IMDb > "Sons of Anarchy" (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Sons of Anarchy"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Sons of Anarchy" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 28:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 272 reviews in total 

228 out of 324 people found the following review useful:

Loved every second of it...

10/10
Author: m-omer-zabit from Pakistan
29 November 2008

This is without a doubt the best TV show I've seen in ages. There is nothing about this show that one can't like.Every character is well defined and has it's own boundaries. The story line has enough twists to keep you on the edge of your seats through out the episode. And it may come across as strange, but you don't wait for the next episode because you wanna know what happens next (as in Prison break etc) you wait because you absolutely love the show. I envy the respect the S.O.A have for their members and what they are willing to do for one another.

All in all, this is how you make a freaking entertaining show. Kudos to FX!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

160 out of 222 people found the following review useful:

Best new show of 2008

10/10
Author: magicdancer from New Hampshire, USA
27 November 2008

I decided to watch "Sons of Anarchy" initially because I am a fan of Charlie Hunnam (a seriously under used and under rated actor,) Ron Perlman and Katey Sagal. What I didn't expect was the best ensemble I've seen in a TV show in years. Every cast member is spot on and the three I mentioned are positively brilliant. In the first five minutes, I completely forgot that Charlie Hunnam is British because his American accent is excellent. This show is heavy on violence and rough language, but it all fits in with the story...as do the occasional sex scenes. Everything about it is excellent: the acting, scripts, sets, cinematography and direction. I'm thrilled that this excellent show will have a second season. If you haven't seen it, all episodes except the finale (to come) are available on line. I hope many more people will watch this terrific show.

Was the above review useful to you?

162 out of 230 people found the following review useful:

Superb My Son!

10/10
Author: Matt Ryan from United Kingdom
22 May 2009

OK, I saw Sons Of Anarchy by mistake a few weeks back (I recorded the wrong program) I Had heard of it but never really fancied it! Bikers and all that, not my thing! I had major doubts about Charlie Hunnam, I have only ever seen him in one thing before and that was a movie called Green Street (Hooligans) where he played an East End Londoner (West Ham) football fan-cum-hooligan! He is from Newcastle and his accent in Green Street was terrible but he must have had some voice coaching because in SOA he accent (usa) is spot on, all but the odd word! I watched the first episode and thought it was awesome! But then again, how many first episodes are awesome, only to be followed by a totally average rest-of-season? But I am so happy to say that I was wrong! I am up to episode 10 and each one is better than the last! It's not your average knuckle head biker show! It follows the trials and tribulations of each and every cast member! I really can't recommend Sons Of Anarchy enough! 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

148 out of 205 people found the following review useful:

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent

8/10
Author: vito7 from United States
9 November 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

FX has done it again. Another excellent show that we sit on the edge of our seats during, and wait impatiently for all week. If the common opinion that shows improve the longer they run rings true for this one, then I predict a perfect rating by season 3 and it will be in the running for all time great. The timing couldn't be more perfect with the great "The Shield" coming to a timely close. Sons of Anarchy takes on a classic Hamlet premise with a dead dad under potentially shady circumstances, a wavering prince, (or in this case vice president of the biker club), wondering what the right path for him is. Should he take the more philosophical path of his deceased predecessor or the hard core gangster approach of his mothers current husband and president of the S. O. A. biker club. The first season is only half over and my wife and I are already dreading the wait for season two. A special kudos for Katey Sagal, I didn't expect her to be able to shed the memory of Peggy Bundy of "Married With Children" but she has been able to create a strong Queen of the club character that is easy to love and hate all at once. Find the time for this one, It's like a white trash Sopranos with a story line that actually goes places.

Was the above review useful to you?

138 out of 199 people found the following review useful:

A great pretty Realistic Show

9/10
Author: dburke-27 from United States
27 August 2009

I originally began watching the show to see how realistic it would be. Living in that culture for many years, I know most people have no idea of the 'lifestyle'.

I was pretty surprised as I have only found a few issues that were, in my opinion, not realistic. I would give it a 85-90% for accuracy.

Much like other specific shows/plots, I really didn't expect this show to be very good, but I was pleasantly surprised and want to thank FX for doing some homework.

The cast is extremely well picked and fits their personalities.

I also highly suggest this series. Is it for everyone, of course not; but for those who want to see the 'other side' of life, it is not only fairly accurate but also very entertaining.......

Was the above review useful to you?

113 out of 154 people found the following review useful:

Left of Centre

8/10
Author: MeechaB from Australia
13 April 2009

A friend of mine got me into SOA as it isn't anything likely to hit our screens here in Oz. Ironically enough the theme of the show is not that far removed from a lot of the bike gangs we have here and hear about but i digress.

It took me a few episodes to get hooked on SOA as i can honestly say it is unlike any American show i have watched. Its grainy and raw and even the actors are people who you'd see in your everyday life and not the glam and glitter that Hollywood or the like fobs off.

For that i ended up loving SOA. A lot. I like also that there are a lot of "known" but not blown up actors. You know their faces but you don't have them seared into your mind from over exposure so you can suspend judgment and believe these characters exist. And the characters drive this series. It isn't the most polished TV series but its edgy and if you are looking for something you can sink your teeth into and not get sick from the saccharine then bite into this show.

You will invest and you will care about these people even if they are the "kind" of people we normally fear and shun. And that is not to say the writers glamorize or sympathise, they just offer a different view point. Something we don't normally see.

That is the hook and the viewing pleasure of Sons of Anarchy.

Was the above review useful to you?

108 out of 168 people found the following review useful:

One of the best shows on TV right now

10/10
Author: kim-189
30 November 2008

There is nothing about this show that isn't fantastic. While, at times, it can be a little too realistic (with levels of violence rarely seen on TV), the characters and plots are wonderfully written. You find yourself rooting for characters that you would normally want to hurl abuse at. These are not good guys, but they love their family and do whatever they can to keep them safe.

I cannot recommend this show highly enough. Charlie Hunnam, Ron Perlman and Katey Sagal are amazing, as are the rest of the cast. You can tell that Kurt Stutter loves this show as much as the fans do.

Although Season One is now over, I can't wait for the newly announced Season Two.

Was the above review useful to you?

77 out of 108 people found the following review useful:

Excellent drama

8/10
Author: geekroad from Los Angeles
13 November 2009

I almost didn't give this show a chance because Hollywood rarely offers up fully developed biker characters, much less decent or realistic plots about outlaw biker clubs. If there's a Harley and black leathers in the shot -- bad guys killing and doing bad things -- their work is done. Not so with Sons Of Anarchy.

While you will find all of the above elements, they're woven into a much richer fabric that brings each and every character to life in 16 million colors and full resolution, rising above the stereo-typical black-and-white portrayals of VGA-rendered knuckle-dragging villains.

And the casting! Katy Segal is phenomenal as Gemma, the widow of club founder and wife of present club runner, Clay Morrow, played by Ron Pearlman. Gemma's son, Jax, played by Charlie Hunnam, butts heads with his step-father's vision for the club.

But what really sets this biker drama apart is the context. The bikers are all natives of Charming, childhood friends in a small town. They've kept the town free of corporate tentacles and development, partly so they can run their legal and illegal businesses free of interference (gun-running and porn), and partly because the town itself might as well be a club member. The characters have deep roots to the townspeople who fear but also trust them to a degree, at least in the sense that it's sometimes better to deal with the devil you know and sometimes it's even handy to know the devil. The Sons have 'profitable arrangements' with certain local law enforcement officials, including the Chief of Police played magnificently by Dayton Callie, better known as Deadwood's Charlie Utter.

Conflict arises from neighboring clubs, gangs and criminal organizations trying to horn in on the action, and to an Aryan businessman and politician, played by Alan Arkin, who wants to set up shop in Charming and take out the Sons of Anarchy so he can take their place at the top of the criminal heap.

As if this wasn't fodder enough, Ally Walker joined the cast in season two as ball-breaking FBI agent June Stahl, going after the Sons and IRA gun runners who are selling to the Sons. Her quest, made painfully personal, by a meeting-gone-wrong with an imprisoned club member.

The action is gritty, the anti-heroes are plentiful, the characters are full-bodied and the writing is Class-A. Let Sons of Anarchy become your newest guilt-free pleasure and you'll find yourself heading into it full throttle.

Was the above review useful to you?

72 out of 99 people found the following review useful:

Totally Undeserving of its Praise

3/10
Author: srthomas2006 from United States
16 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If I had to consolidate into one word all of the unpleasant emotions I've undergone in my painfully slow journey through five seasons of this cartoonish series, the term "frustration" would fit the bill perfectly. If you plan on diving into this show expecting the universe in which this story takes place to even remotely resemble our own, you too will feel this frustration. I am actually thoroughly appalled to see such high praise for this show, and it troubles me to think that this might somehow be The Best Thing On Television Right Now.

The show centers on the follies of a gun running motorcycle gang in a fictional California town, ostensibly ran by a young blonde man named Jax who appears as though he was ripped, pixel for pixel, right out of an Abercrombie and Finch magazine ad. His mother, stepfather, and girlfriend get much focus as well, and a handful of other gang members get minor attention in an attempt to give the ensemble a little substance. However, each and every one of these characters are completely unlikable. They're nasty, manipulative, murderous, sexist criminals. This group of alcoholic racists (the non-allowance of blacks in the group actually becomes a plot-line) runs guns (and later, drugs) and seems to pull in huge profits in the process, and yet still live relatively meager lives in modest homes. There is never an explanation as to where these funds go, and there is only a half-attempt to explain why the gang even carries out this type of shady business in the first place.

Now, stories centering on anti-heroes CAN be enjoyable. Nabokov's Lolita, American Psycho, Dexter come to mind. However, this show feels as though it actually endorses the actions of our biker friends, and I felt as though I, as the viewer, was expected to give myself a high-five every time the Sons of Anarchy (the name of the gang) killed an innocent bystander or screwed someone over. The main pull for this show is simply watching to see if these thugs ever actually get what's coming to them. (Spoiler Alert: they don't. Not in the first five seasons, anyway). This brings me to my main peeve: the characters outside the inner circle.

Rest assured, any character in this show that is not a member or affiliate of the Sons of Anarchy is going to be a cartoonish, one- dimensional, unintelligent tool that always seems to be just one step behind our lovely Sons. Authority figure, public official, rival gang member, it doesn't matter. For example (spoiler here), one character sets a scenario in motion in which Jax's best friend is beaten to death right in front of him. Then, this same character instructs Jax to turn over ANOTHER member of his gang to be murdered, and then leaves himself completely open for a strike from Jax as he carries out the task of killing the second member. This character is supposed to be a super- intelligent, insanely powerful person in the story, and watching him and other characters do insanely stupid things that allow Jax and crew to constantly get the scoop on them is absolutely cringe-worthy. Furthermore, none of the gang members, save for one named Opie, ever have to experience the consequences of their lifestyle.

As I mentioned before, I don't mind rooting for the bad guys from time to time, but this show makes it impossible. The characters are invincible, and therefore completely unrelatable. The story lines are easily predictable (hint: Sons always win. Always). The acting is pretty good, particularly from Katey Sagal, but it's hard to revive the believability of such poorly written characters. Watch Mad Men or Breaking Bad if you actually want a story in which the characters are human beings. Watch this if you like motorcycles and brawls and gunfights, because that's about as deep as this show is willing to go.

Was the above review useful to you?

99 out of 153 people found the following review useful:

Cartoonish, not Dramatic

3/10
Author: justinkennethmail from United States
10 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This show has officially jumped the shark...The club members are near bullet/bomb/fist proof and even when held at gunpoint, manage to get the jump on their attacker with skill that would make James Bond look like Forrest Gump. This includes their women, who have escaped being held at gunpoint early every other episode. (Honestly, when a gun is trained on a Son or an old lady of a Son, count on them pulling a Jason Bourne and snatching the gun). They engage in bare knuckle brawling, are shot, and survive bomb blasts with nary a scratch.

Without vulnerability, the characters have no risk, and without risk they go from humans to superheroes. The emerging theme of escaping "the life" of violence becomes a parody. For anyone who has seen the real effects of violence and crime, this show presents a surreal and cartoonish farce. There is no motivation for their actions when every tight spot or fix can be resolved by using violence and military style black ops which most Navy SEAL teams couldn't accomplish, let alone a biker club. For example, the club is able to run amok in a local hospital and kill and interrogate a patient multiple times using a "decoy" tactic to lure away the bumbling sheriff guarding the room. The same tactic is used to infiltrate a rival club's drug operation. At no time are their plodding enemies every able to successfully resist or touch the Sons. A drive-bye hits only bystanders, an IRA bomb blast leads to a few day hospital stay, and even a rifle round to the shoulder is but a paper-cut. Meanwhile, the Sons are granted bail after storming a church meeting with weapons drawn, overpower North Irish border guards who have carbines trained on the prone Club members, and escape a team of IRA hit men armed with sub-machine guns.

In the real world, such ham fisted operations would have brought a world of heat on the club and they would be in bright orange jumpsuits not, their black leather cuts. Oh, but then again, they'd just bust out of prison...

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 28:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history