V does not try to be a horror film outside of a few scenes. It's a decent entry to the series that is tolerable, despite a lack of the iconic Jigsaw, horrid acting, and a somewhat predictable plot twist (easily the most predictable of the series).
88 out of 135 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
I believed how it ended
sneakythief-125 October 2008
Given that the Saw films are notable for their unexpected plot twists, the fact that this was the most predictable one makes it difficult to see why it scored the "You won't believe how it ends" tagline. Otherwise, it's decent. It blows Saw III out of the water, but I don't feel it really compares to the other three. I can appreciate that they're trying to bring it back to what the original was all about; a brilliant plot with a couple of gory scenes (the previous two have been somewhat gore-laden with little story for my liking), the problem being, unfortunately, that the plot is fairly weak. The intensity of the torture scenes is greatly increased, though, by the rest period between them.

As a horror film, this works, but don't expect Saw - and don't expect to be blown away by the ending, because it is nothing special. That said, if you're addicted to the Saw saga as so many of us are, there's no harm in going out to see it.
76 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Not the strongest, but it's still SAW
silentcheesedude24 October 2008
After so many sequels, one should expect a series to be driven to the ground. Although it's getting a bit tiring, Saw fans, & for that matter, fans of gore, shouldn't be disappointed with the fifth movie. Saw 5 still follows the same routine of the cat and mouse game... but of course, as always, telling you too much of the plot is a ruining the game for you. Let's keep it at the thin plot description already given: a detective goes out of his way to make sure that his secret is kept, before an agent uncovers his identity. The subplot involves 5 individuals who are somehow connected, and must work their way out of traps.

The traps still prove to be especially cruel, perhaps a little too cruel, but even that is worked into the story. It involves quite a bit of the past, much like Saw 4, it will give you more of the origin of the characters, whether it's needed or not. Minimizing flashbacks, it instead will fill in a number of plot and character holes.

This is David Hackl's directional debut. Considering he's been around since Saw 2 as production designer, this is a solid step forward. There's no doubt that these somehow ingenious, if not over the top story lines that interconnect were made up well after the fact, but that doesn't change the fact that the scriptwriters were keen on at least making an effort to do exactly that. Tie things in, making the package look neater, & hoping you don't think about it too much that you start to see the implausibility of it all.

If you have not seen the previous Saw's, you will be lost here, as you will be left with confusing tie in's and past incidents that mesh too well with the present. It's just not kind to new viewers.

All in all, I can't complain about Saw 5, because I got exactly what I expected. Clever, deadly traps, uncomfortable situations, & of course, the "twist" at the end. There's no denying that one particular actor that's been in all the Saw's is especially good at what he does.

For the most part, I would suggest waiting for a rental. I think that some viewers may grow tired of the series because it comes out every year. The nature of an audience viewing sequels is that it dwindles in number over time, as "sequelitis" sets in. But if you enjoyed the previous Saws & all their abusive, bloody, cruel, & heartless drama, you don't need me to suggest anything to you.
51 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Someone just killed the golden egg laying goose.
bt-1624 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Lionsgate and Twisted Pictures...what the crap! I'm offended.

"Saw V: What happened?" Did you run out of money? Listen...I realize it's just a movie. But when you have the four before it and you set a certain expectation, there is just no excuse for what we just sat through. I have seen movies made for $7,000 that had more substance than one single frame of this movie.

  • Score was mostly reused from 3 and 4. When you could hear it at all.


  • Unrivaled pacing problems.


  • There were massive technical problems. Looks like the digital intermediate never got finished.


  • Better than 80% of the movie is just reaction shots with no dialog. People standing around staring at stuff and each other. The other 20% is Straham SAYING THE PLOT OUT LOUD.


  • Speaking of which, this movie was very short. Am I correct when I guess that there were somehow massive problems with the movie and you guys went back and added Straham infodumping the plot and just took out the action and replaced it with dialogue-less reaction shots because there wasn't time to do anything else? - Did that include editing out the third act in its entirety? - Did you guys hold the Saw IV special edition DVD until after this movie was released so you could recoup losses from this movie because people will be so angry about 5 that they will be GLEEFUL to buy 4 on DVD? - Did you re-edit it in such a way that you knew you were going out on this one so you just tried to make do if you *HAD* to go out like this? - What in God's name happened? How can a movie be messed up this badly? It's like...you have the SAME crew. HOW DO YOU SCREW SOMETHING UP THIS BAD!? Anyways, Saw was fun while it lasted. They just messed up on this one big time. The whole movie is a disaster. We lost half the audience at the midnight screening in the third reel (when nothing was happening on screen...like most of the movie).


There was no twist. There was nothing intellectual. Jigsaw said things he would never say. The characters had no arcs, and they would go between being crazy and entirely coherent. Again, there was no third act. The ending was lame.

Normally, people cheer at the end. At our midnight screening, people just looked around and stared each other like it was a joke.

It was the kind of screening that was SO BAD that people called their friends because they had to tell someone how unbelievable it was.

You guys lost me on the Saw franchise. Sorry.

1/10 (It was, after all, at least successfully *PRINTED* to film. The one thing they got right.) AVOID
25 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
SAW V - Hyped to be a miss but definitely hit.
Bleam6623 October 2008
Like everyone else, I was expecting this movie to live up to the hype and be absolutely horrible. Since though I have seen SAW I-IV, I had to go see this at the midnight showing. What started it off, I was already impressed with that I saw. As the movie was going forward it was hard to tell how it would all add up. By the end though I was expecting to be disappointed and it really did not.

While SAW fans will appreciate this, it really depends on what you like. If you are expecting a SAW II - III where it is mainly gore and such, maybe not so much. If you are like the few who want to know more about the story, then it is a must to see this.

Now while every question is not answered, it makes up for it in its own ways. Do not be like me or most of the people who were hesitant to see this film due to people not enjoying it. I think many people would be surprised on just how great this film really is. To me, it was the best since the first one, despite the weak twist and sometimes cheesy kills. Then again, name a film that has been perfect because everyone has a fault.
147 out of 261 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
For Shame Hackl
boknows1121227 October 2008
Being a huge Saw fan I can say without a doubt I look forward to each and every offering but this years installment was by far the worst of the bunch. I never claim Saw movies feature terrific acting( besides 1 and 3) but 5 featured some atrocious performances. On one hand you have the wooden Strahm who is literally dictating his thought to... well no one, on the other is Julie Benz, normally a fine actress in Dexter, spouting of ridiculous lines that sound meant for trailers (ex. " It's our next nightmare"). On top of that the movie is just full of sloppy film-making. Let's start with Strahm, he's just unnecessary, he seems only to be there as a vessel to fuel the flashbacks. On to the main trap, The best of the characters is killed in just the second room. Why did they even have to kill him? He was savvy and sharp but I guess the director just wanted to remove all intelligence from this movie. Finally the ending. This might be the worst evidence of a cash-grab I have ever seen. There was no ending, as my friend put it " It's like they ran out of ideas for 6 movies so they cut five in half", and thats really how it felt, INCOMPLETE.
36 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Will it stop if we say we learned our lesson???
Warning: Spoilers
Lionsgate seriously needs to know when to stop. The tagline of the movie is "You Won't Believe How it Ends", but really, what I can't believe is that the series has NO end. I mean, if you look at it the way I do, the series pretty much died with Jigsaw. And that's saying quite a lot. Talk about beating a dead Jigsaw. Saw IV was pretty pointless but it had its moments. Saw V shows that the filmmakers are now trying to make money.

The film picks up where Saw IV left off- Hoffman is now the newest person to carry on Jiggy's legacy and will do whatever it takes to get it un-noticed. That is, until Strahm survives one of his traps and is now off to kill Hoffman. Meanwhile, somewhere else, 5 test subjects are in a house, one named Brit, played by Dexter's Julie Benz, who wears a hilarious fright wig that somehow changes itself in every scene. The goal is to kill each other until one's surviving to get out of the house. Some traps include the necktie trap, and even the razor hand trap.

And that's all you need to know. This one is a real dud, Not only are they carrying on a series that didn't need to be carried after our very own Jigsaw died, but they're also trying to be like Saw I in some bits and even Saw III. Plus where's the gore? With how gory it is, this should be rated PG-13. The only gory bit is in the beginning with the pendulum trap. Not to mention the ending, which sucks big time too, because there's no twist!!! I'm sure the Ultra Super Director's Cut with a Holographic cover, and even a ticket to Saw VI, will no doubt showcase all of its alternate endings, but at this point I'm not sure if I even care.

Overall, this is a complete waste of time, and is just another attempt to milk the cow from Lionsgate and Twisted Pictues. Maybe I'll see Saw VI, but just to see how it all ends. Saw, your time is over, and it's time to pass your crown over to Bousman's upcoming "Repo! The Genetic Opera".
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Jigsaw should be Stopped
Waseem Khan4 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Where do I start, this was a total pointless piece of Film making, and the franchise now is living of the name, which is slowly deteriorating. There is nothing fresh or exciting left about Saw any more. There are 2 Games in Saw V, the first game with the 5 Participants while at first appears to be the Usual, Play by the Rules and Survive, or Play as you wish and Die, turned out to be nothing more than a plot allow the FBI to think that Agent Strahm is Jigsaw, which in my view is not a worthy game for Jigsaw, his mission should be above such shallowness. The entrapment was tried in the first movie, when they planted the Doctors flashlight on one of his victims. The 2nd Game, is a Re-Hash of the game with Mark Whalberg from Saw 2, with the almost the same Rules,Stay in the Room and Live, or Follow your instincts & The building will become your Tomb.

Were there any good bits in the movie, well yes, there were some nice touches, Agent Strahm giving himself a Tracheotomy, & Hoffmans Revenge on his Sisters killer was a very nice touch, and, oh, no thats about it, these touches while good, are not enough to hold a whole movie together.

The Tag Line You won't believe how it ends, is a total let down, the ending was the same as Saw IV, and we already knew who took over from John as Jigsaw. You won't believe how it ends, more like, We could not think of a proper Ending so we re-used Saw IV ending. Poor Poor Poor.

Also and Unfortunately in my view, one question was never answered and has left a unfortunate reason for Saw VI to be made, Whats in the Box thats Johns wife was given?

In short, Saw V is like the Labour Government, It's running out of Ideas - This is a truly awful movie, and like Jigsaw, should be stopped. I pray I have the will power to leave Saw VI well alone, but I'm stupid like that and I just know I will talk the wife into going to see it.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Probably the least interesting Saw movie as of yet.
Boba_Fett113825 November 2008
Yes, the Saw-franchise is beginning to get a bit tiresome. I'm still a fan of it thought but it needs some new fresh ideas fast.

Of course in essence all Saw movies are more or less the same. However all previous movies still knew to keep me interested and guessing throughout the entire movie. It still featured some surprising and interesting elements, while "Saw V" really doesn't feature any. No big surprises or twists here, not even at the ending, which in my opinion was a bit weak and disappointing. Normally the end of a Saw movie provides a big twists that will leave you shocked and stunned in your chair, for a few minutes after the movie has ended. I missed this in "Saw V".

The movie is also the least interesting Saw movie as of yet because it features some lazy writing. Normally Saw scripts are airtight ones but not this one sadly. It often takes the obvious paths.

Like always it is also featuring lots of different plot-lines and characters again, although in this case not all are connected well enough to each other. Seriously, what have all those people going to the Jigsaw-trails have to do with the rest of the movie its plot? It just seems to be there because its a Saw movie and it needs to feature all these sick and twisted games. The story lines don't ever really get together well enough. The movie again is also featuring lots of flashbacks, which shows events that happened in the previous movies, often seen from a different side this time but some of these flashbacks however are quite pointless for the movie once you start thinking about it.

I also blame Hoffman for it that this movie doesn't work out as good and interesting as any of the other sequels. He's the new Jigsaw and as of yet he also is the least interesting one. It probably also has to do with the fact that he is featured a lot in the movie, while Jigsaw normally always remain on the background. Also the reasons why he became the new Jigsaw, as gets shown in this movie, are a bit shaky and not exactly believable.

The movie itself is perhaps also lacking in one clear good main hero and character.

It still is a superior genre movie of course. It's concept alone is already good and interesting enough to please the genre fans and provides the potential for an infinitive amount of Saw-sequels. All Saw movies have a great look and atmosphere over them, though this one works out as the least effective one when it comes down to its atmosphere and horror/thriller elements because of the reason that this movie features very little new elements.

The Jigsaw games themselves also seem less innovative and clever. It's still gruesome and lots of bloods and guts can be seen flying around but it's just less surprising and shocking all.

Lets hope "Saw VI" will have some fresh new good ideas and a better script with some better- and more interesting characters in it.

7/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
25 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Not as good as previous installments
Jason B26 October 2008
While this is still a watchable, well acted movie that continues on the Saw tradition well I have to give it a lower rating because it just was not as good as the previous installments. The plot and the traps that we have come to be surprised by seemed to be a more predictable and rushed along by the makers of the movie. It seemed like this movie could have just been tossed in with part 4 to make one big movie as the prequel to the next part. So to me it seemed like the studio just split up 1 movie into 2 parts to capitalize on the profits....which they have done well I might add because myself and many other movie goers packed the theater for the 5th Saw installment. So in closing I think this movie may be adequate for the die hard saw fans, not nearly good enough for new comers, and winds up lacking far more than it gives. That is why I can only give this movie a 5 out of 10
38 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
If Paranormal Activity Makes it to V, Shoot Me
thesar-21 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Though not the worst horror sequel I've seen, as a movie itself, Saw V was definitely flat, especially for an originally groundbreaking series that keeps getting worse. The acting and dialogue was seriously laughable, the plot crawled at times and attempting to explain every single frame of the previous films is definitely getting tedious. Would it have made Friday the 13th series any better if it was eventually explained where Mother Voorhees bought the car that took them to Crystal Lake or just who attempted to give Jason failed swimming lessons? The most comical scenes in Saw V were the flashbacks within the flashbacks, reminding me of the great Simpsons episode that made fun of this very tactic. And here's the spoiler – another accomplice to the crimes? It's like the writers just keep making up & adding to scenes/details of the previous films, as if the thought never occurred them to go in a new direction. I probably won't see a Saw VI if I learn of yet another accomplice, a plumber who rigged the bathroom from #1. Well, now, that makes all the sense! I so wondered how he made sure the plumbing worked enough to get the tub filled! Recommendation: Watch I, II and finish with III. IV and V should've been straight to DVD. Hell, Hellraiser gave up after 4 and went home.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Still good, but past the point of necessity.
tachilaki-125 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Well, even though I was quite wary of this sequel (as I am of any series that goes past a third installment), I must say that Saw V is still pretty good. However, this might be one for fans only.

The reason I say that is because the story this time around is not really all that necessary. Saw IV wrapped up the entire mess pretty good, leaving Special Agent Hoffman to carry on Jigsaw's legacy. This entry just reveals more backstory that, while still somewhat interesting, is not something anyone really needs to know. It doesn't wrap up any holes or really reveal anything new.

In any case, this is a good entry, and I am amazed that the producers could keep it up for this long.
21 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Decent
Movieboy_2023 October 2008
Saw V was a decent film, but sadly it is nothing compared to the first 4 and is the weakest of the lot.

I felt the acting was very poor at times from most of the cast, but Tobin Bell still managed a very good performance as the sick and twisted "Jigsaw", it's a shame he didn't get much screen time.

The other problem I had with the film was that it didn't really feel like a saw film while watching, it seemed like they wanted to focus on the drama more than the actual traps. But with saying that, the main game with Malick, Brit, Luba, Charles and Ashley is VERY well done and entertaining, it's a shame they didn't show it more.

Overall, this is a pretty good film, with a bit of a let down ending (but still shocking).

PS. The rating would have been higher if they focused on the group game more.
54 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A different type of saw.......But flawed on what we were promised.
Jesse Hitz24 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Just got back from seeing the new saw tonight and i must say i was a little surprised. The Saw franchise has officially been run into the ground ever since saw 2, so you either really need to be a fan of the series or go in knowing all the saw movies and having an open mind. Knowing that this was probably just a milk the cow and grab the cash type of deal i was a little surprised. This saw film is different from all the others, it returns a little to its original roots.

Much like the first saw this time around we are given more story and little on the deaths and traps. This movie seems more of a detective thriller than a gore slash em up type of movie however that still is present. The movie also moves at a slower pace. So here is my rundown of the film.

The death traps to me seemed very unoriginal but i guess thats kind of hard when you have probably used them all, and overall that sadistic feeling is just gone now. The story continues where saw 4 left off and pretty much really stays the same nothing new really happens. The viewer may get more story but it's really unnecessary. The only new things we learn is how that detective came to work along side jigsaw. We learn nothing new about jigsaw or his past like we were promised. Also again his wife is left with nothing new other than a box with something in it that we don't get to see or hear from again...probably till saw 6. So overall the traps are kind of boring and have been done, you also get cheated out of some, the story is quite pointless, and the ending is....

The ending is well the tagline reads "You won't believe how it ends" well guess what i can believe how it ended and all i'll say was wow it is nothing excellent or twisted. Just open ended no surprise or nothing unlike the other saw films, but maybe it's just setting up for the final act so there is no need to bring in other killers or major twists like the last saw films. Overall the movie was alright not great but probably more worth watching when it comes to DVD or blu-ray. Saw fans will probably either love this or even shrug it off because of its slower pace. For people who haven't seen all the saw's will want to avoid this one because of the constant flashback's and confusing story line.

Best saw films overall: -Saw -Saw 3 -Saw 2 -Saw 4 -Saw 5
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Stupid Film
Claudio Carvalho18 September 2011
Five persons with entwined lives are trapped in a room and need to fight for surviving in another deadly game of Jigshaw. Meanwhile, the sadistic vigilante John Kramer (Tobin Bell), a.k.a. The Jigsaw Killer, and his apprentice Amanda are found dead and Agent Strahm (Scott Patterson) unexpectedly survives to the criminal's game.

Agent Strahm is sure that Detective Mark Hoffman (Costas Mandylor) is a follower and apprentice of Jigsaw and seeks evidences to prove his theory. However, Hoffman lures Strahm and incriminates him making Dan Erickson (Mark Rolston) believe that Strahm is the criminal in another deadly game that Strahm has to play to survive.

"Saw V" is another stupid films of this absurd franchise. The gadgets and facilities used by Jigsaw and Mark Hoffman would be easily traceable and the owner or buyer could be easily found. Tobin Bell is a good actor but unfortunately I can not write the same about the wooden Costas Mandylor. Everything is pretext for torture and I really do not like this franchise. My vote is three.

Title (Brazil): "Jogos Mortais V" ("Mortal Games V")
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Just as good as all the others
robertallenandersonjr24 October 2008
Saw V was just as good as all the others ones. It does have the same amount of gore. It does start right away with a bang just like all the others. The story was very good in this one as well. It didn't have the best acting but was okay. It wasn't that jumpy or to scary but did have a few scares and jumps. It is a great movie to go see during Haloween. It did have a few boring moments but for the most part keeps you entertained. The movie does go very deep into the story with this one. Some of the games were fun and some were bad. This saw was more like the second one. The ending was led up very well for a great finale. The whole movie was fun though and intense for the most part. Overall would recommend seeing this saw if you have seen all the others.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
One of the worst films I ever Saw
golly4126 October 2008
OK, let's get something straight. This film is truly awful. Yes, I've seen all the other instalments (although I did see Saw 2 prior to seeing Saw 1),and I would go so far as to call myself a fan. Saw 1 was the best, Saw 2 the next best, and so on. And to be honest, I can't really remember what happened in Saw 3 and 4, they kind of just blended into one film.

And so to Saw 5. Believe me folks, save your money. I couldn't believe how bad it was. No plot, weak characters, poor acting, no twist at the end (couldn't believe it?) and a story that jumps around more times than a kid on a pogo stick. I couldn't figure out where the film was on the timeline at certain points - at one point I though Jigsaw had come back from the dead.

The truth is, you don't really care about the characters, the games are poorly conceived and it seems that the makers just want to go for gore and guts without going any deeper, which would be the smart thing to do.

I expect these films will just keep going and going, they should have quit while they were ahead but alas, money is the dictator.

So 1 out of 10 I feel is fair, only because it didn't last longer than 90 minutes. If you have to watch this, wait til it comes out on DVD and go see Ricky Gervais at the cinema instead.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Someone is really trying to rape this series
thomascompton25 October 2008
Slop. There' I'll say it. Trash, slop, gutter garbage. Dave Hackl has, in every course of thought, forethought, and even dreamlike subconscious, raped the Saw franchise. I don't mean like made it boring, or made it slow, no I mean made it incoherent, trashy, and completely illogical.

I am a DIE HARD SAW FAN!! I will say that now. I LOVE SAW!!! But between little to no creative traps, absolutely terrible dialog, and the worst ending to a film since The Village (really the ending is that bad), I think it stands a testament how terrible of a director Dave is. Actually, come to think of it, I would have been happy with a M. night ending. What if...Jigsaw was really the number 5. And his witchery was the epitome of pure evil. And he had flying 8's that would ravage your children. That ending would have been better then what I just watched no more then 2 hours ago. I will not let this dreg sink in. Jigsaw is barely in the film, and so many VERY IMPORTANT questions are left unanswered, but not in a Saw way. Sort of like in a Clue or Jeopardy kind of way. It's like if Alex Tribek asked the question, nobody got it right, and then he didn't tell you the answer.

The plot was horrible. The acting was bad. The last trap (involving hands) in the film was pretty good. The real last trap (that's not a trap, it's just uncreative and stupid) looked like something from a bad library book you steal just to resell it. Not good, not fair, not even terrible. If there is anything worse then abomination to Jim Jones, that is this film. God, Jim Jones couldn't even be this sadistic.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Sheer Brilliance once again
Anthony Lupo23 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Contrary to most of the reviews I've read, I found this movie to be simply brilliant and mind-blowing. I've watched every Saw prior, and have always been left wanting more, and this movie delivered a lot. I'm also a die hard fan of this series. This movie gets an 8 out of 10 for me because the games could have been a lot more sentimental to the individuals who were being tested. As opposed to the pendulum game, which both the message and the sacrifice he had to make was related to his flaw, they had no connection to the people. They were merely eye candy for those who wanted to see someone die. Aside from that, everything else was great. The information given, though not all questions have been answered, tied all 5 movies together. It fills a lot of holes in the story throughout the movie, and to me, that's what Saw is about; the message that Jigsaw makes. To those who think that Saw has been dragged on for too long and think the games are getting old, I insist you open your eyes and see the saga for what it is meant to be. Understand the story and the philosophy behind John Kramer. He never misses a beat with everything that's happened, and this movie I feel was the most clever of them all. This movie was focused around Agent Straham from beginning to end. Everything else was simply to entertain/enlighten. In the defense of opposed opinions, not everyone who watches these movies watch it for the message, but to see blood and guts, so your opinion will depend on what you're looking for. If you're looking for blood and guts, I trust you will be disappointed. There's not much here and where they had some opportunity to give more, they didn't. If you want to know more and have questions answered, I trust you will leave the theater satisfied, and guaranteed wanting more. I don't want to give away too much of the movie, but all I will say, is it's not over yet. Expect a Saw VI and possibly a Saw VII.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews