IMDb > Major Movie Star (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Major Movie Star
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Major Movie Star More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 13 reviews in total 

32 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Predictable popcorn movie

6/10
Author: bugzsiegel04 from United States
1 July 2008

This role is not a stretch for Ms. Simpson..she plays a down on her luck movie star who joins the army after a rough night and a bad breakup. The first twenty minutes of the movie are painful but it picks up once our main character joins the army. Cheri Oteri really shines in the film and she has some of the funniest scenes in the film. Keiko Agena, formerly of the Gilmore Girls, is totally under utilized and her comic potential is still untapped. Overall, this is predictable comedy that seems like a bad remake of "Private Benjamin". In fact, if you want to see a funny film about a rich spoiled girl who joins the army you are better off with Goldie Hawn's classic 80's film than this cheesy flick.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

It's not that serious

6/10
Author: nya_m25 from United States
28 December 2009

I don't quite understand why people get bent out of shape over this movie. If you go in thinking that it's going to be an accurate portrayal of the armed forces then you're just as dumb as you claim everyone in this movie to be. Come on people, it's a light hearted MOVIE. Last I checked in no way was this ever billed as anything other than what this movie is.

I am neither here nor there on any of Jessica's career moves but she played this bubbly character well. Whether that may be her playing a role or just being herself, may I ask the naysayers, why in the world do you care enough to be upset? It was not your job or duty to watch this movie so the choice to even consider watching the movie was all personal choice. But yet she's stupid and you bash her for the choice you made. The bottom line is simple, if you dislike her, if you're a gungho armed forces member, if you're all out bitter and pessimistic about everything then don't watch the movie. Don't be mad at the movie or actors because you chose to sit through an hour and a half of something you probably didn't care for to begin with.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Cute movie!

6/10
Author: Ana Kephra from Brazil
15 January 2010

While completely inaccurate in all the army experience Private Valentine shows, this is a cute and light hearted movie, good for watching with your girlfriends in a sleepover or with your family in a pleasant afternoon.

Not a movie to laugh out loud, not a movie with a romance to take your breath away, this is the kind of movie that makes you go "awwww, how sweet". Which for me, is perfect!

The acting is good, the storyline is okay and it actually surprised my expectations considering the title, the cover and the casting. It was particularly good to see Keiko Agena again, I missed her after Gilmore Girls!

I recommend it to anyone who is not expecting a cinema masterpiece in every movie they watch, or who is easily offended by how movies don't show reality exactly the way it is. You might have a good time watching it!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

"Light and fluffy..."

Author: Blueghost from The San Francisco Bay Area
22 March 2009

I grabbed the DVD off of the local Blockbuster new release shelf. One shouldn't judge a book (or film) by the DVD cover, but I guess I'm a sucker for a hot-blonde in military uniform. I knew not to expect too much of it, and, well, that's kind of what the viewer got, but there was a bit more here than meets the eye.

Years back when Goldie Hawn did Private Benjamin there was a lot of hype about the comic and comedic overtones of "Private Benjamin". But, it turned out to be a serious film with humor sprinkled in here and there. "Private Benjamin" was funny, but it wasn't light entertainment. It had some social commentary and other messages to convey to the audience. In this regard I was personally let down by "Private Benjamin", although I understand it as a quality film, and appreciate it as such.

"Private Valentine", on the other hand, is cut from a different cloth. It takes the Goldie Hawn film, removes the heavy undercurrent meat and replaces it with a light frothy soufflé. Jessica Simpson doesn't play the heavily laden woman nearing a conjuncture in her life, and is taken in by a more than slick military ad campaign. Simpson's character starts off as a lightweight star who wants to be taken seriously, but is not given the opportunity because of both the roles she's given, and the deeper reason of why she's given said roles. It takes Uncle Sam to turn her into "An army of one", so to speak. And a one-woman wrecking crew she becomes.

Unlike Private Benjamin, the Cold War is over, so there's no "Red menace" and/or scare to play off of. The sexual tension in this film is kept light and romantic, as opposed to the expose on abuse that Hawn's film portrayed. In short, it's light entertainment. "Private Valentine" is meant to be nothing more than that.

Having said this, and having a loose and tacit respect for this film, I do admit that it could have been executed better, particularly in the first act. The beginning of the film seems cobbled together, and not thoroughly vetted as it could have been. The whole movie seems to have been a bargain production, though not quite as low as a B-movie extravaganza. As such the exposition and staging are somewhat restrained.

Jessica Simpson herself is actually quite good in this role. In fact, everyone does a good job, but I was particularly impressed with Simpson's acting ability, and this comment comes from a man who is not one of her fans. There was no heavy emoting to be doe here, but Simpson did show us a diverse set of acting abilities. If the directing had been tightened up a little, then this film, Simpson included, could have really shined and exceeded all expectations.

As it stands now it's just light entertainment. Don't expect a remake of "Private Benjamin", because it really isn't. It takes the premise of that film, and, in a sense, turns it on its head to create something mildly enjoyable, and not overly wrought with social commentary, drama and character angst.

Not a great film, but then it was never meant to be one. Just something to watch on a lazy Sunday afternoon. If you go in not expecting too much, then you should be okay with it. The only warning I'd give is that it's a proverbial chick-flick. So, to my fellow testosterone comrades, try not to be overly critical of it.

Give it a shot.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Not a bad movie at all! I love it.

8/10
Author: Hunky Stud from China
28 January 2010

I am surprised about this low rating for this movie. Well, i loved it myself.

First of all, you know that this is a comedy, so you shouldn't take everything so seriously. They may act silly and childish, but it was all for good fun.

Second, the casting is good, especially between Jessica Simpson and Ryan Sypek. Those two certainly have some good chemistry, they used their eyes to flirt with each other.

Third, some of the musical score were good. One particular piece was when they were eating the chocolate bars.

Unlike some comedies which are full of overt gross sexual content, this movie is clean. And I can definitely watch it for a second time. Too bad, it is unlikely that they are going to make a sequel. I myself would love to see what Valentine and Sergeant Evans do in the next movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Predictable, easygoing comedy

5/10
Author: gridoon2014
29 May 2009

I have to admit that I was drawn to "Major Movie Star" AKA "Private Valentine" mostly for the chance of seeing Jessica Simpson's fit body in a military uniform. The film itself is a predictable but painless affair. There are the expected "fish out of water" gags, the expected "rivalries that turn to friendships", and the expected "life lessons". Few of the gags show any notable wit. The film also feels prolonged, and is less raunchy than I would have preferred (some catfights are teased....but never occur). Jessica Simpson is probably one of the best things in the film. She often looks radiant, and has a million dollar smile. Of course she's basically playing herself, so no great acting stretches there! In the supporting cast, two women stand out: Olesya Rulin, who makes her nerdy character genuinely likable, and Cheri Oteri, as the toughest of the new recruits (she was actually a former sergeant who left the army but regretted it). For a comedy that's so predictable and tame, this one passes the time easily enough. ** out of 4.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Sincerely Entertaining

8/10
Author: browry07 from United States
3 February 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I will start off by saying that I have been a fan of Jessica Simpson since 1999. That being said, I was more impressed with this movie than Blonde Ambition. This movie was never made to be a blockbuster hit, but it succeeds at being entertaining for the duration. Jessica is funny in this movie and has perfect co-stars, including Ryan Sypek. After the movie, I was upset only because I know there is no chance of a sequel, even though I'd LOVE one. I think the connection between Jessica and Ryan is movie worthy--and personally a take-off or sequel with the two of them would be fun. I really suggest everyone give this movie a shot--just don't expect Oscar material--expect to be entertained as you eat some popcorn:)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Funny spoof.

8/10
Author: steel_indigo from United States
5 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There is room for a movie like this and this one is not the only movie since "Private Benjamin" that has a topic like this. Jessica Simpson is good in light comedic movies. I'm sure she would like to do something serious but this appears to be her niche at the moment. I know people think she is dumb but in all actuality I think that was a publicity hype. I remember her way back when she still had weight problems and was first emerging into the singing arena. I saw her on interviews and she is anything but stupid. She was great in this movie. The addition of Ryan Sypek as a subtle romance interest was well done.

I enjoyed this movie a lot. The military was a background but no rational adult would look for accuracy in this type of movie and especially since it was one that went straight to sales. I didn't find it but watched it on television and was highly entertained. If you just want something to pass the time with good scenes and comedic acting, watch this movie. It would never win awards but some of the movies made are purely for entertainment value and not to win awards and this is that kind of movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

decent

8/10
Author: mattkratz (themattk@hotmail.com) from Richardson, TX
24 February 2010

OK, I'll admit, I found myself thinking of "Private Benjamin" with Goldie Hawn when I saw this movie on the shelf at Blockbuster. I rented it on a whim, though, with a free coupon, and I'm glad I did. I thought the movie was really hilarious. Jessica Simpson's character is a spoiled movie actress who suddenly finds herself down on her luck when her movie bombs, her boyfriend turns out to be gay, and her accountant has been robbing her blind. The last straw comes when she crashes her car, and she winds up in front of an army recruitment office. She joins on a whim, expecting star treatment, and gets far from it. She winds up getting a real wakeup call, including the usual "sabotage scene" and distrust parts throughout. You might like this movie if you like the stars and comedy movies. I did. It features the motif of a character maturing, and she does.

** 1/2 out of ****

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Better than I thought it would be!

7/10
Author: littlemssvixen from Belgium
14 March 2009

I started watching this movie with low expectations. But as I was watching I was really surprised. Jessica Simpsons acting was not at all bad! Shure it's a typical bubbly comedy, but what do you expect before watching it?! Besides if the movie would go any differently, people would be complaining anyway, because they would want a typical happy ending! I myself kinda have to admit, I love movies like this :D! Normally I'm not that big of a fan op jessica's performance in movies, but she really did good in this one. So for all the fans of romantic fun bubbly comedy's, this is one to watch :D(ps: hottie included...;)!)xxx

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history