IMDb > The Grudge 3 (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Grudge 3
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Grudge 3 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 65 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The Grudge 3 is a 3 out of 10

3/10
Author: mm-39 from Winnipeg
9 January 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Grudge 3 is a 3 out of 10. What did not work! The Grudge 3 played all the story lines out in the first 2. The story lines where dull, as seen it done it before. Being chased by spooky spirits over and over again! Flat movie characters. None of the characters are interesting. Build up dialogue is cumbersome creating no interest in the characters. Zero character development. The slow burn directing of the first two stories did not develop. The Grudge 3 jumps from sub story to sub story without any connection of story with the viewer. The Grudge 3 has this guy who is a jerk spells out that he will be a victim.. There was no ending to the story or explanation. Just crap happens and the cycle continues. 3 out of 10, only because there was some good special effects and a couple of scares. The Grudge makers ran with the money on this film. The only scare was actually watching part 3.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The Worst Of The Grudge Series

4/10
Author: David Arnold from United States
19 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After the events surrounding him & his family, Jake is committed to a psychiatric hospital under the care of Dr. Sullivan. When Jake's mysteriously killed in his cell, Sullivan investigates further by going to his old apartment, and it's here she meets Lisa, sister to Max, the building's super. Sullivan explains about Jake, and learns that Lisa and her 8-year-old sister, Rose, have both seen the same things Jake had making Sullivan realise there may be some truth to what he was saying. Meanwhile, Naoko, a young woman from Tokyo (and sister to Kayako), hears about the events in Chicago and decides to go. After meeting Lisa and hearing about the events in the building, she tries to convince Lisa what needs to be done, but get's brushed off. When Max starts to act strange & violent, though, Lisa goes along with Naoko's plan, but is it all too late? The Grudge 3 is not too bad of a movie and addition to the Grudge series. However, it's definitely not the best either. It's also the first Ju-on/Grudge film where Takashi Shimizu has not been the director, so whether that's added to it not being as good as the previous films, who knows. He did help script it, but even that couldn't save it from falling short of being an entertaining film.

This installment has a different feel to it as well like it's been taken away from a good creepy J-horror to a typical American slasher that just uses the Ju-on/Grudge name. This time around it's definitely not as creepy, there's more gore, and is actually quite boring in places. It's hard to see someone other than Takako Fuji playing the part of Kayako and while Aiko Horiuchi does a decent job, it just isn't the same. Also, the actor playing Toshio is a lot older & taller than the previous actors - Yuya Ozeki (Ju-on, Ju-on 2, and The Grudge) & Ohga Tanaka (Grudge 2) - so it's like Toshio has aged. These may seem like small issues, but it all adds up to making this installment an unfortunate let down.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Good till the Writer and Director gave up

4/10
Author: VxViper from United States
23 June 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The movie had some major flaws in comparison to the other Grudge movies. For starters, in the grudge films you don't see the ghosts grabbing people and snapping their necks like when Dr.Sullivan was killed by Kayako and in the beginning with Jake flying around the padded room. They would have just vanished and showed up someplace else. Overall the movie was OK, then towards the end the film took a big crap. Shame on the writers and director for giving up. What irked me the most was how towards the end Lisa one minute believes everything Naoko says, then at a crucial point decides she don't. Then at the end showing that a new curse was created was interesting, I just hope that there won't be another American grudge film. Take my advice Hollywood, leave the grudge films in Japan, as cheap as they may seem, they are 1000X better than what your doing to them, but if you insist on making more, have Takashi Shimizu direct them instead of just writing a little for it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Watchable, but nothing more.

Author: Prolox from Canada
19 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In yet another addition to the GRUDGE series, more people fall prey to those pesky entities that refuse to stay dead, this time however it's set at the same apartment last seen in THE GRUDGE 2 & the targets are the apartments owners. When a young Japanise girl travels from Japan to America, she attempts to warn them of this terrifying evil before the curse brought on by the violent murders of the ghosts, spreads even further claiming their lives as well & when a psychiatrist of the young boy who survived his families massacre at the end of the last movie gets involved, the stage is set for yet another battle between the supernatural & the living. I'll be honest, I was never really a fan of this series to begin with, I saw & hated the original GRUDGE & although GRUDGE 2 made up for it's lame predecessor, it still lacked that special something that should have or could have, made it extra scary. The same holds true for this third installment to the series, while the acting & directing are up to par & the films many deaths well done & creepy, the film never reaches the creepy potential it's foreign predecessors did. Again we get lots of white pasty faced ghosts that sound like they have a bad case of bone breaking arthritis & cat like screams, though at this point this series is starting to repeat itself, the film offers nothing new, nor has it any new twists to help it rise above it's sequel. Gone is the creepy atmosphere of the first two & it's characters are none to likable either. All in all the film is still much better than the boring first film, but lacks the atmosphere & plot twists of it's sequel, making this film a good watch but nothing more. In an age of re-boots/re-imaginings (two fancy new words for remakes) this is one series that could benefit from it.

*** stars

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

not what I expected

5/10
Author: Aidonian from Belgium
16 February 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

having seen the first two Grudge movies, which I liked, I thought this would be a great addition to it. I was wrong. The movements of Kayako in the first two were strange and scary, but here, in the third film, it is downright funny at times than scary. With the exception when she crawls out of a painting. What we don't see here, like in the first two films, is when she grabs people. In the first two, she grabs people and somehow they become part of the curse as shown in the second movie. Here, Kayako becomes a kind of slasher ghost, which doesn't work at all. Characters; run of the mill, kind of what you expect in horror movies. Nothing noteworthy about it with the exception of Shawnee Smith - who seem to become a regular in horror movies and Marini Sirtis from Star Trek. Other than that, you don't feel anything for these characters. Plot, not that bad, at times they stretched it a bit.I can understand that the sister had a hard time believing Naoko when she told her about the curse, but when she agreed to do the ceremony, she stopped Naoko, because she didn't want her little sister to drink something? Please, her life was at stake, as that of her sister, you would think that she would let it end there. But no, she refused and enter possessed Max who goes after Naoko, killing her in a similar fashion as Kayako. The ending really sucked in my opinion. It's a classic let's bring the villain back once more so it could lead to another sequel. Sure, the other two movies had a similar ending, but those worked for it. Here it clearly doesn't. It was a cop out, a clichéd Hollywood ending for a horror movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

More of the same

5/10
Author: mdarmocida from United States
1 February 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Slightly better than the Grudge 2 but it's more of the same stuff. If you've seen the Grudge before then don't expect to be surprised. The only good thing is the opening scene and that all three movies are connected (a continuation of the same story). Grudge 3 sets it's fury on the Chicago apartment building where the Grudge2 left off. So if you want to see what happens after the point that the Grudge2 ended then this will give you that closure.The first movie was new, I'm now finding this storyline as old and tiresome.

***SPOILER**** As in all the Grudge movies the door is left open at the end so don't expect complete closure unless there's a Grudge4.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

kill this movie

6/10
Author: kai ringler from United States
23 September 2009

don't know what i wanna attack first,, this one was so well off,, from the first two. you didn't have the fear of what lies beyond,, not knowing what is in front of you like the first two. the kills were too stylized, should have never set it in chicago.. the couple always wanted to have sex in the apartment building ruined it for me,, just another campy American horror movie. i dind't really care for the characters that much,, this film just really did not sit well with me at all,, i mean the storyline wasn't bad,, i just think that somewhere along the line things just went horribly wrong,, i think that i really wouldn't recommend this one if you like the first two.

Was the above review useful to you?

This is not a grudge !!!

4/10
Author: Fanis Patras from Greece
29 August 2015

Takashi Shimizu absence as director and Takako Fuji as the Kayoko are enough to make someone believe that this movie is not considered as a grudge anymore !! The story is not completely sucks as we see Kayoko sister this time Naoko (Emi Ikehata) who tries to prevent her sister from hurting people and stop the curse once and for all. In this effort she encounter a family that has the bad luck to live in the same building as Jake in second movie and the story starts !! Although this movie lacking of directing as the time-line mash-up has stopped, the scares are predictable and not in the slightest frightening and the most important the whole chilling atmosphere of the previous movies has disappeared !! Also Toshio seems too old in this sequel like a teenager and this also decreases the creepy factor. Furthermore the acting is average except Shawnee Smith as Dr. Sullivan, who makes a great performance. To sum up this movie is fun to watch if you don't expect very much from it but if you are a grudge-horror-fan it will be wise to skip it !!

Was the above review useful to you?

meh,,,

5/10
Author: sam ramzy from London, England
7 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK,I loved the 1st movie and unlike others i liked the 2nd movie as well, in fact when i watched part 2, it gave me nightmares for days. Part 3, i had mixed feelings towards this movie, yeah yeah it had its moments, but when you finish watching the movie you'll have this question on min ''why??', why did they decide to make a part 3?? The movie didn't add anything new to the mix, its like seen that, done that, the only new or semi new thing is that the curse is in the USA instead of Japan and thats it. As for the ''scary'' part, you have seen it all, no efforts were made to create something new or makes you jump out of your seat. As for the ending I was like oh nooooooooooo, it was bad, really bad, as if we need another squeal, although i predicted such an ending, the funny thing is while watching the movie i told my sister the curse never dies, because they need to make a dozen more sequels. But on the other hand, this movie is one of these corny movies that you watch to have fun, its fun to watch, has its scary moments, and an OK acting, they should stop making any new sequels unless they have something new tp add because right now this movie is so predictable. bottom line: - watch it for the fun of it, but don't expect to see anything that makes u go OH WOW, or HOLY TUNA.....

Was the above review useful to you?

A comedy that never quite figured itself out.(This contains spoilers, lots.)

4/10
Author: lavalover1980
26 March 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is one of those movies that sucks so bad, you cant help but laugh.

Maybe it is from the lack of sleep, or maybe we are just weird, but this movie is just plain hilarious. From the little boy that pets a little girl, to the random flinging of a body at the walls. This movie is just weird. It focus around the stupidity of us Americans. We have turned a shrouded murder victim that murders people out of revenge, to a woman that has been dipped in glue and flour mixed together dancing robot style down the hall at a screaming shrink. Wow, it was funny. This is the Scary Movie version of the grudge 2! This movie is pointless, but funny as heck if you are in the right mood. It is corny, cheesy, and pretty much an insult to what was the grudge. This is not grudge, this is an annoying friend who is really creepy and wont leave you alone.

Don't watch it or you will laugh so hard, people will send you to the REAL grudge to get scared. Not worth your time unless you are high,giggly, or just in the mood to make fun of things. If you see hand prints that looks like they were done by a sponge following you around your house, don't kick it. It is a little boy that looks like his mother and wants a sick little girl for a pet.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history