IMDb > Next Day Air (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Next Day Air
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Next Day Air More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

28 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

it so much wants to be funny that it totally fails at it

4/10
Author: donfischi
7 September 2009

this movie was a very big disappointment. when i read about it the first time i thought it could be quite funny. the synopsis suggested a crime comedy mix with some nice twists and plenty to laugh about. but i was totally mistaken.

the plot had no real dynamic and all the plot twists were not surprising at all, if you can even call them twists. add to that a bunch of stereotype characters with no depth and personality and you can imagine how captivated i was by this movie. i thank god that the total absence of good jokes and comedy didn't distract me form experiencing this absence of emotion in this great void of boredom.

don't get me wrong. i didn't want to puke during the movie or something like that. it was only after i resurfaced from this sea of dullness that i realized how much of a big waste of time this movie was.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Ghetto version of Guy Ritchie movies, but not a good one

5/10
Author: KineticSeoul from United States
13 April 2010

This is like the ghetto version of some of Guy Ritchie's movies, since it tries to copy Guy's style and all and a bit of "The Pineapple Express". Some may enjoy this sort of comedy, but it just tries to show more of the black foolishness similar to Tyler Perry's movies, but at least Tyler Perry's movies are sometimes funny this is not. I agree with some of the reviewers that say this film tries too hard to be funny, it's true the creators of this film probably thought by making a bunch of guys acting all obnoxious and foolish would be humorous but it is not in this movie and there is no depth to it. I did like it's style of being all over the place and at the end it gets all put together, not very original but it was alright. I guess it's decent as a rental at best though as long as you watch it with a couple of friends.

5.6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Na'mean?!??

10/10
Author: dutchbeats from Canada
13 November 2009

Hey what can I say I like stuff you don't have to think about! I was surprised how good this flick is; simple and well-paced with genuinely funny moments and actors. There is also some eye candy(as well as nose candy!) but hey, what do you expect from the film directing debut of the guy who makes videos for 50 Cent? It looks and feels like a Guy Richie movie so if you liked those you'll enjoy the 'American version' replete with slow motion shotgun blasted dude flying through the air in slow motion in the apartment. But if you think it's all about violence think again, this film is pure jokes and cameos(cassidy, mos def, debbie allen etc.)with lots of herb smoking and hard hip-hop backdrops. And besides, who hasn't fantasized about hog-tying and slapping the UPS guy? I know I have. Did I mention the dude from Family Matters is in it and totally kicks @##!?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Express delivery

2/10
Author: p-stepien from United Kingdom
13 October 2011

Being addicted to the doobie may not be the best character trait when working for a courier service. Leo (Donald Faison) seems unperturbed, given his mother is the person who hired him. On another typical high Leo mistakenly delivers a package full of heroine to a bunch of slightly retarded wannabee gangsta / bank robbas / criminimal masterminds Brody (Mike Epps) and Guch (Wood Harris). This quickly causes a series of events which lead to the opening scene of the movies: Leo being surrounded by people with guns and a low tolerance for ineptitude.

"Next Day Air" closely follows in the footsteps set out by movies such as "Snatch" or "51st State", although this time around it takes place entirely in the States with 80% of the movie occurring in two rooms. As can be expected it is a mix of unabated comedy with brutal gangsters, fast talking criminals and crazy sequence of events ending with a grand showdown finale to tie all the separate plots and characters together.

Based on a very rudimentary plot the movie aims at delivering the package with the minimum necessary runtime. At just 84 minutes and no less than 9 main characters being involved there is no place for their development, background or emotional involvement. Instead we get a fast paced movie (which somehow manages to find time to have pointless detours into non-funny side scene attractions) with a lack of purpose. None of the character are able to catch your attention and involve you in the story, although Omari Hardwick (playing a drug dealer wanting out of business) does his sincerest best to bridge the script shortcomings.

A sorely empty package filled with fluff, but at least the delivery is express so at least you won't waste a lot of time waiting for it to be over and done with.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Docudrama provides survival tips for visitors to urban America

6/10
Author: charlytully from Rosebush
15 June 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Sure, there is an attempt by script writer Blair Cobbs to have some sort of story or "plot" for this movie, set in the underbelly of today's urban America. And yes, of course director Benny Boom tries to elicit the most realistic or "believable" acting performances possible from such film veterans as Mike Epps, Mos Def, and Debbie Allen, all of whom appear in NEXT DAY AIR. But, when you get down to brass tacks, this flick is all about showing the nitty gritty life down in the trenches of U.S. inner-cities. This site, IMDb, has a feature available for most movies called "key words." I found the listings there particularly revealing for NEXT DAY AIR. The key words provided for this movie include "cocaine," "female nudity," "marijuana," "punched in the face," "pot-head," "drug dealer," "gang-banger," "cockfighting," "shoot-out," and "thug." Obviously, NEXT DAY AIR can provide a valuable key to survival in urban America for those visiting there from Switzerland or Grosse Pointe Farms.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

You're in America, steal somethin'

5/10
Author: Jbrown0170 from United States
12 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

HBCU247.com writes two smalltime hoods, Brody (Mike Epps) and Guch (Wood Harris) open the box and find a gift from heaven. They immediately arrange to sell the coke to Brody's drug dealer cousin for $150,000. In the meantime, Jesus (Cisco Reves) tries to track down who got his package before the drug kingpin, Bodega Diablo (Emilio Rivera) notices that his drugs are missing. Unfortunately, time has run out and Bodega is in town, and he is furious that his shipment is lost. Bodega will get his drugs back or heads will roll. During the same time, Brody and Guch are about to complete their drug deal with Guch's cousin. They are on a collision course with destiny, because they are about to have company knocking at their door. This was a funny movie about the perils of being high while on the job. PLEASE DO NOT GET HIGH WHILE ON THE JOB!!! It was fun to watch…once and not alone (you may need other people's commentary to make the movie funnier). And now that I think about it…I wonder if my broken furniture and missing items from our several moves happened because our movers were high. Shame…Shame…This movie makes me wonder why people think it is a good idea to get quick money by selling drugs. Stupidity was definitely the new black in this movie, and these people were wearing it well! This movie is good enough to watch once…as a rental! So ENJOY!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Average

6/10
Author: calobadams from United States
23 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I liked the movie to an extent. I thought it could of have been more funny and had more action and rising action to the end. I kind of thought it was unrealistic at the how Mike Epps' character missed that guy with the AK47 and how that Mexican killed that black guy. I mean that black guy should of won that knife fight because of his size and strength.Also, their were some parts of the movie where I thought, "wow, that was random", their needed to be explaining to those parts. But overall the movie was OK, not awesome but not very bad. I hope their is another movie like this but with a stronger plot and it's not like 30 minutes long.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Boyz n' the hood meets Guy Ritchie

7/10
Author: Jackpollins from United States
14 August 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In a summer of action films, and raunchy comedies, it is refreshing to see an action-thriller-comedy like Next Day Air. It stars the very funny Donald Faison as Leo, an NDA worker who accidentally delivers a package belonging to a drug lord to a bunch of pot smoking, unsuccessful robbers. Emilio Rivera is both funny and creepy as the drug lord. Mike Epps and Wood Harris are excellent as the unsuccessful robbers who accidentally get the package. The movie is both thrilling and funny, although it is a bit off center, and someone's thumb gets cut off which was not needed. The movie's final showdown also wears the movie down. It is a very good movie, though. The movie is only about 90 minutes, but it would of been nice if it was 75 minutes, because that final, bloody shoot out was not needed. The movie is still very recommendable, and the cast is top-notch. The movie has a lot of laughs and still makes room for a lot of thrills. Overall, this is worth it, but I wouldn't say it's the work of a perfectionist or the work of a genius, just a pretty good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

One ingredient short of being good...

4/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
2 September 2014

"Next Day Air" wasn't particularly funny, and I had expected it to be more of a comedy after having read the synopsis. So I was sorely disappointed once the movie ended.

The story is about a delivery of narcotics gone bad. As the unknowing delivery guy delivers a package to the wrong address, a large shipment of drugs end up in the hands of two men desperate for money. Those whom the delivery were intended for never receive the shipment and become pressed by their boss, meanwhile those who got it by mistake set off to sell the drugs through their contacts.

The story was entertaining enough, but I had just expected something more in the funny department.

The acting in the movie was good, and people were doing good jobs with their given roles and characters.

There was just something missing from the movie that kept it from being a good movie experience. What it was, I had no clue. But I sit here after having seen the movie and thinking that it could have been better. It is like a particular ingredient missing from your tomato sauce to make it stand out, you know?

"Next Day Air" had its moments, sure. But ultimately, then it wasn't an impressive movie. And as such, I am rating it 4 out of 10 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

A Wannabe African-American Clone of "The Pineapple Express"

4/10
Author: zardoz-13 from United States
20 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Lurking beneath the surface of former gangsta rap video music director Benny Boom's derivative African-American crime comedy "Next Day Air" (** out of ****) lies the not-so-subtle message that pedaling narcotics is a perilous occupation. This predictable, R-rated, 84-minute, "Pineapple Express" carbon copy about minority drug dealers in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, blasting holes in each other over a lost horde of cocaine generates more bloodshed than buffoonery. Ironically, first-time scenarist Blair Cobbs has penned a melodramatic screenplay that casts its largely black and Hispanic actors in despicably stereotypical drug dealer roles.

Nobody in "Next Day Air" deserves a shred of sympathy except the protagonist's mother. She is literally the only character that isn't up to mischief. Worse, the producers have squandered the talents of one of the funniest black comedians alive—Mos Def—in a role so trifling that it qualifies as a cameo. Although she has been as criminally wasted in a similar minor role, it is gratifying to see Debbie Allen of "Fame" back in a big-screen film. Furthermore, funnyman Mike Epps usually makes even the worst comedy tolerably entertaining, but his presence does little to enliven "Next Day Air." Director Benny Boom and scenarist Blair Cobbs establish in the first ten minutes of "Next Day Air" that the misguided protagonist, Leo Jackson (Donald Faison of TV's "Scrubs"), loves to get high on reefer. His mother, Ms. Jackson (Debbie Allen of "Fame"), calls her spoiled son on the carpet for his marijuana misadventures and threatens to fire him. Leo goes into a tantrum and pleads with her not to pink slip him. Nevertheless, the threat of being fired has little impact on him afterward because he is back to puffing pot on his delivery route in no time flat.

Meanwhile, a trio of cretinous bank robbers, Guch (Wood Harris of HBO's "The Wire"), Brody (Mike Epps of "Resident Evil: Extinction") and Hassie (Malik Barnhardt of "Belly 2: Millionaire Boyz Club"), sits around their dumpy apartment and play video games. Actually, Guch and Brody do the sitting while an oblivious Hassie sprawls out on a nearby couch. The filmmakers appeared to have modeled Hassie on the Brad Pitt slacker in "True Romance" who hung out on a sofa in his friend's house. Recently, these low-lives attempted a bank hold-up that went hilarious awry for the silliest of excuses. Apparently, Guch told Brody to grab the loot after they entered the premises. Instead, Brody seized the video surveillance tapes. Now, they watch the bank tapes and reprimand Brody for his incompetence.

Guch and Brody reside in the same Philadelphia apartment complex near a Puerto Rican couple, Jesus (Cisco Reyes) and Chita (Yasmin Deliz), who are anxiously awaiting a shipment of ten bricks of cocaine from a Los Angeles-based, cigar-smoking drug smuggler, Bodega (Emilio Rivera), an hombre with no sense of humor. Boom and Cobbs show what happens to the thugs who try to take advantage of Bodega, and it isn't a pretty sight. After Bodega punishes a hood from misconduct, he promotes Jesus to replace the dearly departed, and Jesus knows that his life isn't worth a dime if anything untoward goes wrong through no fault of his own.

Naturally, Leo is getting high when he wheels in a giant box to the apartment complex and delivers it to Guch and Brody. Brody cannot believe his eyes, while Guch insists that God has answered their prayers. Brody contacts his drug pedaling cousin, Shavoo (Omari Hardwick of "Gridiron Gang"), and makes him a sales pitch. Initially, Shavoo doesn't snap up Brody's offer because he keeps a stash in a rental unit downtown, until he learns that somebody has stolen his narcotics from him. Shavoo decides to accommodate Brody, but he is suspicious about everybody since the burglars hit his rental unit. Meantime, Jesus phones Bodega and reports that the merchandise hasn't arrived. Instantly, Bodega grows suspicious because he contacted Ms. Jackson's company Next Day Air and received confirmation that the package arrived safely at its destination.

Bodega flies into Philly with his hard-faced henchman Rhino (Lobo Sebastian of "The Longest Yard") who likes to get sadistic with Bodega's enemies. Along with Bodega and Rhino, a desperate Jesus (Cisco Reyes) and Chita (Yasmin Deliz) set out to find Leo and clear up everything. They catch up with Leo, still inhaling pot even when he drives his delivery van and Leo realizes to his horror that he did in fact deliver the package to the wrong address. At this point, pandemonium erupts out as everybody converges on Guch's apartment with guns drawn and itching to shoot first and ask questions later.

The best thing about "Next Day Air" is that director Boom doesn't wear out his welcome. This movie clocks in at less than 90 minutes. On the other hand, this dud about a bunch of dimwits isn't exactly a laugh-a-minute marathon. The finale consists of a hardcore, Quentin Tarantino-type gun battle at close quarters. Boom stages this uneven comedy as if he were aspiring to be a Guy Ritchie of "Snatch" fame. Unfortunately, the gunfire overshadows the guffaws. Next Day Air" has absolutely nothing to redeem it, and this Summit Entertainment release scrapes the bottom of the barrel for the modicum of humor that it has.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history