IMDb > Star Wars: The Force Unleashed (2008) (VG) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed (VG) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

18 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

worth it

10/10
Author: lilacwinejunkie from United States
29 December 2008

General over view:

cons: the game is too short problems with the camera for some its too easy to beat

Pros: The game is beautiful - fantastic art. the music is awesome..and of course familiar. The acting is great. In particular the lead actors- The Apprentice, Juno, Proxy, Maris and Kota. The way their images were used in the animation was cool. The performances they all gave were great...also the voice actors for the smaller roles, I thought were good too.

The story is great too. There was a lot to fit in, and I didn't think they would make it work, but they did. I was happy with what they created and how it all tied together.

I think the main problem was over-hype. The game is great- it just was slightly less amazing than the initial hype lead everyone to believe. I don't know how they could have made everyone happy - but I think this worked for the majority of the masses. I know I enjoyed it and almost all of my friends felt the same way.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Let the force flow through you

8/10
Author: repo_jake-1 from United Kingdom
26 September 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Well here it is! PS3 Played version

I was surprisingly impressed with what I played! There straight off - its a good game! Now why - well please read on!

To start off with - the era. The untapped era between episodes 3 & 4! Its great. Its in a very dark time when the Empire is expanding and conquering. It tells the story of Darth Vaders secret apprentice - known only as 'Starkiller'. Most star wars fans will know the irony of that name - it being the original screenplay name for 'Skywalker', before Lucas changed it. - No starkiller is not related to Vader before anyone thinks it - its just a cool in-gag! Starkiller is a powerful force user, corrupted and sworn to Vader, in the hopes that Vader and his apprentice will overthrow the Emporer. But Starkiller must be kept secret and allow no one to know of his existence. So basically anyone sees you alive - must die!

Whats great is the story. OK most of the story. There are let downs and I think the writers did forget to watch 'A New Hope' to tie some of it together! But on the whole its OK. The story of Starkiller hunting Jedi is quite simple, but where it gets interesting is the point where 'you decide your own destiny' - especially with the Sith betraying one another. Are you working for Vader, for yourself? Who's side are you on, who are you manipulating etc. Its great - I was never sure if it was all Starkillers own masterplan for himself against Vader and the emporer, was he legit, was he working for Vader!? Its great, with excellent cutscenes. Some parts players may seem far fetched and a bit of a let down with key characters, especially when the game ends. Your left thinking, "ok, that doesn't make sense, or wtf!?" There are a few of these moments in there, but enjoy. The Star Destroyer force level is great - albeit it could of been explained a little better - as I wasn't sure where I was going with it the first time round!

Story 8/10 Vader discovers a boy with an incredible connection to the force. Secretly taking him into his charge, Vader trains the boy in the darkside of the force. Years later, Vader sends his apprentice 'starkiller' to hunt and destroy surviving members of the Jedi Knights. Starkillers loyalties are divided for his feelings for his pilot 'Juno Eclipse', and his new friends. The Rebel Alliance is beginning to be born and Starkiller must decide where his fate lays - with the treacherous Sith or the growing band of freedom fighter, and the last of the Jedi.

Graphics 9/10 Awesome. Really made excellent use of the next gen abilities. The levels are alive. Your character looks amazing. The saber looks great, the cutscenes are fantastic. The destructive environments are cool.

Sounds 10/10 Perfect star wars music throughout, from episodes 1-6, plus a whole load of new tracks. The sabers, blasters etc are all perfectly spot on. The voice acting is very good. Darth Vaders is a little dodgy, but listen to Palpatine - its almost perfect. Starkiller is well done.

Gameplay 8/10 Fun to walk around, blasting, electrocuting, throwing, sabering enemies about. Sadly its more fun to do it when your more powered up, so first time through when your not so powerful its not quite as much fun, - but fun none-the less. The parts where you can slice an ATST vertically in two is great, and you can take on Rancors with a little more ease - the way you would think Sidious, Dooku, Vader, Mual etc would if they were there. None of this crazy ridiculous enemies. The boss fights are challenging and require varying tactics and powers, making them more fun. One little let down is with the games selling point. You can blast your way through doors etc. This would be cooler than it is, if you had a choice. If you had 3 options to progress say - eg 1) slice the door, 2) blast the door or 3) open the door. This would be a lot more fun. But seeing as you can only blast it open, its no different than opening, you still go the same way regardless - so it just a fancy gimmick.

Replay Value 5/10 I have completed this on 2 difficulty levels and only missing 1 or 2 orbs on each level. All the training missions are done and Im powered right up. Apart from going back and walking through each level again and slaughtering troopers - which is fun, there is nothing new to unlock etc. I can play with new saber colours (green, blue, red, yellow, purple, gold) and new costumes, but the same basic game I completed twice will still be there. So much to bring me back.

Overall 8/10 This is worth buying, though for its game type it would always have a short lifespan. But the time you invest in playing and the shear fun of blasting enemies through walls, slicing ATSTs in half, duelling with Vader and Darth Maul (yes thats right) and being a Sith lord and the good story, its a worthy game to play. Don't expect to be playing this in weeks to come thinking there will be something new - as once you seen all there is, thats everything! But to return to a galaxy far far away, - and with Vader, the Empire as the villains again - it was great - like visiting old friends - and blasting them through walls before frying them!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

The Closest to Being a Jedi

8/10
Author: h-rabbit from Singapore
1 September 2009

This game is quite enjoyable because of its gameplay, campaign and how the story links so well to the rest of the saga, especially the last three episodes. There are many highlights to this game, and a few flaws...but mostly it's one that Star Wars fans should buy because of its freedom in the way you create your character and the way they introduce already-created planets which have not received much attention from those who've only watched the movies.

Gameplay - The gameplay is top-notch, the way you are able to move around like a Jedi, jump and fight like a Jedi, and use a variety of memorable Force powers like a Sith. You really do get the sense that you're this extremely gifted and powerful apprentice who goes around killing Jedi (it's nice to play an antagonist for once), and taking orders from this famous villain who is shown to be cruel and evil. The Force powers are nicely thought-of, as well as the ability to unlock new moves and upgrade yourself using the Levling system. There are some originals, like Force Push, Force Lightning and Saber-throw, but there are also a few new ones, like Force Repulse and Lightning Shield which both also have their roles to play.

Story - The plot is quite simple, and very much like Assassin's Creed. It somehow expalains many things that have happened in the later films, like the creation of the Rebel Alliance in the first place and how its symbolic crest came about. Very subtle things but they just project such realism into The Force Unleashed.

Total Mark: 8/10

BY HowlingRabbit334

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great Wii game! But does not quite work as canon continuity material, sadly.

8/10
Author: ryates from Canada
24 October 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I guess the title of this comment pretty much says it all. From what I can see there are two possible outcomes when played on the Wii console, only one of which could be considered as coming close to fitting in with the already somewhat shaky continuity of the new Star Wars universe. If you haven't played the game to the end stop reading because I'm about to tell you why the two outcomes don't really work other than as Expanded Universe material.

The better ending, where you resist the dark side, turn against Vader's teachings and fight the Emperor to save the fledgling rebellion had me absolutely enthralled the first time through. I was also wowed by the fact that we had just been told that the birth of the Rebellion was actually pushed into being with the help of a plot by Vader and his secret apprentice to "out" the would-be rebels. (And the use of the name Starkiller was also a nice nod to old, concept-Star Wars material that didn't quite make it into the film...the name was at one time even the last name of Luke!) But then after playing it through a second time I realized that something didn't quite fit. The fact that Vader finds out that Bail Organa, Leia and Mon Mothma are all rebels prior to the events of Star Wars A New Hope in which Leia and her family reveal their allegiance by stealing the plans for the Death Star doesn't work well in terms of continuity and theme. The dialog in the original 1977 film would suggest that Vader would still have a lot of trouble proving to the Senate that Leia was a rebel without the stolen plans. But in the Force Unleashed the Emperor commands Vader to go out and hunt the now exposed rebels mercilessly. If the game had made some excuse as to why the Emperor and Vader would have to contain their anger and try to expose the rebels some other way, say perhaps that they are embarrassed and thought that a loss of power through fear would be the outcome if they had to admit they were defeated by a young apprentice and the escaped rebels, then it would almost work. Or perhaps the game should not have allowed Vader to see who the rebels were and instead the apprentice protects them and confronts Vader before he finds out their identities...but having brought together the Rebellion nonetheless. Regardless, as an "alternate universe" idea it is very interesting. Also, to complicate things, Lucas has always said that the Star Wars radio dramas are considered canon and in those it is made quite clear that though the Organas are suspect they are still far from being exposed as rebel sympathizers.

The second possible outcome is most definitely NOT canon. If you choose to obey the Emperor and attack Vader to finish him off you end up wounded and reconstructed as a new, ninja-like Vader and the rebels you assume have all been slaughtered with perhaps no hope that Luke is ever contacted on Tatooine. I don't think that game designers were in any way the trying to make this alternate ending fit in with the films, it was just another way to end the game.

The game play on the Wii is great! Not having to "thumb" your light-saber moves on a more traditional game pad, and even pull off some Force moves like "push" by actually pushing with your own arm, is fantastic, even if the graphics are less spectacular and the game engine less "next generation" than the X-Box or PS versions.

Was the above review useful to you?

Star Wars: Hack and Slash Unleashed

Author: Pigpen077
31 May 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed's graphics might be a bit outdated in the cutscene department but gameplay and story wise this game 100% makes up for. The story to The Force Unleashed is after Vader murders the Jedi Knight, Kento Marek on Kashyyyk he finds Kento's son, Galen Marek, and takes him as an apprentice to one day destroy the Emperor with him. However after being sent on a couple of missions by Darth Vader, Galen Marek (now known as Starkiller) is betrayed and left for dead...twice throughout the game. Over the course of the game Starkiller continues to drift onto the light side of the force and eventually becomes a Jedi. Honestly this is my second favorite Star Wars story told in a video game (right after Knights of the Old Republic) the story has enough characters, plot twists, comedic moments, and serious moments that truly make it feel like Star Wars: Episode 3.5.

The gameplay to this game is your standard hack and slash like God of War and while I'm usually not the biggest on that gameplay I had a blast playing it in this game. During the game you'll travel to many different locations like Felucia, a TIE Fighter Construction Facility, Raxus Prime, and more locations including the Death Star. Each location is filled to the brim with detail and on planets like Felucia where you visit twice (the first time unoccupied by the empire and the second time it's occupied) the planets while the same, play and feel so different as you play it.

The characters like Starkiller, Juno, Kota, Darth Vader, and PROXY are easily the best characters in the game and all have interesting personalities that clash with each other on occasion. However there are some characters that I would've liked to see more of like Maris Brood and Ozzik Sturn as they seemed like really cool characters but ultimately ended up being generic Jedi turned Sith and obsessed hunter.

Overall aside from a couple of boring characters and the cutscene graphics sometimes not looking too well, this is a must buy for both Star Wars fans and hack and slash fans.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Well... The game-play was fun

6/10
Author: WakenPayne from Valhalla
5 February 2014

Here is by far and away my least favourite of all the Star Wars games that I have played. I like playing a couple of them such as the Jedi Knight series (which runs rings around this - sorry, I HAD to mention) and I did play Knights Of The Old Republic a while back and I remember enjoying it. It's just this game's structure is enough to make me flip tables.

The plot of this game is that Darth Vader killed a Jedi on Kashyyk and takes his son under his wing for Sith training. As his secret apprentice years later you have to hunt and kill Jedi that survived the "Execute Order 66". And after the Emperor discovers you Vader keeps you as an even bigger secret as you form The Rebellion and damage the Empire more (why would Vader do that you may ask? It's explained as well as why a robot coughs in Episode 3).

So what angers me so much about the structure for this game? Well you have no emotional connection to Starkiller (yes, that is his name). It seems like every time a cinematic plays that they're attempting to get me invested but then is interrupted by having you blow crap up. For example, when Vader betrays Starkiller the first time this should set some doubts in his mind... Wait no we have to blow more crap up. When he meets his father as a Jedi ghost is the worst of them... They would clearly have some form of conversation... And that conversation consists of about 3 sentences to be excused for blowing more crap up. I mean this should be the emotional pinnacle of the game, where you can get attached to the character to play as and want him to succeed but is interrupted for more action porn that you'll be likely to see out of a Michael Bay film.

With that said the game-play is awesome. It's actually the best I have seen on a Star Wars game. The title really delivers what to expect in the fact that you can bend The Force to do a lot of interesting and unique things in how you kill people and other things in the game. Clearly if as much time went into the story as the developers did with the game-play then this could have been the greatest Star Wars game, and considering they're the only decent movie based games that's saying a lot.

If anything about the game-play annoyed me it would have to be the final boss. You have to use the Force to move a Star Destroyer... Sounds hard enough? How about whenever you move it to have TIE Fighters constantly fly over and attack you? Apparently there is a completely feasible way out of it.

So to sum up, The only reason to get this is the fun game-play. If you look at this for story then you'll be really angry at it for putting aside connecting to the characters and situations in place for attacking more Stormtroopers and blowing stuff up. I guess if you're a die hard Star Wars fan you'll enjoy it but I feel that there are a lot more things they could have done with this, while games like Jedi Outcast had worse game-play - that didn't matter because the story is top notch and you can feel a connection to the characters. I will play The Force Unleashed 2 but I do have expectations in check.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Faraway, so close

7/10
Author: Rudimir Bombardinovic from Croatia
29 January 2009

Oh, and what kind of game it could have been. And many things they got really good, even dare to say excellent. Story is great (with influence and approval by George Lucas himself), fitting saga very good, voice acting is excellent and animations well synchronized with story, sound and music almost at the film quality.

Did they got the feeling of being a Jedi right? Yes, to the certain point. It's cool using light-saber, force (abilities develop by collecting points and experiences in battles) and especially light-saber fight with other Jedi.

Unfortunately, there are two big flaws: camera and character controls and in this types of game they are crucial for comfortable game-play.

Camera sometimes gets weird and makes you feel confused, which doesn't go too well with dozen of enemies in screen. E.g. you're fighting boss and have to avoid certain object while running. Camera focuses on boss so you don't see objects which you need to avoid. It's little frustration that you'll notice.

Controls are also not good and precise, especially force power that you use to move objects or enemies. You can see that game developers invested great amount of time in it, but unfortunately it just doesn't work so well. Just imagine, you're fighting enemy and trying to throw object on him, but it grabs other object or doesn't grab anything. It looks cool but with time you'll find it more practical to use light-saber and other force abilities and this leaves one segment of the game unused.

How do camera and control flaws influence game-play directly? Remember those epic x300 combos in God Of War when you exactly knew were you blew it? Well, in Force Unleashed it's not only you but certain amount of luck regarding on controls and camera.

However, those problems are not huge obstacle to beat the game so you won't have big problems with that, especially if you're Star Wars fan and story holds you even tighter to the game. However, although I like Star Wars I didn't have enough enthusiasm to beat it second time.

When I look at the game I have feeling it should have been developed a bit longer to correct those flaws that make so much difference in this genre. It's shame because we could have had the best Star Wars game since The Knights of The Old Republic.

Considering game flaws I'd recommend it to Star Wars fan. Others - try it before you buy it and if you like this genre and have PS2 I'd rather recommend God of War instead, it beats Force Unleashed in every segment (if you still didn't play it, of course).

Oh, and what kind of game it could have been.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Well it's still Star Wars

6/10
Author: brodlimmel from United States
14 July 2011

Well this is basically the only game for the Xbox 360 that is Star Wars because the Force Unleashed 2 isn't a game. So here the game-play is cool but bad at the same time. You get to feel like a Jedi or Sith yet the camera hates the gamer so much it will do everything in it's power to stop you. And unless you're fighting a main or bigger AI then you will get bored of the same enemies over and over. The sound is just amazing the score screams Star Wars and the voice acting makes the cut scenes that much better. Now the story is down right one of the best in the the world of Star Wars this was better then some of the newer movies this story made you just to want to watch the cut scenes. The problem is this isn't a movie the game-play drags this game down far. Now I enjoyed this game to it's fullest but the second to last level will have you screaming in anger some may never finish the game. So in the end rent this game it is still fun just has some flaws that you just don't want or need to deal with.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The Force Unrealised

6/10
Author: Rapturous Rich from Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
5 January 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Ahhh, yes, another entry into the ever-growing and seemingly endless canon of Star Wars related video gaming and all of its hit or miss nature. Although, that's where the true challenge in reviewing this game lies; for all its hits there are misses. It doesn't swing one way or another. It's kinda just… there.

The plot is actually the only driving force behind this game once you get past, say, the first five levels. Vader and his secret apprentice Starkiller (which was Luke Skywalker's original name – surrogate son, anyone?) are continuing the work of Palpatine in hunting down and exterminating all Jedi under Order 66 post-Episode III. The reason you're a secret apprentice goes with what Yoda says in Episode I about "Always two there are, a master and an apprentice, no more, no less", and mostly because if Palpatine found out he'd kill both Starkiller and Vader… Air-knee-way, Vader tells Starkiller he wants his help in overthrowing the Emperor so the two of them can rule the galaxy, yada, yada, yada and you are sent out on several missions to help train you in taking on the biggest baddest Sith of them all via many, many Jedi encounters.

You naturally start off with very little power and a whole lot less skill. But as with most Star Wars games, the more you play, the more you unlock and the more powerful you get. Force Lightning, Grip, Throw, Pull, Repulse, and so on are all very entertaining unlockables but the game seriously lags as soon as you play past the first few levels. It becomes samey all too soon. You find it too easy to simply blast away Stormtroopers and when it comes to finishing off the Jedi you are actually accompanied with on-screen hints on what buttons to press. Challenge? There ain't much of one.

Also, there are some God-awful levels/planets you visit which you are then sent back to at a later date. As if the developers were trying to make an amazing Star Wars game only to bail out and say "Here, go to this crappy psychedelic mushroom planet again, we can't be arsed." Now I am admittedly a Star Wars fanboy, but frankly I cannot even entertain the idea of picking up the controller again now that I've finished this. It drags on and as I stated before – it's the plot more than the gameplay that you'll be interested in.

Given, the game looks beautiful. The graphics bring the Star Wars universe to life brilliantly and there are some great parts to this game such as the teaser trailer Star Destroyer sequence you get to play out, some of the more elaborate combo moves and Force powers, but at the end of the day this feels like a rushed draft more than anything. For what it could have been after all the hype and anticipation, The Force Unleashed is ultimately The Force Unrealised. Although the revelations in the plot which are canonical to the film series make it worth finishing just so you can enjoy some pleasant ironies on the Empire's behalf.

Apart from that, it's a one-play game.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Just wasn't able to reach its potential

8/10
Author: brianbnv00677 from Puerto Rico
3 October 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First of all let me say this;Force Unleashed is good,not great,not amazing,its just good.Let's start of with the story.You start as Darth Vader on Kashykk looking for one of the remaining jedi that survived Order 66.This mission just like the rest is OK.Its just feels bland and repetitive too damn soon.Vader feels basic,absurd,and powerless.He only walks;he can't run.He only has 4 saber combos,a quick force choke,force grip,repulse,and lightsaber throw.If you think the A.I. in this game is going to react differently on each encounter just like LucasArts promised you're mistaken.They all look the same,act the same,do the same attacks and patterns.The only reason they kill you is because every time you get hit you lose a quarter of your health.Once you kill wookies again and again for 25 to 30 minutes;you finally fight Starkiller's father.Boss battles are just to damn easy and scripted.The boss will basically only do 3 to 4 attacks again and again,until you die.The only two good things about the boss fights are the QTE=which stand for quick-time event;which are the finishers of the game.They're cool and pleasing to the eye;except when it its for mini-bosses because you end up fighting mini-bosses a lot and all die the same way.AT-ST's get cut in half.AT-CT's get crushed into a little ball.Rancors get either stabbed multiple times then get electrocuted to death or get stabbed multiple times then get cut in the feet and die.Cutscenes are amazing;they're amongst the best ever devised for a video game.The basic story is Vader find a boy who is extremely strong in the force.Then 16 years later,Vader tests the boy to see if he's ready to try and kill the Emperor with Vader;so he sends him to kill jedi.Then Vader betrays Starkiller.He says the reason he betrayed him is that way Sidious would believe he is dead.Then he says they would a distraction for the emperor to catch him off guard.So he tells Starkiller to make a alliance of rebels to fight the empire until the emperor was worried.So Starkiller recruits General Kota,the jedi who you supposedly killed in the first mission.Then Kota,tells Starkiller to go find his friend from the senate.Then you go to Kashykk again.You help Leia free the wookies;then you go to Felucia to get Senator Bail Organa out of there,but he is being held captured by Maris Brood;Shaak Ti's former apprentice,who is holding the senator because she thinks that by doing that Vader or Starkiller would try to find him.Then you defeat her,take the senator with you,and then he says that he will try to recruit others to your cause.Then go tho Raxus Prime,to destroy a shipyard which a key structural point of the empire.Destroy it,thena Star Destroyer appears,then you have to pull it out of the sky which sucks badly.No really it sucks real bad.Take down the Star Destroyer.Then,more later,you have a meeting with the senators and your were about to form the rebel alliance but Vader interrupts,captures them,tells you that he only used you to get the emperor enemies at hand,and he alone would kill the emperor.Then you go to the Death Star,Juno kisses you,you go around like a moron doing stupid objectives,then you fight Vader,kick his ass,and then you have to choose to either kill Vader or Save Kota whose being electrocuted to death by Sidious.savin Kota is the original ending which results with Starkiller dying,and the senators escaping and forming the rebel alliance thanks to you.the other ending the alternative one results with Vader dead,Sidious killing the senators,and putting Kota on the verge of death,Sidious then tells Starkiller to kill Kota,but Starkiller try to attack the emperor which results in Juno dead,and Starkiller nearly killed;who turns into like a Vader-type of person barely kept alive by machines.So its good,but repetitive,the story,music,cutscenes,graphics,physics,and sound are awesome.I recommend renting it not buying it,ok.7.75/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history