IMDb > "Keeping Up with the Kardashians" (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Keeping Up with the Kardashians"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 69 reviews in total 

223 out of 264 people found the following review useful:

Watch - and then thank goodness for your parents!

1/10
Author: lambiepie-2 from Los Angeles, CA
28 October 2007

Sadly, IMDb doesn't have a rating system under 1 to grade reality shows - and this reality program is a perfect example where zero should be installed.

No matter how long you may look at "Keeping Up WIht the Kardashans", it has no value in any category whatsoever - just another entry into the 'fast food' genre of reality programing - lots of calories, non-filling and quickly forgetful.

Here you have another twenty something ungrateful Hollywood raised female woman-child, in another typically ungrateful for celebrity-family with parents who are so self absorbed and ungrateful towards themselves, that you wonder how they can have time left to be ungrateful towards the children under their roof/in their lives. But oh, they find time.

So what keeps you watching? The 15 minute 'clinique' beauty of the twenty something self described "socialite"? The little "naughty-bits" they sneak in of T&A just under the radar of standards and practices? The self-absorption of the parents? The back-talk and snotty attitudes the children are allowed to give to these parents? The unruliness of a blended family? Or just the idea of taking a peek into the life of "folks with celebrity" and then taking a look at your own life and realizing that mom and dad ....maybe aren't SO bad.

The beauty of freedom is that there will always be something for everyone. And in that freedom, you can take a look and decide if it's good or bad. For me, this show is bad, meaningless. This is not to say that all TV must be 20 hours of "Leave it to Beaver" or the "Brady Bunch". That's unrealistic. We've got to be exposed to real family dysfunction to see that that the world isn't always sugary sweet and pristine perfect. Not parents, not kids, not even our pets.

But programs like this are getting to be a standard. There isn't anything warm or exciting about viewing the life of a young woman who's already hit her peak - mentally, educationally, sexually - and is heading downward fast. Or her mother who IS allowing it - even if it is only due to her own self-absorption. And a father who couldn't care less because he ISN'T her father particularly, just another man in a long line of men that the mother has luckily hooked her claws into. And the household siblings - the siblings to whom you have a bet going that they will either run out of the home screaming for real love, acceptance, stability, boundaries - or end up just like their older sibling on a YouTube edited soft porn segment or even worse - a real one.

Is this entertainment? Depends on you. It is a train wreck that you may stop to see for a minute or two - but there are so many OTHER train wrecks to see in "reality TV" these days from music television to classic television channels, why stick with this one? Even if its only for a minute? Well...maybe to hug mom and dad and thank them that you're not ever going to end up as dull, lifeless, and boring as this family no matter how much money, TV cameras or publicity there is in the world. This shows that fame, money -- the appearance of it or the chasing of it -- isn't all it's cracked up to be, but obviously will crack those who have it.

Was the above review useful to you?

204 out of 234 people found the following review useful:

Makes you sad to be part of the human race

1/10
Author: DJ Graham from Arsenal, London
2 January 2009

There needs to be a rating choice of zero for shows like this. I have just watched the episode where they drag a homeless man off the street to "play with" and I have never felt so sad for these horrible people. The show is 100% pure car crash TV. The worst thing is that it is totally not "reality" and comes across as completely scripted, planned and faked.

Sadly it seems like any Joe can now grab a film deal and the once original Ozzy Osbourne format has now long gone. This show just sums up everything I hate about these type of people and watching it makes me sad to be part of the same race.

These shows must stop...but they wont...because they are designed for lazy viewing (couch potatoes) and lets face it...there are plenty out there to keep this sort of show on air :(

Was the above review useful to you?

154 out of 186 people found the following review useful:

A stupid show about stupid people

1/10
Author: umbraphile from United States
20 February 2010

As with all reality TV shows, "Keeping Up with the Kardashians" is a waste of airtime. Every episode involves stupid, idiotic people engaging in the same petty dramatics that have obviously been written and staged - rather poorly might I add. There is absolutely nothing special about this garbage, and I cannot see why anyone would find it the least bit enjoyable. The acting is poor, which is not surprising considering how untalented these individuals are. Kim is exactly like Paris Hilton, that alone being an excellent reason to change the channel.

Stay away and do not expose your loved ones to this poor excuse for entertainment. They will thank you later.

Was the above review useful to you?

96 out of 118 people found the following review useful:

Stupid, stupid, stupid

1/10
Author: pepe4u22 from Canada
5 December 2010

First a 1/10 is as low as i was allowed to go..watched one episode of this garbage and after 10 minutes i felt violated by the absolute stupidity and pathetic nature of this show. Every one involved should be ashamed and be held in contempt for foisting this garbage upon the human race. The kardashians are famous right now because the one sister is basically in the words of the author and former NFL player a "Jersey Jumper" who's skill she foisted upon the world is the same thing that everyone can do but they do not put on tape. Yes let us make a show around someone like that and sugar coat it a trollop is a trollop the other sisters who's names are who cares and who really cares behave worse than my nephew and niece on a really bad day everyday by the way my nephew and niece are 8 and 12 and who cares about them. This show is a ripoff of the Osbourne's which i liked because Ozzie is a legend and likable along with the rest of his brood and a severely water down version of Gene Simmons Family Jewels another of the better reality shows and why people prefer those shows is that at least there are people with charisma in those shows while in this show just a bunch of self indulgent overaged teenagers with issues with promiscuity and a warped sense of self importance. I also have to say Bruce Jenner from Olympic golden boy to this what a drop and too boot he is whipped too.

Was the above review useful to you?

91 out of 118 people found the following review useful:

Is This Show for Real????

Author: hulababy926 from United States
18 March 2008

It seems that now a days, everyone can be on television. These people should not have their own television show. Its sad that this is what we call entertainment. I feel bad for the two young girls in this family. They are not being taught any values or self-respect. Its really sad that they have a sister who poses for Playboy after the sex tape incident. Whether they like it or not, the 3 older sisters are role models to these young girls. Why does the mother allow all these things to happen when there are children present? The father, it seems, tries to do the right thing, but nobody listens. These people are not celebrities. They are a family who should not have a television show.

Was the above review useful to you?

70 out of 79 people found the following review useful:

Dumb, dumber, dumbest

1/10
Author: Miles-10 from United States
4 October 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This show can be so formulaic and stereotypical that it must be scripted--or improvised based on an outline the way "Curb Your Enthusiasm" is. But while "Curb" ends up being painfully funny, "Keeping Up with the Kardashians" just ends up being painful.

I obviously have too much time on my hands because I have probably seen three or four episodes of this show. Having grown up in Worcester, Massachusetts, I suppose that I was intrigued by the idea of a show about an Armenian–American family—not that the Kardashians much resemble any Armenian-American family I have ever known (other than that they are often big).

My hope is that the show is scripted, because, otherwise, these people are evidently incredibly shallow, and they all seem to suffer from an attention deficit. In one episode, "Learning Self Defense," a vandal comes to their shop, knocks merchandise about, and frightens the salesgirl. The Kardashian girls first decide to take a self-defense class for about 10 minutes, which leaves them brimming with overconfidence until step-dad and former Olympic athlete Bruce Jenner shows them that he can easily defeat them with very little effort. Rather than dedicate themselves to further lessons, the girls abandon this scheme, much the way that Wile E. Coyote, in the old Warner Brothers cartoons always tries a completely new scheme when the last one fails to provide instant gratification. Kris, the mom, then suggests that they go to a shooting range and learn to use pistols; however, after ten minutes the girls give up on this as well.

Not to be outdone in the stupidity department, the girls' brother and one's boyfriend come up with a hair-brained plan to disguise themselves as armed robbers in ski masks and stage a fake robbery in order to scare the girls into hiring a professional security service. It never occurs to them to try verbal persuasion or that it might be kindly of them to hire an hour of a security consultant's time and have him talk to Kim at no cost to her. Good thing the girls hadn't decided to acquire guns or they might have filled these two pranksters with lead. On the other hand, that might have been good for ratings.

Finally, has anyone asked whether or not the producers of "Deep Space 9" had this family in mind when they created the aliens known as the Cardassians? True, there is not much resemblance other than that the Kardashians do not seem to be of this world.

Was the above review useful to you?

52 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

what is this?

1/10
Author: rockorbe2002 from United States
23 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

what's up with this crap? i was watching a whole episode. that's right a WHOLE episode. it dawned on me. have TV producers and executives lost wits and ideas. they let any rich bratty family on TV and their fame lies on Kim's ass (which is not bad), their extravagance, and the fact that patriarch Robert kardashian bailed out o.j Simpson and i even found out, on wikipedia no less, that o.j is Kim's godfather. i guess crime does pay. but going back to the subject. this particular episode features the elder kardashian sister throwing a fit cause mommy doesn't show up for a shoot and on top calls mommy a bitch. now, in my days (and bear in mind, im in my 20's, about the same age as some of the kardashian brats) disrespecting your parents like that, even if your parents were wrong, you got a slap in the face. but what does mommy kardashian do? she sends bratty a feel-better bouquet. now WHAT THE HELL IS THAT? if that's not an indication of screwed-up parenting, then i don't know what it is. next episode had the other kardashian sister posing for Peta. it just shows that these girls have no talent whatsoever other than what puberty gave them and they got cash to fix that. otherwise, you all know who the government will be bailing out next. this show sucks, if you want reality, you'll be better watching Kim's porno flick, which i hear is way better than Paris Hilton's. way to go E! entertainment. you just sunk yourselves deeper into your own creative manure.

Was the above review useful to you?

66 out of 100 people found the following review useful:

The Guide to Parenting Not!

2/10
Author: (sylviastel@aol.com) from United States
15 January 2008

Remember Robert Kardashian, he was the attorney and best friend of O.J. Simpson? Of course, you do. Everybody remembers the dream team of the Simpson trial. Bobby's first wife, Kris, married Bruce Jenner and had two more children, Kylie and Kendal. Kris and Bobby were married for twelve years and produced four children-Robert Jr., Kourtney, Khloe, and Kim I believe. In this show which is produced by Ryan Seacrest, the blended family which includes Kris Jenner who is also producer of the show has quite a reality premise. When one of the girls discover that she's not pregnant, they rent a bus to take the family to Las Vegas where the Kardashian decides to marry her boyfriend. Of course, Kris has gone behind her husband's back to purchase a puppy and not to tell him while she's away with the girls. Their home life in Calabasas is quite luxurious because it's worth millions of dollars. There are touching moments like the tribute to their father, Robert Kardashian. Kris and Bruce have been married for 16 years. I think Kris should stop acting like a teenager and grow-up and wear more age-appropriate clothes. She must think that she's still a kid and has some immaturity. I don't think much of Jenner anymore. I used to have respect for him but it's deteriorating while watching this show.

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 63 people found the following review useful:

An experiment in how not to run a family

Author: JessPumpkQueen from United States
28 April 2009

I think everyone knows by now that reality television is not real. It was interesting news (I suppose) 15 years ago. I honestly don't understand why anyone cares anymore. With this in mind, I think it unfair to judge the real family based on what is seen. So when you see me make criticism, please note that I am criticizing the "characters" on the show, not the actual people. I don't know them, and for all we know, they could be lovely people.

This show is just another version of the Osbournes: spoiled "kids", a mother who clearly loves her kids but can't parent for crap, and a father whose given up all hope of ever having anyone recognize the value of his opinions. Bruce is a lot more like Dan Conner from Roseanne than he is Ozzy, but all three men seem to agree on one thing: the love of overbearing women. Disturbingly, in the likability contest, Roseanne seems to win out of the women picked. Scary thought, huh? Kris Jenner, as presented here, is a women who does seem to love her family. She is also one of the worst parents I have seen presented on a TV show in a long time. This is a women who harassed her daughter into posing naked for Playboy that clearly made her uncomfortable; a daughter who was trying to fight off the stigma of the sex tape. This is a women who gave out her daughter's private cellphone number in the middle of an argument because she criticized her (bad) management. This is a women who openly admits to living vicariously through her children (specifically in the Playboy episode).

The daughters are in their twenties, and are treated as if they were teenagers. Well, people rise to what is expected of them, so they act as such. Khloe's the only adult daughter that a normal person can relate to, and even she's a bit... scary. And then the two youngest children are pretty normal kids, but it disturbs me how often they are presented in an unflattering light. When they're in their twenties, are they really going to want to be remembered for playing on a stripper pole? Or mocking their sister? Or how about when the older one hit puberty, and they presented her as an angry little brat? Sure, that's how kids are at that age, but we should chalk at least SOME of that up to hormones and recognize that she's probably not going to want people to see her like that. When you're an adult, you get what you signed up for. When you're a child, someone needs to draw the line.

My other problem is that every episode has a adorable little moral and it's always pretty much the same: "I'll never take my family for granted again... Well, I mean I won't take them for granted again until next week". So they beat us over the head with a lesson that's never actually learned. At least when Full House did that, it was cute.

Is it entertaining? At times. But is it something I'd suggest to others? Not really, no.

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 67 people found the following review useful:

spoiled brats

Author: IrockGswift (IrockGswift@aol.com) from east orange, new jersey
13 March 2009

This show is incredibly annoying. Four sisters who try to step on each others toes for recognition. Now granted the sisters are beautiful but it's nerve wrecking to hear them argue about almost every little thing. Kim Kardashians is obvious the biggest star out the bunch based on her involvement with singer Ray J and starring in bad girlie movies. These girls has no talent and no respect for their mother's current husband Bruce Jenner. He tries to give his step-daughters his support by giving them a word of advice for what they're pursuing and they blow him off like yesterday's newspaper. Their mother Kris Jenner is trying to relive her youth based probably on her late ex-husband success and she's just as airy. The whole show is a waste of time unless you're into drama and chaos. The Kardashian women are beautiful to look at but make sure you take some Tylenol after watching this show.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history