IMDb > Fireproof (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Fireproof
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Fireproof More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 22: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 215 reviews in total 

8 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Appalling movie ''may contain a little spoiler''

1/10
Author: betterdayzstayever from United Kingdom
5 January 2011

Bad acting, bad writing it was painful to watch, the main characters were horrible, boring and you can see the plot coming from miles away but I thought maybe I can get through it until the train scene I was like " come on seriously the god thing again( cause I've seen that sh#$t many times in many American movies) the black dude was away from the train people use your brains" most of the reviews didn't even touch on the acting/writing part in their reviews all I can read is "oh it was touching, spiritual and magical". It appears that if you put a cross, Jesus or god related spiritual nonsense story in any movie gets you number 1 spot in America and no wonder why 80% of Americans believe that Noah's ark story actually happened.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Ridiculous

1/10
Author: me-ga-sa from Turkey
6 October 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie can be approved only by fanatics because there was no logic. The script is ridiculous. Such women would make domestic violence understandable lol (it is not like I am in approve of any kind of violence but this woman made my blood boil). I saw it like this: the victim is forced to listen all these lectures about life and forced to fix the situation while the abuser is being consoled, nurtured, she has a mother who can't say anything to her (how comfortable for that "poor" woman lol), she has a new potential lover and so on. Oh, come on! Does that supposed to teach me anything about marriage? Does that supposed to help me to find God? No way! And that woman's coworkers were such idiots and she was listening to them! Wow. A real comedy but a really tragic one. And in the end he is asking for forgiveness for everything he hasn't done but she has! He must have divorced her and find someone who would respect him and she can have some abuser which she would surely choose with such a judgment. I don't believe in such miraculous changes. Only in this movie it can be. And all those God/Jesus/Christ lectures were ridiculous in this subject (I am no atheist and I come from a Christian society if anyone is curious).

The only good thing of all that was the game of 40 days. I liked the idea and I could use that sometime. I believe it doesn't need a sinking relationship to use it.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Better than I expected

7/10
Author: smachalk from United States
28 September 2008

First of all, let me say that I am a Christian. However, I am also a movie nut. I don't go to the theater often. We have a home theater and I would much rather watch a movie at home than go out. My wife wanted to see this one in the theater. We were also being urged to support this movie by our church.

So, like I normally do, I went to IMDb and saw that after 95 or so ratings, it had a 3.6. Hmmm, not very good. I was worried but I agreed to go anyway. Besides, a movie like this is going to draw extremists on both sides and 95 isn't really a good sample size.

I was pleasantly surprised. Now, I don't see any Acadamy Awards upcoming, but the movie was done really well. I think this group has really improved since "Facing the Giants" (which was pretty good but not as good a Fireproof). The big thing I noticed is that there wasn't any sappy Christian dialog. OK, this is a Christian movie and it has a message (just like any other movie) but some of the other Christian movies I've seen have some horrible dialog. Not so here.

The plot was really good with nice character development. I thought the acting was decent too. Now there are times where you can tell this isn't a big dollar Hollywood production, but it didn't really detract from the film too much.

I won't put any spoilers in the movie but I will say that there wasn't a dry eye in the house when we got out.

So, I gave this movie a 7/10. I can tell you that we will probably buy this one on DVD. I'm really looking forward to more great work from this crew.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Let's Cut Through the Junk

10/10
Author: NetWorthy from United States
27 October 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK, only the following people will likely appreciate this film, don't even bother to go if you are not one of these:

1)You're Christian; 2)You're Married- problems at some time; 3)Have a SERIOUS relationship- problems at some time; 4)You love MESSAGE films; 5)Lack of "art" or big-budget glitz doesn't bother you.

The fact is, this is a WONDERFUL movie. Yeah some of the film tech stuff is off, some dialog stilted etc., but the EMOTIONS are genuine. Don't let the single-camera work and low budget keep you away from a basically sound movie. Many, many people walk away from this film dabbing their eyes with a tissue - it really gets under their skin.

Some people have commented that the arguments Caleb and his wife have sound ridiculous and phony. Well once a marriage gets to that point, most of the arguments *DO* sound ridiculous - it wasn't phony at all. For the non-Christians out there who didn't pay attention to the dialog (or maybe didn't even SEE the film hmmm?) Caleb's dad agrees that there are any number of ways to successfully rescue a failing marriage, but a Christian approach works too so why not?

The point of the film is that relationships are important, they take work and respect to maintain, take even MORE work to repair - and none of it is easy. Anybody who has been there can see these truths accurately depicted in the film. If you're self centered and have never really cared about anyone other than yourself, don't spend the money because you won't get the point. Self-examination is essential if you are going to succeed, and this film accurately shows this.

Another commentator on here also complained the "man had to do it all as usual." Too bad he apparently got up and left before the end or he would have heard how Caleb's mom had to do the work to save her marriage with his dad. And OBTW don't think it was easy for the wife and she had to do nothing - she clearly had to painfully rebuild her trust after he had destroyed it.

If you have somebody you really CARE about, spouse or honey, I highly recommend you go see this one with them. I normally would rate this about a 7.5 or 8, but the 1-star-vote cretins who probably haven't even viewed this movie force me to post a 10 in an attempt to get the average where it really should be...

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 68 people found the following review useful:

Gaming the stats?

Author: wearenotamused from United States
29 September 2008

You should not believe the viewer rating for this movie. The demographics for this film are following that of "Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed." "Expelled" had almost half of the votes being zero, indicating strong feelings against the film's premise, which was explicitly advertised. The trailers for "Fireproof" are explicitly Christian. So, guess what? Here comes the storm of zero votes. (On the User Rating line, click on the 'Number of Votes' link to view the voting statistics. On the 1 to 10 rating scale, most films have a bulge between 5 and 8, where most people vote unless they have strong feelings about the movie.)

It is hard to believe that people who hate the very premise of a movie would go to see it in large numbers. Most of the negative reviews for "Expelled" were religion-bashing posts using the same set of talking points with little feel for the film--as if they had not watched the movie at all. Of course, I have no proof, only a number of posts at atheist-oriented web sites bragging about how low the ratings were for "Expelled." I don't think Christian bashers would pay money to see "Fireproof," but there is nothing to stop them from casting votes to bring down the viewer rating score--presumably to discourage people from seeing the film.

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 82 people found the following review useful:

How is it possible to not be moved by this film?

10/10
Author: rking-19 from United States
28 September 2008

Fireproof, while not technically perfect, offers one of the deepest, most intense theater experiences of 2008. But a word of warning: if you are passionate and/or empathetic, it may be too much to handle.

A fireman (Kirk Cameron) with leadership responsibilities and strong commitment to the working relationship among the team finds that his own marriage relationship is suddenly tanking, and spends the rest of the movie finding a way to respond. Will the couple be able to do what it takes for their marriage to survive? Do either of them even want to?

Intensity comes from several sources. The characters brazenly act out in ways that, from our vantage point, make us cringe (déjà vu, perhaps?); there is no quick, easy resolution, and reaching the final disposition wrings more from the characters (and the audience!) than would be expected from, say, the Hollywood quick-fix relationship movies we are accustomed to.

The story paces well, with characters that avoid the stick-figure caricatures we can expect with most H*wood fare, A wonderful balance of humor lightens the movie, and even some of the intense moments are funny as well. (If you have experiences in life that you thought were totally serious at the time, but you look back in laughter, you know what I mean...)

Another couple, my wife, and I watched the movie this afternoon, and after checking the score and reading the comments on IMDb, I must wonder: how can someone see this who has any experience with real life, and not be moved? I personally writhed with tears in my seat most of the time, trying to choke back my reaction so as to not disturb the audience. (My throat is pretty sore right now from stifling it.) Even without top-line actors, the scenes are a testimony to a tragedy in our midst, happening right now in your city and mine, yet unseen.

There are heroes in this movie, and this film will satisfyingly define the difference between their heroism and running with over-weighted spur-of-the-moment feelings from one fire to the next.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

How to fireproof your marriage

Author: Wuchak from Ohio/PA border
26 January 2016

Released in 2008, "Fireproof" is an inspirational drama about a couple from Georgia whose marriage is on the rocks. The husband, Caleb (Kirk Cameron), is a fireman with a hot temper and an addiction to internet porn whereas the wife, Catherine (Erin Bethea), is stressed due to her mother's medical issues and falling under the spell of a morally dubious doctor at work (Perry Revell). With divorce looming, Caleb's dad (Harris Malcom) encourages Caleb to hold off on divorce proceedings for 40 days with a "love dare" procedure.

This is a compelling drama and genuinely inspirational to boot; it entertains while also inspiring without getting too preachy or heavy-handed, although some might argue that the ending's too sappy. Unless you're a devout atheist, you should enjoy "Fireproof" if you favor spiritual dramas akin to 1991's "Grand Canyon." But I encourage atheists to check it out too since it provides some food for thought. It's similar in tone and theme to 2010's "Cutback" and 2015's "War Room, although it has a bigger budget than the former and less than the latter. It only cost half a million to make (whereas "War Room" cost $3 million) and this explains some of the dubious acting of peripheral cast members, like the doctor, which is one of only a couple reasons I rate the film as I do. Nevertheless, this is a potent drama and even potentially life-changing. The situations are thoroughly realistic and I could relate to them all, whether through my own experiences or those of people I know. "Fireproof" had a very positive impact on me, like the two aforementioned movies.

The film runs 118 minutes and was shot in Albany, Georgia.

GRADE: Borderline B+ or A- (7.5/10 Stars)

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This is a gift.

10/10
Author: Matheus Oliveira from United States
3 January 2014

This is a movie that every single person should watch, not just once.

It has a message that you can use in your daily life, no matter if you are married or not, it's for everyone.

I watched this movie a few times already, every time I pick up on something new that is very useful for my life.

There is much more then just the movie, go see it and you will find out.

"Fireproof doesn't mean the fire will never come. It means when the fire comes that you will be able to withstand it. "

― Fireproof

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This movie may save your relationship.. and your future

10/10
Author: Kevin Hawkins from Davis, California
1 October 2013

Please don't believe the rating of this movie. It just reflects the anti-religion bias on the internet. I'm not very religious, but I love Fireproof. It's brilliant, and It helped to save my relationship with my fiancé and our future with our beautiful son. I can't express in words just how good this movie is, and it couldn't have come into my life at a more perfect time. You know, when you first start dating, your relationship may be great. It may even be better than great, and you may decide to marry this wonderful person. If you were like me, it might be difficult to imagine ever arguing, because you and your partner never argued "like other couples did." But marriage, children, shared responsibilities, money, and a whole world of issues may come into play, and when they do -- when the fire starts -- this film will help to teach you the skills necessary to weather the storm. The test of true love doesn't come when things are good. The true test comes when things are bad, and if you're encountering stormy weather in your own relationship, please give this movie a chance. It doesn't have to be about religion or Christianity. The lessons taught in Fireproof are universal, and just plain common sense. If you don't know how to love, how can you expect your wife or husband to love You? The love must be found within yourself, and then you will learn how to receive love. You may think your partner is awful, you may get so angry thinking about the terrible things they've said, or the ways they've betrayed you, but believe me, you've also betrayed them, and you've betrayed yourself. But at the end of the day, simply watching a movie isn't going to save your relationship. It might take dedication, couples counseling, individual counseling, and a lot of hard work, but you can do it. I was reluctant to go to counseling at first, but it made all the difference in the world to us. And please don't fool yourself into thinking that you can find another person that you'll get along with better. The problem lies within You, and it will affect all of your future relationships unless you do something about it, and only you can do it. I'd start by getting a copy of "The Love Dare," the book featured in this movie, and by scheduling an appointment with a counselor (referee), who will allow you and your partner to communicate effectively without arguing. The book, "Nonviolent Communication: A Language of Life" by Marshall B. Rosenberg, has also been indispensable to me in this journey. Mr Rosenberg also has great how-to videos on Youtube that you can watch. You have the tools, now please do the work to fix yourself, and your partner will follow. It's worth it, you can do it, and it gets better. I promise.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Great story, spotty acting

5/10
Author: samiv_03 from USA
27 August 2012

I liked this movie. It shows the real aspects of life between a couple who have spent their entire marriage moving apart. It shows the self-centered attitudes we have all too often that just get in the way of what we really want.

Both husband and wife want to feel valued and loved. Both want to be appreciated. It takes outside intervention in the form of a father daring his son to follow a dare. Daring him to try and be a better man without looking for reward or acknowledgment. These things force him, and the audience, to consider the why behind what we do for and to those we love.

The story is great, the acting is...not so much. If you can get past some awkward acting, the movie is definitely worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 22: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history