IMDb > The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Män som hatar kvinnor
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo More at IMDbPro »Män som hatar kvinnor (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 29: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [Next]
Index 281 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Good mystery thriller with grisly bits

7/10
Author: badajoz-1 from United Kingdom
19 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have not read the book, not seen the theatre version, or seen the remake for dumb audiences that cannot be bothered to read subtitles. I have watched the original Swedish TV mini series in two parts. A good mystery made in laid back, brooding Scandinavian style - a la Wallander (Hendriksson) and 'The Killing.' The thriller aspects are not overdone, so cars do not jump off roads in CGI and endless build ups are avoided. The story of a left wing, crusading journo (Blomqvist) trying to uncover a 40 year old mysterious disappearance of a multi-millionaire magnate's niece is deftly and slowly told against a background of shuttered lives and shuttered doors on an island setting. The interconnection of the journo and a rather psychotic young woman (Salander) works naturally and the unlikely Holmes/Watson combo solve the plot without too many blistering coincidences or plot contrivances. the acting is restrained and good - not too overboard and emotional (as the remake appears to be) - the direction slowly building to a climax, and the script - given the material - not too over cooked. A small problem is the porno-like violence involving Salander, which, while not graphic, seems overdone for the plot and a little tacked on. But have to see the other two films/books to judge whether it is all part of the bigger scenario. Why was a remake really required, except for US dumba**es?

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A well-cast movie.

8/10
Author: melvis0 from New Zealand
9 January 2012

Now I haven't seen many Swedish movies. If I have, I can't remember them. I got out this movie from the local video store and I watched it last night. I was quite surprised how well done this movie was. I was captivated by the excellent performances by the Swedish actors, all of whom I've never seen before. Every actor was the exact portrayal of the character in the book. Henrik Vanger, Lisbeth Salander, the evil Nils Bgurman and others. At first, I wasn't convinced by Mikael Blomkvist; but as the movie moved on I gradually got to him him better and was enthralled by his performance.

I didn't know how the movie makers were going to tackle the horrific rape scene or scenes in the book. It was unsettling to watch, but it worked. I nearly had my finger on the fast-forward button but managed to get through the gritty scenes.

I've read Stieg Larsson's book, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo about 6 months ago. I loved the book. I thought it would make a great movie but I wouldn't think that a Hollywood blockbuster would do it justice, as this book is obviously set in Sweden. But this movie has done that.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Far better than the 2011 remake

9/10
Author: orion_ss1 from United States
28 December 2011

The book was great. It took a while as the book ( like the movie ) bounced between Lisbeth's story and Michael's until they merged. While reading I thought the book too bogged in details, but watching the movie I thought too many important details were skimmed over.

I do believe the movie was faithful to the book's plot ( more so than the 2011 remake ). Both developed the characters well, but this movie went deeper into both main characters. The book made a great deal of Blomkvist's jail sentence, and his preparation to go when they called him ( not the same as out on bail awaiting appeal like we do in the US, but I digress ), and when he did go the whole jail aspect merely evaporated ( I do not consider that detail a spoiler, as it was so trivial ).

If you only have time to watch one, I'd recommend this one; the original.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Riveting thriller from the pen of Stieg Larsson with a truly memorable performance from Noomi Rapace…

8/10
Author: ajs-10 from United Kingdom
18 October 2011

Based of the first novel of the 'Millennium Trilogy' by Stieg Larsson, this Swedish film adaptation is (IMO) quite excellent. I should make it clear that I watched the extended edition which runs for just short of three hours. Also, being a bit of a purist, I watched it with subtitles, although there is the option of a dubbed version for those not quite so brave. I was quite surprised just how enthralling it was and, having never read the novels, just what a well written drama it turned out to be. More of my thoughts after this very brief summary.

Mikael Blomkvist is the editor of a magazine, 'Millennium', that has accused businessman Hans-Erik Wennerström of some wrongdoing. The case went to court and Blomkvist lost. He has just three months before he has to go to jail for six months. Unbeknownst to him, he has been investigated himself by a professional hacker, Lisbeth Salander, who works for a security firm. The reason becomes clear when Blomkvist is hired by wealthy businessman, Henrik Vanger, to investigate the disappearance of his niece more than forty years ago. Moving out to the remote island where the Vanger family all live, in separate houses, Blomkvist is soon embroiled in the case. Little does he know though, but Lisbeth Salander is still keeping tabs on him and when she sends him the answer to a vital clue the unlikely pair end up joining forces in order to solve the case. There is an awful lot more to tell but I dare not say it or the Spoiler Police might find a way to make me disappear.

A very well made film with an almost washed-out look to the visuals which always makes me think of northern climes. I also thought the music by Jacob Groth was excellent and fitting the, at times, haunting piece very well. As for performances, well, both Michael Nyqvist as Mikael Blomkvist and Noomi Rapace as Lisbeth Salander were outstanding… particularly Noomi Rapace. Also worthy of note were; Lena Endre as Erika Berger, Sven-Bertil Taube as Henrik Vanger, Peter Haber as Martin Vanger, Peter Andersson as Nils Bjurman, Marika Lagercrantz as Cecilia Vanger, Ingvar Hirdwall as Dirch Frode and Björn Granath as Gustav Morell.

On the DVD the film is split into two parts, each of about ninety minutes. This, I found, made it feel a little bit like a TV adaptation rather than a cinema release. Don't get me wrong, all the production values of a big cinema release are there, but I did, at times, feel like I was watching a major two-parter on HBO (or Sky Atlantic for us Brits), albeit in Swedish. Despite this, I still very much enjoyed this mystery thriller and I'm very much looking forward to seeing the other two parts of the set. Maybe I'll have to watch a couple of things in English in between… too much Swedish at once can really get taxing. Over all though, totally engrossing with some truly excellent performances… Highly recommended.

My Score: 8.2/10 IMDb Score: 7.7/10 (based on 48,699 votes at the time of going to press).

Rotten Tomatoes Score: 86/100 (based on 165 reviews counted at the time of going to press).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Engaging and well-made

Author: ASpiralingRedDream from United States
14 October 2011

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was a very good film. It had fantastic performances, a very engaging storyline, and some great cinematography. I expected it to be more obscure in the way foreign films are. For example, a foreign film like Let The Right One In certainly has a distinct style from an American film despite its subtitles. This doesn't. It actually has the look, mood, and feel of a film that could have been made here in America (by ignoring the subtitles part)... which is why I wonder why Fincher decided to remake this. I'm sure the material interests him but unlike Let The Right One In, this doesn't feel too un-mainstream for the general public. In fact, if one was to disregard that it has subtitles I would actually think it was made here. It was a very good film, but I I don't know how Fincher can expand or differentiate his film with this. That means I hope he does different things with it. Let Me In might have had like the same storyline and the same dialogue many times but it certainly had a distinctive tone and atmosphere that applied to itself only.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Rapace has injected herself as a major star!

8/10
Author: meeza (themeezaman@hotmail.com) from Miami, Fl
15 May 2011

I remember the days when I used to date a few girls with dragon tattoos. It marked me as a guy that liked Gothic chicks, or something like that. I thought that was unfair stereotypical criticism not only to me but for the young ladies. OK, this never happened (well, maybe a couple of times it did). I was just trying to be a guy with a "girl with a dragon tattoo" story, but obviously that intro did not make its mark. Anyways, most have heard of this foreign flick adapted from the late Stieg Larsson's best-selling novel about Mikael Blomkvist, a Stockholm disgraced reporter who is employed by Henrik Vanger, a geriatric Swedish millionaire in order to unravel the mystery of who killed Vanger's beloved niece Harriet. Vanger offers Blomkvist a wealthy fee for his services, the only catch is that the murder occurred 40 years ago and it is not fresh blood anymore (ouch, I hit below the belt on that one, must have been the dragon inside of me), and another catch is that Henrik requests for Mikael to investigate some of the family members of his own Vanger clan. I guess Henrik is of the "school of thinking" that a family who is rich together also kills together. However, where this movie gets profoundly skin deep is in the character of Lisbeth Salander, a gothicetta computer hacker who has been able to hack away on Blomkvist's CPU for sometime and eventually ends up teaming with Mikael to investigate the Vanger cold case. Salander is witty, crafty, sexy, sly, sharp, and also has one big ass tattoo on her back. I thought that Director Niels Arden Opley's film adaptation of Larsson's masterpiece literary offering was more than OK but not perfect, but then again Opley could just do so much in incorporating all the intrinsic details from the book to the movie. Screenwriters Nikolaj Arcel and Rasmus Heisterberg probably knew that they were playing with fire in adapting a Larsson book to a movie screenplay, but they actually excelled with a well-knitted movie scribe. I must report that there was no libel in Michael Nyqvist's suave performance as Blomkvist, but it was Noomi Rapace's multi-layered thespian effort in her Lisbeth portrayal what fired me up the most about "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo". Noomi is looming as a major actress! I have yet to see the film's sequels "The Girl Who Played With Fire" (not based on all the girls who have dated me) or "The Girls Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest" (not based on all the girls who have kicked me where it hurts the most), but I doubt those films can reach the achievement of its praise-worthy predecessor. **** Good

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The girl with the thrills, kills and disturbing rape scenes

8/10
Author: Joshwahr from Australia
5 February 2011

Based on the best selling novel by Stieg Larsson, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is the first film adaptation from the Millennium Trilogy starring Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapice. I haven't read any of the novels, but after watching this movie, I am going out to purchase them and read them.

The characters played by Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapice are superbly acted and were very believable. I was incredibly impressed by their talent and how they were able to portray their characters throughout the film. They definitely deserve an award for their performances.

This film was superbly shot, with beautiful cinematography that captures the beauty and desolateness of the island where the film is set. But at the same time, switches dramatically to capture the violent happenings in the film.

The violence and horror of the rape and the murder scenes sent chills up my spine, and I found myself sitting in front of the screen without blinking for long periods throughout the movie (something not many movies are able to do).

I will be very interested to see the Hollywood remake that is scheduled to be released during 2011 and whether they mutilate a brilliant movie, or if they do it justice.

The film is a fast paced thriller and is definitely not for the feint of heart. If you are a fan of the crime/thriller genre, this is a definite must watch!

Find the full review and more at:

http://ingloriousfiction.tumblr.com

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Well, It could be better

7/10
Author: izzataziz from Malaysia
29 July 2010

The book Men Who Hate Women (Original Book Title) was popular even before the film, but to be honest first time I heard of it from the film itself. Before I watch the movie, I decide to read the book first.

I get the book read a whole book, and I really love it. Then I get the DVD, watch it, and for me I could be much better.

The casting, well it couldn't be better, everyone play the part well especially Noomi Rapace as Salander, really portray the salander in the novel, and other actor well, good acting.

The story, if you haven't read the book sure you will enjoy it.. but for me since I read the book first, I didn't enjoy it much (but it still good). The storyline is different, the story flow is different, not much but you could see the different.

When the story based on the book, there is two kind, one is based on the book thoroughly and second one based on the book but change a bit in term of storyline, and this movie is the later one.

When you change the storyline, it could be better, or less.. this film I enjoy much more the novel storyline.

I think the reason why the story is different because of the title. The book is Men Who Hate Women, than change to The Girl With Dragon Tattoo, the book not focus on telling story about Salander, it much more about the cruelty of some Men, but when the title is The Girl With Dragon Tattoo, like it or not, it need focus more on Salander hence the new story line.

The kill some characters, maybe downsizing the casting members.

I heard about Hollywood gonna remake the movie, in English of course, one think I hope it based on the novel and not based on this movie.

Even so this movie still fun to watch, and need to start reading The Girl Who Played with Fire before get the DVD.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Gruesome Grueling Intrigue, Swedish Style

7/10
Author: gradyharp from United States
23 July 2010

Perhaps it is the current need to see that evil eventually consumes itself that make films like THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO (AKA "Män som hatar kvinnor") so successful. Or it may be the posthumous fame given Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy (from which this film is 'Millennium: Part 1 - Men Who Hate Women') that has prepared an audience of believers. Whatever the reason this first installment (the other two installments have already been filmed and are ready for release) is being hailed as an epic masterpiece, a film that will go down in cinematic history as a classic. And for that reason you may want to see this current long exploration of the evil of man. But is it a masterpiece.....?

Nikolaj Arcel and Rasmus Heisterberg adapted this book for the screen and the script is interpreted by director Niels Arden Oplev who has cast the many characters of the story with some excellent Swedish actors. By the end of this multi-twisted tale we are left satisfied with the balance of good over evil - or are we? After all we're only part way there and, as in the BOURNE SERIES in this country, subsequent parts to the story become only more bizarre - and exciting. At any rate, the story in brief deals with an investigative journalist Mikael Blomkvist (Michael Nyqvist) whose apparent loss of a case of libel against a wealthy corrupt corporate group results in his being chosen by an elderly but mentally vigorous gentleman Henrik Vanger (Sven-Bertil Taube) to investigate a long buried case of the apparent murder of his niece -a deed Vanger is convinced is associated with his disgustingly morally corrupt family. Blomkvist is fascinated and begins his tedious examination of film and facts that seem to add clues as to the mystery surrounding Harriet Vanger's disappearance. Enter a punk rock appearing, pierced and tattooed young girl Lisbeth Salander (Noomi Repace) who ends up assisting Blomkvist in solving the conundrum. After some rather confusing bits of replay of Lisbeth's past and the revelation of her current situation with a guardian assigned to control her after her recent discharge from an institution, we are allowed to watch the discovery of 40 years of serial killings of young girls: the fact that they are all Jewish and that Vanger's family contains a number of ex-Nazis boils the pot. Much gore, visual exposure to violence and the results of violence flood the screen as the eventual discovery of the true history of Harriet Vanger is uncovered.

The film is two and a half hours long but seems much shorter because of the rapid fire sequencing by the director. Much praise has been heaped on Noomi Repace as Lisbeth and while she performs well, and looks bizarre, one wonders why all the hoopla. This is a good film of its kind, very well transforming a book into cinematic excess, and for those who crave gore and acts of depravity it will probably please. For film goers who prefer thinking to raw action this may not be the choice of a film du jour. In Swedish with subtitles and with English dubbing.

Grady Harp

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

*Sweedish version SUPERIOR to US version*

10/10
Author: frezeframe from Bozeman, Montana
15 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My actual rating for this is about a 9, but I'm giving it a 10 because for some reason it only has a 7.8 on IMDb. Since IMDb is US dominated in usage, I can only guess it's because many IMDb Americans can't handle subtitled Swedish movies.

This original version of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is one of the most compelling and realistic suspense films in existence. It is uncensored, raw, and uncut. Make sure to watch the Netflix extended edition.

The Swedish cast, locations, culture and music all serve the story well. The acting is of the highest caliber you will find anywhere, and the action, sex and brutality move the tension and suspense forward in unexpected ways.

If I had to categorize GWTDT, I would say it's Sherlock Holmes meets Twin Peaks, with a serial killer Psycho kind of twist, and a pinch of Hacker. But it really stands on it's own. I've never seen anything quite like it. It's refreshing, smart, sadistic, seductive, charming, and thrilling all at the same time. It really plays with your emotions. You will see some very disturbing things, but are never left without a sense of justice.

There are a few things I didn't like, but the movie is so interesting and the characters are so compelling that you are completely engaged in this masterfully suspenseful and tense story.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is just the first part of the 3-part Millennium Trilogy. The next two parts (The girl who played with fire, and The girl who kicked the hornet's nest) are compromised, a bit forced and not as natural as the first, but they are still excellent- and still have the same strong character base that made it successful in the first place.

Check this out!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 29: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history