IMDb > Yuvvraaj (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Yuvvraaj
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Yuvvraaj More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 25 reviews in total 

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Ludicrous dialog, incoherent plot line and horrible acting!

Author: long-ford from India
1 February 2009

This was an absolute disaster, and almost painful to sit through. The only thing the film has going for it are fabulous European locations and grand sets. Otherwise, bad acting abounds, with the main culprits being Salman and Katrina. Some of the dialog is ludicrous ("a hard-core anti-family man!!"), and unfortunately uttered with a straight face. Boman Irani is wasted in a clichéd role. Anil Kapoor has some energy but is sidelined for long periods of time. The plot line is incoherent and makes little sense. Quite frankly, the film is a complete waste of time.

Overall 1/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Pathetic! Avoid this film.

4/10
Author: hemal_triv from United States
6 December 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw Yuvvraj today in a theater and I cursed myself for wasting my hard-earned money on such a stupid movie. Zayed Khan cannot act. He should not be acting at all. Katrina Kaif cannot act as well, but she is much better than Zayed Khan. I was actually quite impressed and surprised by Salman Khan. He is the only saving grace of the movie. His performance was good, I cannot call it great, but reasonably good.

The storytelling was choppy, the script was confusing and the character development inconsistent and incomplete. The film just jumped from one theme to another and the story didn't flow at all. Towards the end I was like looking at my watch and just waiting for the film to end. It was really a waste of time, energy and money. It was not Subhash Ghai quality at all. I wonder if Subhash Ghai even directed this film, he must have just signed his name on it. The story-telling was so lame.

The only things I liked about the movie were cinematography and the songs. Gulzar once again has proved that he is the greatest song writer in India. A.R. Rahman music is quite good too.

Overall, avoid this movie. If it comes on T.V. then you can watch it, but don't spend your hard-earned money on this crap!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Yuvvraaj

4/10
Author: Nitin Jain from India
24 November 2008

I don't know what has happened to Subhash Ghai. You cant believe that he is the same guy who made movies like Karz, Khalnayak, Ram Lakhan and Taal. The thing that was good about the movie was Salman Khan's acting. This is the first movie after Tere Naam where he was not Salman Khan and he was the character that he was playing. However he started as his overacting self but mellowed down as the movie progressed. One thing..... Zayed Khan can't act. There are so many technical flaws in the movie. Anil Kapoor is suffering from Autism and still he manages to understand emotions and speak such deep dialogs like he did in the movie. I guess Subhash Ghai needs to look up the meaning of autism first.

Salman Khan is a chorus singer who is not rich... yet he owns a convertible, a sports bike and a big house.

I mean OK it is a movie..... directors are allowed some slack but not this.

The villains Anjan Srivastava and his daughter in law irritating at all times and they could have been scripted better.

In all a bad movie and I feel I wasted my money.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Subhash is not a 'Yuvvraaj' in Bollywood box-office

4/10
Author: cybersupam from Bangalore
2 December 2008

I highly expected positive outcome from this film specially after seeing its first trailer in TV and promoting it as a musical. And also deeply impressed with the song Tu Meri Dost Hai from Rahman. But does it really deserve to disappoint its audience? If I think over this question then it is absolutely 'yes', Whenever any Subhash Ghai film is being made, and about to release first thing that comes in my mind is it must have these common subjects associated in the film. These subjects are – family, wealth, tradition and music. In this case Yuvvraaj is also not an exceptional. In brief, the whole story is about three brothers with numerous differences among themselves are in target of owning the rights of their properties after their father's demise. Not only this, besides there is another globe which is concerned to music. After all this is a Shubash Ghai film.

At first I have to mention is of casting, which is considerable. Then comes performance. Throughout the whole movie only Anil Kapoor is in his form to entertain the audience from his side though he plays something very unusual role in his career. Even that I didn't expect his unique role before finally catching the film.

What to say about Salman!!! He is the one who always play similar type of role which is always related to conspiracy, jealous, bossy and domination. I was so shocked about 2 years before when it was rumoured that he was casted in this film by Shubash Ghai. I couldn't believe it then, but now ultimately I finished watching. OK there is nothing new from Salman in judgment of his performance, character and the role he is offered in Yuvvraaj. His body language, facial expression, speaking manner and dressing looks are not different from his other 10 films. It shows he doesn't commit himself seriously to bring out reality in the character in every movie. It is clear all cannot become either Aamir Khan or Kamal Hassan.

Last but not the least of all three brothers Danesh, performed by Zayed Khan. I don't know when will Zayed be offered for an award winning role in his career. Not even a single film I have in mind to prove that he is an excellent actor. His previous flops like Mission Istanbul or Speed were really senseless and lower grade movies. Here too I was completely disappointed by him.

But again, Boman Irani is always and all time interesting actor whose sense of humour is precious to any movie where he is involved with. He is really a brilliant actor, and in Yuvvraaj his role could have also done by Anupam Kher, but anyway Boman was an excellent choice.

Now come to Subhash Ghai? He has lost his creative ideas and cannot cope up with the present generation audiences, and thus he again provided this kind of outdated script. Moreover these days it is already common in Bollywood stories about brothers rivaling with each other for wealth and money. And this is the exact reason for bombing this movie in box-office. His last movie that audiences as well as critics accepted was his Taal (or before this Pardes which was a masterpiece). It was followed a hat-trick with 3 continuous flops Yaadein, Kisna and Black & White. Now Yuvvraaj reached to fourth serial flop. SO BETTER NOT TO EXPECT MUCH FROM HIM IN THE COMING FUTURE.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

All style but not much substance

6/10
Author: springsunnywinter from United Kingdom
25 November 2008

Veteran director Subhash Ghai is hoping to resurrect some of the credibility he lost with his previous flops Yaadein & Kisna with this glossy drama. I never really intended to see it when I heard about it because Katrina Kaif is in it and all of her films suck (except Race). But the promos was so good and I loved the music especially the Dost song composed by the best music composer & lyrics writer combo A R Rehman and Gulzar. So I seen it anyway and its about Yuvvraaj (Prince) who gets thrown out of his family. He wants to get married to this really rich girl but her father wants her to marry someone else. So he signs a contract with him that in 40 days, he will become twice as rich as him. He eventually gets closer to one of his brothers and realises that he is happy to help him without wanting anything.

The story & screenplay is o.k. but it's quite long for a 2.5 hour movie because their wasn't enough to make it that long. None of the actors acted well except Anil Kapoor and Katrina Kaif was simply the worst, she is completely crap. Neither she knows acting, language (her voice is always dubbed for her), dance and always fails to impress. I do not like her one bit and if she was replaced by someone else then that would've helped a lot. The film had big sets that were so good and visually impressive that they keep you in your seat throughout. Overall if you have nothing to do on a rainy day or something then watch it but Yuvvraaj is nothing to look forward to.

Was the above review useful to you?

Great film

Author: kokovyas from United States
13 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

David Dhawan's films are mostly nonsensical like MDK but more crude too but yet entertaining many times

He seems overawed by the Bigamy topic done in SAAJAN CHALE SASURAL(hit), GHARWALI BAHARWALI(flop)and Biwi No.1

BIWI NO.1 is another same concept film but it has some funny moments

One of the highlight is Anil's natural Punjabi act which he does so brilliantly, he makes you laugh the most

The plot is simple and done to death on the small screen too now

The funny scenes involve how Karisma's children and Salman's mom teach Sushmita a lesson also supported by Anil

The film has some nonsense scenes like Salman's crying scene in the end and the accident of Anil

Direction by DD is okay Music is good

Salman Khan plays the by then famous playboy act again but he is much more likable then today though he is cringeworthy in the climax Karisma Kapoor is good here and does a good job thankfully not irritating Sushmita is decent but looks her best Anil is a highlight as Punjabi Jatt, he makes you laugh with his natural performance( if u see closely NO ENTRY had a hangover of this film where again Salman played a playboy and Anil his friend and his wife is Pooja) Tabu is likable too as his wife Himani Shivpuri is a natural and fun to watch as Salman's mom

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Yuvvraaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaj

1/10
Author: Ganesh Salian from Bahrain
7 April 2011

Yuvvraaj,directed by Subhash Ghai is a amazingly painful.

It has a message,but it takes so long to reach the final point.Subhash Ghai extends the movie so much with many unwanted scenes. Eg:-The family of Salman Khan.They are so ironically dreadful.Or even the scenes involving Salman and Boman(Katrina's father) were wasted.

Even the songs,though shot lavishly are so long.They bore you.

Subhash Ghai's direction is dreadful.

The music is a bore.

The cinematographer excels.The DoP too excels.

Performance wise-Salman Khan looks disinterested.Anil Kapoor blows your mind off.Katrina Kaif only smiles.Zayed Khan needs improvement.Boman Irani irritates.Anjaan Srivastav and the rest for the family are purely wasted.Mithun Chakraborty is fine in an special appearance.

Overall Yuvvraaj has style but lacks substance.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Yuvvraaj is body beautiful of minus soul - yes it is

5/10
Author: nama chakravorty from India
14 April 2009

Veteran filmmaker Subhash Ghai's 'Yuvvraaj' is a body beautiful of minus soul. One expects wonders from this one, reason? A seasoned filmmaker, dream star-cast, music by Oscar- winner A R Rahman, first-rate cinematography. But the film falls short, and the sole reason is the outdated, bland script. Its like going back to school, and asking for new subjects all of a sudden. 'Yuvvraaj' falls short of expectations, no options on that. Unfortunately no Raaj for 'Yuvvraaj'.

Pluses of the film: The film has been shot beautifully, thanks to the breath-taking cinematography. Performances are good: Mithun Chakraborty is excellent in a brief role. Anil Kapoor is good. Salman Khan is not in form, he looks least interested in most scenes, the only scene he excels is towards the climax, when Anil goes through an operation. Zayed Khan is decent. Katrina Kaif looks angelic and does an okay job. Boman Irani is superb. Others are alright.

Minuses: The script is stale. And that's its biggest minus point.

on the whole 'Yuvvraaj' is no royal watch. Letdown!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Has got its merits but misses to hit the right note.

4/10
Author: bobbysing from India
11 December 2008

As a big fan of Subhash Ghai, I remember almost 20 years back, buying ticket for the first show of "Ram Lakhan" at double the price and then sitting in a packed houseful show with people whistling, dancing and clapping on every scene and song. And now comes a day when I easily get a ticket for the first show of "Yuvraaj" from the window itself and become a part of few people watching the movie in the theater. There is no excitement in any viewer, no whistles or claps and no dancing around the screen.

Surely times have changed a lot, and surprisingly "Subhash Ghai Sir" has also changed his style of film-making. But the sad part is that the change of style is not coming up good enough for the viewers. As witnessed in his last few movies, "Yuvraaj" too has its merits but falls short of the expectations from the famous "Showman" of Bollywood. The discouraging opening response must be due to the unimpressive and confusing promos which were not able to explain what the movie was. Even Salman and Anil looked puzzled in their acts in the on air promos.

Coming to the movie itself, it starts off with Salman, Katrina and Boman Irani (as Katrina's father) with their love story angle. 50 minutes into the movie and the same goes on & on with no sign of Anil and Zayed. This makes the viewer restless as it is too lengthy and should have been trimmed heavily. Then with the news of Salman's rich father dying the story moves on and the other two brothers of Salman are introduced, Anil Kapoor & Zayed Khan. After every one is there on the screen the story goes into the "Jaydaad" & inheritors drama with a twist in the form of autistic Anil Kapoor.

The locations are fresh, sets are huge, songs are shot lavishly, but nothing hits the right note. Everyone looks playing his part knowingly that something is wrong and not working. There are very few scenes to watch out for and it all seems to be too lengthy and repetitive. The most lacking part is the story and screenplay of the movie which does not give ample scope to any star in particular.

The film mainly moves around Salman & Katrina with Anil Kapoor taking the limelight post interval. Salman Khan & Katrina look good as a couple but it is not one of their best movies. However, I liked Salman in the last scene when he cries in front of Boman to save the life of his brother Anil. He never looks like acting in the scene and proves that he has got the talent too along with the fab body. The scene where Katrina is playing and teasing topless Salman shows their off screen bonding clearly. Katrina has a fresh look but her hair style could have been better. Anil Kapoor as usual is almost perfect but at places repeats his "Eeshwar" act. Actually Anil gets betrayed by the script and hence his character fails to strike the emotional chord with the viewer. Zayed Khan still relies more on his looks than his acting. Boman Irani is a bit loud but calms down in his last scene with Salman. Mithun Da in a guest appearance enjoys his few scenes with elegance.

Like in his earlier movies, "Yuvraaj" also has a rich family with a Mama ji, cunning uncles, brothers, loyal servants and a vamp bhabhi. Here the bhabhi is too hot to handle and has the looks to kill. Climax is the least convincing part with a twist told so many times before where the performer is poisoned before his main grand show. Even the song is not enjoyable enough for the grand finale. Till you reach the climax you lose interest in the happenings and wish the movie was only around Salman and Katrina.

Apart from the fresh cinematography, the other major highlight of the film is the music of A. R. Rahman. Though this time the magic of "Taal" is missing and the music needs time to grow on the listener. Two songs score over all the others with "Tu Hi Meri Dost Hai" being the best. The songs may not be that entertaining for the Indian audience as they are designed giving more stress on Western Arrangements. Honestly I also cannot rate this as one of Rahman's best as i was expecting much more from the combination of Rahman & Ghai.

In few words, I again found the "Golden Touch of Subhash Ghai" missing in this. But if you are a Salman-Katrina fan then you will surely enjoy their lovable screen presence together.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Finally ! a decent movie from Salman , The drought has ended

8/10
Author: hottomato from India
24 November 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

How about that ? To say the least , Yuvvraaj is a good watch . i just finished watching it . As usual , i thought i would not last even 15 minutes , with the hammed up acting of Salman and the over complicated storyline or absolutely rubbish story with all of his previous releases in 2008 . So i was quite pessimistic with this one too.

But surprise , surprise . Even though i am not a big Salmon hammy khan fan , i would have to say honestly , he did give a good performance ,for once i didn't feel cheated by paying to watch a Salmon's movie . He was good so were others . only exception is Zayed khan . as usual he never lets me down . i don't even know why he is acting ? He is a sure bet when it comes to huge letdown on acting. He ruins everything.

The story is simple , Its about 3 brothers , Anil , Salmon and Zayed . The 2 Khans aka Salmon and Zayed wish to inherit a huge sum from their fathers estate who dies and leaves the whole inheritance . The catch is the father pulls a fast one and leaves the inheritance to Anil , the eldest one who is Mentally retarded. So as usual the khans gets angry o be weaseled out of the deal. Mithun plays a convincing role of a will attorney who breaks the good news to the brothers that they are conned out of the deal by their dead father. Salman who is a talented chorus singer in Austria is in love with the alluring Katrina ,Awwww. Why cant i get a girl like that . anyhow getting back to the story . Kat is the daughter of Boman Irani who is a wealthy surgeon and does not like Salman . So finally Salmon and Irani sign an accord that states if Salmon becomes a billionaire within 40 days , he will marry Kat or else leave her. on the other hand Salmon on reaching London where gets the happy news about his fathers will from Mithun .And then the story starts , What will Salmon do ? Will he try to con Anil , his elder brother out of his inheritance so that he get the whole estate so that he can marry Kat or will he try to help Anil, his mentally retarded elder brother and save him from Zayed and rest of the family members.

Performance wise , i would say its Salmans best performance this year. Anil is a great actor , always has been and he has done a fine work. Mithun shows up here and there but is quite convincing in his role of a high power attorney. The story is good , the songs are good. As stated previously , only Zayed is an eye sore with his extra hammed up so called acting. Salman gives a good performance and for once he keeps his shirt on. Even in the songs . what a surprise.

Story wise its a old one , just repacked in a new material , with good scenic Austria as its backdrop. The cast is well chosen and the story goes on In its own pace , smoothly.

Guys and gals ! i will be honest . i look at movies as a investment in my leisure time . so it has to be my moneys worth . or else it doesn't matter what the media says or what everyone else says . After the movie ends i should feel that my money was well spent and i am entertained.

This movie does so . Its a good watch and i would recommend it . This is a simple story scripted and made so that its digestible Overall i would give it a fun family watch. I will give it a 8/10 . and two thumbs up.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history