IMDb > Asylum Blackout (2011/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Incident
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Asylum Blackout More at IMDbPro »The Incident (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 24 reviews in total 

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Solid and Entertaining Movie, With One Exception

7/10
Author: eckmanmj-1 from United States
20 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My wife and I just watched Asylum Blackout (or The Incident...which one is it) last night and I have to say, we mostly enjoyed this movie. At one point, shortly after the blackout (this isn't a spoiler since its in the name) we both agreed that this movie was doing a real good job at showing what it might be like to be trapped inside a building with the criminally insane and having no power.

The look, feel, setting, and plot to this movie are all well done. Even the acting, especially the performance of the main character George, done by Rupert Evans, is very good. George is a likable character that I could easily sympathize with. He's a struggling musician working a crummy job trying to make ends meet with people who are less than motivated. When things start to go badly, George's decisions don't follow the typical 'forehead slappers' that often happen in movies like this. He makes logical decisions regarding his survival and doesn't fall victim to many of the typical clichés you see in type type of movie.

There is a lot of gore in this movie, which some may interpret as a horror movie, but I wouldn't go as far as to say this is straight up horror. Its more like a "terror/thriller". If you can inject yourself into the characters and imagine what it would be like to be in their situation, it would be scary as he**. This, by far is the biggest asset to this movie.

Sadly, as with many movies of this type, there is a twist. I wont tell you what it is, but the twist didn't work for my wife and I. Reading through the other reviews for this movie, I am not alone.

Frankly, had this movie been as simple as "four guys get trapped in a mental hospital with no power", that would have been a very good movie. Instead, the filmmakers tried to add depth to the story by including twists, that simply did not need to be there.

I am actually getting sick and tired of movies with twists in them. M. Night Shyamalan did a good job early in his career with the twist ending, but come on people, sometimes a cigar is just a cigar!

Asylum Blackout is a good movie, with a good plot, a creepy setting, good acting, and lots of gore, but the filmmakers tried to make it into something that didn't, and by the end of the movie, I found myself frustrated and disappointed. I recommend seeing it, if only for the first 90% of the movie.

If any aspiring filmmakers read this review, please understand that not ever movie needs a twist or some type of profound deeper meaning to be revealed at the end. If you want to make a scary movie, make a scary movie and focus on the scares and be done with it! People will still enjoy your movie! Movies with twists have become so common these days, that I think a good twist ending to a movie would be no twist at all!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Only 5 out of 10 stars?!?!

8/10
Author: dadicer from United States
8 October 2012

You guys are way too critical.

I was watching this expecting it to be another run of the mill low budget flick, especially with the rating which almost convinced me not to watch it at all.

Any movie that has you really thinking about it after its over is way better than the fluff I have seen come out recently and this one had me pondering the ending over and over.

IMDb should start having some categories based on genre that can be rated so the ratings are not so lump sum weighted.

Anyway anybody looking for a good weekend movie this one is worth a watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Meh..Average Horror yarn

6/10
Author: Jon Doe from yourhdd
8 May 2012

I just finished watching Asylum Blackout. After seeing the IMDb rating I have to say I was expecting a lot more then what I got. I mean we had an Asylum with inmates on the loose, decent acting and production, how could this go wrong?

I don't know, but the movie just didn't do it for me. Some call it torture porn, whatever its called a bunch of people torturing other people just isn't enough to carry a storyline anymore. Maybe for some, but not for a seasoned horror fan like myself.

That doesn't make it a bad movie though, quite the contrary. This movie will find its audience and its good and high quality for what it is. It has some good gore and some sadistic scenes, but to me it lacks rhyme and/or reason. I guess some could argue that its in an asylum with a bunch of nuts and there doesn't have to be rhyme or reason, but I disagree as this is still a movie. There should have been some side stories, something to keep the audience involved and interested, but there wasn't and the so called twist? Ill just say unfortunately it fell short with me.

6/10 stars. Great acting, Great production, decent gory shots, but a weak script and sad storyline with not much going on besides.

I would recommend this movie to those who like a good torture porn flick.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Simply there

5/10
Author: movieman_kev from United States
12 January 2013

Two aspiring musicians whom are working as cooks in a secluded mental asylum to make ends meet and to further finance their dead-end dream job are in the aforementioned hospital when the power goes out and the patients revolt, leaving the cooks and rest of the workers to fight for their lives.

Apart from some brutal scenes the movie seemed a tad on the tame side considering a promising set-up premise. The acting is merely serviceable for the most part but the main heavy is well-acted and steals every scene he's in. The film also boasts a lame twist ending that was unneeded. All in all I was just left with a Meh feeling, Not good enough to praise nor awful enough to mock. It just... Is.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Creepy twisted good time & great addition to the genre

8/10
Author: J. Davis (horrorsession@gmail.com) from USA
5 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie was a special treat for me, something I was waiting for that was totally original with good tension, good gore, great atmosphere, and great acting by the lead character George, the cook at a lock down facility for the criminally insane. He works there with a few buds in the kitchen area preparing the meals. As you probably know everything goes tits up during an electrical storm & every nut is loose leaving little or no place to hide and they give us just enough background for us to really be pulling for these guys to make it out in one uncooked piece. I had quite a bit of fun too as my sick humor was in full engagement.

Although it was a great film it chose to do what many films in this genre do, leave a spacey surreal ending that I believe some people may interpret in the wrong way. There is no twist in the end, just a case of PTSD. I fully recommend it to any horror fan because this is one of those films that carries with it a fresh breathe of air dearly needed in the genre & you just can't beat the level of insanity. Horror fans should check it out asap!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I really wanted to enjoy this

2/10
Author: nightwatch4773 from Canada
13 April 2013

I just love films set in a dilapidated derelict insane asylums/prisons. In 2001 Session 9 just creeped me into session 10. In 2008 Finland gave us an interesting offering with Skeleton Crew and a year later Afterdark brought us Asylum which was a little funny but none the less scary. So when I finally got my hands on this one I was very excited. The excitement lasted 5 minutes....... The acting was awful by the main group of protagonists and for such a large facility why the hell were there only 2 or 3 security guards. Add to this temerity that an insane asylum for hardened criminals doesn't have a back up power supply for I don't know MAYBE a power outage. Wow it was all so over the top and than add in that the cops don't show up until the end........Come on here guys!!!! a beautiful haunting setting put to waste by lazy film making.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Cringe worthy solid horror effort on a shoe string budget

7/10
Author: Robert W. (Robert_duder@hotmail.com) from Ontario, Canada
11 January 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I had very little expectations for this film. I have seen a ton of low budget horror the last little while and most of it is just awful. The concept for this film is intriguing and with a big budget could be really interested. Imagine if the Saw guys got a hold of this sort of concept? So I was pleasantly surprised (and disturbed) that this actually turned out to be a solid horror flick. They attempt to introduce a few of the characters and then the storm makes all the rest come crashing down. The single only issue with the film I thought was that the character development was weak in a lot of ways. I think they could have done this so much better had we seen a specific and well developed group of the inmates that we feared and understood. In this case, the inmates are all faceless and insane so we don't get one or two clear villains. We also really only get one hero that we get to know. Still the violence is brutal and will certainly make you cringe. The dark and gritty setting of the Asylum is well done especially given the low budget they were dealing with. I was thoroughly impressed with how we see the deterioration of the mental states of the victims as they try to deal with this situation they are in.

Rupert Evans is our main protagonist. He does a great job with only a little character development. They sort of force the concept that he has a beautiful woman at home that loves him and he seems like he's sort of at an impasse with his career. You get to know him just enough to really care about him and understand the horror he is going through. I wish I could specifically talk about the rest of the cast because there are some very good and disturbing performances but none of them really stand out. They don't get any character depth at all and are simply there to serve one or two purposes which they do and they do well but you won't ever remember any of their specific characters. I thought they were going to really go somewhere with the character played by Kenny Doughty but the depth is just not there although he gives a great performance in a small supporting way.

If you can get past the lack of characters you'll really enjoy the rest of the movie for its story and gore and horror genre elements. Especially towards the end of the film you'll really see some really twisted kills and torture scenes but without being completely gratuitous. As with many indie films, especially horror ones, the director is a newcomer to the scene. Still I give Alexandre Courtes kudos because he knows the genre well and uses scenes to really get under your skin. The concept of how the film plays with your mind and really shows you the mental instability of Evan's character will appeal to those that like a really twisted story. I'm still not sure I entirely understand the ending of the film and yet I didn't hate the ending either. For a low budget horror film this was worth seeing and while it isn't perfect, it fills the quota well. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Better Than expected

6/10
Author: Rusty Fondleberg from Canada
7 December 2012

Found the movie on netflix so we decided to watch it. I had never heard of the film or any of the actors in it and the title gave me the assumption this film would be pretty bad. But i was delightfully mistaken.

it's Not great but for a low budget horror film its pretty darn good. it took a little long getting in but after that it had great pace and intensity. It had some very shocking and gory scenes but never really crossed the line.

some parts of the film don't make the most sense and leave you questioning what happened. but all in all the setting and the disturbed inmates made for a truly scary film. very good for what it was and better than a lot of big budget films out there. i would give it a view

******/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Asylum Blackout

7/10
Author: hobgoblinlol from Georgia
10 September 2012

One of the best horror movies i've seen lately. With great atmosphere and suspense. The set up is great and i really enjoyed the movie. It also contains some nice gore and other violent scenes along with some intense moments.

The idea is not entirely new, but it's rare and should be used more often. Inmates rioting in the asylum is a good idea for a movie and can be great if done right.

Watch this movie you'll enjoy it especially if you like insanity like me.

7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Lacking focus and unrealistic

4/10
Author: chaugnurfaugn-269-83012 from United Kingdom
14 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

An unrecognisable Rupert Evans and Kenny Doughty star as wannabe rockers consigned to the menial duties of cooks in an insane asylum in order to pay for life's necessities. When an electrical storm blows out the asylum's wiring the inmates are let loose and the cooks face a battle for survival.

What director Alexandre Courtès and writers S. Craig Zahler and Jérôme Fansten fail to understand in setting their plot premise is that asylums of this type simply do not exist. Violent and criminally insane inmates are held in secure units within prison establishments. And even if there were some kind of unique, stand-alone building for the containment of what must surely be (if the brutal shenanigans of the escaped lunatics is any measure) some of the most immeasurably psychotic human beings on the planet, there would be more than a dozen unarmed security personnel guarding them and contingencies in place to ensure any kind of riot situation would be immediately crushed.

When George and gang finally reach a telephone the cops insist it will be an hour at least before they can make a rescue. This is patently absurd. Not only would the cops be immediately en-route, making the asylum priority A1, they would be accompanied by SWAT and maybe even military. Immediately.

Moreover, even the highest level security wing of a prison would fail to provide such instant and unadulterated violence. Rioting prisoners tend to focus on the institution, banding together to damage property with, perhaps, a few grudges indulged and some skirmishing between prisoners. A complete blood-fest free-for-all, akin to a prison full of zombies rather than human beings, is what we get instead.

So there's a suspension of disbelief problem here, in no way shored up by the long winded prologue revealing George's musical ambitions, his life with girlfriend Lyn and the activities of his fellow band mates.

In short, this is an excuse to put a few 'victims' in a horrific situation then enact some cruel torture and imaginative killing.

The 'twist' at the end was a confusing addition, revealing this to be something more than just a gore-fest. Though quite why more was not made of this cross-genre attempt is hard to understand since it would have fleshed out and made interesting an otherwise one dimensional story.

Frankly, the final twist will be utterly lost on the kind of bloodthirsty bottom feeding gore-fan for whom this movie will hold the most appeal. And in the gore stakes it doesn't exactly go for broke beyond some creativity in how some of the characters are dispatched, so even the target demographic will be left somewhat disappointed.

I will award four points to this otherwise hopeless mess, however, for the acting skills of the main protagonists, not least Richard Bake's toothy grinned portrayal of Harry, a walking nightmare and a villain worthy of far greater exposure than he gets in Asylum Blackout.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history