IMDb > ThanksKilling (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
ThanksKilling
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
ThanksKilling More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 42 reviews in total 

35 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

A deeply moving and finely crafted work of art

10/10
Author: Michael Dooney (michael.dooney@student.shu.edu) from United States
28 August 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Every so often, a film comes along that changes the traditional limitations, boundaries and possibilities of the cinematic art form. Films that change our perception of what can be achieved through cinema and eternally raise the bar for the medium as a whole. Films that move us and challenge us on both personal and intellectual levels. Citizen Kane. The Godfather. The Dark Knight. Now, Thankskilling has joined that exalted pantheon.

I could write a substantial volume about the sheer brilliance on display here, and I hope that somebody does attempt such a task. However, for the sake of brevity, I will merely discuss one scene that serves as an effective microcosm of the broader thematic undercurrents that run through the film. In the aforementioned scene, the turkey hitches a ride. As a subtle nod to our society's diminishing consciousness and rising philosophical apathy, the driver doesn't even question the presence of a talking turkey with a shotgun. Tragically, the man's unperceptive nature allows the turkey to shoot him and steal his car. This is truly a striking and disturbing commentary on modern society's intellectual shortcomings.

Suffice it to say, this masterpiece of sociological analysis is rife with scenes such as this one. You owe it to yourself to see this eye- opening and introspective work.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

The Best Holiday-themed Movie about a Homicidal Turkey Ever Made!

8/10
Author: filmfuture from United States
15 July 2010

C'mon, anybody who complains that a movie called "Thankskilling" about a foul-mouthed (or is that fowl-mouthed?) supernatural turkey who goes on a murderous rampage is not a good movie missed the point. This movie is not supposed to be good. It's supposed to be as bad as it sounds, and thankfully, it is! "Thankskilling" is a movie made for horror fans, as it totally exploits the ridiculous genre conventions most horror films employ to a fault. All the usual suspects of overused clichéd characters are here (The Jock, The Hot Girl, The Sensitive Girl, The Funny Fat Guy, and The Nerd), but each one is exaggerated to the point of caricature, so the whole thing works really well instead of being tiresome. The five friends embark on an idyllic Thanksgiving weekend getaway, and of course, things don't go as planned.

This movie is offensive, vulgar, and most of all, absurd, but all the crazy random elements are woven together in a way that could be called (dare I say).... brilliant? The villain of "Thankskilling" is a trash-talking necromanced ancient undead turkey realized on screen through a really poor quality hand puppet, and yet the Turkey is one of the most refreshing villains I've seen in low budget horror in a long while. He's definitely original (in the very least), but also boasts some unforgettable one liners that will keep you smirking long after the end credits have faded away. The acting is intentionally wooden and at times over the top, but it all gels perfectly with the outlandish and sarcastic tone of the film. And yes, there were a few times that I actually had to cover my mouth 'cause I was watching it late at night and I laughed that loud.

So if you're in the mood for some fun horror fare with a touch of the absurd, "Thankskilling" will offer you a great time. Just be sure to check your political correctness at the door.

Rated 8 out of 10 for the Horror/comedy genre (not as a film overall)

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Incredibly Funny!!!

10/10
Author: Pumpkin_Man from United States
1 September 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this with my friends a few hours ago, and we thought it was hilarious. I usually don't like low budget films, but this one had something special about it. It was so bad, so crazy, so weird, and so stupid, that it's actually a good movie to watch with your buds. My favorite character was by far The Killer Turkey because he is fowl-mouthed, had cheesy one-liners, and was so silly. During Thanksgiving break, some college friends are going home, but they end up out in the woods with a killer Turkey who wants to kill them. The Turkey was summoned by an ancient Indian curse, and the group need to find a library about 'Killer Turkeys' in order to figure out how to kill him. I highly recommend THANKSKILLING!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious!!!!

10/10
Author: wasplas from United States
27 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie was absolutely amazing. Whoever posted the last comment clearly doesn't understand the intent of a movie like this. OF COURSE the plot was ridiculous with the talking turkey and stupid jokes. That's what made it so funny. So many scenes made us howl with laughter. The turkey can disguise himself to trick people into thinking he is their father, etc. So many funny lines... "No more pumpkin pie" and "if you don't see the turkey, he is either in his tepee or killing one of your friends". I could go on and on. Funny, funny, funny. Watch it with a group of friends. You'll laugh so hard you'll cry.

The only part I thought should have been left out was the opening scene with the boobs. The pilgrim should have been dressed. We almost stopped watching because we thought maybe it was a porn film, but strangely that was the only scene with nudity. Not sure why the director put that in. The rest was outstanding. Can't wait for the sequel.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

They did their best with what they had and it was AMAZING!

10/10
Author: Andrew Robinson from Canada
22 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you're a fan of campy, "they did their best" type movies, this is going to be a joy! It seems like the kind of movie a bunch of friends would do over a summer (and I think that's the case here) and it's clear they had a blast making it and that's good because we had a blast watching it!

I loved the style, it was quick and used cutting and awkward shots to add to the humour. If you loved the first Evil Dead movie's style, you'll love this, I got the same vibe a few times. I'm not sure if this is even horror, it's more of a parody. Some scene it's like they took a standard scene from horror films and then twisted them in their own crazy way. Stuff like the standard sex scene, the meeting of the victims, the killing of the bad guy, and the "He's finally dead. No, wait he's right there!" scene are all here and twisted to the point of complete ridiculousness.

The movie is best enjoyed with some friends, and if you want to have fun, you're going to. If you come into it with a serious attitude you're looking in the wrong place.

Point blank: this movie is hilarious, watch it.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Gobble Gobble...

4/10
Author: alspeaketh from United States
30 October 2011

This movie isn't a movie that anyone should take seriously, even for a second. If you try to take this movie seriously you'll immediately get on IMDb, give it a 1 star rating (provided that's being considerate) and write about how much of a waste of time it was, yada yada yada. These guys aren't professionals.

Yes, the acting sucks. The special effects suck. The plot sucks! It all freaking sucks. But seriously, just look at the cover, they made it blatantly obvious at the first glance. What ever your first impression is of what you're getting into, is probably right on.

If you're looking to kill some time. Sure, watch this movie. But like I said don't expect a grammy winning award for the acting or anything else really. It feels like a bunch of friends got together and made a funny story about thanksgiving and this was the result.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Canon for camp fans?

6/10
Author: Cogswell from United States
10 August 2010

This movie is only an hour and six minutes long and it is totally worth your time. That is, unless you take yourself and your film tastes too seriously. Every cent of the $50 spent making this film was brilliantly used. There is literally nothing serious about ThanksKilling and it was refreshing, to me at least, to see a movie made by a bunch of artists who are clearly having fun with their work. ThanksKilling has a whimsical yet macabre aesthetic similar to Zombieland, if you liked that, definitely hit up ThanksKilling. Also, I highly recommend this film to any fans of Tromaville and Lloyd Kauffman. That said, there are some legitimately clever lines and some real wit. The soundtrack is also incredible, with no exception to be made for the original music created by hip-hop artist Kajmir Royale. I love the leading man because he is super handsome and probably could have skated by on his looks in some more lucrative cubicle job but instead he is following his dreams and making B horror movies, to my great benefit. If you have an opportunity and are into this stuff definitely watch this movie, preferably with a few like-minded friends.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Unbelievably Bad, But Still Pretty Good

7/10
Author: gavin6942 from United States
20 November 2010

Luckily this film is only about an hour long, because any more and it would get old really quickly. It is plain to see that as funny as the movie is, and as many good kills as it has, it did not have much steam to go any further.

I saw it on Netflix as a recommendation for a while and was like "oh, heck no" until one day when a friend of mine in Texas said it was a must-see. I gave it a chance, and was pleasantly surprised. The turkey (purportedly "the most demonic turkey in history") is so stupid, so vulgar, it is just hilarious. Hopefully that was the intent, because the acting is outrageously bad.

What could have made this film better? Probably everything. More nudity, better actors, a plot that makes sense (the 505 years thing did not add up right, as well as why it is apparently summer on Thanksgiving). But let us not try to make sense of nonsense. Let us just be thankful for the JonBenet Ramsey joke (which seems dated, but that adds to its charm).

Upon a second viewing, the film is just as stupid, but the stupidity came across as being even more intentional than I thought the first time. Someone here -- or maybe everyone -- has the mind of a genius, and they were given a video camera.

Apparently, they must have made a few dollars off of the movie, because as I type this (November 2012), there is now a sequel. Goodness, I am not sure if it could be any worse... or any better.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

even 70 minutes isn't short enough.

1/10
Author: Doug Galecawitz (dougg@evilnet.net) from Lisle, IL
5 February 2012

in some movies brevity is the movie's saving grace. a film that would be terrible at 100 minutes is quite tolerable at 87 minutes. at a mere seventy minutes Thankskilling is brief but not quite mercifully so. The movie begins to recycle it's own out-of-date pop culture jokes somewhere along the thirty minute mark. This should tell you where it stands at 70. The acting is amateurish to the point of annoyance. The plot stupid and poorly thought out. The special effects are bad, but not bad in a good way. Those hoping for an Eli Roth style Thankgiving will be sorely let down. Generally a movie like this would throw in generous heaps of female nudity to make up for it's utterly slipshod nature. not so here. The silly horror Jack Frost does this same thing a million times better. Don't bother.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Funny all the way through

Author: jfgibson73 from United States
29 May 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As b-movie slashers go, this was one of the most entertaining I have found. The story about a killer turkey out for revenge takes a back seat to all the great one-liners and bizarre moments that made this fun from start to finish.

The movie is basically a variation of the Chucky formula--short, evil, profane killer in an unlikely form. But the filmmakers just went wild with it and threw in any crazy thing that worked. It's intentionally campy, the acting is silly, everything looks cheap, and yet, it entertains. Somehow, the sense of humor strikes just the right tone so that it wasn't annoying or self congratulating. Glad I found this one, and I intend to watch again and again.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history