IMDb > The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Män som hatar kvinnor
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo More at IMDbPro »Män som hatar kvinnor (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 29:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 281 reviews in total 

275 out of 350 people found the following review useful:

Great Swedish thriller

9/10
Author: kovvan from usa
4 March 2009

This film was very well-made with superb cinematography. The actors all portray their respective characters perfectly, although Noomi Rapace as Lisbeth Salander, Michael Nyqvist as Michael Blomkvist and Sven-Bertil Taube as Hanrik Vanger deserve a special mentioning. They are all very likable and believable.

The films story is very exciting and puzzling (for those that haven't read the book) and the pace is steady with some really tense situations. The investigation part of the story is excellent. Although it is 2.5 hours long it is never boring.

The soundtrack was also very fitting and helped to set the mood of the film. This is far above any other Scandinavian thriller production, and I look forward to the rest of the films/series.

I recommend it to anyone!

Was the above review useful to you?

173 out of 215 people found the following review useful:

Well worth seeing...

9/10
Author: SpanOws from Spain
14 June 2009

I went to see this film having heard nothing about it at all and another film I wanted to see wasn't on the Sunday matinée bill...so, this looked interesting...best 5 Euros I've spent in a long time. Very, very good thriller but NOT FOR CHILDREN and I was genuinely surprised how much I enjoyed it - well filmed and well acted by the main protagonists; I know nothing of Swedish actors but apparently Michael Nyqvist is well known and I thought Noomi Rapace was brilliant (a young, headstrong, tattooed and "talented" computer hacker Lisbeth Salander with a traumatized past) I thought the film was superbly directed (Niels Arden Oplev); I am already looking forward to the second film later this year AND I will go and buy the books...

Was the above review useful to you?

184 out of 244 people found the following review useful:

A captivating piece of cinema!

8/10
Author: Micke Karlsson (ralph_2ndedition@hotmail.com) from Sweden
25 February 2009

The music lends a threatening aspect to the opening scene, where we in slow close ups – on and off deliberately out of focus – get to follow the opening of a package. Inside the package, post marked in Hong Kong, is a framed plant. The camera starts to move backwards, taking in more of the room and revealing Sven-Bertil Taube as the opener of the package. He holds the frame in his hands, lowers his head and slowly starts to cry.

Niels Arden Oplevs Män som hatar kvinnor is based on the first of Stieg Larssons three bestselling novels, meaning of course that it is basically guaranteed large box office numbers – but the expectations will probably match those numbers. Weather the film manages to live up to these expectations I cannot say – seeing as I am one of the probably only eight people who has not read Stieg Larssons books. But as a piece of cinema, completely removed from its literary origins, it definitely leaves an impression!

The music mentioned above, written by Peter Fuchs, is the first thing to register in the mind as something interesting… Something that make everything feel very serious. The impending-doom-score composed by Howard Shore, for David Finchers Se7en, springs to mind – and this only a few seconds into the film.

The cold, hard, uncomfortable reality – where the movie takes place – is populated by a highly recognizable legion of people straight out of Swedens acting elite… (Gösta Bredenfeldt, Lena Endre, Ewa Fröling, Björn Granath, Peter Haber och Marika Lagerkrantz to mention a few) …and they all seem to have been so thrilled to be a part of this project that they almost as one has taken their characters a step back, allowing the spotlight to be shone on the two main characters, who also get to drive the story forward; the reporter Mikael Blomkvist (Mikael Nyqvist), who is digging through a 40 year old murder case involving a well known corporation family with Nazi connections, and the 24 year old computer hacker EMO Lisbeth Salander (Noomi Rapace) that every day hacks Blomkvists hard drive, captivated by the puzzling evidence (or lack thereof).

Nyqvist gets the job done playing what is basically the lesser of the two parts. You instinctively feel sympathy for him, and sympathizes with him – even in his very first scene, in which his character is convicted of slander, and sentenced to prison.

But when the lights come back on in the theatre, and you gather up your half eaten box of popcorn and your coat, it's not Mikael Nyqvists understated but persistent reporter you will remember most…it's Noomi Rapaces leather-and-stud clad, tattooed, pierced, heavy makeup wearing biker chick, Lisbeth Salander.

Weighted by old wrongdoings as well as new ones, Lisbeth is covered in emotional scars, making her a very interesting character – that easily could have been a silly rehash, a Gunvald Larsson in leather. But Noomi Rapace bases Lisbeth in real emotions rather than clichés and hammy over acting. You can tell that there is a real person behind that steely gazed, unyielding face, something that make those parts of the movie, where we get to come with her through what must be some of Swedish cinemas most horrendous scenes, feel that much more awful. You almost can't help looking away, as she is abused over and over again…

The relationship between Mikael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander is the only part where I felt the movie rushed things just a tad. But this is only a mild piece of criticism, as the lack of insight leaves the audience feeling that they, just like the character Mikael Blomkvist, don't know what to make of Lisbeht Salander.

Besides the two leads, I want to single out Peter Haber, who really got to show off his skills! He is obviously good for more than just playing the silly father of Sune or the annoyingly correct police Martin Beck.

I have, like I mentioned earlier, not read the novels by Stieg Larsson, and I have an automatic aversion towards Swedish cinema; which I usually find stiff, with acting taken straight out of the latest grocery store commercials. In other words, Swedish film has its work cut out trying to sell me anything. But, and I am not ashamed to admit this, I'm gonna go ahead and BUY!!!

In the narrow little world that is Swedish cinema there is a lot that one could – or even should – avoid. But this movie is not something to be ignored! So leave the kids at home (this is NOT a very pleasant film) and head for your nearest multiplex to take in of the most thrilling Swedish films in a very long time!

Was the above review useful to you?

150 out of 193 people found the following review useful:

well crafted, engaging and thought-provoking thriller

7/10
Author: simona gianotti from Italy
7 June 2009

I am among, I guess, those very few people in Europe who have not read the best-selling novel by Stieg Larsson, but, not feeling in the mood to see another too emotionally engaging romance or drama, although its being my favourite genre, I went to see what is depicted by Larsson's fans as a captivating and gripping thriller.

Indeed, I can't say whether the movie proves adherence to the novel, which is something by the way difficult, considering the length of the book, however, I can say that the product is a well-crafted piece of cinema, which leaves also interesting food for thought. Used as we are, as southern Europeans, to see at Northern, and mainly Scandinavian countries, as models of democracy, economic progress and social welfare, it's quite surprising to see a modern Sweden stained by corruption and unscrupulous tycoons. Moreover, it is quite upsetting to get to know how Nazi extremist and insane ideas were rooted not so much in the history of the country, but in the conscience of people, in this case of a powerful and wealthy family, where the hatred towards the Jews has mixed with the hatred towards women, turning the lives of whole generations into a hell of ferocious violence and horror.

As far as the thriller story, it's engaging, but carried on very carefully, every aspect being under control, with flashbacks constantly reassuring us about aspects we have already perceived, without moving a little apart from a well consolidated stylistic model of this kind of movie genre. Sometimes a little slow, sometimes too indulging in violent scenes, but with a strong directing consciousness supporting it. Convincing and really good the performances offered by the whole cast, unknown to the great public, but I would underline the actress playing Lisbeth as really outstanding and upsetting in her mental and emotional distress. On the whole, it's not a masterpiece, but a good and well made movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

113 out of 135 people found the following review useful:

Superb Swedish Thriller!

9/10
Author: Tom Erik Høiås from Norway
30 August 2009

Awesome Swedish film with a intelligent story. a journalist and a troubled young female hacker works together on resolving a 40 year old mystery involving a disappearance, murders, Nazis and one hell of a dysfunctional family. the storytelling by the director was great and captured my attention for almost 2,5 hours. the character buildup is thorough and makes a solid foundation for the rest of the film. in addition the characters are straightened by a superb cast played by Michael Nyqvist and especially Noomi Rapace. Camera work and the overall look of the film is astounding, especially on bluray. the movie takes you to it's locations and doesn't let go until the story is complete. a must see for those who likes an intriguing edge of your seat thriller.

Was the above review useful to you?

95 out of 119 people found the following review useful:

A Worthy & Different Crime Mystery When Compared To American Films Of The Genre

7/10
Author: AudioFileZ from United States
13 September 2009

An intrigue fueled slow building thriller, "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo" is a refreshingly different take on the "whodunit" crime genre. This Swedish movie has loads of great cinematography, taking advantage of the beautiful Swedish country side as well as framing the eerie story. The principal characterizations are quite well suited by the cast who fit naturally in the roles they play with great realism. Like I have already noted this is a much different presentation as compared with American filmed crime thrillers. Even though this obviously has a well-funded budget it is grittier and less commercialized thus lending a realism over glossiness. The music score also adds quite a bit of ominous darkness.

I guess if you want to be overly critical you could punch a hole or two here or there, but I think this story comes off so most all viewers will ignore any inconsistencies in favor of the mysterious pieces which, eventually, add up, but not too fast – keeping the viewer invested and hoping to figure out how it may all end.

Though graphic at times, it isn't "porn-horror", "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo" is a dark story where the unsettling pieces fit. I am fairly certain it will not be released in the US, but if you can see it do so as it is a well crafted and executed drama.

Was the above review useful to you?

76 out of 107 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie!!!

10/10
Author: karenbickley from United States
12 March 2010

I saw this movie in Sydney, Australia and it was really great. A really good thriller!. I have read all three of the books and wondered how the movie would be. The theatre was packed and it was in subtitles but you could hear a pin drop. We were all glued to the screen. Once it gets going your are hooked! At the end everyone clapped. Some of the scenes are graphic and violent but if you have read the book you already know this. However, even though I had to "read" the movie I cant wait for the next one. At least I hope they are making a movie for book 2 and 3 I would not take my 14yr old to this but it is something I would see again. Highly recommend!

Was the above review useful to you?

76 out of 108 people found the following review useful:

Dark Thriller

8/10
Author: kosmasp
25 October 2009

While I haven't read the books/novels, I enjoyed the movie very much. Even if it's only part 1 of the trilogy, it still feels like a movie that has a beginning and an ending. I can't say how that works in the books, but the translation to the screen seems really good (voting here underlines that).

While thrillers are mostly considered TV material and this one might borderline on that fine edge, it still deserves to be seen on the big screen. The actors (mostly unrecognizable to the worldwide audience) are really good. The editing and pacing is great and it's really a great suspense movie. A little thriller that dares to go to dark places.

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 71 people found the following review useful:

Loyal adaption of best seller book

8/10
Author: Anders Noer from Denmark
28 February 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Män som hatar Kvinnor" is a whodunit thriller revolving around sadism towards women. It is based on the first book in Stieg Larsson's crime trilogy with the main characters journalist Mikael Blomkvist and outcast hacker Lisbeth Salander. For the record, this trilogy has had rave reviews and been among the best selling books in Scandinavia.

An aging corporate executive, Henrik Vanger, employs Blomkvist to solve the puzzle of his missing niece - A girl who mysteriously disappeared 40 years earlier. It has become an obsession to this man to shed some light on his missing niece's fate, and he is desperate to have closure before it's his own time to pass. Over the years 82 year old Henrik Vanger has been gathering a substantial amount of hints and clues, but he was never able to put the pieces together. Acclaimed journalist Mikael Blomkvist is hired for his researching skills, following a thorough background check. Blomkvist's recent committal order doesn't discourage Vanger. He shows no interest for compromise in getting the right man for the job.

Eventually Blomkvist teams up with secluded computer hacker Lisbeth Salander. Their investigation unfolds a complex set of clues leading to a string of morbid sadistic murders spanning decades. Pieces of the puzzle slowly start falling into place, as inevitable confrontation with the hidden villain draws closer. Alongside this main plot line, both of our main characters have to deal with personal problems that act as obstacles for the main chase and help us understand our main characters.

--

When I read "Män som hatar kvinnor" a few years back, I told my friends: "This would make a great movie". It sure does. "Män som hatar kvinnor" is an ambitious project. Casting (character and location alike), adapting the book to script and production seem to set new standards for Scandinavian movie making. It has an international feel and does the book great justice. Key scenes from the book are flawlessly executed and the characters are captured very convincingly. Fans of the book shouldn't be disappointed. Almost three hours running time allows great depth and detail, but even at this length some plot lines have been left out. This does not hurt the overall feel though. It is still a coherent movie focusing on the main plot line. Avid fans can turn to the text version for further explanations, and still be intrigued.

The Lisbeth Salander character is an inventive take on a heroine. She is a believable and obvious contrast to the sadistic, women degrading evildoers. This 90 pound female hacker is depicted as being the craftier, stronger and more energetic of our heroic duo. This does however hurt Blomkvists character a bit, leaving him seemingly not too bright and kind of helpless. I DO like a female heroine though, which is a welcome twist to the classic detective genre. The novels give Blomkvist a bit more room to shine on his own, which is the only thing I'm missing in the movie.

Great performances all around. Most reviews will obviously comment on Noomi Rapaces outstanding performance as Lisbeth Salander and put her on a well deserved pedestal. I'm going to point the attention to Sven-Bertil Taube (Henrik Vanger) and Peter Haber (Martin Vanger) who both do great jobs as supporting actors.

Was the above review useful to you?

74 out of 117 people found the following review useful:

Nice piece of work

8/10
Author: Quotable from Sweden
2 March 2009

My low regards for Swedish film industry aside, this is a really well crafted movie. Director Oplev apparently knows the ropes enough to make the Swedish crew seem plausible. The old school with SB Taube and Hirdwall usually deliver good characters, and Nyqvist as well. The younger talent strikes me as a bit more stiff usually and deliver dialogs as they read directly from the script. Not here. The only one that I find off, is actually Lena Endre. Not that she is bad, but she is just as we always see her. Music-wise, a big step in the right direction. I think of Howard Shore scores from Seven and Silence of the lambs. Too bad that the movie sound, the dialog in particular, doesn't hold the same standard. Also, not to give anything away, in the final scenes- bear in mind Bourne Ultimatum last scenes, and Silence of the lambs final. In short, hats of to this magnificent film. This is the proof that you don't necessarily make a good flick just on million dollar budgets as in Arn(lame), but with the right talent. In this case I salute director Oplev.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 29:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history