IMDb > April Fool's Day (2008) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
April Fool's Day
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
April Fool's Day (V) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 33 reviews in total 

23 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

So, so bad...

2/10
Author: slasherguyy
21 March 2008

One of the worst remakes I have ever seen! The trailer looked kinda cheap, but seriously this at least looked like it was going to be somewhat entertaining. If you thought "The Wicker Man" remake was unintentionally hilarious, wait until you see this movie because it has one of the most laughable endings I have ever seen in a "serious" horror movie like this. Try to avoid this one if you can, and if you are looking for a serious and entertaining remake...look elsewhere! Seriously, the joke was on us when they made this piece of crap. I cannot believe how bad this movie turned out to be. It's definitely one of the worst of 2008 so far and I feel for the people who go out and buy this movie on DVD. This should, at least, debut in the bargain bin.

This piece of crap tells the story about a group of friends, led by Desiree (Taylor Cole) and her brother Blaine (Josh Henderson), who host a party and play a prank, which causes the accidental death of Milan (Sabrina Aldridge). A year later, someone begins sending the friends threatening messages as they begin getting killed off one by one...in hilarious ways. The 80 something minutes this movie lasts for consists of the great, talented and beautiful Taylor Cole walking around in a mini-skirt and high heels, followed by some hilarious death scenes. That is all this movie has to offer.

The death scenes were absolutely hilarious in this film, and all of them were hilarious...especially the last one. The last one was so funny I could not stop laughing. It was supposed to be some "serious" twist, but I just couldn't stop laughing. I'd say for that scene alone, this movie is worth seeing. I seriously hope the directors weren't actually serious when they were making these death scenes as they were just too funny. Part of the twist did annoy me though. Even though I hated this movie, this movie is worth watching with not just a drop of alcohol, but a lot of it because it will make the experience even more funnier.

There is no suspense, tension, scares or anything like that. This is a children-friendly PG horror movie which could debut on TV in the middle of a sunny afternoon. I read a review the other day claiming this movie looked theatrical. Hmmm, that must have been another movie they were talking about as this movie looks, and feels cheap. I should also mention the fact that the killer is completely predictable and they may as well have spelled it out for us. There is minimal blood and violence in the movie, which I didn't mind, but the fact that there is no tension or suspense or anything of the sort to make up for it annoyed me. Lets not forget about the soundtrack which sounded like something from a soap opera.

The acting in the movie is a mixed package. Taylor Cole, Scout Taylor Compton and Josh Henderson are great, whereas the others were just forcing it and felt like they were reading their lines on cue. To be honest, they looked like they weren't really bothered...and you can't really blame them. The extras were mostly bad, and the characters, for the most part, were all unlikeable rich kids. Desiree is the only character you'll enjoy in this movie (even though she's a complete bitch)...mainly because she's easy on the eyes.

Which is exactly what the movie feels like - a 90 minute, AWFUL soap opera. A soap opera which is a one-off special featuring the cast members dying in hilarious ways. It's a parody really and I just don't believe that this movie should be taken seriously by anyone. It's astonishingly bad and for a remake it is absolutely pathetic. I cannot believe I actually thought this would be at least good. This movie should only be watched for Taylor Cole, Scout Compton, Josh Henderson and the LAUGHS. This is surprisingly one of the worst remakes ever.

I said it once, and I'll say it again. The joke was on us.

2/10

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Unfortunately Terrible

1/10
Author: jhanse29 from United States
28 March 2008

This is a movie very lightly based on the '80s slasher of the same name. The original wasn't anywhere near the best of the slasher movies so I could only think that this movie could easily equal it's predecessor. The acting was pretty bad for most of the supporting characters but I still am having a hard time figuring out if it's the actors fault or the directors. I don't know. Blaine and Desiree did on OK job with the material they were given.

Its cinematography was terrible. The quick zooms of the camera was very much something I'd expect from a teenager filming skits with friends. The score in this film was laughable. I don't know where they got the idea to use some of the music but it ruined any little bit of suspense that they managed to build.

This was one of the worse movies I have seen in a long time. I had very low expectations for this film but am baffled at how bad it really was.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

The film-makers pulled a mean April Fools Day joke...on us!

Author: Prolox from Canada
25 March 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A year after a young girl is killed at a party on April Fools Day, the kids responsible for the crime start receiving notes by someone who is threatening them with death if one of them doesn't step up to take blame for the accident they caused, naturally they refuse & in true slasher tradition, a maniac starts knocking them off one by one, who looks mysteriously like the girl they accidentally killed a year prior, or did she die...? Supposed remake of the 1986 film is not a remake at all, but rather a poor mans take on remaking I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER, in fact it's so unlike the earlier picture that you can't really kick on it being another remake, it's really that different! the only resemblance to the earlier picture is the twist ending & the day it falls on, there's no jokes being played on anyone like the original, the film is set in the city not at a creepy secluded mansion on an island, heck it doesn't even play like a Friday The 13th rip off like the earlier movie did, it's plot like I stated rips off I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER!, even some of the characters & situations resembled that movie, the the death threats, the characters who refuse to go to the police, the whole princess being killed thing I could go on, heck it even rips off the ending of SCREAM! (Note to the film-makers this is not 1996!) the characters are all despicable that you'll soon be rooting for the killer to pick them off, the look & feel of the film feels like a made for TV movie & the direction is rather dull, the actors all put in a good performance, but no matter how hard they try, they can't save this film from pure boredom & even die hard horror fans will be disappointed by the lack of suspense & buildup before any of the death scenes & there's nothing whatsoever to hold your interest throughout the films running time, in fact you may find yourself either nodding off or checking your watch several times to see how long the film will be before it ends. There's a couple of kills with some light blood effects, but nothing at all memorable. Another loser from the Butcher Brothers (the other being their mediocre first film THE HAMILTONS) Avoid this film, it has nothing really to offer horror fans & you'll wind up being just like me & most of the other reviewers on this board, who have commented & complained about this movie, you'll be wasting an hour & a half of your life that you can't get back. There's good reason the studio dumped this baby directly to DVD instead of giving it a theatrical release. Shame on Executive Producer FRANK MANCUSO JR. for tricking fans into believing this was a remake & overall allowing this tripe to be released. Saved from my zero rating due to the acting alone.

* star

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

I Know What You Did Last April's Fool Day

6/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
13 January 2009

In the débutant ball of the socialite Torrance Caldwell (Scout Taylor-Compton) on April, 1st 2007, the jealous and futile millionaire Desiree Cartier (Taylor Cole) dilutes a powerful drug in the champagne of her dislikable acquaintance Milan Hastings (Sabrina Ann Aldridge) and her reckless brother Blaine Cartier (Josh Henderson) takes sexual advantage of Milan. Desiree tapes the situation with a camcorder while her friends Torrance, Barbie (Jennifer Siebel) and Peter Welling (Samuel Child), Charles Lansford (Joseph McKelheer) and Ryan (Joe Egender) snoop the couple in Blaine's bedroom. However, Milan has a seizure and falls off the balcony immediately dying. The group goes to court, Blaine looses the control of the family's fortune that shifts to Desiree, but they are considered innocents and the death of Milan is considered a fatality in a prank. One year later, each one of them receive a letter mustering them up to Milan's grave. While gathered in the cemetery, they receive a package telling that each one of them would die until the end of the day if the responsible for the death of Milan does not assume the guilty.

The association of "April's Fool Day" with the franchises "I Know What You Did Last Summer" and "Cruel Intentions" is immediate. The author has certainly inspired in these movies to write his plot, and I noted that this is not only my impression, but there is at least another IMDb User that had the same feeling. However, the unoriginal, unbelievable and predictable story is not totally bad and entertains. The good point of this flick is the camera work, with long travelings and original planes and angles. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Dia da Mentira" ("Day of the Lie" (literally), meaning "April Fool's Day")

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

If you pay to see this, then the joke is on you!

1/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
1 June 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

One year after the accidental death of pretty goody-two-shoes Milan, a group of friends find themselves targeted by a mysterious killer.

You would think that, no matter how bad the film might be overall, there would be a certain level of satisfaction to be had from watching a bunch of spoilt, over-privileged, and thoroughly obnoxious, good-looking socialites being murdered; April Fool's Day '08 goes to prove otherwise.

The latest dud to join a long list of recent awful horror remakes, this joyless and pointless effort from directors The Butcher Brothers (Mitchell Altieri and Phil Flores) keeps the whole 'it was all an elaborate hoax' element from the original, but ditches practically everything else. The result is a dire yawn-fest that is totally scare-free, features several particularly dreadful performances from a relatively talent-free cast (Scout Taylor-Compton, please stay away from the genre in future), and finishes with a completely unbelievable denouement that should have most sane people demanding their money back from the theatre.

Avoid at all costs!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Uninvolving, routine, '90s horror retread

Author: VinnieRattolle from United States
28 March 2008

I got over my disgust that they were remaking one of my all-time favorite films and went into this one with a completely open mind -- I saw the trailer but I purposely didn't read a single thing about it. It seemed strange that the film skipped cinemas, but now I understand why. I didn't think any film could be this bad.

Strangely, there's a beautiful production design, and most of the actors are good (though the fact that everyone in the cast is model-pretty is a bit disconcerting). Unfortunately, the script is truly abysmal. After 20 minutes of getting to know the characters -- all of whom are wholly unlikable -- the story actually begins, and from that point on it becomes a routine I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER rip-off, sans the suspense, gore and intentional humor of that film. The only thing lifted from the 1986 film is the title, a character with a videocamera (which had nothing to do with the plot itself in the original) and the theatrical twist ending -- though they tried to trump the twist here, which resulted in one of the most predictable and unintentionally hilarious moments in the history of film.

This film feels like one of the clones that followed in the wake of SCREAM. If you've seen a horror movie since 1997, don't bother with this one. But if you're masochistic enough to endure the film, make sure to stay through the closing credits for an extra scene -- after all, there's no other extras anywhere on the disc.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Dreadful

1/10
Author: arfdawg-1 from United States
16 May 2014

This movie is a horrible waste of time.

It's slow as molasses.

It's directed like a soft core porn film you'd see after hours on Cinemax. And I don't mean that it has abundant nudity. It just has that feel.

The settings are opulent. The main woman is always dressed to the nines. And everyone is a poseur.

The problem with the film is it goes no where. There is not real plot development. The characters are thinly drawn.

You get very bored very early on.

Not worth it.

The plot:

The new "April Fool's" revolves around a party given by two rich siblings for their friend.

Tragedy strikes when a friend falls over a balcony and dies.

One year later, the teens responsible for the accident become the targets of a twisted killer who begins hunting them down one by one.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Interesting concept but quickly fails

2/10
Author: acidburn-10 from United Kingdom
11 May 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was actually one of the very few who thought that a remake to the classic 1986 version of this movie would be quite an interesting concept, and I thought that it would be interesting to see what an updated version would bring more ideas and a fresh outtake, but when I finally got round to viewing this I was sadly mistaken and wrong, and it's just as botched up as all the other bad remakes of 80's classic slashers that came about these last few years.

Although the general idea remained the same, the storyline is completely different instead of an interesting group of teens gathering round a secluded beach house, we get a bunch of vapid and boring rich teens gather round for a party at a mansion for a birthday party on April 1st, where the characters constantly play pranks on each other until the prank goes tragically wrong and results in a death and the others gets away with it despite media coverage and a year passes and someone hasn't forgotten and is intent on revenge on the group.

Right firstly I just didn't like the style of this movie, it has more of a teenage soap drama vibe to it and none of the characters are worth caring about or likable, and I was instantly bored even when the murders happen, well there was no tension at all, and the scene where the guy was getting chased by a car was just downright hilarious, I just couldn't stop laughing and plus the mystery was way too easily figured out and despite the killer's methods being fresh, it was just plain dull. The only thing I found semi interesting was the ending, the twist upon twist was done quite okay, and it was just a shame that the rest of the movie was just rubbish.

All in all "April Fool's Day '08" is just another terrible remake and better sticking with the original, even though that wasn't perfect, it was still better than this tripe.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

An OK movie with a twist...

7/10
Author: jvilla53 from Philippines
23 August 2009

This movie provides you with the basics of a slasher movie: starts out with a festive occasion that then becomes a horrific scene. Then the fun begins, as someone gets cut up in here and another in the next. But the real fun begins when it reaches the ending... there's a twist (actually, 2 twists) that left me feeling shocked, relieved, the shocked again, then angry. If you want to know what I'm talking about, watch it. At your own risk. The movie is dull and boring the first half and gets more and more exciting as it goes on. I'm not exactly sure if I like this movie because I somewhat feel disappointed but at the same time satisfied at what I just watched. The final judgment: it's up to you.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

I know what you did last April fools day

4/10
Author: atinder from United Kingdom
17 March 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*** This comment may contain spoilers *** First I would like to say that I didn't like the original movie that was made in 1986 but after watching the this remake I did like original better them before!. , Lets talks about the original movie first as the plots are different.

In the Original movie the film begins as a group of college friends gather to celebrate spring break spending the weekend at the island mansion of their friend, Muffy St. John (Foreman), on the weekend leading up to Aprill fools day The tone is set almost immediately with Muffy preparing details around the house, Her friends, meanwhile, are joking around on the pier, then on the ferry to the island. Nikki Brashares (Goodrich) is initially caught on videotape, pretending to be making a introduction of herself as a sweet and virtuous Catholic girl, ending with "I **** on the first date". The video camera is a way to introduce most of the characters of Muffy's friends. But en route to the island, a local deckhand is seriously injured in a gruesome accident.

Then you find people started to get killed of one by one off screen and then Muffy soon find more of her dead friends body, then find out it all one big prank on her. I didn't care about this movie as I hated it, boring and waste of time, I would have gave it 3/10 now after seeing this remake I going to give it 6/10

Now let talk about remake, This movie was more like I know what did last April fools day (is that great title or what ) anyway this plot is some-what different as Each April fool's Day, fabulously wealthy young Desiree Cartier hosts the most killer coming-out parties at her to-die-for southern mansion. And this social event is never complete without one of her patented pranks but this year prank goes wrong and ending up killing a person.

Then the movies fast forwards to year later where Desiree is reading the paper of one year later mystery still remains then her butler give her invitations and goes to that place and see all of four friends that organised the prank, only to find out someone has killed one there friends and recorded , then more body to turn up dead, one by one. (One death scene is on Screen) but then friends are no longer friends only for to find out Desiree was the one that spiked the girl drink that they killed year ago only then to find out that whole thing is one big prank. (who didn't see coming , oh wait this is a remake, so everyone knew).

It doesn't end here as there is a little twist I didn't see coming and I was little bit shocked (some will find it really (REALLY) silly) I liked this ending better. The acting is really bad (Everyone in this movie good looking but still no nudity I would have rated little higher) I am going to give this movie a 4/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history