IMDb > Impact Point (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Impact Point
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Impact Point More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

34 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

IMPACT Point, I really didn't feel the impact

3/10
Author: jcsmit-1 from South Africa
29 June 2008

The movie didn't really do anything for me...

The story was same old same old, just a different setting, with the same old psycho creep.

The acting was bordering on okay but exaggerated, I don't know if volleyball players are suppose to be more annoying than cheerleaders but it seems so...

Its a nice movie to watch when you're having some people over and actually just need something in the background while having a conversation... But if you want some thrills and scares, I'd think your better off renting The Little Mermaid.

Some nice girls in bikini's help but the story is so full of plot holes, I'd rather watch this as an ultra-soft porn movie... But then again I don't like story lines in that kind of movies! Wait for it to appear on cable/satellite but don't pick this one up over something else at the video shop... You'd most probably regret it...

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

An enjoyable movie

7/10
Author: JohnGater100
3 August 2008

I found it entertaining and watchable. It has a bit of suspense, a bit of minor violence, a scary character, all overlaid onto a professional beach volley ball setting. The female cast, Melissa Keller and Kayla Ewell, do a great job in the competition scenes with the aid of some shrewd directing. Melissa Keller adds an engaging acting personality to her long established fashion and swimsuit modeling credentials. Some rear nudity shower scenes are the likely source of the R-rating, but this is not an offensive movie. Although lightly done, all of the summer entertainment features are present: great visuals, sports competition and personal best, rivalry, a very bad guy, police and crowd scenes, romance,...

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Turn down the sound and enjoy the bikinis

3/10
Author: autiger-1 from United States
12 March 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Beyond the obvious attraction of bikini-clad volleyball players, there really isn't much good to say about this movie.

The producers were wise to try to capitalize on the popularity of ladies beach volleyball, but the action on the beach isn't enough to carry the film.

Overdone stalker plot, forced acting and a plot hole you could drive a Mack truck through.

Is this the only police department on the planet with no access to a sketch artist?

Enjoy the view, but don't expect much else.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A movie this stupid should not be allowed

1/10
Author: Nick Damian from Toronto, Ontario
24 January 2013

I will offer spoilers.

The movie is stupid and the plot is retarded and everything about it basically is screwed up.

So far today I've seen 3 movies and all of them were on the same level as this...totally retarded.

With perhaps the most retarded police force in all of California, this makes for one boring, lame ass and stupid flick which should save you some time by not watching it.

With senseless action and plot development - I am still amazed that with so many horrible movies being made that there is still a thriving film industry in California.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Stalker Shocker

10/10
Author: kyleallen_9 from United States
17 February 2009

Impact Point kicked major ass. I enjoyed every minute of this suspense thriller. It has a sexy beach volley ball setting and a creepy teenage atmosphere. Brian Austin Green(Beverly Hills 90210) plays a menacing stalker that becomes obsessed with a pro volley ball player Melissa Keller(Venice Underground) and proceeds to terrorize her closest friends and her teammates Kayla Ewell(Senior Skip Day) and Joe Manganiello(One Tree Hill) and she begins to work with a detective Linden Ashby(Prom Night), who is investigating a series of murders. I guess this movie delivers a good message, when you go out with a stranger, make sure he is who he says he is. I compare this movie with Prom Night and the upcoming 2009 flick Obsessed starring Beyonce Knowles and Ali Larter. This movie is hot, sleek, scary, and sexy. The girls run around in their bikinis and sweat and play some sand volley ball. It also shows what a girl has to go through to get an obsessed man out of her life. Its definitely worth checking out.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Not So Bad

6/10
Author: nemosony from United States
25 June 2008

This wasn't a bad thing to watch on a boring night with nothing to do, i didn't expect much from this film till i finally watched it and surprisingly it was pretty good it had me on the edge of my seat at times the acting was alright but it felt like TV episode acting, i thought Kayla Ewell's performance was great as always in movies like Senior Skip Day and some Entourage episodes iv seen her in the past as for Melissa Keller's performance was also pretty good for a actor i never really seen before or heard about she definitely brought something to the table overall i enjoyed the film and you probably will too..if you can find it ;)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Lame stalker outing

3/10
Author: Leofwine_draca from United Kingdom
15 November 2014

IMPACT POINT is a below-par stalker movie that sees former BEVERLY HILLS 90210 star Brian Austin Green playing an obsessed fan who ends up stalking a volleyball star. The movie has TV-level production values throughout and singularly fails to impress thanks to a lack of skill and talent on the part of those involved in the making of it.

The problems with this movie are myriad, but here are a few: first, the volleyball scenes. Volleyball seems to me to be a sport aimed solely at male viewers who can enjoy bikini-clad women bouncing about in the sand and, sure enough, we get tons of those slow-mo shots here; so many in fact that I'm surprised the director was a woman. In any case, such scenes come across as filler and are completely unappetising. Similarly, an attempt at a 'hot' sex scene feels like something from one of those '90s-era sub-par Shannon Tweed movies.

Secondly, the narrative is routine. There's little to no suspense in the stalking plot, apart from in a couple of short chase sequences. The acting is pretty awful, with Green failing to build a presence as the villain and Melissa Keller a completely unworthy object of his obsession. Instead, the film-makers seem determined to get as much product placement in their movie as they can, particularly from Coca Cola. There's not much in the way of violence to speak of either, so this is a disappointment through and through. My favourite stalker movie thus far is the excellent TV movie STALKING LAURA, based on a true story and starring Richard Thomas - go check that one out if you haven't already.

Was the above review useful to you?

Melissa Keller And Her Magical Melons

3/10
Author: Dan1863Sickles from Troy, NY
21 November 2015

I had a favorite poster of Melissa Keller on my wall for years. It's from a Sports Illustrated Swimsuit shoot, and it shows her leaning back in a bikini against a huge stack of ripe melons. And she's got this really sexy grin and a sort of totally relaxed body language that makes it seem casual and sensual and dreamlike all at once.

Well, I don't think this movie captures Melissa Keller's appeal to quite that degree. She plays a nice, down to earth girl who wants to be a volleyball star, but she's stalked by this horrible guy, and then she has to join forces with this really stuck up rival volley ball player who hates her.

The odd thing is, Kayla Ewell, who plays the stuck up Jen Crowe, actually comes off much better than Melissa Keller. She's plainly a more experienced actress. She gives this girl a really forceful, dynamic personality, and a kind of darkly sexual charisma. Her personality is so strong you expect her to kill of her partner's stalker for her and then they win the championship! Instead there's this lame cop who doesn't look a day over 55, and he's sort of wimpy and yet somehow he saves the day at the end. Or something.

Gee, I really miss that old poster of Melissa Keller showing off her melons!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

All we can do now is just sit on her for 24-7

5/10
Author: sol from Brooklyn NY USA
23 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

***SPOILERS*** It was pretty blond and well developed Kelly Reyes', Melissa Keller, misfortune to have caught the eye of this psychotic stalker Holden, Brian Austin Green, who's obsession with the champion woman volley ball player turned from just friendly talk & chit chat to serial murder! Holden claiming to be a top syndicated sports writer gets close enough to Kelly that he even gets to have a one night stand with her in her thinking that he's both cute & harmless. He may be cute all right but he's about as harmless as a "Jack the Ripper" or "Son of Sam".

Besides the usual story of a girl, in this case a very gorgeous and well staked girl, being stalked by a sex crazed control freak psycho the film "Impact Point" is just average and nothing more. But the women, that's the women volley ball players, in it are anything but. Dressed in loose & scanty two piece bikinis and with their chests almost popping out of them with every serve who really cares about the movies flimsy plot anyway. All you do is just follow the bouncing ball and enjoy yourself. We soon have Holden casing out Kelly's apartment with a number of hidden cameras watching her, dressed and undressed, every movement. The guy went so far to get Kelly's love as well as attention by running down and killing her biggest rival in the up and coming volley ball championship finals Diana Wilkes, Janelle Ruen, so she can be in and win them. With all that he did for Kelly Holden expected far more then just a one night stand from her. But when through the local police department Kelly found out what a sick and annoying creep he really was and dropped him the guy went completely not only bananas but mango pineapple & fruitcake as well!

***SPOILERS*** As the day of the big volley ball womens championship game is upon us Kelley with her womens volley ball partner Jen Crowe, Kayla Ewell, go all out to win but they not only have to contend with the opposition but with the by now totally crazed Holden. Who's determined to make a name for himself making himself known to the world at large in what a deranged and over the top psycho he is. But also cement his sick and fantasized relationship with Kelly by murdering her in front of millions of TV viewers, as well as those live at the big event, and thus having Kelly's name linked with him, like December 7,1941 with Pearl Harbor and September 11, 2001 with the World Trade Center, forever and for all eternity!

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history