The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 32 reviews in total 

42 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

The girls still have the charm

7/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
20 August 2008

Once again, another rating that baffles me here on IMDb, now granted, I haven't read the novels that The Sisterhood is based upon, but I really did enjoy the first movie, more than I thought I would. So I was looking forward to The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2, curious what the girls were up too in the story. The reason I like these movies so much is because they're very real; except for the traveling all around the world despite as if money was no issue, these being college girls mind you. But the story provides teenage girls who look like your average teenagers, their stories are very relatable if you are a girl, and we have comedy, romance, and drama, a typical chick flick, but thankfully these movies are enjoyable one's that don't push it. I felt like these girls are just so much fun and like I could know them in real life.

Tibby has moved to New York, studying film and works at a movie store, but she has a bad pregnancy scare when her boyfriend's condom breaks. Thankfully it's a false alarm, but she is scared of her heart being broken once again. Lena goes to Greece for her Grandfather's funeral, she sees Kostos, but he is now married and is having a baby, so she takes an art class at home and starts dating the model that she is currently drawing. Carmen goes to Vermont to be in a drama club, expecting to work behind the scene, her leading man crush encourages her to audition and she gets a lead role causing some jealousy around the more experienced actors. Bridget goes to Turkey on an archaeological dig and finds out more about herself and goes home, but first she has to see the grandma who she thought didn't love her, it turns out she learns more about herself and her mother. But these girls have let their friendship go and must find a way to make the magic of the pants work once again.

I would honestly recommend The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2, I really did enjoy the story and acting, along with the characters. I think The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 is a notch below the first film, but it still works. There are minor flaws here and there, but it's very easy to get past, I don't understand the rating of 6.0 here on IMDb, this is an honest and genuine film that I think a lot of people could enjoy. I think my favorite story this time was with Carmen once again, she's the character I can relate to most and she's very much the under dog of the story. But all the girls are a pleasure to watch on screen, they make you laugh and just have a great time with their journeys. This is a wonderful movie and I can't wait to see it again.

7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Their Friendship Is More than a Magic Pair of Jeans

7/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
21 December 2008

Carmen Lowell (America Ferrera) is working on the backstage of a play in Yale. When the lead actress and friend Julia (Rachel Nichols) invites her to travel to Vermont with her to work in a play with professional cast, she decides to stay with her friends and her pregnant mother. However she finds that Lena Kaligaris (Alexis Bledel) will travel to a course of drawing. Bridget Vreeland (Blake Lively) is in existential crisis missing her mother and decides to travel to an archaeological dig in Turkey. Tibby Tomko-Rollins (Amber Tamblyn) is working in a rental and still editing her documentary. Therefore, Carmen accepts the invitation and travels to Vermont. She has a crush on the lead actor Ian (Tom Wisdom), who convinces her to participate in an audition, and is invited by the director Bill Kerr (Kyle MacLachlan) to perform the lead female role. Later she finds the truth about the friendship of Julia. The broken-hearted Lena finds that Kostas (Michael Rady) has married and she dates the model of her class. Bridget finds letters addressed to her from her grandmother that her father has hidden and she decides to visit her grandma, disclosing a secret about her mother. Tibby makes love with her boy-friend Brian McBrian (Leonardo Nam) but they have problems with the condom and she gets scared of a possible pregnancy. In the end, the girlfriends discover that their friendship is real and more than a pair of jeans.

I have watched this sequel during a flight without watching "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants" and I liked the story in spite of not being familiarized with the characters. The story about friendship and discoveries is a sort of teen version of "Sex and the City", with four young women that belong to different ethnic groups and backgrounds, but have also a solid friendship that help each other in the bad moments and celebrate together the good ones. The four subplots entwined by an apparently magic pair of jeans are good, but Carmen's one is certainly the more engaging. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): Not Available

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Take this from a guy...it wasn't bad.

6/10
Author: nico_nasr from Canada
13 August 2008

I went to see that movies in theaters as both my sisters asked me to go. I wasn't thrilled but since I had nothing to do I went.

There was around 200 people in the theater...195 girls and 5 guys. I would've thought more couples would be there but apparently, guys really didn't want to see that movie so my first thought was : "Uh oh! I'm in for a long evening!".

Well I wasn't! Of course, staring at 4 beautiful girls is hardly a waste of my time but I found myself laughing many times and was intrigued by the movie.

The story is simple. The same pair of jeans comes again as in the first movie. All the 4 girls are again separated during the summer. Lena is in Long Island in some sort of art class, Tibby is in New York for her movie, Bridget is in Turkey doing archeology and Carmen is in Vermont doing backstage work in a play.

Well I won't say anything but you know the sort of things that happen. Well they happen. And it's good, it's your average teen movie, nothing exceptionally genius but nothing bad either.

I heard lots of complaints about some loose ends but that's not really true. Maybe people didn't listen enough or didn't quite understand what wasn't said but overall, everything fell right into place.

So why go see an average teen movie you might ask? Well I ask myself that question every day. I guess I like to be entertained and those 4 girls make that happen.

You probably shouldn't waste your money on going to see it in theaters but you should definitely rent it when it's out on DVD.

So in resume, it's as good as the first one...and Tibby is hilarious!

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Girls Rule! (Again)

6/10
Author: lovelyrhino from United States
6 August 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The girls are back after a brief break during which each is described as being incredibly talented at their respective passions and whisked off to ivy league colleges. After Carmen's helpful voice-over brings us up to date with our favorite Bethesda natives, we begin each's summers - Tibby is working on scripts in summer school, Lena is taking an art class, Bridget is digging for artifacts in Turkey, and Carmen, after realizing to her dismay that none of her friends will be there in the summer, impulsively seizes an opportunity to work back stage at a Shakespearean summer production.

I caught the midnight showing of Sisterhood mainly for the estrogen rush, but I won't deny that a certain part of me was eagerly awaiting the return of Carmen, Tibby, Bridget, and Lena. And as a devoted reader of the series, I can certainly say that this movie, comprised of plot elements of books 2,3, and 4 is completely different from their textual counterparts. For example (and without giving too much away, I hope) Bridget's archaeological expedition yields little more than emotional realization - there is no mention of the hunky, married, professor in book 4.

Most of the choices only benefited the movie, and overall Sisterhood brimmed with summery, feminine fun. Perhaps my favorite addition was Carmen's plot line - though I admittedly skimmed Carmen's section in the books, I think I would have remembered the theater program story that, in this movie, is just, if not more, interesting then the other girls.

So if you liked the first movie, you'll enjoy this one. If you didn't, I'm not making any promises.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2: Weaving the Fabric of Friendship

7/10
Author: goldwriting from www.theendofthepage.com
11 August 2008

The next chapter in the tale of the denim divas follows them to all corners of the earth, but separately. Each of the girls leaves for the summer to follow their own path, their own heart and where it takes them is not always right along side each other. One goes to drama camp to find out her place in the theater might not be behind the curtains at all, while another goes to art school only to find drawing passion and heart can't be done when the artist has closed hers off. One more girl learns the past is only as far your last conversation with someone you care about, while lastly another finds looking into the future is more frightening when you imagine it alone. Each young woman travels their own road and this story is how they find themselves and each other once again along the way.

After reading all that it might feel like The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 has stuffed way too much into those wildly decorated jeans, but the movie shows itself to be a great example of intelligent and accomplished editing. Each storyline is touched on, taken in and then moved on from with impeccable timing, never overstaying its welcome and never leaving the audience wondering what was going on with the rest of the girls. Everyone is granted a wealth of screen time and that passes on to the viewer a level of visual respect, so we can decide for ourselves which person we want to route for (if not all of them, which in my case, it wasn't, but I'll get to that later). Credit is assuredly given to the director, Sanaa Hamri, for her work, but I want to lend a special round of digital applause to the editor, Melissa Kent, for really keeping a well balanced performance intact for everyone involved.

About those performances, let's take a closer look at the set up and how it differs from the first time these pants made their appearance on the silver screen. We have four young up-and-coming actresses in Alexis Bledel, Blake Lively, Amber Tamblyn and America Ferrera. When the first movie came out Alexis was riding high on the back of Gilmore Girls mania, while Amber had recently enjoyed critical acclaim in her starring turn on Joan of Arcadia (although not the public rating support that usually accompanies such high reviews). This time around, Alexis and Amber have taken a back seat to the Emmy and Golden Globe winning America Ferrera from the critic's wonder darling, Ugly Betty and the hype/buzz machine powerhouse of Blake Lively and her adolescent hormone extravaganza, Gossip Girl. Behind the scenes the dynamic may have changed, but on screen you would never know how far things had shifted. There is a palpable level of camaraderie between these four young girls, but how far that lasts when the cameras are off is hard to tell. Personally, the two current headliners, Blake and America, stole the show with their respective performances, especially Blake, while Alexis held her own and Amber fell a little flat. Part of Amber's problem is she has the character with the least reason to support her. For most of the movie she is grumpy, frumpy and bordering on goth. While each of the other girls are stretching and reaching out, Amber's character is retreating inward, causing a slight disconnect with the rest of the pack. On the other side of the gender line, there are the men in the picture. No teen chick flick is complete without the heartthrob young men to make the girls swoon, but in most stories there are also the jerks and brutish young punks who hurt or disappoint the girls first, which sends them running to the male best friend who they never looked at in that way before, but they see, and so on and so on. In this story I felt a little break in that belief in the world it created because every guy in the film was perfect. They were all total gentlemen, caring, sensitive, bursting with charm, and to top it all off most of them looked they had just walked out of the gym after a 24-hour work out bender (all except for Blake's dad, which can be excused in this case). The only reason this stood out as a problem for me was they had every guy throwing themselves at their feet, so their only real problem was with themselves, and that makes for very few hurdles to jump over which are not self-imposed.

In the end the movie is enjoyable and the people in the crowd I was a part of all had their share of cheering moments. It's a chick flick in its purest form, but that doesn't mean all the boyfriends and best friends out there have to moan and groan when they get dragged to it. The theater experience really doesn't bring anything special to it, so you guys out there might even be safe until DVD release, but once that comes, you better find yourself a comfy pillow on the couch because you can be sure this will get heavy rotation.

p.s. My friend would be remiss if I didn't mention her issue with the casting of the male model character in Alexis Bledel's story arc. Not a bad actor at all, but she got the vibe he (or his character) wasn't really into Alexis, or her character, or her gender… Oh SNAP! And I would be remiss not to mention that since this is a sequel with no sub-title it will forever be known to me as The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2: Electic Boogaloo.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Not as good as the original.

5/10
Author: ozar_33-1
6 August 2008

In the first adaptation of Ann Brashares's famous novel series, soap-opera clichés and predictable story lines were defeated by the sheer charm of the characters and their relationships with one another. And whereas that film dealt with the transition to womanhood and celebrating feminine diversity, the sequel fits our young heroines into contrived, "after-school" special story lines that end exactly the way you'd expect them to. The first film is by no means a masterpiece, but there was a genuine sense that these characters were real and thus we could relate to their plights.

There are some moments in the sequel that shine, most of them occurring when the four titular characters are together, but so much time is spent on filler plots and unnecessary contrivances that the film simply gets old too quickly. Alexis Bledel and Blake Lively don't do much to make their characters any more believable or human; they have no personality and thus their individual story lines are rendered even weaker. Amber Tamblyn and America Ferrera do the opposite, and bring their characters to life, against the odds of the mediocre script. There's also some impressive input from supporting performances, such as the great Blythe Danner and the heartfelt Shohreh Aghdashloo. All in all, a disappointment considering the first film, but still a somewhat worthy escape with four friends who, in the end, above all things, value one another more than anything else in the world.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie, Great Acting, But strays from books...

9/10
Author: maiamire from United States
6 August 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I loved this movie. I am in love with Alexis Bledel's acting, and I think all the Characters were cast WONDERFULLY.

~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*SPOILERS AHEAD~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*~_*

There was some disappointment for me as far as sticking to plot line. I know they kind of crammed all the other books into one movie, but they could have done a better job of mixing them.

For Example: When Bridget gets to Turkey, she never even has interaction with Peter, who basically made up her ENTIRE PLOT for the last book, and her trip to Turkey. Perhaps they thought a younger woman having an affair with an older man was "too much" or "too hard to handle" for a younger audience, but I felt it was important to the plot, and therefore should have been added.

Carmen's story was a bit off as well, but nothing as drastic as Bee's. (The Character who plays Ian was PERFECT) As far as Lena goes, it was nearly spot on, but I felt there was something lacking with the "breakup" with Leo. It was almost non-existent, and had I not read the books, I would have been fairly confused with what happened to him.

All in all, though, it was a well made movie, I enjoyed it. I laughed, I cried, and I fell in love.

On a personal note: I went into the first movie thinking "I'm going to be like Tibby, "the rebel." and went into the second thinking "I'm going to be like Bridget, "the lost for love" type, yet both times left feeling more like Lena. Not really related to the movie, but says something not only for Lena's character, but Alexis Bledel's acting as well.

I WOULD recommend this movie to a friend, but not for young girls under 14-15. It deals with some deep emotions, and Pregnancy scares, so it's not really for a "young" audience.

Overall, a good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

So better than the first one!

9/10
Author: Bobaby5 from United States
9 August 2008

I feel this movie was really good. I remember when the first one came out and I was like, so lame. I eventually came around and saw it but it was okay. When I heard they were making a second one I was really happy. I think this movie had a lot of variety. At one point you would think it was going to end and then it started up again with drama. I think all of the girls are amazing in this and I like that the movie wasn't generic. I noticed there were some plot twists that could have gone the usual way in that the characters win but it wasn't always like this. I give the movie a nine compared to the eh, 7 I would give to the first.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 from The Massie Twins

3/10
Author: GoneWithTheTwins from www.GoneWithTheTwins.com
7 August 2008

Director Sanaa Hamri takes over for Ken Kwapis for the sequel to The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. Bringing back all of the same characters from the original, the film does an exemplary job of telling a new story without requiring the audience to have viewed the first one. Unfortunately, the four interweaving trials of our slowly distancing heroines don't offer up any noticeably authentic revelations or any truly groundbreaking advances in their lives. Many little subplots develop, but most barely affect the whole, and by the end of this lengthy exploration of young women coming of age, nothing warranting a sequel has taken place.

In the first film, four best friends miraculously found a pair of jeans that fit each one perfectly. Using the pants as a way to stay close together as they journey away to college, the four girls mail the heavily decorated jeans back and forth to one another as a good luck charm, and plan to meet up during their summer breaks. Tibby (Amber Tamblyn) works at a video store, and struggles with commitment to her boyfriend. Lena (Alexis Bledel) is studying figure drawing, and is attempting to keep her mind off of a heart-wrenching breakup. Bridget (Blake Lively) is invested in sports and archaeology, but remains troubled over the death of her mother. And Carmen (America Ferrera) is a stagehand for school plays, who isn't quite sure of what to do with her future.

When summer finally rolls around, the four girlfriends realize that each has their own goals and agendas, and that time spent together has become more difficult and seemingly less important. Their coven-like rituals of sharing adventures has steadily lost its meaning, and the foursome discovers that their summer is going to be drastically more independent. But as Lena confronts her ex, Tibby deals with a contraceptive malfunction, Carmen's mother goes into labor, and Bridget reunites with her long lost grandmother, the four girls rediscover their friendship and the importance of sticking together.

The ideals are nothing new, the events that frequent each storyline are generic, and the revelations are simplistic. Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 is an average coming-of-age film that fails to muster up any reasons justifying its existence. It is a continuation of familiar character's lives, and its strongest asset is in its storytelling approach. Whether or not each girl is appealing or relatable, and although many references to the original are made, their stories are plotted out with enough detail that watching the first film is not a prerequisite.

Two love triangles arise, endurances are tested, and miracles are summoned. Jealousy rears its ugly head, betrayal emerges, and every supporting character is physically picture perfect. As each young woman undergoes many trivial and unemotional plot developments, the picture begins to drag. Sisterhood 2 becomes an unnecessarily long film, which constantly reminds the audience that none of the diminutive, unmoving events amount to anything special. For a film with so many lead characters and so many tales to tell, it couldn't be more pointless.

- Mike Massie

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

This Sisterhood Gets Caught With Its Pants Down *1/2

3/10
Author: edwagreen from United States
14 June 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This Sisterhood just attempts too many plots and while it's inter-woven, it becomes downright obnoxious to view.

What's with this pants to begin with? Many people out-grow theirs and this is precisely what occurs in this film. One girl loses her mom to suicide, another goes off on an archaeological expedition to basically nowhere, a third finds romance, loses the guy who is lied to, only to recapture him later and the Ugly Betty of television gets acting part by accident in a summer drama session and makes the best of it.

The scenes depicting Greece are nice but this is not exactly Mamma Mia!That film had zest and a breath of fresh air with one specific story affecting the lives of others. 'Sisterhood" is just trying to tell too much.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history