IMDb > Invasion of the Pod People (2007) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Invasion of the Pod People (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 24 reviews in total 

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Worth your time if you pick it up cheap

3/10
Author: mikemdp from Connecticut
18 December 2011

Picked this up in a 10-movie pack for five bucks at K-Mart.

Is it classic sci-fi? No. Is it a very good movie? Hardly.

But I look at it this way: 50 cents for a flick about an alien ginger plant that turns mean girls into sex-starved, naked lesbians? Oh, yeah, K-Mart, here's my four bits. Can't buy me a Hershey bar for that anymore.

Gotta admit, I find a certain charm to The Asylum's "mockbuster" movies. They remind me of my childhood, when I'd read "Cinemagic" magazine and make my own "Star Wars" films on Super-8. Terrible, to be sure, but made with a modicum of love and reverence for the source material.

In rare cases, Asylum's movies are actually better than those they're aping. I'll take "Allan Quartermain and the Temple of Skulls" any day over the incomprehensible "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull." And while the first "Aliens Vs. Predator" was good in a comic book sort of way, "AVP: Requiem" didn't make a lick of sense. Asylum's "AVH: Alien Vs. Hunter," starring aged stoner William Katt, was far more enjoyable. And who'da thunk Asylum's martial arts version of "I Am Legend" -- titled "I Am Omega" and starring that dude from "Iron Chef" -- would be as charming as it is? Not me, brother. But it's now my second favorite version of the story, next to Vincent Price's classic "The Last Man on Earth."

For the record, I'm not some Asylum company suit posting fake positive reviews, and I acknowledge the vast majority of Asylum's output is crapola. I'm just some guy who appreciates bad movies, and The Asylum tends to make more of those than anyone else.

And as long as K-Mart keeps selling them for 50 cents, I'm gonna keep buying them.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

What?

1/10
Author: bernie-122 from Sydney, Australia
21 October 2007

Can you remember "Debbie Does Dallas"? Well, the acting in this one is almost as good. Remember "Plan 9 From Outer Space"? Well, at least Ed Wood managed to make it so bad it's good. No such luck here.

I wouldn't even want to slur first-year film school by comparing this to the efforts of any beginner.

If I had to guess, I'd say somebody bought a HD camcorder, invited all his friends around for the weekend and let's see what happens when you press and hold the red button.

David Latt seems to be in the business of churning out no-budget video productions with non-actors, negligible plots and spaceships-on-strings special effects.

I beseech you, do not dignify any of these by contemplating watching them. Go watch some paint dry, or a game of cricket. Oh, wait. Same thing.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Steal an Idea and Make It Worse...

2/10
Author: gavin6942 from United States
29 April 2013

After a meteor shower in California, Melissa feels that her co-workers and her boss Samantha that work in the agency owned by Vickland are acting differently after receiving a weird plant.

This film has terrible sound, weak visuals, abysmal acting. I cannot even say there was any direction involved. As for the story, how do the writers sleep at night claiming they wrote this? The story was already written (a few times)... all they had to do was steal the credit.

This sinks even below the low standards that The Asylum usually holds itself to. Rather than be released, it should have been just been erased and burned in a bonfire. They could not even do the soft-core scenes right (of which there are far too many).

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I can't believe this was actually released as a movie.

1/10
Author: markmarks
9 December 2012

I watched the whole of Invasion of the Pod People with low expectations. Asylum makes rip-offs. But I didn't expect it to be this bad.

In terms of content, I can't figure out what we were supposed to see. Clothed humping? Naked women caressing each other? The movie was labeled (in a ten-pack) as a sci-fi movie, however it has elements of horror and random sex scenes thrown in, presumably just to appeal to the adult audience in the most effort-free way possible.

From a technical perspective, this movie is bad. The video looks decent but it's almost completely devoid of special effects. The audio is horrible -- the models' main office sounds like it's located right next to a loud washing machine. (And you KNOW it's the main office because the girls have nowhere else to go when they need to talk.) In outside scenes, people's voices are occasionally overpowered by the wind.

The dialog is horrible. Often I had to rewind and listen to the dialog again just to see if it made as little sense as I thought:

Zach: "I'm here to warn you. 'Cuz if you don't warn other people, there'll be nobody, like you, left." Melissa: "who?" Zach: "them."

Gun shop owner: "Maybe you should think about a shotgun, it only shoots in four directions... north, south, east, and west."

The girls' competence wavers drastically. One girl cannot figure out long-standing relational problems she has that are more than obvious to the viewers, and her friends. However she has a Sherlockian moment when she is able to accurately predict more about the aliens than even the audience knows.

But as the movie progresses, I start to wonder how horrible the pod people are (besides their tendency to constantly repeat "we just want to help you"), versus the regular people in this story. Before their transformations the men are hyperactive, the women are snobbish and whiny. Afterwards, everybody is extremely kind and easygoing. The Pod People seem to resort to violence only when absolutely necessary, feeling that gentle, kind coercion is the best option -- not bad for a race that's attempting to take over Earth.

Honest to goodness, after I watched that movie, I yearned for everyone to be a Pod Person -- no hammy acting, no annoying voices, no screwy dialogue.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Invasion of The Invasion

Author: Michael_Elliott from Louisville, KY
1 June 2012

Invasion of the Pod People (2007)

** (out of 4)

The Asylum's "mockbuster" is a take on THE INVASION with Nicole Kidman, which of course was a remake of INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS. In the story a meteor hits the Earth and soon afterwards a woman begins to realize that everyone around here is acting weird. If you're seen the previous movies then you know what's going on. If you don't know the story then I'd recommend to stop reading this and go check out the original film with Kevin McCarthy. A lot of people attack The Asylum for their really bad movies that are usually void of any talent or imagination. I really understand because they've made some awful movies but there are times where I find their "work" to be interesting simply because as a film fan I'm interested in seeing their take on a familiar piece of work. Yes, they could try doing something "original" but why should they when these things keep making them money? This film works "best" the same way their I AM OMEGA did and that's that the source material is simply so good that it's hard to mess it up too bad. Yes, this film has an ultra cheap budget and yes the story is a rip-off and yes the performances aren't that good but I think the central story is interesting enough to where the film kept me slightly entertained in a cheap, "B" movie way. There are some updated elements here, which are pretty funny and the biggest seems to be the fact that the female pop people all turn into lesbians. This here leads to some rather erotic sex scenes where new women are "taught" new things. Again, this movie is cheap on every level so it's clearly just going to be for those looking for some very light entertainment. I think this type of thing slightly worked for me because I enjoy bad movies and I can't help but compare this to the countless rip-offs that hit drive-ins after the original INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS was released.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I'll give some credit, Invasion of the Pod People is not among The Asylum's worst

2/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
23 September 2012

In all honesty though that is not saying all that much. It is better than the likes of 2012: Doomsday, Alien Origin, Titanic II, Transmorphers, AVH: Alien vs. Hunter, Death Racers, War of the Worlds 2 and Universal Soldiers, but it is nowhere near tolerable(of the Asylum's movies I've seen so far their best has been I Am Omega, which was only on the decently-average side). Eric Roby is decent, but his performance is the only asset that is that. The special effects are thankfully at least not overused but they are still very artificial looking, but the dark unfocused lighting and the hopelessly choppy editing were what cheapened the film visually. The music is forgettable and repetitive, while the sound effects were even worse, there is far too much muddied noise in the background in every scene that sometimes the dialogue is incoherent. And speaking of the dialogue, it's no great shakes either, very cheesy and lacking any kind of flow, while the story is thin and predictable with scenes that either drag on or abruptly end. The characters are ones you don't learn anything about and also get on your nerves, and the rest of the acting shows no charisma or inspired line delivery whatsoever. The ladies are hot but their talent ends there. So in conclusion, really bad but The Asylum have done much worse. 2/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

"Invasion of the Asylum rip-off's"

Author: Prolox from Canada
12 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In this awful rip-off of INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS 1978, an up & coming rep for a modelling agency named Melissa, discovers her friends & co-workers are not being themselves & soon comes to the awful truth that they have all been taken over by alien duplicates, hatched from a plant given to each of them by their boss. With no one to trust & with time running out, Melissa teams with a detective to try & prevent the aliens from taking over. You know INVASION OF THE POD PEOPLE really shocked me, why? because it was produced by the ASYLUM, a company that specializes in really cheap looking, dull, badly acted & directed genre efforts, that rip-off much better made Hollywood produced features, in fact I'm surprised they are able to get away with any of it, without being sued, but that's not what shocked me, it was the fact that the production company has ripped-off a film over thirty years old, instead of something current! The film was obviously made to capitalize on the success of INVASION (INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS remake with DANIEL CRAIG & NICOLE KIDMAN) but was obviously so terrible, no one wanted to release it until now & when some of the production companies worst films can get a direct to DVD release & this one can't, you know how bad it is. The film's acting is completely inexcusable, none of these people could act their way out of a wet paper bag & their characters couldn't be less interesting, all the females here talk about is their love lives. The audio is extremely poor, I've made home movies when I was eight that had better dialogue recording than this! The direction by JUSTIN JONES makes ED WOOD seem like STEVEN SPIELBERG & the film has no suspense, no tension & no scares. It's story is bland, it's ending predictable & to top it all off, the film I saw was thankfully brief (but not brief enough, considering how bad it is) 83 minutes & is dubbed "the unrated version" I'm assuming the only thing added to this unrated cut, is the numerous scenes of gratuitous sex & nudity to try & help sell it's original version. In fact, the film is exactly the way all the INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS movies would look if they were helmed by a porno director. The supposed "changes" the taken over hosts go through, is not as soulless as those seen in the INVASION series, in fact, all the changes do, is make the duplicate act differently, if they were nice when alive, their evil now & if they were mean when they were alive, their all really nice people & the host doesn't have to fall asleep in order for the duplicate to come, they just have to cut their finger on the ugly looking plant & what's stupider, is the fact that the "invasion" is only occurring amongst the group of representatives at this modelling agency. Heck even the squealing noise the duplicates made in the 1978 version as well as the birth of the duplicates is ripped off the INVASION series! All in all, this is a worthless piece of tripe that you must avoid, even if you are up for another alien talking over a human host film, rent INVADER FROM MARS or any one of the four versions of INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS, since they are way better than this crap. When the films credits rolled it did however make me wish for an alien invasion to actually happen, can you imagine if alien pods from space duplicated all the production personnel at the ASYLUM & instead of making really bad, cheap looking productions, full of bad acting, directing & boring stories, they instead started making really good, fun B movies worth watching? Pretty cool idea huh?

* star

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Stylish but short

7/10
Author: TdSmth5 from US
25 September 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is Asylum's most stylish movie so far but the coloring is just a little too stale, near the end the main actress looks greenish. The filming or editing here is too episodic instead of linear or continuous. Every scene is faded in and out. I'm not crazy about the excessive close-up shots. With a cast this attractive and dressed this nice, fully body shots would help. The sound, too, is improved except in outdoor shots where the wind gets in the way or in some rooms where the HVAC is noisy. The story itself is somewhat abbreviated, which is surprising. Some Asylum movies make up for the lack of effects with a solid script. We don't get enough time with the cast to get to know them or get to like them, which makes us indifferent to their fate. The ending is somewhat surprising but again, we are missing story here that would shed some light on the pod beings. In turn, the effect of such a bare bones script is that it ads a feel of strangeness to the movie which fits well with the idea of alien creatures. I take it they had little budget so there is no entire transformation scene. There should have been at least one, preferable with a nude female emerging from her plant. The one similar scene has no nudity though! While there is some mild nudity here and an all-girl threesome, it's nothing too explicit or shocking, as some reviewers here claim whose standard of "decency" is apparently Disney approved or they've never seen "music" videos. In fact, the erotic scenes lack some eroticism as if the director doesn't appreciate what he could have done or is just not interested in such things and is trying to get it over with. I appreciate Asylum including more nudity in their movies, it makes these movies more enjoyable, and after all they are a B-movie company. The cast does a good job here. Erica Roby is excellent as always and it's a pleasure to see her- she's such a beauty. There is also some good acting by the supporting cast. This movie should have deserved more money, time and effort by Asylum. It's still a very enjoyable little flick.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Awful Rip-off of "Invasion of the Body Snatchers"

2/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 November 2008

After a meteor shower in California, Melissa (Erica Roby) feels that her co-workers and her boss Samantha (Jessica Bork) that work in the agency owned by Vickland (Michael Tower) are acting differently after receiving a weird plant. She shares her fears with her colleague Billie (Danae Nason) and with Detective Alexander (Marat Glaer) that are the only persons that she can trust.

"Invasion of the Pod People" is another remake of the classic "Invasion of the Body Snatchers", actually an awful rip-off. Erica Roby is the best in this flick, showing he lovely breasts and naked body and having a good performance with the poor script. This sci-fi – horror movie is so bad that the best scene is the lesbian party promoted by Samantha, especially when she seduces Melissa. The actors have lame performances in this forgettable crap. My vote is two.

Title (Brazil): "Devoradores de Almas" ("Souls Devours")

Was the above review useful to you?

Pod Invasion? More like Pod Amazin!

10/10
Author: agustcalabro from United States
11 June 2015

I don't know what movie these other yoo-hoos were watching, but this film is cinematic gold. Storyline is flawless, acting is top notch, and production value is through the roof. Truly one of the great films of 2007, I would highly recommend to any serious movie enthusiasts. Grab your popcorn, a box of tissues, maybe even a clean pair of underoos, and strap yourself in for one wild ride, start to finish. I expect big things from this director coming down the pipeline. Titanic. Lawerence of Arabia. Avatar. Invasion of the Pod People. Mark my words people, this flick is a nonstop thrill ride. Spoiler alert, fast forward to 42 minutes for some frontal nudity and heavy petting. If you're in to that kind of thing.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history