IMDb > The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Män som hatar kvinnor
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo More at IMDbPro »Män som hatar kvinnor (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 29: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 281 reviews in total 

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Noomi Rapace did it to perfection. (Contains Spoilers)

10/10
Author: Carma Chan from Los Angeles, California
1 December 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I rarely include spoilers in my reviews. The only reason I will in this one is for the benefit of Noomi Rapace and other members of the cast and crew who made this movie perfect. Hollywood does the weirdest things. Rather than give a new writer a chance, they'll remake an absolutely perfect recent film. Bizarre. I truly hope it backfires on them. Seeing the trailers for the remake, I'm baffled. It's flat. There is nothing in their eyes. Noomi Rapace is gripping in this film. She's my hero. This film contains the most brutal rape scene imaginable, and I nearly had to stop watching, but I could not stop watching *her* - there was something about *her* that promised me that this was not gratuitous sadism. I cheered my guts out when she cleverly trapped the human predator and exacted justice. I had not read the book, so I had no idea this was coming. Noomi's performance is beyond 10. I can't think of another actress who has gone this deep in drama, and I want her to know, it was a very satisfying movie to watch - not mere entertainment - it was cathartic. Thank you.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Good, Taut Thriller with Excellent Character Development

8/10
Author: TheExpatriate700 from United States
14 June 2010

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, or as it is originally titled Men Who Hate Women, is one of the best contemporary thrillers I have seen in a while. It combines a suspenseful plot and brutal violence with a deep exploration of its title character. It goes beyond its plot, revolving around a missing persons investigation, to become an at times disturbing character study.

Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace are essential to the film's success. Both actors inhabit their roles convincingly, making us care about people who could have been stock characters. Although the bulk of praise has gone to Rapace, Nyqvist's performance is also worth attention. As Blomkvist, he provides a stable counterpart to Rapace's impulsive Lisabeth Salander, at times coming across as the more sympathetic character.

Much has been made of the level of graphic violence, particularly sexual violence, in this film. Although this may be off-putting to some viewers, it helps establish one of the film's most important themes: the impact of violence on its victims and its capacity to warp the human personality. The most graphic scenes, which come early in the film, help establish this theme, and play an important role in characterization as well.

Hopefully, this film will be remembered at Oscar time. It is far better than most of the dreck that Hollywood has on offer.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Goodbye Ingmar Bergman, Hello Raymond Chandler

10/10
Author: Bruce Burns (burnsb319@earthlink.net) from Austin, Texas
27 June 2010

I've always been cautious about seeing Swedish films made in the last 30-40 years. The reason is that--unlike America, Britain, Germany, China, Mexico, Italy or Australia--there is almost no controversy over who is Sweden's greatest filmmaker. And thus nearly every Swedish film I've ever seen not directed by Ingmar Bergman has either been a rip-off of the great man's work or just shallow trash. (Substitute "Kurosawa" for "Bergman" and you'll know why I also tend to avoid Japanese cinema). Nonetheless, I kept hearing about this film and the book that inspired it. As a lover of mystery novels and film noir, I decided that I need to at least give this movie a chance. And I'm glad I did. "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" owes almost nothing to Bergman and everything to the novels of Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett and Ross McDonald.

It begins when a sickly, elderly billionaire industrialist who knows better than to trust his awful family wants to investigate the 42-year-old disappearance of his niece--the only relative he ever loved (think "The Big Sleep"). Through intermediaries, he hires Lisbeth Salander (Noomi Rapace)--a hacker/private investigator with a troubled past and a large dragon tattoo on her back. Her assignment is to vet disgraced leftist journalist Mikael Blomqvist (Michael Nyqvist) to see if he's up to the job. Eventually Blomqvist agrees to do the job and quickly realizes that he needs Lisbeth to help him. Revealing much more of the plot would be unfair.

Aside from the serpentine plot (involving Nazis, serial killers, and a clandestine romance), the thing I liked most about this movie was Rapace's performance as the inscrutable Lisbeth. Maybe there's a pattern here, or maybe it's just me, but--along with Kristen Stewart in "The Runaways"--my two favorite female performances of 2010 thus far have been portrayals of angry, leather-jacketed bisexual young women. Without changing facial expressions, Rapace is somehow able to show anger, fear, love, sadness and embarrassment at the appropriate times. And I feel the scene where Lisbeth is raped by her parole officer ranks just as high if not higher than the scene in "The Accused" that won Jodie Foster her first Oscar.

According to this site, there is already an American remake in the works. I don't know how that's going to work. Parts of the plot are fairly Euro-centric (i.e. jail-time for libel, a local Nazi movement run by Hitler himself). Plus, the film retains novelist Stieg Larsson's radical anti-capitalist, anti-government views, which most Americans would find unpalatable.

The future of Swedish cinema rests on movies from that country being watchable without giving up their artistic merit. Swedish filmmakers need to step outside the notion of becoming "the next Bergman" because there will only ever be one Bergman. "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" is a great first step along that path.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Very enjoyable and exciting movie

8/10
Author: Christian Rasmussen (apoltix) from Thisted, Denmark
17 February 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw this movie today in a pre-release screening 10 days before the official release in Denmark.

I really liked this movie. I haven't read the book, so I can't compare the two. I'm Danish, the movie is Swedish (info: Denmark and Sweden are neighbors and share a very similar language), and I haven't really seen any Swedish movies before.

You can compare this movie to Kongekabale (2004). The themes are somewhat similar: secrets must be researched and uncovered, and someone tries to kill others in order to prevent the secret from getting out.

I think both the main characters (Mikael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander) are likable characters. My favorite is definitely Lisbeth Salander, as her being tech-savvy is something I can relate to. You get to know Lisbeth's history, while Mikael's is not revealed too much. I think this might be something missing from the plot, though I don't think it's that serious, as it's not really crucial information that will render the rest of the plot fuzzy and confusing.

Again, there are several times in the movie where you get to know Lisbeth more. I think this is because the majority of the people watching this type of films can relate more to the journalist (Mikael), than the Gothic computer hacker Lisbeth. I actually liked this, since her part of the movie catches my fancy. That being said, I also liked the rest of the movie. Very exciting. Hard to keep your eyes off the screen at most times.

Definitely recommendable.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

...It could have been so much better

6/10
Author: Stevincent Moseley (stevincent.rian@gmail.com) from San Diego, CA
27 July 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I finished reading the book yesterday and immediately added the movie to my instant que on my netflix and proceeded to watch it. Well I had high hopes for the movie, it got so many good reviews. But I was completely let down, in comparison to the book that is. Several plot elements and relationships weren't in the movie at all characters too. Mikael's character was not fleshed out at all and you didn't really feel any motivation for why he was doing what he was doing at all. The character of Lisbeth, I thought was well done, but I felt that the relationship between her and Mikael felt rushed and had no emotion... you didn't get her struggle with her feelings for Mikael. The plot time line was mixed up and everything, and the Millennium magazine seemed to have been tacked on to the movie, when it really does play a Major role with Mikael and the Vanger Family but was only a foot note in the entire movie.

Though if I had never read the book I think the movie would have been OK, I think the characters could have been fleshed out and I felt the conclusion was rushed quite a bit. But I consider it a good mystery/thriller, though it could have been so much better.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Why do female names always bring you to porn sites?

10/10
Author: Ben Larson from Leesburg, FL
11 September 2013

Fans of Pauley Perrette's role as Abby on NCIS, will love the character Lisbeth Salander, a goth girl played by Noomi Rapace. She turns a great thriller into something much more interesting.

Lisbeth is supposed to be the best hacker in Sweden, and Mikael Blomkvist (Michael Nyqvist), who has a short time before he enters prison for libel, finds her to help look for the lost niece of a billionaire (Sven-Bertil Taube).

The film is brutal is some respects, as Lisbeth is abused by the man who controls her money. She is forced to have sex with him before she can collect. However she manages to turn the tables, and it is delicious.

When they discover the secret, it is even more heinous than they imagined.

But, things go on from there, and I would not reveal the surprising ending. It was sweet.

Noomi Rapace and Michael Nyqvist were perfect.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Suspenseful, Intriguing! What movies should be about!

10/10
Author: (sylviastel@aol.com) from United States
19 January 2012

This film is not for children or squeamish adults. This film has shocking moments like Lisbeth's relationship with her appointed guardian for instance. I won't spoil the circumstances but it's worth noticing Lisbeth's sense of justice throughout the film. Without knowing it, she is following Michael Blomquist, a disgraced journalist with prison time for libel. Anyway, he has six months so he takes a leave and is hired to find out about the disappearance of Harriet Vanger. The Vanger family is one of the wealthiest in the country but they have their share of secrets. Anyway, the story slowly unravels at a decent pace. I haven't read the books but I was interested in seeing the Swedish film over the American version of the same story. Maybe it's because I think Sweden has a great cast in this film. The actress who plays Lisbeth Salander is fantastic in this role. She was plays Lisbeth in the trilogy. I can't wait to see those films.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo: A Crime Drama Like No Other

Author: shatteredrifle from Philippines
30 August 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo takes us into the investigation of one Harriet Vanger, who disappeared when she was just 16 years old and has been missing for the last 40 years. Still distraught about Harriet's case, her uncle, Henrik Vanger, hires troubled journalist Mikael Blomksvist to find out what happened. Along the way, he teams up with Lisbeth Salander, an eccentric hacker genius, and what they uncover is far worse than they could have ever imagined.

What is beautiful about this film is the simplicity of how it was made without it appearing cheap. It is proof that the lack of special effects doesn't make a film dull. In fact, it only makes other aspects shine. The movie is dialogue-driven, and a lot of things are explained through the conversations. It is quite unfortunate that I do not understand Swedish (and I had to use the subtitles while watching it) because I feel it would have been a better experience if I did.

Of course, behind these dialogues are the two leads Blomkvist and Salander. A recipe for a good movie is comprised of a compelling story, characters viewers can sympathize with and care about, and the interactions among these characters. For the most part, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is able to accomplish these things. Because of the film, I now understand why Noomi Rapace (Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows) has suddenly been propelled to the spotlight. Indeed, her performance as Lisbeth Salander is incredible. The late Stieg Larsson would have been proud of her interpretation of his title character. Salander is arguably the most unique female protagonist the industry has seen for a long time. From her looks to her personality, we see her as complex yet somebody we can understand, talented and so sure of herself and yet at the same time so awkward. Michael Nyqvist portrays Mikael Blomkvist with an air of confidence and authority that is just fitting for the character. We can understand why Salander, not big on trust, eventually warms up to him. If Salander is the loose cannon, then he is the straight arrow that holds the film together.

As a fan of the book, I believe this adaptation was able to give sufficient justice. Like in all adaptations, many elements of the story were changed. However, most of these changes were done for a smoother flow and for a more viewer-friendly experience.

Later this year, David Fincher will be making a Hollywood version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Even with stars Daniel Craig and Robin Wright attached to the project, it must pack a wallop so they can surpass the high standard that this Swedish production has set. Truly, this film has made me want to venture more into European cinema and find all the wonders it has to offer.

The Verdict: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a dark, gritty, excellently-done crime drama that others will try to emulate but probably won't be able to. That being said, it is not for everyone and not for the faint of heart. There is a reason that this is Rated R. The movie is very long compared to the running time of most movies coming out recently. Thus, in order to fully enjoy and appreciate this gem, one must be patient. Everything shall fall into place and in the end, you will discover that it was one of the best ways to spend 150 minutes of your time. Trust me when I say that watching the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is an intelligent, heart-wrenching, unforgettable experience.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo Is A Terrific Movie

9/10
Author: Rob Gormly from http://thedragontattogirl.com
4 October 2013

I first heard about the book several years ago and I didn't think I would like it. It just sounded crazy. But when I finally sat down with it I couldn't stop. It was absolutely gripping. It has been a few years since I have read it so I can't be real specific. I liked it so much that I couldn't put it down and bought the rest of the trilogy. They were all great but the second two wandered a bit after the gripping tension of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. Thank goodness I read them in proper order.

The first time I watched The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo it was on Netflix and in Swedish. Luckily the subtitles were good. After that I had to see the English version.

What a shame that the author died shortly after he finished the third on. I would have loved to read more of his writing.

Heck, I liked the books and movies so much that I made a website at http://thedragontattoogirl.com. I hope to have more info on there soon.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

One hell of a ride!! A movie filled with mystery,wonder and violence!

10/10
Author: lewisant999 from Swansea Wales UK
25 February 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When I saw the trailer for this film, I thought, "This is gonna be good!" I had no idea that there were books before, or that the film was in Swedish! And to be perfectly honest i was a bit hesitant to watch it because of the language. I hate dubbed film's it spoils the films originality. So I looked into the subtitled versions i eventually I watched the original extended Swedish version with English subtitles. And boy am i glad i did! The story follows a journalist called Mikael Blomkvist who is about to be sent to jail for publishing an article on a certain man. But he is given 6 months before he goes into jail. He is then asked by another man called Henrik Vanger to help him look for a girl who disappeared 40 years ago. Mikael looks into this case that was closed many years ago and is determined to find this girls body before Henrik dies. Mikael finds this case extremely difficult and i about to give up when a girl called Lisbeth Salander a hacker working for some company, hacks into Mikael's emails and solves one major puzzle for him. he then persuades her to help him in finding the person who was responsible for this girls disappearance 40 years ago. With Lisbeth's help they find a trail of murders that happened through out the years and that all seem to link back to the girls disappearance. This film was very interesting and entertaining and kept me wondering who the killer was right until the end. But it is also quite violent in some parts and also has a lot of swearing through out.(This doesn't bother me, but some people might find it offensive.) Also there is quite a graphic rape scene in the film, no nudity is shown but there is a lot of scream's, this people will find disturbing and difficult to watch (I did!) I thought this movie was very well written and cleverly done, So it deserves 10/10. I haven't read the books so i can't compare. But after i watch the trilogy i may read them! I hope you all find the film as good as i did! Can't wait to see the next episode in the trilogy "The Girl Who Played With Fire!" Which i hope will be as good as the first!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 29: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history